Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast

Thread: LOI matches weekending 16/7/2011

122 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by born2bwild View Post
    Did you see the first goal you conceded against Shaktar Borat last week? I'd bet Shaun Maher and Pat Purcell would have dealt with that better.
    You are joking right?

120 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rasputin View Post
    Your an absolute genius, cannot fault this logic.
    Ok, I may be over stating it a bit but I've seen both Limerick and Pats a few times this year and there is not that much between them.

420 Posts
    Wexford player racially abused in the RSC Friday im being told. Anyone else hear anything about this?

83 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    Wexford player racially abused in the RSC Friday im being told. Anyone else hear anything about this?
    Discussion going on at btid.net about it. The guy who did it realised immediately he was wrong and has apologised from what I read. Seems to be a bit of history between him and the player. It takes a bigger man to apologise for something like that than it does to commit the offence.

Time to move on in my opinion.

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

Behan is 5-6 games away from any kind of fitness Maher came off injured lastnight.

O Flynn is another 4-5 weeks away from coming back so what use is it to have their names in the squad?

No-one will catch Shels not a hope they have the squad to handle any injuries they get from now til the end. More then happy for em to run away with the league as long as they (ye?) take points off teh other teams going for 2nd.
    Surely the most injury prone player in the league ever? The man is an absolute disaster for injuries.
    ♫ Sally Cinnamon, You're My World ♫

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Battery Rover View Post
    Discussion going on at btid.net about it. The guy who did it realised immediately he was wrong and has apologised from what I read. Seems to be a bit of history between him and the player. It takes a bigger man to apologise for something like that than it does to commit the offence.

So you can be a racist all you want as long as you say sorry afterwards?

If he is on that forum and people know who he is he should be banned simple as that cant just let him off with it because he has said sorry imo.

100 Posts
    It takes a bigger man to apologise for something like that than it does to commit the offence.
    What?
    You've got no fans.

1,010 Posts

Time to ban him in my opinion.

Quote Originally Posted by born2bwild View Post
    Did you see the first goal you conceded against Shaktar Borat last week? I'd bet Shaun Maher and Pat Purcell would have dealt with that better.
    Pat Purcell was with Pats for 3 years (when he was in his prime) and didn't get a first team run out. Shaun Maher was part of the Galway team that have conceded about 150 goals so far this season. Neither are premier division quality, never mind good enough for our team.

Really don't want to sound like I'm knocking Limerick, as thats not the intention. Just settle down with the comparisons

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Pat Purcell was with Pats for 3 years (when he was in his prime) and didn't get a first team run out. Shaun Maher was part of the Galway team that have conceded about 150 goals so far this season. Neither are premier division quality, never mind good enough for our team.

Really don't want to sound like I'm knocking Limerick, as thats not the intention. Just settle down with the comparisons

Dont think Paddy was in his prime when he was with ye to be fair and he is definitely good enough for the premier but not for the top premier teams like Pats and Derry.

Pat Purcell was with Pats for 3 years (when he was in his prime) and didn't get a first team run out.
    Played for us in a friendly at the start of the season about 6/7 years ago. Thought he was decent but went back to Limerick after the game.

27 Posts
    it was a waterford player who was abused and the person who did it should be banned.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by da bishop View Post
    it was a waterford player who was abused and the person who did it should be banned.
    It was a Wexford player. He is apparently from Waterford though.

Pat Purcell was with Pats for 3 years (when he was in his prime) and didn't get a first team run out.
    Comparing players like this is a waste of time if you ask me. Players can perform a lot different from season to season. Purcell in my opinion is playing way better than he has ever played and seems to be in his prime now. Take Kavanagh for example, he was decent enough for us, in and out of the team and not guaranteed a game all the time with us in the first division. A season later and he has turned himself around and is playing great stuff for Pats in the premier. I'm sure this time last year Pats fans would have said he wasn't good enough for Pats. Then you have Peter Hynes who was known for being a lazy git everywhere he went but has been a workhorse for us and put in a great shift in every game.

83 Posts
    So you can be a racist all you want as long as you say sorry afterwards?
    Racism is totally wrong and will always be.

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    Comparing players like this is a waste of time if you ask me. Players can perform a lot different from season to season. Purcell in my opinion is playing way better than he has ever played and seems to be in his prime now. Take Kavanagh for example, he was decent enough for us, in and out of the team and not guaranteed a game all the time with us in the first division. A season later and he has turned himself around and is playing great stuff for Pats in the premier. I'm sure this time last year Pats fans would have said he wasn't good enough for Pats. Then you have Peter Hynes who was known for being a lazy git everywhere he went but has been a workhorse for us and put in a great shift in every game.
    I wouldn't have commented on Kavanagh as I've never seen him before. I have seen purcell (not good enough), Maher (not good enough any more) and Hynes (never good enough).

Agree players can get better though its unlikely in lads aged 27+

420 Posts
    I wouldn't have commented on Kavanagh as I've never seen him before. I have seen purcell (not good enough), Maher (not good enough any more) and Hynes (never good enough).

Agree players can get better though its unlikely in lads aged 27+
    Whens the last time you seen Purcell?

238 Posts
    Pat Purcell is a decent 1st division centre back but he would get destroyed in the Premier Division where teams tend to hoof less and have a bit more mobility up front.

ITT: People forgetting a good third of the Premier Division is stinking garbage.

This referring to the UCD team that just beat Villareal or the Drogheda team that was a whisker away from a draw with Rovers. Both are continually improving sides. Only Galway are stinking garbage and only Shels, in my opinion, would be good enough to beat any other Premier teams consistently.

A few money grabbers and you think your Man City

Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast