Thread: TC heavily linked with asst mgrs job at Shamrock Rovers!

TC heavily linked with asst mgrs job at Shamrock Rovers!

Im surprised thats noone has mentioned it but there was a piece in todays star that Tony Cousins is favourite to be no 2 to Michael O'Neill. According to the article hes MONs top choice. It would be rotten timing if this happens!

860 Posts
    Was just about to post this but once again Marty ya beat me to it - would be an awful time for this to happen I think Coso will resist the temptation and stay with us as he has a great project going and is in the process of building a great squad so why throw all that away to become a no.2

but if he was to leave who would replace him? would Coffey be worth a go I think he deserves a chance at least till the end of the season.
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

622 Posts
    Well if he has ambitions to really make it as a manager I doubt taking an assistants job is the way to go, hes doing a decent job here and i'd like to think he feels he still has a lot to prove and that the job is no where near finished. Saying that better money and less work + travel would be involved at shams with the outside possibility of taking over as the main man in time..

1,103 Posts
    Didn't see the paper but heard about the article earlier all right. Wouldn't be the best timing were it to happen but if it is something he wants to do there's not much point trying to stop him. We'd have to get another manager in quickly. Having said all that I don't know if he'd really want to go back to being an assistant and there's no guarantee O'Neill will be there beyond November so what happens then?

860 Posts
    What type of compo would we be looking at - he has over a year left on his contract doesnt he?

1,103 Posts
    Don't know what his contractual situation is tbh. Has he definitely got a written one? Managers often don't at this level. I wouldn't think Rovers would want to pay much either way.

860 Posts
    3 year contract afaik

longfordian was the first to break this story on the general forum but I always go onto this first!

1,103 Posts
    I was just too lazy to start a thread!

3 year contract at Longford?? Sure there is not a manager in the country with that length of a contract.

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    Was just about to post this but once again Marty ya beat me to it - would be an awful time for this to happen I think Coso will resist the temptation and stay with us as he has a great project going and is in the process of building a great squad so why throw all that away to become a no.2

but if he was to leave who would replace him? would Coffey be worth a go I think he deserves a chance at least till the end of the season.
    please God no!

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Having said all that I don't know if he'd really want to go back to being an assistant and there's no guarantee O'Neill will be there beyond November so what happens then?
    He'd be nuts to go as O'Neill's assistant. If he holds out for the end of the season he'd probably be in with a shout of the top job there!

860 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by howsyourtouch View Post
    please God no!
    There seems to be a lot of mixed views on him but all I know is he's been with the club for a long time now so he's knows all the lads and the INS and outs of the place. He's worked very hard with the youth in the past few years and he's been caretaker before so IMO he deserves a shot.

Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    There seems to be a lot of mixed views on him but all I know is he's been with the club for a long time now so he's knows all the lads and the INS and outs of the place. He's worked very hard with the youth in the past few years and he's been caretaker before so IMO he deserves a shot.
    He was caretaker for one game and we beat a poor Kildare County side then. From chatting to a lot of people they wouldn't want him in charge for one game,let alone til the end of the season.As for the youth thing,hes not Mr Popular with the youths. Anyway I hope Tony sticks with the club, if O'Neill was leaving I'd see the attraction for him to go to Rovers but would he really go as a number 2? Though from chatting to a few Rovers mates up here they think he will go.
    Last edited by The Insider; 05/07/2011 at 10:18 AM.

1,103 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    He'd be nuts to go as O'Neill's assistant. If he holds out for the end of the season he'd probably be in with a shout of the top job there!
    Don't think he'd be "big time" enough for Rovers manager at the moment tbh. But either way aligning himself to O'Neill just at the moment might not be too clever even if he is a Rovers man through and through. Hopefully it's sorted quickly one way or another anyway.

122 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    After his stint with us in the Premier he hasn't a notion of getting that job yet.

We beat that Kildare side by the skin of our teeth, last kick of game, this story has been gathering momentum since Croly left last Wednesday in Tallaght, if he goes he goes, his main aim should be gettin 3 points against Harps because our form is worryingly poor of late
    If god wanted us to play football in the clouds he would have put grass up there!

Yeah the wheels have started to come off our little Truck of late. Hope to get to the game Saturday. I dont think he should leave us though at present. He's in the middle of a project & hasnt actually achiened much here yet except a respectable start to this season. Rovers should keep well clear also, im sure they would like someone proven in helping O'Neil regardless of what O'Neil thinks of Cousins. Theres lots of Managers who like other Managers in football.And also theres lots of "Rovers through & through" managers & wannabes round the place.
    Have sense Tony & finish what your doing.
    I just sit down at the typewriter & start hittin the keys, just hittin the keys. Getting them in the right order though thats the trick, thats the trick.

Garth Merenghi

860 Posts
    Ok so no to Coffey but if he was to go who would we get/go for been thinking about this today - what about Stephen Henderson, not a big fan of him personally but anyway what ye think?

1,103 Posts
    Whoever it is would have to be able to work on a small budget and not complain about it. Cousins has had a very good attitude in that regard since he's been here and the committee by all accounts appreciate his understanding of the situation. Not sure Henderson would be the man for that. I'm sure there'd be a few managers in for the job if it came up. At least Roddy is busy.