Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast

Thread: Ray Houghton Disgrace

only1kilbane
    Jesus christ guess nobody has a sense of humour then. People should calm down and realise rayo meant no harm. if it was the other way around and was on an irish show with say shearer slagging the english it would be hillarious . get over it lads

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    and yet you still chose to continue living there.
    I lived with english guys in germany and there was plenty of slagging, so what. get over it
    Oh dear, as a electorate that doesn’t believe that its resources can take some non Europeans using its hospital beds do you really think that Ireland would support the return of all those who live abroad and claim Irish identity?

Does the fact that we live abroad mean that we should not be offended by people giving negative stereotypes to Irish people, would you like to see anti – Irish rascism continue or is your solution to deny our background? Should we run away from these problems or not comment, should we let rascists drive us out, because that seems what you are advocating us to do, (if I am misinterpreting you feel free to set me straight.)
    Where am I now? I'm over here,
    I've got those empty pockets and I can't afford a beer.

Quote Originally Posted by only1kilbane
    Jesus christ guess nobody has a sense of humour then. People should calm down and realise rayo meant no harm. if it was the other way around and was on an irish show with say shearer slagging the english it would be hillarious . get over it lads
    Personally I think that I have got a sense of humour that why I don't find this crap funny.

Quote Originally Posted by Duncan Gardner
    Plastic Paddy. Less of the contrived outrage, please. If you don't like yer user name, change it to something else! (That's not to downplay the real prejudice people of your generation, and certainly those older, have faced over here).
    It wasn't so much contrived outrage as drunken outrage, Duncan, at least with my first post on this thread! That's not to undermine the serious point made; I can handle leprechaun jokes, and even drunken stereotype jokes, but terrorist "jokes" at our expense are just beyond the pale.

And as for the user name, it's meant to be an ironic take on all the people over the years who have told me "ah sure, you're nothing but a plastic..."

So it stays.

PP
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

I lived with english guys in germany and there was plenty of slagging, so what. get over it

When all the slagging was going on did they slag yer with the media, or have their Police outside the pub where you were drinking, or spray paint graffti around yer area where you were living. I do be slagging my workmate's and vice versa as well, living and working over here is a lot different and a hell of a lot better to the way it used to be.
    Yes it has taken the Irish community a while to loosen the the waggon's in a ring attitude, but now not being public enemy no 1 with the media and police has made our attitude toward's the native's and vice a versa a lot better.
    One of the reason's why this skit has caused such anger is that it remind's a lot of people of the bad old day's when we had to put up with the constant anti Irish propaganda that used to be chucked at us by the British media which is something young people over in Ireland would proberly never have experianced. We all thought those day's might be gone.
    I did'nt see the show, but i've already said that i found the send up of England's manager and his girlfriend very sad on the show that i seen, as a mate of mine said ''my kid's just missed seeing that thankfully''.
    Not that i'm bothered about two toss pot so called comic's, but i'm sure David Baddiel would'nt be to happy at someone doing a skit of people being crammed into train's sent off to their death's in the same way as Frank Skinner i'm sure would'nt like to be took back to his day's laying face down in the street's banjaxed with a bottle of thunderbird in his hand.
    Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.

A few years ago my father - a still ardent listener of RTE radio - told me of this woman on a call - in show whose parents were from Donegal and who had moved 'back' to Ireland. Her job was editor of a woman's magazine (possibly its founder) but it didn't stop one twisted old woman ringing in and asking why she was here 'taking our jobs.' Question from me to you is, were you that woman, Éanna?

Beavis, this sort of thing doesn't affect people in Ireland. It is clear - with a report that the Celtic Tiger is once more growling, with a 5% growth projected this year - that the all the stereotypes branded about the Irish over the years (thick, violent, feckless, lazy, good-4-nothing) don't ring true with the population in Ireland. The same is not the case in Britain. With much of the population of Ireland unable to get British TV in the seventies it is also easy to see why our attitude is often dismissed as over sensitivity. The behaviour of so-called funny men on the seventies programme, The Comedians (some of whom were Irish), was enough to p*ss off even the most anglophilic Paddy Terry Wogan.

People still use the term Irish to denote something stupid or incomprehensible. To me this suggests that the constant stereotyping about the thick Paddy will take generations to erase. However, things have improved. The recent 'slagging' I got about being Irish have been questions about what teams we were playing against in Portugal, not who I was planning to bomb this week. That's the way I want our relations to stay. For what it's worth I found the skint of Eriksson and the Italian bird probably more offensive than anything against the Irish in recent years. But then Nancy and Sven are the one's whose expense it's at, not mine. It's up to them to complain.

DG: Fortnight for a degree: Where do you think I've been? The Bob Jones University? Don't be looking down your nose at me because you're going to a 'real' university next year - providing of course you managed to find an iron for your shirt in time for your interview. BTW, being called to the bar is not to be confused with 'your Bitter is ready.'
    Last edited by lopez; 03/07/2004 at 12:26 PM.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

Miaow (I did actually dress up for that interview, thanks- though not in full three piece pinstripe like my Ukrainian co-interviewee. It was a very hot day).

