Page 61 of 104 FirstFirst ... 1151596061626371 ... LastLast
Results 1,201 to 1,220 of 2067

Thread: Cork AUL 2011/12

71 Posts
    Some rose tinted glasses Id say there lads - looking into the past. The quality of player is still there. Maybe its society - do enough players care enough to make sacrifices for nothing other than the pride of your team?

As for looking at all teams, there were 6 sets of eyes around the AUL every weekend. A mail was sent to every team asking for players they would like the AUL management to look at. Lets say 90 teams for sake of argument - how many replies were received? Even some of our posters here didnt know their club had received such a mail.

That team of the year thing happened via Billy Lyons a few years ago but was stopped. Why? Lack of interest and replies. They are good ideas lads, but unless people buy into them they wont work.

I do agree that the timing of the first game in Sept/Oct is tight though.

My own personal belief is that the two teams we all believe pay money do indeed pay money.
    Just remember, every kick makes me stronger and more determined. Indians always come back!

Whose the second??.....................

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by redandwhite View Post
    have been away from local soccer since xmas but its becoming the once strong competitive aul is crumbling....its league champions have hit february without a league game being played!!how can that be!!!a league title is about a race not one team being 30 points behind with 12 games in hand and lets see how many they can win...park are putting a great run together and are playing teams still fighting for cups/staying up/still title challengers etc..by the time kinsale play most of their league games alot of teams will be getting ready for their summer holidays....it makes a complete joke of the league.....throw a hammering by tipp on top of that plus the weakening across the board of most divisions and i would think a major rething needs to be done...

sure i will prob get hammered for this now but from the outside looking in thats my opinion....cant see any decent players happy to stay in those surroundings.....players like sharpshooter will enjoy it though as they still get their soft games to boost up their goal tally
    Are you shetland in disguise redandwhite.
    how and where i play my football in whatever surrounding's is my choice as long as im enjoying it i couldn't careless.and i dont need soft games to get my goals tally up ill get them anyway.just seems to bother the likes of you when i do,makes it all the more pleasurable scoring

"Winning isn't everything. Wanting to win is."

oldlegs in reference to your plan outlined its a good idea in theory but whats the point in playing a 3rd div divisional team against the best in the first divisionor prem a or premier. while i'm not saying there arent good players in the 3rd division they are hardly going to hold their own in such company - maybe mixing up the teams might be an option . Also if you had a really good player in the 3rd division would you be advertising it?.

33 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by redandwhite View Post
    have been away from local soccer since xmas but its becoming the once strong competitive aul is crumbling....its league champions have hit february without a league game being played!!how can that be!!!a league title is about a race not one team being 30 points behind with 12 games in hand and lets see how many they can win...park are putting a great run together and are playing teams still fighting for cups/staying up/still title challengers etc..by the time kinsale play most of their league games alot of teams will be getting ready for their summer holidays....it makes a complete joke of the league.....throw a hammering by tipp on top of that plus the weakening across the board of most divisions and i would think a major rething needs to be done...

sure i will prob get hammered for this now but from the outside looking in thats my opinion....cant see any decent players happy to stay in those surroundings.....players like sharpshooter will enjoy it though as they still get their soft games to boost up their goal tally
    Its the same every year with Kinsale...all their league games will be towards end of the seson when no one has nothing to play for..aul made a balls of it again...every year is the same and watch how many games they play away at weeknds and when night games start watch how many they will have at home... ...oh their first game is this weekend....AWAY.....Another handy league title for them this year id say....fair play to them for getting it nearly every year.....they will come on now and blame cup runs and all that but the same was stated on this forum last year and its like de ja vu

I wonder do some managers watch that famous scene from the Godfather? Making players offers they just couldn't refuse?

Quote Originally Posted by duckdu View Post
    shetland you've openly admitted to tapping up a player on behalf of the kilumney management and have provided evidence on the internet!!
    duckdu point number 1.i have nothing whatsover to do with killunmey utd, i am very good friends with their new manager..point no 2,if a player makes himself available and isnt happy where he is ,that is not tapping.i got a phone number and that was my involvement,.ask the player himself was he tapped,

Quote Originally Posted by Dixie's Cousin View Post
    Shetland, he still turned down Senior League down for KUFC. Can you explain that?
    that i dont know but fitness level may have something to do with it,and maybe wanted play with the aul team.why dont you ask him.

"Tapping Up" - There are a lot of teams that do this. We have it every year, Senior Clubs asking our players to go up. This year, a fellow AUL Premier team have been ringing one of our players, his words not mine, virtually "every weekend". It happens, we get on with it.,,,,

33 Posts
    oldlegs in reference to your plan outlined its a good idea in theory but whats the point in playing a 3rd div divisional team against the best in the first divisionor prem a or premier. while i'm not saying there arent good players in the 3rd division they are hardly going to hold their own in such company - maybe mixing up the teams might be an option . Also if you had a really good player in the 3rd division would you be advertising it?.
    was watching a 3rd division team play over the weeknd and was very suprised at two or three players playing with one team...two of them have played aul premier for years and also played msl and they would have no bother holding their own in the SUCH COMPANY you speak off...Remember THE SUCH COMPANY of players you are relating to is the very reason this debate is going on

I wonder do some managers watch that famous scene from the Godfather? Making players offers they just couldn't refuse?
    dixie you are looking for something thats not there,dont always believe what you hear,i believe you know the player in question why dont you ask him,.as reguards offers they cant refuse ,he hasnt started a game yet ,so if what your insuating is true ,why bother.

Quote Originally Posted by thebooboys View Post
    "Tapping Up" - There are a lot of teams that do this. We have it every year, Senior Clubs asking our players to go up. This year, a fellow AUL Premier team have been ringing one of our players, his words not mine, virtually "every weekend". It happens, we get on with it.,,,,
    your dead right boo dress it up what ever way you like . it happens year in year out in every league and every division.

Shetland, i'm not only on about Skilly!

Quote Originally Posted by sharpshooter View Post
    Are you shetland in disguise redandwhite.
    how and where i play my football in whatever surrounding's is my choice as long as im enjoying it i couldn't careless.and i dont need soft games to get my goals tally up ill get them anyway.just seems to bother the likes of you when i do,makes it all the more pleasurable scoring
    sharpshooter keep me out of it ,i dont need to go in disguise to have a go at you at all. if i have something to say to you i will say it and have always done.but i will say you trying to better yourself going to wilton ,is the same as skilly going to killumney.yee both can do as yee like. and horse you are totallywrong. i think because the player left your club it had to be for the reason you believe.he was going anyway to the glen if not killumney.in fairness red and white is bang on.they say the league table never lies ,but in this years premier it does lie.park have points in the bag and thats all they can do. but it has to be wrong that one team haS NO GAME PLAYed.revert back to playing the mossy linane at end of season and evey team would have at least 4 league games played then before cups,

Shetland, i'm not only on about Skilly!
    who else so,you are totally wrong .rumors circulating big time and are way off base , but believe what you like.

backpass - are you saying the problem is the players or the aul manager or both - if these fellas are good enough to play on the aul team why are they playing 3rd division???

booboys - yes but the majority of teams dont have people who implicate them on the internet

33 Posts
    backpass - are you saying the problem is the players or the aul manager or both - if these fellas are good enough to play on the aul team why are they playing 3rd division???

booboys - yes but the majority of teams dont have people who implicate them on the internet
    I blame selction..I dont blame the players because at the end of the day it is not their fault that they have been asked to represent their league no matter how good or bad the player is.....I asked one them why him and his brother were down in this division and he just said some of his buddies are playing there and they were sick of the way the premier AUL was going.... cant argue with that even tho I think they are wasted down there

71 Posts
    Yes indeed. His local club was a strong temptation for him all summer. That's why it's difficult to believe that he would drop them overnight. Sat he played for us. Sat night he was joining Glen. Sunday night he joined Kilumney. All summer it was Glen or us despite senior clubs and other AUL premier sides calling. He played for the AUL while with us. So Shetland if he rang Ovens why did you need his number. Let me clarify-he did very well for us and I wish him well. Nice guy with good family. A saying I heard recently - if it walks like a duck and quacks like a duck.....it's a duck!!
    Just remember, every kick makes me stronger and more determined. Indians always come back!

Quote Originally Posted by Horse24 View Post
    Yes indeed. His local club was a strong temptation for him all summer. That's why it's difficult to believe that he would drop them overnight. Sat he played for us. Sat night he was joining Glen. Sunday night he joined Kilumney. All summer it was Glen or us despite senior clubs and other AUL premier sides calling. He played for the AUL while with us. So Shetland if he rang Ovens why did you need his number. Let me clarify-he did very well for us and I wish him well. Nice guy with good family. A saying I heard recently - if it walks like a duck and quacks like a duck.....it's a duck!!
    difficult to believe or not the facts are as follows ,i spoke to the player only last week. he told me he signed for yee this year only because of his friendship with yere manager,he said if things werent to his likeing he would move on.when the window opened it became known he wasnt happy and was leaveing.i was asked for his phone number as he lives near me . i contacted him by facebook and he rang me .i asked was he leaveing your club and he said he was.i asked him would he mind if i gave his number to the killumney manager and he told me yes. the killumney manager rang him and asked would he like to play premier and he said he would., i believe the glen wanted him to play centre back and he didnt fancy that.horse he is their player now ,best of luck to him ,why all the acriomny there are people out there with hidden agendas and its pure and utter rubbish.you know the lad give him a ring im sure he will let you know the truth.

71 Posts
    You ask about acrimony after you tear a friend of mine to shreds a number of times on this forum?. Mine are all facts too. I think we should drop it for the players sake.

Page 61 of 104 FirstFirst ... 1151596061626371 ... LastLast