Page 5 of 20 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast

Thread: 2011 UEFA European Under-19 Football Championship

2,693 Posts
    Around then, but won't arrive until game is over.

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    I see England didn't make it to this level.

The betting looks open enough
    3/1 Spain
    13/2 Turkey, Czech rep.
    9/1 Romania, Irl, Belg, Greece
    15/1 Serbia

Spain are also 3/1 to be Euro 2012 champions.
    Serbia were pretty clinical in qualification. Surprised at those odds.

162 Posts

455 Posts
    Unneccessary inflamatory article in the indo today critising Doolin and been derogatory to the players left in the squad. Whatever the rights and wrongs now is not the time to discuss it with the tournamant about to start

162 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by liamoo11 View Post
    Unneccessary inflamatory article in the indo today critising Doolin and been derogatory to the players left in the squad. Whatever the rights and wrongs now is not the time to discuss it with the tournamant about to start
    Who is it by?

455 Posts
    john o brien

646 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by liamoo11 View Post
    john o brien
    independent.ie/sport/soccer/player-unrest-remains-a-sore-point-that-refuses-to-go-away-2823620.html

3,311 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joe_denilson View Post
    independent.ie/sport/soccer/player-unrest-remains-a-sore-point-that-refuses-to-go-away-2823620.html
    from that article:

It is a shame, of course, that Ireland's progress to a major championship finals for the first time at any level since 2002 should be blighted by chatter about player disharmony and managerial fall-outs.
    except for the UEFA U17 Championships in 2008

There's quite a long article in the magazine section of the Sunday Independent debating the level of interest in the Irish soccer team, compared to rugby and golf (seriously, golf) in the national psyche, where John Delaney's salary is quoted as €420,000. Elsewhere in the same paper, it's mentioned as €450,000. Whether it is or it isn't, or if he deserves it is a debate for another day, but some level of consistent reporting would help!
    Last edited by tetsujin1979; 17/07/2011 at 12:32 PM.

114 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    from that article:

except for the UEFA U17 Championships in 2008
    And the girls U17 world cup - very entertaining it was too.

446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by AlaskaFox View Post
    Look out for the Boston Celtics jacketed one. He may be our only fan travelling specially??

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    There's quite a long article in the magazine section of the Sunday Independent debating the level of interest in the Irish soccer team, compared to rugby and golf (seriously, golf) in the national psyche
    Golf? That's ridiculous. We're all far more crazy about horse racing.

Quote Originally Posted by ArdeeBhoy View Post
    Look out for the Boston Celtics jacketed one. He may be our only fan travelling specially??
    You wont be alone, I know a few who are traveling, we should all meet to celebrate the lads victory!!!

57 Posts
    I'll be there and 4 others in our group. Ryanair/Wizzair via Luton tomorrow night.

446 Posts
    Fair play. You should make double figures then....

57 Posts
    Fair play. You should make double figures then....
    There will be family members there too. We had about 100 fans in Turkey in 2008 for the U17s but my 2 mates and me were the only ones without connections to the players.

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    857 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gspain View Post
    There will be family members there too. We had about 100 fans in Turkey in 2008 for the U17s but my 2 mates and me were the only ones without connections to the players.
    Good stuff and fair play to ye for making the voyage. Will you be doing a report on here of the games and performances?

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CraftyToePoke View Post
    Good stuff and fair play to ye for making the voyage. Will you be doing a report on here of the games and performances?
    Will do.

Disappointed to be missing limrick v monaghan though.

2,284 Posts
    Anyone have any idea if the game on Wednesday will be televised/streamed somewhere?

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    857 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gspain View Post
    Will do.

Disappointed to be missing limrick v monaghan though.
    Good man. Understandable about Limerick Vs Monaghan also, I havent ruled out a crafty Ryanair for that one myself yet.

http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=c...r-19&Itemid=12

very good interview here by John Egan, sounds like the team have the right attitude.

I will be there Wednesday, me and the other family members supporting our boys

Page 5 of 20 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast