Thread: Shamrock Rovers fans cancel bus services to Derry

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Réiteoir View Post
    You nearly married your own son?

Each to their own I suppose...
    he's a Shamrock Rovers fan, not a Sligo Rovers fan Chris...
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    Aye, but you don't know what it's like to have a queen.
    Naw but O'Neil and Magilton would know. And you can add Turner to that list.
    Last edited by Derry; 09/07/2011 at 3:32 PM.

Taken from Derry City Chat forum.

Quote Originally Posted by Davy
    Shamrock Rovers issue press release.

Shamrock Rovers supporters who took part in heavy combat after the Derry City game in the Brandywell on the outskirts of Londonderry on Friday night recounted their experiences from their hospital beds, where 22 of the wounded casualties of the battle were treated.

A consultant said "They suffer mostly from shrapnel and also from penetration of banana skins. "Mr Magilton, who was brought in by the club last week, runs the emergency room where the supporters are hospitalized. "Most of the injuries are in the limbs, a few of them are in the chest and stomach. Mr Magilton said "the most similar experience he can recall was when he was required to treat this many wounded after a recent friendly game in East Belfast."

The wounded supporters described the battle as a bitter one which took place in a built-up setting, one where enemy forces had organized a well-planned ambush. Supporters faced getting hit with orange peel from any and all directions. "They threw at us from 180 degrees," said one of the supporters. Most of the dead and seriously wounded are those from the initial wave of ground troops which tried to enter one of our buses. The supporters who suffered light wounds are primarily those who arrived on the scene to retrieve the bodies of the dead and wounded supporters lying in the Daisy Field.

"The battle began at 10.00 at night," he said. There were large oranges fired from rocket launchers, missiles and rocket-propelled grapes. I provided cover fire for supporters who tried to reach the wounded, and this went on for hours. Eventually, a plastic cup hit the bus where I was standing. I was thrown up against a window in the bus. In my lifetime I never expected to see bodies and people with wounds in their chest as i did last night

Manager O’Neill was wounded while attempting to recover a supporter’s body which was lying behind a Culmore taxi. "We tried to go in and retrieve the body but we didn't succeed, he said, "When I shot at the door of the taxi, the driver responded by shouting at me”, “F**k off back to Dublin, i’m only collecting a fair”. O’Neill who sustained shrapnel wounds to his leg after being hit by an empty fag packet, said the supporters did all in their power to prevent the Derry wains from laughing at them but to no avail.

The supporters also recounted feats of heroism displayed by their friends. "They carried supporters on stretchers while simultaneously singing about their Queen," O’Neill said, without thinking of the irony of his comment.

"It was hell on earth," Chris Turner said. "People risked their lives not only for the wounded but also for the dead bodies." Turner added that the Derry wains demonstrated impressive combat capabilities. "They are strong fighters, not like us, as we are scared sh**less of our own shadow," I would have thought that us white supremacists would have fared better than that bunch of b**** B*******, but then again i’m a racist.

Former Rovers centre-half Dan Murray was hit in his arm by a raffle ticket. "They fired from all directions, as we tried to get to the wounded," he said. "As I was about to throw a few insults, I got hit. After I was hurt, I couldn't do anything, but i had to try and save myself”

Some of the wounded supporters spoke of face-to-face clashes with the wains, however, none of the supporters could gave first-hand accounts of such incidents. The supporters who are from the worst slums in Dublin said their stay in Londonderry extended to four hours during which time they had to watch a team of local Derry City youngsters show them what passion for your team was all about.

A spokesman for Rovers said that’s the last time we’ll insist on having a Dub ref as he didn’t do his job by giving us every single decision.

Six Shamrock Rovers supporters issued a statement today after last night’s horrendous performance, both on and off the field.

“Chris Turner is nothing but a humped up racist, and that last night after the game while returning to base we saw a cow jump over the moon.”

"Nobody threw a brick at me." Clear dig at Derry City fans there, the implication obviously being that the bus attack was premeditated.

Like i have been saying all week, nothing but a smokescreen. This quote below is taken from the Derry City site.

We were a bit late leaving the ground after the game on Friday night. As we got into our car on the Brandywell Rd, four Shamrock Rovers supporters, carrying drink and certainly well oiled, singing about supporting Shamrock Rovers walked the length of the street towards the Lecky Rd.