I really don't see your need to throw around snide comments about whether people have been to university, as you did further up this thread. If you do do it to me or John Baird on OWC, we'll mix it and respond in kind- but the more sensitive souls on here will just be scared away. is that really what you want?

As I said in reply to PP above, like you and he, P O'B*and Sylvo, I was very disappointed re the Skinner/ Baddiel sketch. Shame that most on OWB and foot.ie think we're overreacting. But maybe we need to chill, eh?

Now come here for a virtual cuddle, you fat bald sweetie

PP: I understand your ironic intent of course, but equally you must realise that both OWC and foot.ie include a large proprtion of those who'll readily criticise your namesakes. You know they're going to do that, so you can hardly squeal in outrage when they do, given that non-one's forcing you to read or to use the handle you do.

* loved yer cover of Baby come Back with Ali Campbell BTW.
    Last edited by Duncan Gardner; 03/07/2004 at 12:58 PM.
    They're red, they're black
    The hatchetmen are back.

We'll support you evermore
    Though you never score...

[QUOTE=Duncan Gardner

* loved yer cover of Baby come Back with Ali Campbell BTW.[/QUOTE]

DG noooo don't encourge him about that song, that song also bring's back bad memories. Bring bak me telly.
    Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.

Lopez & the rest, the 20th century will be remembered for the Holocaust, Stalin's pogroms, genocide from Cambodia to former Yougslavia. Apartheid and segration, nuclear madness. Humankind is real real nasty, it's in our DNA.

I don't think an isolated insensitive remark or stupid sketch on a TV program is really very shocking. If you see a wider pattern of racism against the Irish in 2004 that would be different but nobody has suggested that is the case, and in fairness I think people in the Muslim and Black communities have much more reason to complain than you do.
    Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.

Nationalism is an infantile disease, the measles of mankind

Davros. You mention- repeatedly- your experiences at primary school aged eight, as a justification for your often quite extreme views expressed here. Yet you refuse to detail what actually happened. You must realise that this is likely both to weaken your argument, and to raise the possibility that you're backfilling- ie making up long after the event what OUGHT to have happened to fit in with your wider opinions formed since.

But I'm quite happy to drop the subject if you are.
    The hatchetmen are back.

I really don't see your need to throw around snide comments about whether people have been to university, as you did further up this thread. If you do do it to me or John Baird on OWC, we'll mix it and respond in kind- but the more sensitive souls on here will just be scared away. is that really what you want?
    My point was that such was the perception in the seventies about 'thick Paddies' that a degree carried as much clout then for an Irishman as it does with say an Iraqi or Somali now. There were a few isolated cases, but the most successful Irishmen in Britain financially and socially of the period were entrepreneurs, mainly although not exclusively, in the construction game.

As for you and Marsellus Wallace, well I know you like a cyber-rumble and you ain't gonna get it on OWM unless you are Tony Fearon (wasn't he shot by that spacer farmer in Norfolk?) or someone else from 'across the political divide'. It's worth it coming on here - even if you have to put up with Davros' insults. Dunno about Research Boy: He only pops up as the Dog Sh*te's and the Army Groupie's advocate, which is a shame because, unlike like OWM, there's fat chance of being banned unless you bring up C*****.
    As I said in reply to PP above, like you and he, P O'B*and Sylvo, I was very disappointed re the Skinner/ Baddiel sketch. Shame that most on OWB and foot.ie think we're overreacting. But maybe we need to chill, eh?
    Well, as I said, I think the sketch on Sven was more offensive (not to me) than anything against the Irish in years. It shows how things have changed since the seventies and how p*ss poor these two w*nkers are. Did see Skinner squirm a few months back after bringing on Matthew Kelly who he had previously made a joke about his alleged paedophilia.
    Now come here for a virtual cuddle, you fat bald sweetie
    Are you talking to me or your mate from the daleks? Don't tell me you've been to the Pride march today because the drinks were half price.

Aye, I was there, thoroughly enjoyed it. According to some purple-clad dykes possee [self-styled] I was chatting to, I need to get more in touch with my gay side

Anyway, the balding genius texted me in a sulk to say I talk more sh*te on here than anyone "except those fcuking l*ng*rs". Now that won't do- if I can't match the M*nstermen in dishing it out, maybe I should take a break from web boards for a couple of weeks, like you two did.

See you after my trip to Ayrshire. I'll send ye a postcard
    The hatchetmen are back.

Aye, I was there, thoroughly enjoyed it. According to some purple-clad dykes possee [self-styled] I was chatting to, I need to get more in touch with my gay side
    Top man! I'm always saddened on these occasions, as my late Alsatian was himself of that said community. I saw a couple of multi-coloured honchos at Wembley this morning dressed up like Icarus awaiting to spread their wings and I knew it was Mardi Gras time again (or is that Shrove Tuesday).

