Page 35 of 104 FirstFirst ... 2533343536374585 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2011/12

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Horse24 View Post
    I understand your point Shilts and actually discussed it with someone at the weekend.
    Is there some responsibility on both teams to stop it after a certain time? Goal difference doesnt count in cups or league?
    The answer is to keep teams of vastly different abilities apart as much as possible.

It's not a boxing match.
    Stopping games early is wrong for the players who look forward to playing 90 mins, subs who want a decent run and managers who wan't to prepare teams for harder battles ahead.

If you get lashed by someone in your own division then tough luck - nothing can be done about that.
    And for those that say hammerings happen only every so often, I say for the last 3 weeks we have beaten teams in 3 different cup competitions 8-1, 7-0, and 14-0.
    And the first two scores would have been a lot more if we had played the full 90 minutes.

I'm just highlighting this issue as something that competition organisers should look at to improve the game.
    Nobody benefits when these beatings are handed out, so can we look at doing something to change it???

Totally agree with you shilts, whatever about the national and provincial competitions. The Cork Aul have the control to include the premier teams into maybe the 3rd round of the Aoh draw, any team who has got to that stage must deserve to be there. Like the FA Cup the premier teams do nt come into it until the 3rd round. With the FAI and MJC this happens in all other leagues where you see lesser teams getting a hammering.

Personally i think we re heading in the same direction as every other season where they ll be a huge backlog of league fixtures and we ll be giving out about 3 matches a week over all this. And thats not a sleight on Kinsale shilts, its part of your success that ye ll probably have cup games between now and xmas. I just think it devalues the league when there's no consistency over games played between all teams in the league. We could be playing league matches instead of going playing nothing matches at the moment.

I mean we re nearly into November and there s teams in the Premier who still have nt played a league match, that's crazy!!
    Last edited by Inswinger; 25/10/2011 at 1:32 PM.

FORMERLY: Donnie Darko
    27 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Shilts View Post
    My rant today is regarding the amount of mismatch games in junior soccer.
    There are too many cups where a 3rd Div team can be drawn against a Prem team (AOH, Munster Junior Cup, FAI Junior Cup).
    For the last 3 weeks we have played teams that were not up to our standard and we hammered them.
    It would be like putting us into a higher grade competition where we would get hammered ourselves (FAI Senior Cup??).

These games usually end up getting called off early.
    This is of no value to either team.
    Later on in the season the top teams will end up having to play midweek games until the end of May or into June to catch up, all because we wasted weekends early in the season playing mickey mouse games.
    For those of you who live in hope of a giant killing, dream on.
    There are far more 9nils, 10 nils and even a few 14-0 (like yesterday) than any fairy tale performances.

Any team that qualifies out of Cork in the FAI Junior Cup or Munster Junior Cup should be exempt from the first few rounds of the following season.
    Premier teams should be exempt from the earlier rounds of the AOH Cup.

This would ease the pressure at the tail end of the season and also prevent some stupid scorelines where nobody benefits.
    Shilts I couldn't agree with you more. It's something that I have thought about for a long time & I still don't understand why teams do it to themselves. I didn't want to post it as I thought I might offend people or clubs for that matter but I have to admit it baffles me & just plain annoys me. I have seen top AUL sides go to clubs from lower leagues in the last few seasons & literally tear them apart. The matches get called off early & the lower team must feel like crap. No one likes losing but getting hammered is embarassing. If you look at some of the cup results recently then you can see teams scoring 8, 9 & 10 goals (& sometimes that's the 1st half). It's a joke!

Like to get out of Cork in the FAI or MJC you have to play quite a few games & 9 times out of ten the top teams play inferior teams along the way. It's pointless, the top sides should be seeded & enter the competition later. The fixture pile up is a disgrace as well but it hasn't worked out that badly for ye over the last couple of seasons. Don't get me wrong, the best team wins the league but it doesn't make sense when a team has 5 or 6 games in hand on the other teams to win the league. It can work both for & against the team chasing but really needs to be sorted by the AUL. By the way I know I'm making alot of the same points as Shilts, it's just totally agree with his rant

Looking forward to the AUL game tomorrow night, hope the lads get the right result & I wish them all the best.

aul team will batter them out the gates of the cross tomorrow night. hopefully win with a clean sheet also

27 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Inswinger View Post

Personally i think we re heading in the same direction as every other season where they ll be a huge backlog of league fixtures and we ll be giving out about 3 matches a week over all this. And thats not a sleight on Kinsale shilts, its part of your success that ye ll probably have cup games between now and xmas. I just think it devalues the league when there's no consistency over games played between all teams in the league. We could be playing league matches instead of going playing nothing matches at the moment.

I mean we re nearly into November and there s teams in the Premier who still have nt played a league match, that's crazy!!
    Ya i agree with you there Inswinger. There has to be a balance. It's almost like the more successful a team is in cup competitions etc, then the worse the fixture back log will be. So it almost seems like you are getting punished for doing well. Like it is almost a good thing if you get knocked out of 1 cup comp as at least you know there is a better chance that you will have a league game instead.

As for deciding who wins the league, I think there was a case last year where ye were waiting to play Kinsale to finish yer season but couldn't play them as they had a fixture pile up. That's not yer fault or Kinsale's but the league needs to look at it. All the final league games should be played on the same day or on the same weekend, the same as the premier league or any other top league for that matter. Then that creates the pressure and that extra bite that wouldn't be there on a 1 off game, there is something to play for, a feeling that getting a result actually matters. I personally believe that the league loooks very exciting this year with any team on their day able to beat any other team. I for 1 am looking forward to the season ahead, that's when it properly starts

27 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by six-yard-box View Post
    aul team will batter them out the gates of the cross tomorrow night. hopefully win with a clean sheet also
    I hope so, heard from a few people who were at the MSL v Tipp game that they weren't up to much. 3/4 nil would be ideal

21 Posts
    Best of luck to the Cork AUL team tonight.

I think they'll win easily (maybe by 5)
    Can't see it being blown up early though

Quote Originally Posted by Shilts View Post
    My rant today is regarding the amount of mismatch games in junior soccer.
    There are too many cups where a 3rd Div team can be drawn against a Prem team (AOH, Munster Junior Cup, FAI Junior Cup).
    For the last 3 weeks we have played teams that were not up to our standard and we hammered them.
    It would be like putting us into a higher grade competition where we would get hammered ourselves (FAI Senior Cup??).

These games usually end up getting called off early.
    This is of no value to either team.
    Later on in the season the top teams will end up having to play midweek games until the end of May or into June to catch up, all because we wasted weekends early in the season playing mickey mouse games.
    For those of you who live in hope of a giant killing, dream on.
    There are far more 9nils, 10 nils and even a few 14-0 (like yesterday) than any fairy tale performances.

Any team that qualifies out of Cork in the FAI Junior Cup or Munster Junior Cup should be exempt from the first few rounds of the following season.
    Premier teams should be exempt from the earlier rounds of the AOH Cup.

This would ease the pressure at the tail end of the season and also prevent some stupid scorelines where nobody benefits.
    Yeah i agree with this being honest, it also gives the smaller clubs in lower leagues more of a chance to go on a small cup run.. Though on the giant killing, there has been a few close calls but never much more than that. As a member of a small club myself, we've been on the end of some hammerings that are just demoralising in the past. But have also been part of some great days beating teams in higher divisions in cup games. I always love playing against teams in the Prem/Div 1 for ouselves because there's no pressure on us to win & you always learn from those kind of teams aswell! But i do agree with holding off for prem teams till rd 3, pretty ridiculous playing the season into mid june when you need to start training a few weeks later for pre season..

Best of luck to the Cork A.U.L. team tonight.
    "Garlic bread - it’s the future, I’ve tasted it."
    Brian Potter - Phoenix Nights

Cork AUL by 4 or 5?? Not in a million years the MSL will be alot better than people think they frustrated Tipp for long parts in there game and it was only 2-1 with a quarter of an hour to go and with the AUL with no settled team I'd say 2-1 to the AUL... Hope they do hammer them tho and best of luck lads give it yer all

Quote Originally Posted by six-yard-box View Post
    Good Call there Shilts!!

oh my god,i actually had to go away with the aul team looseing 2 nil to the msl.out fought out thought are just two things i will say .nill nil half time should have been 1 down.played 4 4 2 against msl 4 3 3 and o reagans strongest team ever as was said on echo ,couldnt beat a poor msl side.will people now finally agree with what ive been saying the last two years..the manager is a bluffer. jeffers up front with holden and a winger with kinsale. they didnt get a kick in the first half,can any body else come on and pass jugement here because this has got to be the most embarasseing result for the cork aul ever.

Quote Originally Posted by shetland View Post
    oh my god,i actually had to go away with the aul team looseing 2 nil to the msl.out fought out thought are just two things i will say .nill nil half time should have been 1 down.played 4 4 2 against msl 4 3 3 and o reagans strongest team ever as was said on echo ,couldnt beat a poor msl side.will people now finally agree with what ive been saying the last two years..the manager is a bluffer. jeffers up front with holden and a winger with kinsale. they didnt get a kick in the first half,can any body else come on and pass jugement here because this has got to be the most embarasseing result for the cork aul ever.
    What was the team Shetland?

Suprised Jeffers was on it to be honest.

paceman it was cronin ,in goal ,o callaghan killumney ,kearney do,peelo blarney st,healy wilton,s daly,blake, shane o neill wilton jeffers kinsale,holden, im missing one,.loyd dorgan came on and did well as did a lad from park . it was shocking to watch. they will have to beat the tippeary dL by a huge margin now and that i cant see happening away from home.the aul had alarge share of poession and did hit the woodwork twice one by the park united sub,but failing to score tells it all really.,when most predicted a 4 or 5 hammering .a lot of credit should go to the msl manager for the way he set his team up.
    Last edited by shetland; 26/10/2011 at 9:48 PM. Reason: spelling

25 Posts
    Although MSL won the game they are now out of the competition. Cork AUL must now beat TSDL by three goals in Tipperary to qualify.

Heard ball crossed the line wasn't given by chalky and a stone wall penalty in first half not given either and hit woodwork twice??

Couldn have been all that bad shetland

I left the game also .. Very very poor..where was spillane. From Pearce he has scored over 12 goals so far .. Played with Cobh Ramblers plenty experience not on the team
    the sub

i didnt half get this one wrong!!! did have a stone wall penalty turned down first half hit the woodwork twice and from where i was sitting i dunno was the ball over the line! the players are saying it was. but in general they were poor. daly normally a good passer of the ball kept trying hollywood passes which invariably just gave the ball away as the centre forwards won nothing in the air. first goal was poor defending. second goal was awful defending. out of the eleven maybe 2 or 3 played at all and only for 3 good saves from the keeper it would have been much worse.

24 Posts
    Was at the game also, was very disappointed in the aul, msl played the better football all night and deserved their win. I think the team were comfortable defensively in the first half with 4 at the back, but minutes after going 1 down in the second half they went 3 at the back with the best defender on show 'babsy' being pushed into the middle, it never worked as the aul looked vulnerable at the back after that. Kearney is a top player but has to learn to do it simple, he kept looking for the long killer ball and we lost too much possession because of it, same could be said of daly at times not enough simple passes made. With wingers like o'neill and the kilumney player they needed a lot more ball to feet. Blakey worked hard in the middle but never got on the ball as Kearney and daly were too often guilty of looking for the killer ball too early. Thought Holden looked lively and was unlucky to be taken off too.

From report I heard well - beaten. As Shetland has said manager judged on results and this is an unexpected low.

Page 35 of 104 FirstFirst ... 2533343536374585 ... LastLast