Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Ray Houghton Disgrace

3,501 Posts
    Heard this morning there's an article about this in today's Times, anyone got it to post here?

Right click on the link and click "save target as...". Use Windows Picture Viewer (or any other program) to zoom and read the text.

http://homepage.eircom.net/~gearoidw01/houghton.jpg

Think this maybe easier its from the Irish Times site

Yellow card for soccer hero Houghton after ITV own-goal

Former Irish soccer star Ray Houghton was last night given a vote of confidence by RTÉ despite his controversial appearance on ITV's Fantasy Football show on Sunday night.

The former Liverpool and Aston Villa star's involvement in the satirical sketch has been criticised by Irish interest groups in the UK and by fans for stereotyping Irish people as leprechauns and terrorists.

Houghton is a regular panellist and commentator for RTÉ Sport and is currently working for the national broadcaster during Euro 2004 in Portugal.

The ITV show, which is presented by comic duo Frank Skinner and David Baddiel, re-created Houghton's famous goal against England during the 1988 European Championships in Stuttgart.

When Houghton, who was born in Scotland, was asked if he considered himself to be "really Irish", he was shown dressed up as a leprechaun, a potato and as a Jean Butler lookalike.

However, most complaints arose when Houghton was seen standing beside what appeared to be a paramilitary gunman dressed in a khaki army jacket and a balaclava.

The Irish soccer hero, best remembered for his goals against England and against Italy in the 1994 World Cup, was also shown standing beside Baddiel when the comic impersonated Shane McGowan clutching a bottle of whiskey.

An RTÉ spokesman told The Irish Times: "There is no question over Ray's position in relation to his appearance on the ITV show. I'm not sure how many here saw the sketch, but Ray will be fulfilling his Euro 2004 duties as planned."

The British television watchdog, Ofcom, confirmed yesterday that numerous complaints had been made to it about the sketch and that it was investigating the matter.

However, as of last night ITV said it had not been contacted by Ofcom in relation to the sketch, and would act only if and when such contact was made.

Ms Eithne Rynne, of the London-based Federation of Irish Societies, said: "Sketches such as these set the Irish community in Britain back. It is disgraceful the way Irish people are lumped in stereotypes like leprechauns, Riverdance and a gunman. It is disappointing, particularly in this day and age, that Irish people still experience such portrayal."

Houghton, who made 73 appearances for the Republic of Ireland, last night refused to comment about the controversial sketch, which was broadcast last Sunday night.

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    In fairness, the English educational system doesn't do any "empire" activities. Concerntrates on Internal History (Civil War, Tudors etc), and the World Wars. I don't remember doing much on Ireland or India, Pakistan, Africa etc etc etc. I'm sure if you talk to black or asian people they'd have similar complaints.
    Sorry I've got to take a stand on this! My brother has just completed his History A Level which includes a modual on Northern Ireland. He was taught how Tyrone is "the accursed county", the Irish never negotiate and always use violence and how the Republicans disagree with the good-friday agreemant. He was all about IRA terrorism and hardly any about UDA/UDF/UDV, they never even mentioned Bobby Sands......a load of rubbish
    Long live the Pope! Free Burma (NLD/SNLD), Free Tibet (Burma Campaign/Free Tibet Campaign Alliance), Free the Rossport 5! (ACCOMPLISHED 30/09/05)

BOYCOTT TOTAL OIL-Please Read!

Quote Originally Posted by tricky_colour
    Can a leprahchaun not be a terrorist?
    never see the film "Darby o Kill "n the little peeple?
    "tight? he's the kinda guy that eats baked beans on tuesday so's he can have a bubble bath on wednesday"!

Quote Originally Posted by liam88
    Sorry I've got to take a stand on this! My brother has just completed his History A Level which includes a modual on Northern Ireland. He was taught how Tyrone is "the accursed county", the Irish never negotiate and always use violence and how the Republicans disagree with the good-friday agreemant. He was all about IRA terrorism and hardly any about UDA/UDF/UDV, they never even mentioned Bobby Sands......a load of rubbish
    Kudos to the British Educational System for remaining as impartial and objective as a Rupert Murdoch produced news show.

Quote Originally Posted by Plastic Paddy
    Well, it would be sad to think that a man who served Ireland with such distinction on the football field wouldn't consider himself even partly Irish in consequence. I take your point though; it is, after all, a possibility that he has no fealty to the green.

PP
    PP was having a look on my favourite comedy website OUR WEE C**T TREE when in with all the kissing of army groupie's ass, i seen them talking about this very subject and yer name turned up. Old mad dog, aka dog breath was talking jazz with all the other lovely old lady's about it and chucked in that he had read yer post's. He also said it was a shame that their new hated enemy Dermot O'Leary was not on that show.
    Never seen the show because i was over in Ireland, chilling out in a bar in Fermanagh that night,but If B&S are going to do a send up of classic Irish goal's that make all the lovely old lady's on OWM laugh so much why stop there, why not also do a send up of the only time we got to a major championship with the deciding game being in Ireland when Alan Mac scored @ parc an Windsor. I'm all for it.
    Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.

Quote Originally Posted by sylvo
    PP was having a look on my favourite comedy website OUR WEE C**T TREE when in with all the kissing of army groupie's ass, i seen them talking about this very subject and yer name turned up. Old mad dog, aka dog breath was talking jazz with all the other lovely old lady's about it and chucked in that he had read yer post's. He also said it was a shame that their new hated enemy Dermot O'Leary was not on that show.
    I'd not been across before to see OWC as I couldn't be arsed, tbh, but had to go and take a look to see my name in print (oh, the vanity...) Calling us "Brits" though? That's a great one. I bet he wrote that all by himself. Arsehole.

We obviously get right under their skins. Good to see the "siege mentality" is still alive and well in Olde Alsturr.

**** them.

Never seen the show because i was over in Ireland, chilling out in a bar in Fermanagh that night,but If B&S are going to do a send up of classic Irish goal's that make all the lovely old lady's on OWM laugh so much why stop there, why not also do a send up of the only time we got to a major championship with the deciding game being in Ireland when Alan Mac scored @ parc an Windsor. I'm all for it.
    Ahh, lovely Fermanagh, the county of the lakes. Shame they didn't extend to cover such lovely "wee" towns as Ballinamallard or Maguiresbridge though. Satsuma, anyone?

You bring back great memories there Sylv. I was watching the game in the Dubliner pub on Digbeth in Birmingham and had sloped off for a p*ss when I heard the pub go up. I near lost half me lad in the hurry to zip up so I could get out and see what had happened! All of Wunzurr in silence and the Greens off to the US of A. Oh happy days...

PP
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

I'd not been across before to see OWC as I couldn't be arsed, tbh, but had to go and take a look to see my name in print (oh, the vanity...) Calling us "Brits" though? That's a great one. I bet he wrote that all by himself. Arsehole.

We obviously get right under their skins. Good to see the "siege mentality" is still alive and well in Olde Alsturr.

**** them.

Ahh, lovely Fermanagh, the county of the lakes. Shame they didn't extend to cover such lovely "wee" towns as Ballinamallard or Maguiresbridge though. Satsuma, anyone?

You bring back great memories there Sylv. I was watching the game in the Dubliner pub on Digbeth in Birmingham and had sloped off for a p*ss when I heard the pub go up. I near lost half me lad in the hurry to zip up so I could get out and see what had happened! All of Wunzurr in silence and the Greens off to the US of A. Oh happy days...

PP

PP Was driving through Ballinamallard the other day funny enough, noticed there was no people to be seen on the street's @ all, it was like something out of 28 day's later,they must have been on OWM kissing army groupie's ass, don't no how the local's round that way cope with wanting to go down to the corner for a pint of the devil's buttermilk cause i noticed not one shebeen, maybe old dog breath could clear that mystery up for us. Not saying the Hilda's and Dorothy's on our wee mind's are paranoid, but they do have a thread so people can report back if anyone's dissing them , i guess old dog breath could clear that one up for us as well .
    PP i'm all for doing a fantasy football recreation of those four goal's we scored against them @ parc an windsor along with John Aldridge's salute to the main stand.

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD
    Yellow card for soccer hero Houghton after ITV own-goal

Former Irish soccer star Ray Houghton was last night given a vote of confidence by RTÉ despite his controversial appearance on ITV's Fantasy Football show on Sunday night.

The former Liverpool and Aston Villa star's involvement in the satirical sketch has been criticised by Irish interest groups in the UK and by fans for stereotyping Irish people as leprechauns and terrorists.

Houghton is a regular panellist and commentator for RTÉ Sport and is currently working for the national broadcaster during Euro 2004 in Portugal.

The ITV show, which is presented by comic duo Frank Skinner and David Baddiel, re-created Houghton's famous goal against England during the 1988 European Championships in Stuttgart.

When Houghton, who was born in Scotland, was asked if he considered himself to be "really Irish", he was shown dressed up as a leprechaun, a potato and as a Jean Butler lookalike.

However, most complaints arose when Houghton was seen standing beside what appeared to be a paramilitary gunman dressed in a khaki army jacket and a balaclava.

The Irish soccer hero, best remembered for his goals against England and against Italy in the 1994 World Cup, was also shown standing beside Baddiel when the comic impersonated Shane McGowan clutching a bottle of whiskey.

An RTÉ spokesman told The Irish Times: "There is no question over Ray's position in relation to his appearance on the ITV show. I'm not sure how many here saw the sketch, but Ray will be fulfilling his Euro 2004 duties as planned."

The British television watchdog, Ofcom, confirmed yesterday that numerous complaints had been made to it about the sketch and that it was investigating the matter.

However, as of last night ITV said it had not been contacted by Ofcom in relation to the sketch, and would act only if and when such contact was made.

Ms Eithne Rynne, of the London-based Federation of Irish Societies, said: "Sketches such as these set the Irish community in Britain back. It is disgraceful the way Irish people are lumped in stereotypes like leprechauns, Riverdance and a gunman. It is disappointing, particularly in this day and age, that Irish people still experience such portrayal."

Houghton, who made 73 appearances for the Republic of Ireland, last night refused to comment about the controversial sketch, which was broadcast last Sunday night.
    The only thing this shows is that Ray Houghton has no self respect and must be seriosuly short on cash - it's a pity to he a once half-great Liverpool and Ireland player prostituting himself like that, couldn't he do the decent thing and just become an alcoholic or pen a tawdry autobiography.

Though the potato costume is hilarious, I think I will go out an buy one.

BTW for you lovers of everything leprechaun related, here is a web cam link - it keeps the kids quiet

http://www.irelandseye.com/leprechaun/webcam.htm
    Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.

Nationalism is an infantile disease, the measles of mankind

200 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by finlma
    Kilroy-Silk got fired from his job for accusing all Arabs of being terrorists and I don't see a great deal of difference between what he said about Arabs and B&S insinuated about Irish.
    thats because we, like the Germans vis-a-vis the war, are "European" and so are fair game for English jingoistic jokes. Also lots of groups like the "British Association of Moslems" made official complaints, generally us Irish (as groups) tend ignore such things as we can see it is most often morons who make the jokes. At the end of the day I live in England, most English people dont take the p*ss, the ones that do have a collective IQ that barley reaches double figures. Personally I think that if I make a huge song and dance about it, I might just come across as a complaining so and so (not that im saying people who complain are).

I dont find it a big issue, I cant remember seeing something like it on TV for a while so I dont think its widespread in the media. Ive rarely kopped any flack for wearing my Ireland shirt, the worst I got was when a gang of Pakistani's spat at me near Neasden, but I can hardly blame all the English people or media for that anyway.

Anyway I think B&S's idea is flawed, I havent studied the troubles much (we did it a tiny bit at school but it was mainly pre-20s (and actually pretty balanced from what I remember) and squeezed in between History of Medicine and Elizabeth I; and in my degree modules I picked the Soviet - Afghan War and the Portuguese in Africa instead of things like "the Troubles" and Vietnam). From what little I know, the most famous Southerner associated with the IRA is Sean O'Callaghan, who was an informer on them anyway. My view, and the impression I get from other Southerners my age is a lot of people in the South arent really that excited about the North or the IRA.

Quote Originally Posted by wws
    we have a history of producing terrorists, once again I fail to see the problem - it sounds like a jolly jape at all thinks paddy
    Maybe an Irish satirist will do Baddiel dressed up as a skullcapped greedy shyster with a sweatshop, or a hook nosed porn producer exploiting 'Aryan' women or an Israeli soldier shooting an unarmed baby. As for the English and terrorism? They practically invented the art.