You think that's it's that easy to just move countries? Oh yeah I'll pack ma bags tonight and meet Dav and PP at the airport tommrow after mass-sod it why not catch a late night flight and head for the early morning Cobh cathedral service
    Jobs/family etc.
    And why should we be pushed out of this country when we work (ok ok I only work on Saturdays but the rest of ya...) and earn our keep here!

You tell us to get over it in referance to the 'slagging'-mate, job discrimination and physical intimidation is bit more than 'slagging'. I won't bore ya all again with tales of people climbing on ma roof to rip down my tri or sliging things at our house-heck it'd be so much easier to hang a SJC out the window and sing GSTQ along with the rest of 'em-why not? Because we are proud of who we are!
    Don't get me wrong the majority of English people are great, friendly, not racist and couldn't care less about the North.
    The organised-self confessed racists are terrible but at least the admit what they are. The ones who really annoy me are the ignorant kids who think Irish+Catholic=IRA

To sum up-it ain't a bed of roses over here but we won't be forced out 'No Surrender' ey? (that's what I hear them all sing down the pub during the in-ger-land games).

Role on the 18th...............
    Long live the Pope! Free Burma (NLD/SNLD), Free Tibet (Burma Campaign/Free Tibet Campaign Alliance), Free the Rossport 5! (ACCOMPLISHED 30/09/05)

BOYCOTT TOTAL OIL-Please Read!

Just realised I missed out a whole page when I was reading!!!

Just thought I'd say that on a LOT brighter note I went down Southwark Irish fest today, when I finally found it -Dav'll know what I'm on about!

It was brilliant and great to see some Gaelic games! really really enjoyed myself-went with ma grandad (Tipperary) and saw and London Tip team beat a London Cork team all great craic!

Got some nice CD's and an inflatable tri-colour mallet!

Saw a few England shirts and all was peaceful and nice!
    Long live the Pope! Free Burma (NLD/SNLD), Free Tibet (Burma Campaign/Free Tibet Campaign Alliance), Free the Rossport 5! (ACCOMPLISHED 30/09/05)

Quote Originally Posted by 1MickCollins
    Lopez & the rest, the 20th century will be remembered for the Holocaust, Stalin's pogroms, genocide from Cambodia to former Yougslavia. Apartheid and segration, nuclear madness. Humankind is real real nasty, it's in our DNA.

I don't think an isolated insensitive remark or stupid sketch on a TV program is really very shocking. If you see a wider pattern of racism against the Irish in 2004 that would be different but nobody has suggested that is the case, and in fairness I think people in the Muslim and Black communities have much more reason to complain than you do.
    Just because humankind is nasty (a point that I agree with you about) it doesn't mean that we shold not protest if we feel that we (or others are wronged.)

The point is this that there in recent times have been some shocking stuff in the media in recent years about the Irish, but this is defo on the decline, we want it to stay that way thats why we are making a fuss about this. Certainly the Muslim community do get a hard time from the Brit media but I would argue that the the black community do not get such rubbish spouted about them anymore, precisely because they have stood up for themselves and said that they will not accept such nonsense.

The cartoons on this link, from that bastion of nasty stereotypes 'Punch' show the Irish as violent and lazy. Baddiel and Skinner's caricature shows the Irish as violent, wheres the difference? If you find the Punch cartoons offensive then surely so are Baddiel and Skinner's portrayal.

http://www.nde.state.ne.us/SS/irish/unit_2.html

DG, come to Fulham and I will sing my entire back catalogue

A good history of anti-Irish stereotyping can be found in: Nothing But the Same Old Story: Roots of Anti-Irish Racism by English writer (hence no allegations of misty-eyed Oirish prejudice) Liz Curtis, and published by 'Information on Ireland'.

Quote Originally Posted by Pat O' Banton

DG, come to Fulham and I will sing my entire back catalogue
    DG in the hoops stand? That'll be the day!
    Pat you got your ticket yet? Get it touch with Dav if not

Dav-DG still hasn't responded to the claims about showing his true colours with a certain flag last month mabye he'll join us after all............

Quote Originally Posted by liam88
    DG in the hoops stand? That'll be the day!
    Pat you got your ticket yet? Get it touch with Dav if not

Dav-DG still hasn't responded to the claims about showing his true colours with a certain flag last month mabye he'll join us after all............
    I think you'll excuse me and Pat if we don't comment on this topic about a certain club in North Britain. BTW, Dav's got me a ticket for this game at Fulham - part of my education/indoctrination he claims - and I'm just trying for a day off.

Dublin or lost in a backwater called England
    Quote Originally Posted by lopez
    I think you'll excuse me and Pat if we don't comment on this topic about a certain club in North Britain.
    you could always use another two teams as a comparison so you dont feel left out?

welcome back by the way

Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast