casement 7/4 and hibs 10/3 ill be doing in the morning anyway

71 Posts
    The odds are straight from league tables by the looks of it. Bit earlier than they normally do it for the top two divisions. Says a lot about Prem A with 16s the highest price.
    Just remember, every kick makes me stronger and more determined. Indians always come back!

71 Posts
    How we looking Scaff?
    Just remember, every kick makes me stronger and more determined. Indians always come back!

[QUOTE=bluey;1537078]Knockavilla 1-0 Leeside B (Munster Junior Cup)
    Where do i start?? great performance from our B team against Knockavilla who i think if play like that week in week out could struggle in the premier this season. The goal for villa was a 2nd pen, 1st pen was long kick from villa keeper and our keeper went into back of rob walsh and took him down, fair pen. Keeper then saved the resulting pen. Its what happened then has us still asking questions, keeper saved pen and gather ball in his hands on ground, for some reason the ref then blew whistle and gave another pen for what he said was pushing between def and villa player on way in, everyone amazed even the villa players. 2nd pen scored 1-0 knockavilla. "

Hey Bluey,

What was the retake for? What the standard of refereeing being like at home this season? My season has just ended over here and I think i set something of a world record, six consecutive penalties, six consecutive retakes for infringement on the penalty box. Once was in a cup final, the penalty was saved but the player who committed the original penalty offence ran in long before the kick was taken. The retake was scored and it turned the final on its head. Next game same situation refereeing an Irish team against a Chinese team in the Sunday league, Irish referee (me) awards Irish team a penalty, penalty was saved, retake ordered, chinese players infringed before kick taken.
    Have definitely grown as a referee over here the last few months, got the games i don't think i would ever gotten at home, weekly training sessions and weekly coaching sessions with the federation on variety of issues. I'm down to the very technical errors. Have been assessed eight times in one season each one building on the last. THis morning had a fitness test to reach level 3 which is just below the national badge. I blitzed the test with Sub FIFA required timings for top referees and led my group home by considerable distance on the timed laps.
    Refereeing here instead of home best decision I made. Resources, advice and I have a mentor assigned to me to assist with any questions I have. Two other referees who were involved in 2002 and 2010 World Cups have been exceptional in advice and being opened to being pestered for assistance. I have refereed Nigerian, English, Irish, Asian, Australian, Croatian and German diaspora/immigrant teams. English were the most difficult, badgering every decision. Accusing me of being bias for not awarding a goal for them in the 93rd minute of a game because of the "Queen" and "the six counties". Ball hadn't been nowhere near crossing the line and I was in perfect position to make the call.
    Was the central cause of two teams losing due to bad errors, failed to call an offside despite player standing two yards offside and missed a player handling a shot on the way to the net (to be fair he was lying on the ground and deflection was slight but was enough to deceive keeper).
    Had the pleasure of refereeing in front of ex Sligo legend, Kevin Fallon, whose son is Rory Fallon. He was a gentleman either side of the 1st and 90th minute but in between a difficult character.
    He noted that in one game I went the opening 23 minutes without interrupting play/blowing my whistle and allowed play to continue at all times where possible.
    So quite happy with my season here. Another fitness test in two weeks and I could force my way into the reckoning for the national youth league, the NZ version of the LOI under 20

22 Posts
    Kilreen Celtic vs Springfield Off.

28 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Horse24 View Post
    How we looking Scaff?
    Have nt been down horse so dont know the condition of it could be 50/50 dose nt hold out that great

Edit..... Match off!!
    Last edited by scaffa7; 01/10/2011 at 6:50 PM.
    WE ARE GOING UP I SAID WE ARE GOING UP!!!!! BOHS CHAMPIONS 1A 09/10

Quote Originally Posted by Horse24 View Post
    The odds are straight from league tables by the looks of it. Bit earlier than they normally do it for the top two divisions. Says a lot about Prem A with 16s the highest price.
    It does alright Horse. Can't see how Kinsale are favourites for premier either... Bit of a joke I think. Money on Wilton. Easy money I'd say...

Kilumney 3 - 4 Leeside

When down to Kilumney this morning to watch them play Leeside.
    Seemed to be plenty of Wilton lads down there watching also.
    Great game to be fair in spite of the conditions with Leeside going one up, then 2-1 up before being brought level again. They then had delea sent off and i thought Kilumney would drive on and win from there but Leeside went 4-2 up instead. Kilumney pulled a dodgey goal back with a few mins to go but Leeside hung on for a deserved win.

Can't see many teams winning down there in all honesty, Kilumney are a good side. I was a bit suprised though that the Leeside front two got so much ball given Kilumney have two good big strong centre halves, however Conor Murray in particular seem to retain most ball that was played up to him and was able to bring other Leeside players in it meaning their wingers in particular caused Killumney trouble all day. Leeside also seemed to be missing a few, there was no Paudie O'Sullivan, Keith Shaw, Terry Lotty, Alec Nodwell and that foxy lad on the wing, also Joe Lyons went off injured after 5 mins. So with so many down it was a great result for them. Ricky Gettings scored two and seemed very sharp.

Kilumney at 10-1 for the league though looks like a fierce value bet

27 Posts
    Would agree with a lot of that Pacman, the real turning point was just after Delea got sent off, the Killumney keeper called for a long high free and the ball skidded off his fists and in. Great boost for Leeside at that time and they got a good fourth on the break shortly after.
    As you said they were hanging on at the end though and Killumney had a goal disallowed for some unknown reason also. Leeside keeper made a couple of great saves aswell. If it had gone to extra time, couldnt see Leeside winning, they were out on their feet.

Quote Originally Posted by overthehill View Post
    If it had gone to extra time, couldnt see Leeside winning, they were out on their feet.
    Totally agree. Some of them looked bate altogether

LADS the only fella from leeside who was out on his feet was briany sull and i wouldnt blame him he was away in oz for the year and in my opinion he gave kearney an exhibition in how to defend. i heard some of kearneys comments to brian sull which i thought were out of order with the guy off the plain 24 hours. kearney a pity in my opinion he must be the biggest center half i played against who cant head the ball. In my opinion we would have won by more if delea didnt see red. it will always be a tough place to go but overrated players always leave you down.

i hope delea reads this as his time at the top is numbered. slick rick is the best player in the aul at the moment but i would still beat him in a ................

Jesus Boo you were up late last night, were you looking over the highlights from the game!!

I was down watching the game aswell in Killumney and I must say they are a very good side and won't drop many points down there. Don't think they are in with a shout of the league this year but should get into the champions league spot. I think that Carney lad is good but maybe not as good as i've heard over the past year or so. It's good to see Leeside finding a bit of form again after getting knocked out of the AOH early on and not playing the best in the Mossie so far but things hopefully are looking up.

FORMERLY: Donnie Darko
    27 Posts
    Well lads there were a good few of us at the game down in Killeady yesterday morning! Agree with most of what you said pacman except for the bit that Leeside deserved the win. Thought Killumney started well for a couple of minutes or so but then Leeside started to dominate for the next 20 mins & got their goal following a nice finish from Keane. Thought the home side upped the tempo & got a lovely equalising goal when their winger got in behind the full back, pulled it back & the striker volleyed it in top corner. Killumney pressed & finished the half stronger.

Leeside got their 2nd from a corner when at least 3 people headed the ball before Ricky ran in & poked it home from 6 yards. He reacted the quickest but was also very poor defending from the home side. Killumney then levelled from a corner after quite a bit of pressure just before Delea got sent off. Some would argue that he could have gone a bit earlier but that was the referee's call. I also thought Killumney would push on but as Pacman said there was a mistake from the keeper & then ricky's goal that actually was probably an og but well worked by himself. He really had the hunger & drove his team on. He had a good 2nd half, didn't do much in the first half.

IMO I thought there was only 1 team that played football & I was surprised by the result considering Killumney beat them 5-2 down there last year in the same fixture. I also think that most would agree that the goal disallowed from the corner at 2-2 was a turning point because I felt if the home side had went in front at any stage that they would have went on & won. Was a good game with some good goals & the league meetings should be interesting.

As for you Boo, I think your comments are a bit strange. Firstly Brian Sull was number 8 & was playing in centre midfield where as Kearney was CB so how the lesson? Also don't recall either of the two Leeside forwards winning a single header in the whole game, only remember Ricky winning all the ball & the keeper constantly kicking for him as ye were getting no joy anywhere else.

Killumney will be difficult to beat especially at home but their inexperience could cost them, you can't concede 4 at home against the big boys & expect to win. Think they will play some nice ball during the season but will that be enough to pick up points?

Mr Darko i think you'll find that there are 2 Brian Sullivans playing for leeside . Boo is one of them and he isnt the ex grattan fella

Quote Originally Posted by freddieflinston View Post
    Mr Darko i think you'll find that there are 2 Brian Sullivans playing for leeside . Boo is one of them and he isnt the ex grattan fella
    I thought that Brian Sull was in Australia last year whereas Boo has been posting on here the whole time. Not sure that Boo is Brian Sullivan

20 Posts
    kinsale deserved to be favorite's IMO,did have by far the best player in the league in derek mc just look at his goals and medal tally over the year's..you can fire in two very good sides pity one ad to lose but only a matter of time before leeside got back on track,no doubt both sides will be knocking on the door come the end of the season..

"Winning isn't everything. Wanting to win is."

Quote Originally Posted by Donnie Darko View Post
    Also don't recall either of the two Leeside forwards winning a single header in the whole game, only remember Ricky winning all the ball & the keeper constantly kicking for him as ye were getting no joy anywhere else.
    Ya in fairness the one area where the Kilumney centre halves were on top was the arial battle.

Just out of curiosity you mentioned only one team tried to play ball. Which team was that?
    I personally thought both teams played ball albeit Kilumney tried to play the long diaginal pass over the full backs head a bit too much.

Ah but pacman it wouldnt take a genius to realise that Brian Booboys Sullivan has brothers that are involved with leeside and one was posting while boo himself was away

Quote Originally Posted by Donnie Darko View Post
    Am I reading this right? 2 players from the whole squad that could play MSL prem. This is obviously a joke is it? Like I know your involved with Casement who were MSL but seriously. The top 15-20 players in the AUL prem could make a differance to any MSL team. There is MSL 1 winners, keane cup winners, players who have played MSL all playing in AUL & I'm not talking about people at the end of their careers either. Maybe if you watch some AUL games this year you might change your mind.
    Maybe so Donnie but thats my opinion for the time being and im sticking with it.

Page 28 of 104 FirstFirst ... 1826272829303878 ... LastLast