Personally the most offensive thing about this show was that it was commisioned in the first place. It's unadulterated sh*te. I last watched it after the Tans - France game and even without their smugness the two muppets were atrocious. How anyone can find it remotely funny is in itself laughable. Bo Selecta's take on them a couple of weeks ago was spot on, with Baddiel (dressed up as an Orthodox Jew) begging the butt-faced Skinner to call him a Jew to make people laugh. Skinner obliges and the audience - equally as pathetic - laugh hysterically, as Baddiel declares in a mock Yiddisher accent: 'We are very funny mens (sic.)'

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    btw Whats the difference between this stereotyping, and that of "all England fans are hoolies" of a couple of weeks ago?
    Or calling all C0ckneys, w@nkers, even though probably the only ones you've met have been either on a dust-up at Euston station or in the Rovers Return. Are you a script writer for Coronation street? If I was a c0ckney I'd be pretty miffed at the stereotyping going on that pile of cr*p at the moment.

**** them
    Tranquilo PP. It's because they think we won the lottery of life and threw away the ticket. Or just jealous that we have what they long for: Being born in Britain.

You forgot the other tag: 'The humour by-pass brigade.' I mean these people are far more thick skinned than us aren't they? It takes a lot to get them offended, like spelling the title of Britain's highest paid scrounger with a lowercase 'q' (one pathetic discredited inbred (copyright Davros) whined to a 'beggar' who did the unthinkable: Do you hate us that much?) or that we call our country 'Ireland'. In fact they are so hard to offend, they even have a section devoted to being offended on their website dedicated to FIFA's lowest rated regional team. I like the tw*t, proving what a load of pea-brained bigots they are, bringing up Skinner's religion into the equation (Note the refusal to accept from GAA apologists the similar argument that a past Protestant president means the broken glass spreaders are non-sectarian). Congratulations PP you've joined their moan list. Just upset no one asked for me.

Unsurprisingly, my old chum Dog Breath started the thread. Despite his protests that he's not interested in us he spends an alarming amount of time looking at this site. Hey Dog Sh*te, why don't you come on in? What: worried after the Army Groupie's poor showing that you'd end up going home with your sphincter in a articulated lorry? Ahh well, I did try! No doubt you'll be sending on Research Girl to do your fighting. I saw Pulp Fiction the other week for the first time and I can't say the gimp reminded me much of Davros but guess who Marsellus Wallace (the black bloke at the end of the red neck's penis) reminded me of. You've got it! Your good mate JohnB when he was on in January, until his own Butch Coolidge - played by Duncan Gardner instead of Bruce Willis - came along and ended his torture by getting the thread shut down. Happy days!!!
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

Quote Originally Posted by davros
    Can you combine my'double'-fingers salute to the Railway End...... .....B.& S. Might have to joyride the H*ns souvenir shop to get sufficient'costumes'....

To be fair,the Linfield fans I met bought the concept of 'being there just for the game',though plenty of closed minds & bigots elsewhere......to be fair was 10 yrs.ago & the good Senor & DG(& his Bro.') tell me things are much changed?We'll see......

I don't qustion that, by the look's of some of the flag's in the stadio del la luz when the scum were playing, that's were they've gone off to . I like to hear your conversation's with the Linfield fan's you met, i'd say that would be interesting, can't say i've got a problem about Linfield, after all they're an Irish team , as for the double finger salute to the railway end do they have people in that stand, i thought thought nobody was in that stand, but still it's been a long time since i've seen a puppet state match on telly, i tend to only take an interest in team's inside the top 100 in the fifa world ranking's.

Quote Originally Posted by Conor74
    So the best response is a good old dose of anti-semitism?

I HOPE you were being ironic.
    Better stop that goose stepping around Wembley park station and pointing yer right finger tip's out of yer front window to all the thousand's in Nurumberg Hempsted there herr Lopez, cause Conor's got yer sussed, and shave that fcuking tash will yer.

So the best response is a good old dose of anti-semitism?

I HOPE you were being ironic.
    Well spotted. You win the cuddly bear, Conor.

How many 'terrorists' - people who have used weopans/explosives against unarmed civilians - has Ireland produced. As a guess a lot less than the 3,000 tans that were banned from going to Portugal. Stereotyping is stereotyping. The shock statement above - which I'm glad offended - that you picked up on was intended to highlight where steroetyping has eventually lead. Skinner wouldn't have known this the eejit, but Baddiel has no excuse.

