Page 25 of 104 FirstFirst ... 1523242526273575 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2011/12

super you should know what im on about in fairness,the aul just gave him the job again and that was it.do you know any one else that wanted it.i never gave the impression that i ever wanted it ,but i have always said and always will say that the aul job should go to someone that isnt manageing ateam or especially one from another league.two years and they have gone backwards .give someone else a go.

Shetland, you are starting to sound like a child. I think we can judge Niall on this year. Nobody expects a manager to come in a win straight off, it takes time. It was a hard enough start for him 2 years ago taking over a team that had just won the tournament. Hold your comments until may next year, and let's get behind the team starting now.

dixie a child is it,cop on. this is my last time saying this.do you think in all fairness that a man who manages a muster senior league team,can do a hudered per cent job on the cork aul team.the answer is no. two years is more than enough.the aul took the easy way out. the best way forward is to advertise the position at the agm .see who is available to do it and either get clubs to vote on who they want ,or pick someone that will give it his all. does money come into it i wonder. i hope not especially with the missing 100 thousand euro.

33 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by shetland View Post
    super you should know what im on about in fairness,the aul just gave him the job again and that was it.do you know any one else that wanted it.i never gave the impression that i ever wanted it ,but i have always said and always will say that the aul job should go to someone that isnt manageing ateam or especially one from another league.two years and they have gone backwards .give someone else a go.
    I dont think that giving the job to someone who isnt involved in management is going to help either tho is it.Fair enough their are good ex managers around but do you think they would want to manage a team made up of players from various clubs that they wouldnt even know. I doubt it

dixie a child is it,cop on. this is my last time saying this.do you think in all fairness that a man who manages a muster senior league team,can do a hudered per cent job on the cork aul team.the answer is no. two years is more than enough.the aul took the easy way out. the best way forward is to advertise the position at the agm .see who is available to do it and either get clubs to vote on who they want ,or pick someone that will give it his all. does money come into it i wonder. i hope not especially with the missing 100 thousand euro.
    Shetland, you are taking me up wrong. I don't mind your opinion you are entitled to it. But you said ".give someone else a go." that sounds a bit childish. The last 2 years are in the past! Let's look forward to a successful year!

FORMERLY: Donnie Darko
    27 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    There should be 3 or 4 more Springfield players on that team to be fair, their strongest back 4 could all argue they should start on that team. Fair play to Emmet though.
    There is no doubt that Cobh have a quality side & I expect them to get promoted this year but the simple facts are that Springers are a Premier A side. The most ye were going to get on the team was 2 so I wouldn't feel too hard done by. Don't think I am saying for 1 minute that yer players are not good enough. There are players down there that should be playing at a higher level but you can say that about all the top teams.

27 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thebooboys View Post
    Most teams would argue that. Here at Leeside I could name 2 or 3 more who deserve to be on the panel but who have been overlooked for years.
    Look lets be fair here. Leeside had 6 players on the team last year so you can't say Leeside don't get a fair look in. Actually ye had 7 so you can't moan about it. At the end of the day ye finished 3rd when people thought ye would seriously challenge. Condon has left & so has Colin Keane so to get 3 called up isn't really that much of shock. Wilton have 6 & are in the same position as ye last year where people think they are the favourites plus the fact they signed Keith Holden, Alan Healy & Jason Keegan so are things really that unfair?

Quote Originally Posted by Dixie's Cousin View Post
    Shetland, you are taking me up wrong. I don't mind your opinion you are entitled to it. But you said ".give someone else a go." that sounds a bit childish. The last 2 years are in the past! Let's look forward to a successful year!
    no bother dixie i may have takeing you up wrong,but to get the best possible team out to represent the league you must be able to go out and see the players you want in their match situations.,he cant do that as bandon have a game on saturday and thats when a lotof the aul games are played.i bet there a lot of ex managers who would jump at the chance to manage the a.ul team,and im not one of them..fail to prepare and prepare to fail thats what i say ,ringing around and asking this fella to send that fella etc etc joke joke joke. the league manager should be in place at start of season and at games every week.there is one leeside player who has hardly played or trained this year on the panel.were you not one of o reagans side kicks last year or am i wrong ,dixie.hense the loyalty.
    Last edited by shetland; 29/09/2011 at 3:59 PM. Reason: spelling

Quote Originally Posted by Donnie Darko View Post
    Look lets be fair here. Leeside had 6 players on the team last year so you can't say Leeside don't get a fair look in. Actually ye had 7 so you can't moan about it. At the end of the day ye finished 3rd when people thought ye would seriously challenge. Condon has left & so has Colin Keane so to get 3 called up isn't really that much of shock. Wilton have 6 & are in the same position as ye last year where people think they are the favourites plus the fact they signed Keith Holden, Alan Healy & Jason Keegan so are things really that unfair?
    lads in fairness colin keane played more games with the aul then he played with leeside, after his christmas transfer.

