Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: Shamrock Rovers fans cancel bus services to Derry

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Derry
    The common denominator in trouble at away grounds in the LOI is Shamrock Rovers.
    Wrong.

This attempt by Rovers supporters to blacken Derry City is a smokescreen to hide the problems of racism.

The alleged racism against Eamon Zayed has been completely overshadowed by this smokescreen.
    Wrong again.

The racism is "alleged", the bus bricking has hundreds-thousands of witnesses. The racism also involves another club and has lasted a month. The bus bricking involves several clubs, and has gone on longer.

But do keep up your delusion, that the "common denominator in trouble" is SRFC. No matter how many times you throw it out, it'll still be wrong.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

672 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    They do, but they're like bored youngsters everywhere. They do damage when you least expect it. When they're watched/observed/policed, they're not so big then. The PSNI don't police that area, Derry don't want to know, so they have an easy life. Tomorrow, they'll have no buses to hit, so they probably won't bother. No fun in hitting nothing after all.
    But that's not really the point I was making. Of course they can't attack Rovers fans if they're not there. But the next time Rovers fans come up, if they do come, it's possible the attack will be heavier because your reaction has been very public. By your logic you guys should go ahead and travel on Friday since they're less likely to do anything.

If you want them to be adequately watched/observed/policed then making the relevant discussions with DCFC would've been far more useful than this public statement, which could very well make future trips Brandy-direction more fraught and, if anything, harder to police.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EivissaPaul View Post
    Entrance to Dalymount Park / Tallaght Stadium / Inchicore etc on big match days are 99% of the time, completely safe as stewarding & policing outside the stadiums are adequate and normally very well communicated with local police.. (THIS IS IN THE INTEREST OF THE HOME CLUB AS ITS THEIR GATE RECEIPTS BEFORE YOU REPEAT YOURSELF AGAIN SAYING THE LOCAL POLICE IN DERRY WILL DO NOTHING) failure to ensure home and away supporters have safe access to and from the stadium is a basic failure of responsibilities by the home club despite the problem being inside the stadium or out, Derry City & the PSNI need to address the problem in the interest of a) Derry City FC and its potential income & b) the income for the local people (players, stadium staff, stewards etc..)
    Dundalk fans have been attacked at our last two visits to Tallaght. What are Shamrock Rovers FC doing to address this? Absolutely nothing I would imagine as its a policing issue and should be dealt with by the Gardai.

So according to you Shamrock Rovers FC have failed in their responsibilities to protect away fans? (I don't agree with you by the way)

427 Posts
    Folks, before we deviate further down the "who has attacked/been attacked more" route lets remind ourselves of what this is about - spectator safety. Have both clubs (in conjunction with PSNI) done all they can to maximise safety for those travelling to the match ? If yes, then job done (fans make up own mind). If no then revisit it.This is a responsibility on both clubs.
    Dragging stuff like the Zahed complaint in to is pointless but will no doubt provide ammo for some lazy journo to hype the story out of all proportion
    Last edited by marinobohs; 07/07/2011 at 12:23 PM.

Have to say, i think Derry City is an absoloute dump IMO....

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by superjohnny View Post
    Have to say, i think Derry City is an absoloute dump IMO....
    SORTED. Tell "the Lads" to forget the shams buses and look out for a fella called Superjohnny;1505942

57 Posts
    We can now safely say that there is no direct bus from Tallaght to Derry...
    Kom Igen, FCK...

If anything, they're less likely to fire stuff now, as part of the kick out of it, is the unexpected.

This isn't just a problem at our games in Derry, this is a long running problem in the area, involving a number of clubs. Pats go up there next month. We're just the ones to have taken a stand against it, as nothing has been done about it for far too long. It's up to others now to examine whether it's safe for their fans to travel to games there in the future.
    Safe as houses for us every time.
    It's because ye have such a large dirtbag contingent that those boys want to teach ye a lesson.

The PSNI rejects hooligan claims surrounding Brandywell

The PSNI has said that there is "no hooligan issues associated with Derry City" after a number of Shamrock Rovers fans cancelled buses to Friday's game at the Brandywell over security fears.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/14066878.stm

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by brandy86 View Post

The PSNI has said that there is "no hooligan issues associated with Derry City" after a number of Shamrock Rovers fans cancelled buses to Friday's game at the Brandywell over security fears.

Amazing if shams supporters began this without the club raising any concerns directly with PSNI and DCFC. Responibility for fans safety surely an issue for both clubs ?

672 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by marinobohs View Post
    Amazing if shams supporters began this without the club raising any concerns directly with PSNI and DCFC.
    It was already quite obvious they didn't...
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    Hmm, wouldn't they just offer "misguided" opinions? As far as I understand, the Bohs buses left the ground safely with the stewards staying on after the game in order to ensure the vicinity of the stadium exit was clear and safe for the buses to pass. Or did you you have some hearsay to add with regards goings-on inside the ground?
    The stewards in the ground are part of the safety problem there.

PSNI say they can enter the stadium. So why have they told Rovers fans in the past that they won't go to the area and any incident must be reported at Strand Rd. station. These things do not add up.
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

Wrong.

Wrong again.

The racism is "alleged", the bus bricking has hundreds-thousands of witnesses. The racism also involves another club and has lasted a month. The bus bricking involves several clubs, and has gone on longer.

But do keep up your delusion, that the "common denominator in trouble" is SRFC. No matter how many times you throw it out, it'll still be wrong.
    What's delusional about this. See below. You have seemed to have missed it before.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0fretxesAwI

It's called head in the sand. This shows your supporters involved in racist chants, not alleged racist chants, but showing them involved in racist chants and if you're in denial about that then you'll be in denial about everything else. It is a smokescreen.

Have a read at what other posters have to say about you. And Pats or other supporters don't have any trouble at the Brandywell. It's no wonder some of your supporters are known to be the dregs of Dublin, and their actions sometimes at the away games proves that. I man for Gods sake, fighting among your selves, wise up.

You say the bricking of buses involves several other clubs. Now tell me when that was and who are the several other clubs. Approximate dates will do.

Wait... so Rovers fans made a racist chant against Ndo a few years ago, therefore all future racism allegations are automatically true?

105 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by brandy86 View Post

Well that's that then, as all Derry fans know if the PSNI say it's true then it must be true.

19. Thanks From:

63 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dfx- View Post

PSNI say they can enter the stadium. So why have they told Rovers fans in the past that they won't go to the area and any incident must be reported at Strand Rd. station. These things do not add up.
    [sweeping generalisation]So you've always had satisfactory dealings with AGS?! Police(both North and South of the border) are stretched thin, and in many instances won't attend something if they've nobody available/if they prioritise it lower than other calls. I've called 999 a few times looking for the police, and have often been told to go to the Station to make a report, or to go check where the nearest CCTV camera is for them to check first as they wouldn't/couldn't send any cars. Similiarly, I've also had similar shocking experiences with the Guards(memories of Donegal and Kildare spring to mind).[/sweeping generalisation]

If you really want, I could go stand outside the Brandywell tonight and get a few photos of any passing patrol cars?!

Quote Originally Posted by horton View Post
    [sweeping generalisation]So you've always had satisfactory dealings with AGS?! Police(both North and South of the border) are stretched thin, and in many instances won't attend something if they've nobody available/if they prioritise it lower than other calls. I've called 999 a few times looking for the police, and have often been told to go to the Station to make a report, or to go check where the nearest CCTV camera is for them to check first as they wouldn't/couldn't send any cars. Similiarly, I've also had similar shocking experiences with the Guards(memories of Donegal and Kildare spring to mind).[/sweeping generalisation]

If you really want, I could go stand outside the Brandywell tonight and get a few photos of any passing patrol cars?!
    At a football stadium, there should be no delay given that even AGS are in the ground. The reason specifically given to the Rovers fans calling was that the incident reported was in the Brandywell area. Not prioritising or wrong jurisdiction. If there were plain clothes officers in the ground, they should've been available at the very least.
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

105 Posts
    So bring it with your club. Bring your own stewards. Take some measure of responsibility for the actions of your own unruly element.

Or is that what the parade of overweight blokes who seem to dislike staying in the stand, any time you're at the brandy, are meant to be there for?

Whatever the alleged reason for a non-response to an incident - and I believe it has already been pointed out to you that there are other means to report it - it does not automatically equate with the nonsense put out to the press by fans of shamrock rovers.

2,695 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Wait... so Rovers fans made a racist chant against Ndo a few years ago, therefore all future racism allegations are automatically true?
    i think the point was that if you try and deny the evidence captured on live TV and dismiss it as people shouting "boo! boo!' at Joseph Ndo when the evidence is so clearly monkewy chants, then any other stringent denials you make should be viewed with the same skepicism. Its a very fair poiont and Rovers (fans and club) have brought it upon themselves with their head in the sand/deny at all costs approach to every accusation.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

445 Posts
    What age are the lads that are throwing stones at the buses? I've been to Derry a few times supporting the Saints, Our buses have never had anything thrown at them but me and a friend got a fair few stones thrown at us on the way back to the bus once, Now these lads were no older than 10 so we didn't take much notice, If its the same lads the surely any steward in the ground wearing an orange jacket can see the buses off that would be enough to scare the kids off
    Here on a technicality.

Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast