Page 37 of 104 FirstFirst ... 2735363738394787 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2011/12

Is it true he didn show up to any training sessions or the friendly match either?? Can hardly expect to be picked really

He has been on bench in recent weeks with us due to persistent injury. He's only started 2 in 5 for us. Was on bench against Park at weekend too.

22 Posts
    Just a quick note on squad selection. There has been posts since the team was picked about Niall not getting out to watch teams from lower leagues. Remember Southsider saying Casement should have a few on it. Trevor Dunlea was captain for the MSL last night, and played a stormer from what I heard. He started playing with us in pre season. Had he stayed with us or Casement for that matter he wouldnt of been on the AUL team last night.

Lads some of ye are basing your own eleven from Niall o Regans starting eleven so i think ye really dont know much more about the AUL league than the Niall himself to be criticising him.
    I aint his biggest fan and think the selections on the squad are just wasting some guys time.
    theres players all over Cork that would get on the Aul panel out there but ye seem to sticking to the names printed on the echo Wed night.
    if your trying to tell me youd play keane in the middle instead of daly and blake would compliment him?? are you serious??
    Blake is a top three centre midfielder in the league?? no
    The right back got roasted and ye are still putting him in yer team??
    Skillington as back-up??
    Kearney is everyones first on the team??

Just a Quote on the Echo from the manager: " With Tipperary sitting on three points and A PLUS THREE GOAL MARGIN, the game plan for us is simple to go out and play to our strenghts and get THE REQUIRED RESULT" - really what he was saying was chalk up the goals instead of the three points first and giving the opposition absolutely no respect which clearly along with fellas on here giving 3/4 nil wins rubbed off on the players hence a below par performance!

20 Posts
    "Shetland you go on about fellas not wanting to play for niall - is that a bit like fellas not wanting to play for you? which is why ballyvolane are gone now!!"
    fellas dont seem to have a problem with Mellerick so it must have been just you. why dont u take the job and see who plays for you not many id say cause all you always do is slate the team and manager....

"Winning isn't everything. Wanting to win is."

sharpshooter i was waiting for you to surface alright with another bull**** comment.firstly get your facts right about ballyvolane . club folded as it couldnt survive as it was with just one or two trying to run it,and thats a fact. admit one thing i have said for three years o reagan was wrong man for job with two many outside commitments.,have i been proved right.your biased as he keeps picking you and starting you as well/i have slated manager not the players on theese posts.and all i will say to ya is that im not or never will be interested in the job but if i was we wouldnt be looseing to the msl and thats a fact,.how come ive heard through the grapevine that players on this panel didnt know where they stood as reguards wheather they were on panel or not tuesday. they were told it would be on aul web site.nials facebook more like.it was a diaster waiting to happen sharpshooter and it happened on wednesday night.,get over it.

20 Posts
    shetland your first post this season was that you wouldnt beposting this season as you were'nt involved with any club,now can you do everyone a favour and stand by your comment or maybe put some of your time into football(possibly witha second team doing the water i wouldnt insult the good people working with underage)rather than standing behind the ditch talking ******,and when u replied to mario's post you said you'd replace o neil for walsh when o neil was already in the team at least niall o regan knows to start 11 player's rather than 10!!!!

or i could go glory hunting like you and a leave my local cub.ha ,back niall all you like,you might move to bandon next year with him.,it just shows what your about ,when you cant keep to the topic of the terrible performance of the aul team last wednesday night under niall o reagan. i changed my mind about posting and i will continue to do so when i feel i have something to say.oh i must say it was nice to see my old comrade but one over you in the aoh cup as well.mario i got that one wrong with o neill my apologises.,what ever people say the representive team is a shambles .
    Last edited by shetland; 28/10/2011 at 11:35 AM.

250 Posts
    sharpshooter,shetland,I suggest you take this to PM or put each other on your "ignore list" as personal grudges shouldn't be acted out on the forum.

no bother 12th man will do just that.

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by shetland View Post
    or i could go glory hunting like you and a leave my local cub.ha ,back niall all you like,you might move to bandon next year with him.,it just shows what your about ,when you cant keep to the topic of the terrible performance of the aul team last wednesday night under niall o reagan. i changed my mind about posting and i will continue to do so when i feel i have something to say.oh i must say it was nice to see my old comrade but one over you in the aoh cup as well.mario i got that one wrong with o neill my apologises.,what ever people say the representive team is a shambles .
    leave my local club im not from macroom so get your facts right their.you still have sour grapes over us beating ye to the premier a league title get over it will ya that was two years ago ye just were'nt good enough

21 Posts
    Who'd be the AUL manager???
    Very hard to keep all the people happy it seems.

In general Cork AUL rarely compete for the OT Cup.
    Why?
    Because our players are not good enough!!!
    (The ones picked AND the ones not picked)

A few years back we were VERY lucky to win it out.
    The players available that year were much better than what is available now. FACT!
    I'm thinking of Buckley (Wilton) and Varian and McCarthy (Kinsale) in particular (among others!).
    Players of this ability are not available to every manager.
    This is why we don't do so well in this tournament - regularly.

I'm sure the manager did his best.
    He has been successful with Knockavilla and Bandon and his coaching education is second to none in the AUL.
    If anyone thinks that they can do a better job please apply to the AUL with your no doubt excellent CV.

The AUL has a lot of players of a similar standard.
    Most standout players John Paul O'Sullivan, Derek Varian etc will be poached by MSL Senior teams.
    In most counties there is no senior league so they retain these quality players for their careers.

I didn't see the game on wednesday (my team were training) but sh1t happens sometimes.
    A few off the post, one behind the line - it could have been a different sceal.

It was a bad result, but that happens in football.

Maybe we should be beating the MSL but if we did, and then came a cropper against Tipp, the same knives would be out.
    Some people have unreasonable expectations.

How far should the Cork AUL get in the OT Cup every year??

[QUOTE=sharpshooter;1547159]leave my local club im not from macroom so get your facts right their.you still have sour grapes over us beating ye to the premier a league title get over it will ya that was two years ago ye just were'nt good enough[/QUOTEt ]no sour grapes at all there kid none whatsoever.we still got promoted so it really didnt matter.you are gone off topic again.,aul teams performance last wednesday and the whole set up is what this post is all about. i do accecpt your point shilts but a so called experienced and quality coach was found wanting wednesday.look i dont expect the league to win the oscar traynor every year but no disrespect to the msl junior league but they should be beating them.point 1 as i said 442 v 433 wasnt addressed early enough,2 panic move to take peelo out of defence and into midfield after going a goal down.it left defence very exposed and msl could have got a few more.does any one else out there that was at the game feel the same.

it could happen red and white but i dont think so. st michaels tippeary have most of the team rep tdl .,and i cant see them looseing 3 nill at home. i also dont think its an exaggerated expection for the aul to beat the msl juniors ,they hammered them in blarney last year with a lot of the same faces.the msl looked better organised wednesday night and i hear a lot of the aul panel were unhappy with management and set up and the way it was handled.why not get the clubs submit a person they think would be interested in the job before next agm..and at first meeting of next season pick the manager.why did aul pick oreagan again .was anybody else interested.,maybe the have learned a valueable lesson now.thats it from me as this topic has now run its course i think.

Quote Originally Posted by redandwhite View Post
    in fairness a reality check was badly needed. people go on about here teams in aul being of msl premier standard..i think wed night proved that argument is not even worth discussing..whether it was the best 11 in the aul or not nobody can knock the fact they were 11 decent players week in week out in their own respective league...people on here support the aul and thats great but facts are facts and its more realistic to compare the aul sides with mjl sides as at end of day both playing junior football..wed night proved that once and for all...volume wise and strenght in debth wise the aul is stronger without doubt but top players against top players not much in it....im not for one secong saying oh because the mjl won they are better because football is football and if they played again tomorrow the aul could easily reverse this score...im just saying blaming the manager or slating players is not the answer..they are the ones putting the time and effort in to be as good as they can be so if they fall short of peoples over exaggerated expectations then thats hardly their fault......dont be suprised now to see the aul go and put in a decent performance against tipp and hopefully quieten a few of ye
    great post red and white! just because aul were expected to win doesn't mean they can just turn up and go through the motions! people on here seem to totally negate the fact that the msl team had a game plan and stuck to it and won, obviously a bit of luck with the aul hitting the post and missing a few other chances, but you need that to be successful! in my opinion kinsale over the years were the side head and shoulders above every other junior team in cork, maybe leeside as well the year they won the mjc, but other than that the like's of rockmount, douglas hall, everton, mayfield and midleton a few seasons back held no fear of going playing any other of those sides in aul's top tier! would disagree with the strenght in debth point of your'e argument though, aul certainly have more quantity, but the quality apart from the top 4/5 sides is poor in comparision! apart from all that i really do hope that they thrash the tipp side by the goals they need as at the end of the day we all want cork soccer doing well!

lads ,take a look at the echo tonight ,and it shows you where niall o reagans priorities lie.With bandon of the munster senior league,he speaks of organisation and the way the club is run. pity this wasnt the case with the cork aul side.THE BANDON side have a lot of former kinsale players in their line up and no doubt a few more will be there next season from the cork aul.
    Last edited by shetland; 28/10/2011 at 1:40 PM. Reason: addition

Shetland you strike me as someone who would complain about who the next president of ireland is but didnt vote!As i have said before. You WERE a delegate for Ballyvolane . You had a problem with who is in charge of the AUL league and also who is in charge of the AUL teamDid you avail of your opportunity to do something about it??? NO . you conveniently missed the meeting when the money was missingI agree with Villaman . The MSL juniors had a game plan and stuck to it, They were VASTLY improved since last year and fairplay to them . They had a point to prove and did it.The BANDON side do have a lot of former Kinsale players but werent most of those players from Bandon anyway before they joined Kinsale??The ghost you mention that there are players all over the aul that would get on the panel. Can you name them please????

FORMERLY: Donnie Darko
    27 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by the ghost View Post
    Lads some of ye are basing your own eleven from Niall o Regans starting eleven so i think ye really dont know much more about the AUL league than the Niall himself to be criticising him.
    I aint his biggest fan and think the selections on the squad are just wasting some guys time.
    theres players all over Cork that would get on the Aul panel out there but ye seem to sticking to the names printed on the echo Wed night.
    if your trying to tell me youd play keane in the middle instead of daly and blake would compliment him?? are you serious??
    Blake is a top three centre midfielder in the league?? no
    The right back got roasted and ye are still putting him in yer team??
    Skillington as back-up??
    Kearney is everyones first on the team??

Just a Quote on the Echo from the manager: " With Tipperary sitting on three points and A PLUS THREE GOAL MARGIN, the game plan for us is simple to go out and play to our strenghts and get THE REQUIRED RESULT" - really what he was saying was chalk up the goals instead of the three points first and giving the opposition absolutely no respect which clearly along with fellas on here giving 3/4 nil wins rubbed off on the players hence a below par performance!
    Were you at the game wednesday Ghost out of interest. Your always very quick to point out what's wrong but have very little to offer in terms of improving things. What would your starting 11 be since your AUL knowledge seems to cover all the leagues.

Been off for awhile because i couldnt stick people attacking a mans opinion so il probably have to go in to hiding now again after this....I said a few weeks back that id count on two fingers who would be good enough to play top Senior football from the AUL il take that back and say there is 1 and that guy wont even play with the AUL side these days. Some posters on here would wanna wake up and realise there is no comparision between the AUL and Senior League. I went to watch the MSL V Tipp match and there was a good crew of AUL team players and the manager mad laughing and joking at the game barely even looking at the match itself. I met 1 player from the panel afterwards and he said Tipp would be a tough game but we'll give MSL a good roasting so hopefully it might come down to goal difference if we get a draw in Tipp...Thats the attitude that was brought onto the pitch Wednesday night and it showed.....

Your right K.C. he was probably Man of the Match. He won every ball. I agree with you he probably wouldnt get on the team because he's not a so called house hold name in AUL circles and he wouldnt have been playing with 1 of the Big Guns even tho he was on the Oscar panel the year they won it but left over Christmas to play Senior with Avondale. Was Alan Greaney asked out to it can you tell me He's the best striker in the AUL after Derek Mac if you ask me ?

Page 37 of 104 FirstFirst ... 2735363738394787 ... LastLast