Not one being said boo to them, and they certainly didn't seem in any a bit apprehensive. So much for the neanderthals on their site saying they feared for their lives.

Quote Originally Posted by Derry View Post
    Like i have been saying all week, nothing but a smokescreen.
    Ermmm...no buses went up..so why would there be anything happening.

Come back when buses go up and nothing happens to them.
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

108 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dfx- View Post
    Ermmm...no buses went up..so why would there be anything happening.

Come back when buses go up and nothing happens to them.
    I'm pretty sure those two or three mini-buses in the car park belonged to shams fans.

I assume the team got the direct flight to the brandywell, certainly looked jet-lagged!

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by City till I Die
    no bother inside or outside the ground!!
    After the game, I saw 4 of them throw, and look to throw stones at fans from both sides as they walked up the hill. A passing Derry fan then told them to stop.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dfx-
    Mypost can be believed, he outlined the flying from Sligo thing in great detail afterall...are you trying to doubt such logic?
    The Galway, Sligo and Derry flight services are suspended from July 22nd. The flight from Dublin to Derry even left on time on Friday night. Bah humbug!!

Ten Years Not Out

Last night a Derry City supporters bus was attacked outside Dalymount. The front windscreen was smashed. Derry City supporters later told the media, we won't be crying to anyone who'll listen about the bad football supporters in Dublin, as we aren't as easily scare s***less as some supporters from Dublin. We could of course boycott the place with some watery excuse similar to what others have done, but we are made of better stuff than that.

176 Posts
    No, you just chose not to make a stand against it.

Ten Years Not Out

305 Posts
    Last night a Derry City supporters bus was attacked outside Dalymount. The front windscreen was smashed. Derry City supporters later told the media, we won't be crying to anyone who'll listen about the bad football supporters in Dublin, as we aren't as easily scare s***less as some supporters from Dublin. We could of course boycott the place with some watery excuse similar to what others have done, but we are made of better stuff than that.
    Jaysus yis are dead tough in Derry.I wish i was one of yous

If only we were all so heroic. I'm sure the Queen hands out medals for such bravery, you should contact her.

Maybe if it happens every time, it'd be a valid complaint.

Doesn't happen when Rovers are playing in Dalymount, so obviously Derry fans are the problem. Maybe if you stopped singing songs
    Last edited by dfx-; 20/08/2011 at 6:21 PM.
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

415 Posts
    If only we were all so heroic. I'm sure the Queen hands out medals for such bravery, you should contact her.

Maybe if it happens every time, it'd be a valid complaint.

Doesn't happen when Rovers are playing in Dalymount, so obviously Derry fans are the problem. Maybe if you stopped singing songs
    Well it's Derrys fault for organising a direct bus from Derry to Phibsboro

38 Posts
    Childish post.

1,825 Posts
    Hoy-o!

48 Posts
    It was the Pride of Northside SC bus that had it's windscreen broken.

Thats the pensioners bus they bought a few years ago. I think the youngest on it is about 65.

Most of them have seen a lot worse in their lifetime but still the guys were lucky the people on the bus had already packed away their zimmer frames.

I was driving the Brandywell pride mini-bus a few years ago to a game in Dalymount and a group of teenagers tried the same. They got one good kicking the wee sh1tes of us. Probably remembered and found a soft target this time.
    So if you think Bohs are big read this. http://www.astronomy.ie/perpespective.html

185 Posts
    Your pre-disposition to violence in that corner of Ireland has served you well over the years.
    hurrah for the occupied.
    twŁt.
    Shamrock Rovers- Where trophies are won and envy is scarce

120 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by placid casual View Post
    Your pre-disposition to violence in that corner of Ireland has served you well over the years.
    hurrah for the occupied.
    twŁt.
    Not so placid, then?

675 Posts
    ...as we aren't as easily scare s***less as some supporters from Dublin. We could of course boycott the place with some watery excuse similar to what others have done, but ters we are made of better stuff than that.

Maybe if you stopped singing songs
    Quote Originally Posted by placid casual View Post
    hurrah for the occupied.
    twŁt.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

23. Thanks From:

Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 6789 LastLast