Page 67 of 104 FirstFirst ... 1757656667686977 ... LastLast
Results 1,321 to 1,340 of 2067

Thread: Cork AUL 2011/12

AOH. Glen Celtic v Kinsale.

Lads if anyone is looking for something to do on sunday morning i would suggest going up to glen park as kinsale are the glens opponents in the AOH. Glen are flying this season and after last weekends poor showing by kinsale they will be well up for it...... ps. overthehill will not be idle for long. With that mans football knowledge he would be a great addition to any club.

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by redandwhite View Post
    a lot of backslapping goes on here doesnt it haha...killumney won the league last year by a country mile with their old manger correct?? (premier a granted)..i assume the club felt it was ready to kick on and challenge for major trophies and are disapointed with whats going on at present as obviously the players must be saying the same as they are touted as favouring the return (in some format) of the now returned manager...overthehill i cannot see why u wouldnt want this guy onboard as he is obviously a knowledgeable guy with a proven track record with these guys...it seems like u took the easy way out to me rather than accept a strong addition to yer panel which could only have benefitted ye..to be clear were u asked to leave/stepdown/demoted to assistant mnger or were u still going to be the number 1?
    I have to disagree on two points. Dunno about walking Prem A - they scrope past us to win the league and had only a game or two left after that. Worthy winners but no country mile. I couldnt imagine Kilumney thinking they were going to win Premier first year up?

Wouldnt work as a partnership I dont think. Half the squad seeing one guy as manager and half seeing the other.Recipe for disaster.
    Just remember, every kick makes me stronger and more determined. Indians always come back!

Just a quick reply to what I have been reading about the "situation" out in killumney, the club has been around since 1988 since Mr Feily joined the team he has brought them further than any manager that has been in charge, yes he left to go abroad it didn't work out so he returned, I can't say Mr Melrick did anything wrong except a few mistakes against the limerick team that beat them in recent weeks, he left the top goal scorer on the bench doesn't make sense to me , anyway he did a good job other than that, from what I gather The two men in question Mr Feily and Mr Melrick were going to work together it was Mr Melricks choice to leave, I think it could have been handled differently but that's the way it went down, as for duckdu killumney show boaters fair play to them they deserve to show boat one of best teams in the league thanks to Mr Sheehan and Mr Feily ,,,

billy ,a killumney man no doubt,one of the best teams in the league thanks to mr melerick ,mr feily had nothing to do with their position this year.also you pick a mistake the manager made against the limerick side ,are you for real or what,did you know that to be only beaten by that team 3 to 2 was some result .,they are wipeing the floor with everyone they play in limerick ,one of the top leagues in the country.you say the two men were to work together ,ok with mr feily doing the training .,and that wasnt the problem ,but in all fairness with two thirds of the season gone and the team having only lost one league game and still in the aoh ,to expect dereck to have mr feily picking the team with him was a bit much.billy i think the fog is clouding your jugement.it could never have worked and dereck knew he had no option but to resign ,and if mr feilys venture had worked in australia ,they would be damn glad of him.ps and if the rumors are true mr feilly might have to bring in a lot of players next year especially if things dont go well,and even if they do can he really claim the credit when the groundwork has already been laid for him.

Shetland I wouldn't necessarily consider myself a killumney man I go to a lot of matches throughout cork but killumney would be my preference, I agree Janesborough were a good side to get that result against but the winning of the , game could have been killumneys with their top scorer in the pitch, surely you have to agree that two heads are better than 1 , I know Derek did nothing wrong I never said he did I only pointed out one match , yes 2 thirds of the season is gone and killumney have a good side that Derek managed but who brought killumney from a poor side up to what they are now only Mr Feily and Mr Sheehan, at the end of the Derek was never asked to leave , I don't agree with the way it was handled to be honest but that's the way it happened . Rumors about players leaving I wouldn't think so now Mr Feily is back , that's my opinion anyway weather I'm right or wrong only time will tell.

71 Posts
    No-one is doubting the record of either man. It might even work at the start of a season but it would just create two camps now within the team in my opinion.

71 Posts
    Blackstone and Bohs is off today. Both pitches probably need enough dry time to allow a roll.

Hi guys, trying to get some feedback on script / monies players are paying? Some clubs are collecting €10 a week from players, some clubs hand out tickets and the monies collected cover the script, some clubs collect some monies at training and the balance at matches, some clubs collect €10 a week even if no match, etc etc and some clubs are getting players to pay their own yellow card fines!
    What do guys think? Is €5 enough , is €10 too much, is paying for own yellow cards going too far, what do you think is an acceptable amount and I know it depends of the facilities on offer , etc,

33 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by billythefrog View Post
    Just a quick reply to what I have been reading about the "situation" out in killumney, the club has been around since 1988 since Mr Feily joined the team he has brought them further than any manager that has been in charge, yes he left to go abroad it didn't work out so he returned, I can't say Mr Melrick did anything wrong except a few mistakes against the limerick team that beat them in recent weeks, he left the top goal scorer on the bench doesn't make sense to me , anyway he did a good job other than that, from what I gather The two men in question Mr Feily and Mr Melrick were going to work together it was Mr Melricks choice to leave, I think it could have been handled differently but that's the way it went down, as for duckdu killumney show boaters fair play to them they deserve to show boat one of best teams in the league thanks to Mr Sheehan and Mr Feily ,,,
    you say that Mr feily has brought the team further than any other manager and credit to any manager when they do a good job but what about the great job Mr Melrick was doing...why wasnt he allowed to carry on the rest of the season the way he was doing things because looking at the results he was doing a great job in fairness...people are saying that the camp was split in two as some players would take orders off one man and some players take orders off the other....so at the end of all this the club are left with the man they really wanted and some of the old clan will take his orders but im not to sure the new players will be so willing....I just think its crazy out of the club to even think of changing things giving the good position they are in but the end of the season will explain the method behind their madness im sure

well said backpass totally agree.

I apologize for the delay in my comments as I am new my comments are being moderated and it takes awhile for my comments to come up ,,I agree also with backpass I don't disagree at all I do think things could be handled differently . But look what's done is done and I wish Derek and killumney the best if luck in their futures,

€10 a week is not to much to ask to cover script and training at all, and yes players should pay all their own fines regardless of whether they are for yellow cards or red cards. The cost of matches and training have to paid regardless so in my opinion the players should pay their share, now I know some clubs have big membership fees at the start of the season that include all training and script costs. That is another way to go.

What baffles me the most is how all of a sudden Killumney are the best team in the AUL??? There behind Wilton, Kinsale, Coachford and Blarney St IMO, Kearney is there best player and he's average, Molly on Goal and no offense but he's very poor, Ya man Callaghan is fit strong and fast but for a right back not the best defender, there winger couldn get into a poor AUL team neither could skilly..

NOT the best team in the League by a country mile nor in the top 3 or 4 thats exactly why the AUL team failed to many overhyped teams and players in our leagues and that is for sure.....

this thread was not about how good or bad killumney are ,its about the way their manager was totally undermined.

Quote Originally Posted by Saxone99 View Post
    Hi guys, trying to get some feedback on script / monies players are paying? Some clubs are collecting €10 a week from players, some clubs hand out tickets and the monies collected cover the script, some clubs collect some monies at training and the balance at matches, some clubs collect €10 a week even if no match, etc etc and some clubs are getting players to pay their own yellow card fines!
    What do guys think? Is €5 enough , is €10 too much, is paying for own yellow cards going too far, what do you think is an acceptable amount and I know it depends of the facilities on offer , etc,
    I think €10 a man a week is enough, and shiuld be covered by every player every week regardless of a match or not, whether that be out of there own pocket or through selling tickets or whatever. Players paying there own fines is wrong in my opinion, i think maybe half by the player the other by the club or something, its unfair when referees are dishing out cards willy nilly, and asking people who may be out of work paying 10, 15 quid a week as it is to pay a fine for mistiming a tackle or kicking a ball away!!!

Killumney 2-1 against knockavilla in the Aoh cup, should have been a lot more only for a missed penalty and a few terrible misses, but at the end of the day a win is a win ,,,,,

61 Posts
    Saw a bit of Glen and Kinsale earlier. Left at the end of 90 minutes. Suddenly Streets result v Kinsale is not much of a surprise. I honestly thought they were rubbish. An absolute terrible game of football. Never got final score.

Lost 4-1 to Springfield A in aoh today though we're leading 1-0 with 1 min left. They equalised and then got a soft peno in extra time and a ridiculously offside goal which killed us off. I've been involved in junior soccer since 1999 and I've never been so disgusted with an opposing team in their attitudes from start to finish.

28 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JRyno View Post
    Lost 4-1 to Springfield A in aoh today though we're leading 1-0 with 1 min left. They equalised and then got a soft peno in extra time and a ridiculously offside goal which killed us off. I've been involved in junior soccer since 1999 and I've never been so disgusted with an opposing team in their attitudes from start to finish.
    JRyno,couldnt agree with you more.played them 4 weeks ago in the league!
    i would say more the sideline are a disgrace than the players do.Even there own players were saying it that day!

Played pearse yesterday,very good organised outfit.11 out of 12 for them in the league,cant see them losing it!
    Springfield,carraig or castleview for promotion i recken

Quote Originally Posted by Glenbuck View Post
    Saw a bit of Glen and Kinsale earlier. Left at the end of 90 minutes. Suddenly Streets result v Kinsale is not much of a surprise. I honestly thought they were rubbish. An absolute terrible game of football. Never got final score.
    glen buck i was there as well and to be honest the glen from start to finish were a better side,having lost their goal keeper ,i must say brendan long had a solid game and his handling was safe through out.nil nill at full time and after extra time , glen put away 5 excellent penalties and brendan saved kinsales last one.the better team won this game ,make no mistake ,the glen created the best chances and the play lovely football,their manager likes them to keep it on the deck in fairness and on a better quality surface the would destroy a lot of teams.i would agree with 1 point kinsale are slipping and wont win the premier on this performance.on a brilliant performance like this i dont like singleing out players but the glens two centre halves were outstanding and john corcoran was at the end of a lot of best chances.a lot of teams will not fancy playing them in the next round ,and they wont fear anybody.ps,game excellently handled by gene stephens.

24. Thanks From:

Page 67 of 104 FirstFirst ... 1757656667686977 ... LastLast