27 Posts
    Look I agree with people who say that the manager shouldn't be involved with another team especially a team not in the AUL. The manager should IMO been unattached so he can attend as many games as possible but it's not the case so what can we do? There was obviously not a lot of interest in the position even though every year posters on here say to each other to put their names forward, yet they don't. Then everyone goes mad when Niall is given the job. From what I have heard of him, either by speaking to players or other coaches he is a very good coach & passionate about the game. This is obvious by the amount of teams he is involved with. At the end of the day the 11 that represent the AUL team in the cross will be strong & should be too strong for the MSL Jun side. By saying that, they are by no means as strong as what Limerick or Dublin are going to be. I think it's actually a good thing that they play Tipp away because there's no pressure on them. Everyone will expect them to be beaten anyway so for me it will benefit the team. When they played Tipp last year & lost everyone was so quick to come on this & slag them off when, if you were at the game would admit the AUL should have went it at half time winning. So let’s have our opinions without rubbishing players etc & support them. Plus I'm sure there will be a lot of players come & go on this squad over the next few weeks before the game. As for Niall, instead of saying this & that about him on here about players who are good enough, I suggest ringing him & suggesting a player for him to look at. From what I heard he would be happy to let him train if you feel that strongly about the player.

27 Posts
    lads in fairness colin keane played more games with the aul then he played with leeside, after his christmas transfer.
    Shetland, totally agree. Was just making a point that they had been well represented.

You are right Shetland, i was part of the setup last season and I watched many games for Niall. As did Kieran Tagney and Eoin Fehily. I don't know who is helping this year but with the Senior league starting weeks after the AUL start maybe Niall got to a few matches to get an idea of his setup.

42 Posts
    no bother dixie i may have takeing you up wrong,but to get the best possible team out to represent the league you must be able to go out and see the players you want in their match situations.,he cant do that as bandon have a game on saturday and thats when a lotof the aul games are played.i bet there a lot of ex managers who would jump at the chance to manage the a.ul team,and im not one of them..fail to prepare and prepare to fail thats what i say ,ringing around and asking this fella to send that fella etc etc joke joke joke. the league manager should be in place at start of season and at games every week.there is one leeside player who has hardly played or trained this year on thpanel.were you not one of o reagans side kicks last year or am i wrong ,dixie.hense the loyalty.
    Do I sense a hint of sour grapes that you aren't the aul manager?..let's be honest though could hardly give it to a manager who helped fold an entire club

42 Posts
    More sour grapes?.the lad moved on to better himself.must have did well for leeside to get in the aul team

Be it Niall O Reagen or whoever is helping him out this year they should get to more games and especially outside of Premier starting this weekend with Casement and Douglas Hall. With Casement Seniors folding this year there will be no fewer then 7 players who would be still playing Senior First Division had the Club got its act together. Even if 1 player was good enough (which there is and more) then it was a worthwhile trip out. I bet if the 7 players im talking about went to Wilton Kinsale etc etc then there would be at least 5 of them on it....

Whose moaning??? If I had my way I wouldnt want any of our players called up, thats just my opinion. Plus as someone else alluded to, Colin Keane rarely played with us after his transfer from Ballyvolane

27 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thebooboys View Post
    Most teams would argue that. Here at Leeside I could name 2 or 3 more who deserve to be on the panel but who have been overlooked for years.
    I think that's you moaning right there is it not? make up your mind Boo, 1 minute there's 2 or 3 who deserve to be on it, the next you don't want any of your players on it. It's hard to please some people but what can you do.

27 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Southsider View Post
    Be it Niall O Reagen or whoever is helping him out this year they should get to more games and especially outside of Premier starting this weekend with Casement and Douglas Hall. With Casement Seniors folding this year there will be no fewer then 7 players who would be still playing Senior First Division had the Club got its act together. Even if 1 player was good enough (which there is and more) then it was a worthwhile trip out. I bet if the 7 players im talking about went to Wilton Kinsale etc etc then there would be at least 5 of them on it....
    Take off your blinkers there Southsider. So 7 players played msl 1st division last year? Does that make them fantastic players? I'm sure any of the top players in the AUL prem would easily play MSL prem. A lot of the top players have been asked or have made the switch to Msl or vice versa. Look at Condon, went from Leeside to Rockmount (the champions of the MSL prem) so what your saying is rubbish. There is ex MSL 1 & 2 players in all AUL divisions, should they all be called up? I have no doubt that there are good players playing with your team but at the end of the day you have got to be realistic & understand, the majority of the AUL team will come from the top 2 leagues because they are playing at the highest standard in AUL but I'm sure if these players perform consistently then they will be recognised as were the Corkbeg lads last year.

inishvilla lads were on the squad last year when they romped division 2 last year. heard a rumour tonight that 1 of them is on his way to bandon. now that would cause some controversey. anyway niall is the manager this year so just lets row in behind him. even if we dont agree with the selection process etc etc.....

27 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by six-yard-box View Post
    inishvilla lads were on the squad last year when they romped division 2 last year. heard a rumour tonight that 1 of them is on his way to bandon. now that would cause some controversey. anyway niall is the manager this year so just lets row in behind him. even if we dont agree with the selection process etc etc.....
    Exactly, that's why I mentioned the Corkbeg lads. Sure Jack Walsh remained on the squad only for injury, that's why I said if players are playing well on a weekly basis then word of mouth will spread & they will get their chance. How strong is the rumour?

Page 25 of 104 FirstFirst ... 1523242526273575 ... LastLast