Page 15 of 104 FirstFirst ... 513141516172565 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2011/12

28 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by six-yard-box View Post
    Is it one or two to come out of the mossie groups??
    2 come out each group six yard.........On our game today thought draw was a fair result not many chances bar them hitting the bar us hitting the bar and great save from the Castleview keeper from Collinsy.Thought the game was to big for the ref today took a fair bit of flak this morning but think he drawed it on himself with some of the decisions he made!!!

Bit wierd playing against 6 former teammates from last year but thats the way things change i suppose......Some good signings we made to cover those losses this year and think they stood out today and did the club proud

Have Blackstone now Tuesday night so expecting another tough local derby down in Monard!
    WE ARE GOING UP I SAID WE ARE GOING UP!!!!! BOHS CHAMPIONS 1A 09/10

On that ref scaffa,had him 2 years ago in aul 3 game. Was shocking, more intersted in colours of socks and shorts and also yellow cards and names of spectators on both sidelines than the run of the game that day down shanbally. He was in Msl last year and i think ended up a ref of the year and also was ref in an msl junior cup final.. must be grade a ref this year so i say this is not last we hear about said!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Learpholl View Post
    Good result for Blarney St too. Tough start at Premier level for Carrig.

Good start in 1A for Innishvilla too, wouldn't be surprised to see them go up again this season.
    A good start but only one game - highlight being MArk Murphy back to the club from Douglas Hall last year - I think he got both goals - wasn't at game so waiting to hear match report... Dunbar Celtic had an impressive start as Richmond are normally a strong side...

Just got a short report - I think Innishvilla were down to 10 men after about 30 minutes so a very good result considering...
    Last edited by Innishvilla; 22/08/2011 at 10:41 AM.
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

Blarney St Ath 5 Carraigtwohill 0

Great team performance on Saturday, goals from Alan o Brien 2, Lar Betts 2 and Paul Connlly. We were missing a few to with injuries and holidays so looking forward to getting us all together. Leeds on Sunday morning now which i hear will be in Monard.
    "Build it and they will come"

28 Posts
    KANTURK 0 KILUMNEY 3

Not the start we were looking for,but to be fair we were beat by a very good fit kilumney team!
    On to coachford now tuesday night,hopefuly these games will stand to us goin into the league!

Blarney St 5 Carrigtohill 0

Well beaten by a fit and clinical Blarney St. A good wake up call for our guys who im sure will learn from. Spot on Boo but to be fair we were out played for the majority of the match. Enough said.

Quote Originally Posted by the owl View Post
    Blarney St 5 Carrigtohill 0

Well beaten by a fit and clinical Blarney St. A good wake up call for our guys who im sure will learn from. Spot on Boo but to be fair we were out played for the majority of the match. Enough said.
    Was it the upcoming senior hurling semi final?? Amazed to hear a former keeper of yer's and ours sitting on bench for Glen Celtic at weekend??

I know its early days yet but some odd results. Great result for Pearse again.

Group A: Carrigtwohill Utd A 3 Leeds 0; Leeside A 1 Springfield A 0.
    Group B: Coachford A 1 Kanturk A 2; Killumney Utd 3 Knockavilla Celtic 0.
    Group C: Kilreen Celtic 2 Kinsale 1; Pearse Celtic 2 Wilton Utd A 2.
    Group D: Blackstone Rovers 1 Bohemians 2; Castleview 6 Grattan Utd 1.

28 Posts
    BLACKSTONE 1 -2 BOHEMIANS

Tough game tonight in Monard in the Mossie Lin cup not the prettiest game but we "ll take the 3 points and move on to the next game with a bit more confidence.......

On the game tight start between the 2 teams for the first 15 mins until Mark Heaphy for Bohs crossed in a great ball that started to swerve into the corner of the net only for a great save by the Blackstone keeper who tipped it onto the post....We hit the crossbar next after 20 mins when Wayne Doherty crashed his header of the woodwork.
    That seemed to wake up Blackstone who came into it a bit more but did nt really threaten our Keeper a few shots here and there.

We made 1-0 after 25 mins when a free kick was headed back into Wayne Doherty who pounced to get his 1st goal of the season but the lead did nt last long as Blackstone were awarded a penalty after 30 mins (very soft in my opinion!) ball hit Paul Mooneys leg and cliped his hand.Skilly stuck the peno to make it 1-1.
    But again we went back at Blackstone and made it 2-1 in the 42 min when great ball over the top was finished brilliantly by Wayne O Connor for his 1st goal of the season.

2nd half have started again like the 1st tight and edgy ref was blowing for a lot of frees which turned the game into a start stop and players were getting frustrated on both sides but Blackstone started to get on top in the last 25 mins and only for 2 great saves from our keeper David Rea the game could have been levelled.

Our keeper was a bit lucky to stay on the pitch when he brought down the Blackstone centre forward just outside the box he was booked which i thought was fair because he seemed to be going away from goal and we had 2 defenders getting back anyhow.Davd McCarthy had a chance for us but just headed over in the last 5 mins.Blackstone pushed hard in the last couple of mins but we held out for a good win.

Next game on Sunday morning when we host Gratton for another northside derby in The Mossie Lin!
    WE ARE GOING UP I SAID WE ARE GOING UP!!!!! BOHS CHAMPIONS 1A 09/10

Great report scaffa. We beat Grattan tonight 6-1. We played well but Grattan are really struggling, hopefully they pick up. Watched the game Sunday morning, good game. Very impressed with Bohs played some nice football. Draw was probably fair result but conceding a goal in the last minute was tough. A few ex Bohs playing with Castleview but a few ex Castleview also playing with Bohs. Agree with a few lads that the ref was not great but thought the treatment he got was well over the top. On 3 or 4 occasions he was actually pushed by players after making a decision. If it had been a more experienced ref I'd say a few would have been sent off.

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by scaffa7 View Post
    BLACKSTONE 1 -2 BOHEMIANS

Tough game tonight in Monard in the Mossie Lin cup not the prettiest game but we "ll take the 3 points and move on to the next game with a bit more confidence.......

On the game tight start between the 2 teams for the first 15 mins until Mark Heaphy for Bohs crossed in a great ball that started to swerve into the corner of the net only for a great save by the Blackstone keeper who tipped it onto the post....We hit the crossbar next after 20 mins when Wayne Doherty crashed his header of the woodwork.
    That seemed to wake up Blackstone who came into it a bit more but did nt really threaten our Keeper a few shots here and there.

We made 1-0 after 25 mins when a free kick was headed back into Wayne Doherty who pounced to get his 1st goal of the season but the lead did nt last long as Blackstone were awarded a penalty after 30 mins (very soft in my opinion!) ball hit Paul Mooneys leg and cliped his hand.Skilly stuck the peno to make it 1-1.
    But again we went back at Blackstone and made it 2-1 in the 42 min when great ball over the top was finished brilliantly by Wayne O Connor for his 1st goal of the season.

2nd half have started again like the 1st tight and edgy ref was blowing for a lot of frees which turned the game into a start stop and players were getting frustrated on both sides but Blackstone started to get on top in the last 25 mins and only for 2 great saves from our keeper David Rea the game could have been levelled.

Our keeper was a bit lucky to stay on the pitch when he brought down the Blackstone centre forward just outside the box he was booked which i thought was fair because he seemed to be going away from goal and we had 2 defenders getting back anyhow.Davd McCarthy had a chance for us but just headed over in the last 5 mins.Blackstone pushed hard in the last couple of mins but we held out for a good win.

Next game on Sunday morning when we host Gratton for another northside derby in The Mossie Lin!
    Scaff, I am away with work so missed the game but we were dispointed to get nothing from the game. Your report seems to indicate what the lads were saying - game of two halves. Disapointed with the goals we gave away and 50/50 on the sending off incident. As King Kenny said last week about Suarez - how are you supposed to go round the keeper if you dont go away from the goal?? The lads seemed to think the ref was a bit young and timid and used the yellow cards way too much. Adults will react with an eff and blind to decisions - experienced refs will read it as a second of frustration and move on. He who called loudest got the decisions!! We needed a performance and got it. A few injuries before and during the game, all of which we hope will be available for the visit of Park. A few more into the squad so competition will make us better. All in All - hate losing any game but ok for first kickabout of the season.
    Just remember, every kick makes me stronger and more determined. Indians always come back!

as a non club member this season i will be able to sit on the fence so to speak,some interesting results so far but its early days ,a few have hit the ground running ,blarney street who i think will press for honors this season.,also killumney with dereck melerick manageing without me ha ha,also doing very well.could they do a wilton and win premier.my predictions,wilton utd premier ,next best blarney street leeside dark horses killumney utd,,relagation.,knockavilla and macroom.premier,im going for pierce with castleview.relagation,leeds,gratten united .carraigtwohill and springfield the promoted teams should be ok ,with springers the better equipped to push on.

So a big Thursday fixture list for Div 1 & div 2. Early season but it is important to not drop too many points early.
    Some interesting games:
    AUL 1:
    4 of the 5 opening day winners meet: Dillons X meet Village & Watergrasshill meet Cathedral Celtic; 4 side who lost their opening day fixture meet Buttevant v Crescent & Knockraha v Leeside - in Div 1 last year the two winners dropped 10 & 12 points respectively so after two weeks to drop 6 will leave a team with a steep hill to climb
    AUL 1A:
    Innishvilla host Greenmount Rangers; Dunbar who had an impressive win first day out travel to Donoughmore; Milstreet & Grangevale meet with both having lost their first game they can afford to loose again...

AUL 2:
    our local neighbours De Courcy meet high scoring City W and Rylane host the other high scorers Blackpool in the highlighs of this division

AUL 2A:
    The four winners from day one all avoid each other so I suppose the (relative) local derby between Bosco's & Corkbeg could be the highlight...
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

Lost 4-1 to city wanderers, very even game until 15 to go. Ref had a shocker, gave a very suspect peno and took about 10 seconds to make a decision. Nothing against wanderers, took their chances though score doesn't reflect the game... Disappointed but will move on!

Mossie Linnane League Cup:
    Group B: Kanturk 1 Knockavilla Celtic 2;
    Group C: Kinsale 2 Greenwood A 4;
    Group D: Blackstone Rovers 2 Park Utd A 4;
    AUL 1: Village Utd 1 Glen Celtic 5; Watergrasshill 3 Crescent Ath 4; Cathedral Celtic 4 Dillons Cross 1;
    AUL 1A: Donoughmore Ath 0 Glenvale 4; Rathcoole Rovers 2 Greenmount Rangers 2; Richmond 1 Grangevale 2;
    AUL 2: Killowen 1 De Courcey Albion 0; Macroom 1 City Wanderers 1; Rylane Celtic 0 CFC Banteer 2; Waterloo v Ballinhassig (off);
    AUL 2A: Central Rovers 1 Corkbeg 1;
    AUL 3A: Carrigaline Utd 2 Cork Road Celtic 2; Knocknaheeny Celtic 4 Glen Celtic B 0; Park Utd B 1 Dunbar Celtic 1; St John Boscos 2 Carrigtwohill Utd 3;
    AUL 3B: Buttevant 2 Coachford B 1; Los Zarcos 1 Newmarket 3

Another few surprising results

Quote Originally Posted by thebooboys View Post
    Another few surprising results
    Oh the euphemisms...
    What is happening down in Kinsale. My guess is that after such a late finish to the season last year they must have decided to write off the mossie and use it as pre-season. If i'm incorrect then there are serious problems down there

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pacman View Post
    Oh the euphemisms...
    What is happening down in Kinsale. My guess is that after such a late finish to the season last year they must have decided to write off the mossie and use it as pre-season. If i'm incorrect then there are serious problems down there
    wouldnt read too much in to it you dont become a bad team over night heard they are missing a few also.would be shocked if they were'nt challenging for the league again this year....

i said it here a couple of weeks ago about Kinsale new keeper, he s already conceded more goals this year than almost all of last season, You cant win leagues with a sub standard keeper who wont deal with the high pressure situations.

Quote Originally Posted by Nedge View Post
    i said it here a couple of weeks ago about Kinsale new keeper, he s already conceded more goals this year than almost all of last season, You cant win leagues with a sub standard keeper who wont deal with the high pressure situations.
    would have to agree with you there NEDGE. kinsale will struggle big time with a poor keeper. kinsale might have very good outfield players but will not do aswell this year with this new keeper. i think doyle is his name. saw him a few times with balllinhassig seniors last year. Very poor signing on kinsales behalf..

Nedge and WesleyBHFC that's the second time ye followed each other up with a dig at there keeper! A sub standard keeper who won't deal with high pressure situations?? What a comment! And if yere out watching Ballinhassig's league I doubt ye know much about standard to be honest. Ye only posted on this subject so I'd say it's personal with ye. From what I heard if not for him in a few games they would have been beat by more. I'd agree with sharpshooter come the league they'll still be everyones joint favs.
    Last edited by the ghost; 28/08/2011 at 12:10 AM.

21. Thanks From:

Page 15 of 104 FirstFirst ... 513141516172565 ... LastLast