**** them.

Ahh, lovely Fermanagh, the county of the lakes.
    Quite understand the pointlessness of looking at the Occupied Without Consent site as it has rapidly become the internets version of a particularly bad edition of Saint and Greavies, you know all matey jocularity without the humour, followed by a short ill informed serious debate, fairly dull now days.

However, PP, I must admit that I did have a quick look at the site to see your name in print (any chance of an autograph?) and what a suprise they all think that crass streotyping of Irish people is hilarious. Still what else did anyone expect of supporters of an artifically constructed geographic area that needed discrimination against Irish people to make the 'state' work, sadly it would seem that its their mentality.

BTW your right Fermanagh is Ireland's county of lakes not Cavan as they are currently claiming, eh Sylvo? (and when we perfect the rules of underwater Gaelic Football you watch the Ulster titles and All Ireland's role in. )
    Where am I now? I'm over here,
    I've got those empty pockets and I can't afford a beer.

Way too early in the morning for irony, lopez.

Just thought you might have joined Young Fine Gael - you know the slippery slope, you vote Fine Gael, next thing we're all comemorating Mr. Mussolini's birthday, and before you know it the noise of jackboots fills the air in every town...
    I always refer to the party as the 'blueshirts' but I think it's a bit cruel with irony. Just wondered why they didn't change the name as it was printed above the Fitzgerald saltire on O'Duffy's shirt in photos for prosperity. My old man remembers them as a boy in Kildare. He thought they were some sort of circus come to town.

Quote Originally Posted by Pat O' Banton
    Quite understand the pointlessness of looking at the Occupied Without Consent site as it has rapidly become the internets version of a particularly bad edition of Saint and Greavies, you know all matey jocularity without the humour, followed by a short ill informed serious debate, fairly dull now days.

However, PP, I must admit that I did have a quick look at the site to see your name in print (any chance of an autograph?) and what a suprise they all think that crass streotyping of Irish people is hilarious. Still what else did anyone expect of supporters of an artifically constructed geographic area that needed discrimination against Irish people to make the 'state' work, sadly it would seem that its their mentality.

BTW your right Fermanagh is Ireland's county of lakes not Cavan as they are currently claiming, eh Sylvo? (and when we perfect the rules of underwater Gaelic Football you watch the Ulster titles and All Ireland's role in. )
    Hey show some respectos to Cavan, cause i'm sure old dog breath and army groupie will also get p***ed off by you dissing one of Ulster's county's.
    What's wrong with our wee website or whatever it's called i think it's great, they all get on nicely with one another by the look's of thing's when Marty talk's they all jump up and agree in unision, great stuff, only down side for them is the obbsession with with these bloke's they call begger's, who go around stealing their player's, their fan's. What i want to know is who are these bloke's and where are they taking them after they steal them. Anyway i think it's a great laugh, the boycotting Carlsberg cause of the Cas ad, and giving out about mastercard was great stuff.

Hey show some respectos to Cavan, cause i'm sure old dog breath and army groupie will also get p***ed off by you dissing one of Ulster's county's.
    What's wrong with our wee website or whatever it's called i think it's great, they all get on nicely with one another by the look's of thing's when Marty talk's they all jump up and agree in unision, great stuff, only down side for them is the obbsession with with these bloke's they call begger's, who go around stealing their player's, their fan's. What i want to know is who are these bloke's and where are they taking them after they steal them. Anyway i think it's a great laugh, the boycotting Carlsberg cause of the Cas ad, and giving out about mastercard was great stuff.
    Check out the Bubble Cypriot Homie from Palmers Green that's walked onto the site (could this be Davros yet again?). He mentions the Northern b*stard state except he's talking about the Captain Kirks on his island not ourweecountry (sic.).

Quote Originally Posted by lopez
    Check out the Bubble Cypriot Homie from Palmers Green that's walked onto the site (could this be Davros yet again?). He mentions the Northern b*stard state except he's talking about the Captain Kirks on his island not ourweecountry (sic.).
    No doubt Turkish flags appearing in the Sandy Row as we speak
    Where am I now? I'm over here,
    I've got those empty pockets and I can't afford a beer.

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast