Page 41 of 76 FirstFirst ... 31394041424351 ... LastLast

Thread: Tipp South & District League 2011/12

Hi guys to be honest im not happy that there were ten saints players on tsdl team lots of players pulled out no villa or Celtic players turned up and no jimmy Hynes , I don't think it's fair on saints who will obviously take the blame here but people have been on this forum backing certain players and rightly so but then don't turn up ( they might have genuine excuses) but if players don't take it serious where does it leave the team ?

Credit to saint michaels for providing all the players for tsdl team. tough on oldbridge having there game called off at short notice but rafter did play for saints (b) the week before and im sure maybe mike fitzgerald, declen peters and thomas fahey who is coming back from injury could have in theory played for saints b team on sunday. so i supposed they are entitled to look for game off.
    were all quick to put the boot into saint michaels on here but they cant be happy either having 10 or eleven of there players playing with the chances of picking up injuries when they are trying to get out a settled side themselves and gain abit of momentum in a season that has been a bit stop start so far
    if it wasnt for birds and booze id have played for ireland juniors!!!!!

chops in relation to your comment above maybe if clubs (such as yours) had made sure their players turned up for oscar traynor duties old bridge would have had a game as players that were due to play with saints b against old bridge had to go and play oscar traynor which is a total joke either suspend the players that pull out at last min or scrap the team because 10 saints starting is not good for football in tsdl.

Quote Originally Posted by republican View Post
    chops in relation to your comment above maybe if clubs (such as yours) had made sure their players turned up for oscar traynor duties old bridge would have had a game as players that were due to play with saints b against old bridge had to go and play oscar traynor which is a total joke either suspend the players that pull out at last min or scrap the team because 10 saints starting is not good for football in tsdl.
    Last Year in the early rounds there was no paul tobin or no tony scully (not due to injury as they played for the clubs around this time) they had not played the earlier rounds as is there right. However you then had guys that played in other fixtures that got the TSDL to the knockout yet then found themselves not even in the squad. Why would anyone give the effort if they felt they would be treated like that. If you played games and the team won only to be dropped as soon as other players came back whats the point.

Excellent post Bishbash

there is a 90% chance that when oldbridge play saint michaels b team later in season, that saints 1st team will be playing on the same day, so oldbridge wont have to deal with rafter or the various other first team players available due to free sunday for first team etc on the day so they should beat saints b team this year who are struggling then easily. so there not doing too badly out of the whole debacle. and yes it was handled badly but its not as big a scandal as some on here are making out.

with regards the oscar traynor a great point made by bishbash

Bishbash I agree 100% that players shud not be treated like that but in the same token players should make their intentions very clear if they are not interested ( did anyone read the tsdl website it looks like it was a farce on Sunday morning) saints and old bridge have taken the brunt it's not right that for these clubs .

The question I would like to ask the general forum is it time to pull the plug on the Oscar Traynor team ( I personally think it's a great competition and a chance for lads to play at a higher level ) what do ye think and what has the tsdl need to do to make it attractive cause I don't think any other league has the quality of management team we have

25 Posts
    Tipperary Cup 1st round
    Redmonstown v Cullen-Lattin B
    Ballypatrick v St.Kierans
    Ballingarry v Borris B
    Dualla v St.Nicholas
    Clerihan v Killenaule Rovers
    Donohill v Kilmanahan
    Kilsheelan v Vee Rovers
    Cullen-Lattin v Moyglass
    Glengoole v Old Bridge
    Rosegreen v Tipperary Town
    Killusty v Peake Villa B
    Clonmel Celtic v St.Michaels
    Cahir park v Kilbehenny
    Cashel B v Clonmel Town B
    Dundrum v Clonmel Town
    Clonmel Celtic B v Galbally
    St.Michaels B v Cashel Town
    Peake Villa v Bansha Celtic
    Burncourt v Borris
    Ballyneale v Mullinahone
    Glenvilla v Wilderness Rovers.

we're play bansha in the FAI at the weekend just wondering are they any good?

[QUOTE=rightboy;1541278]Bishbash I agree 100% that players shud not be treated like that but in the same token players should make their intentions very clear if they are not interested ( did anyone read the tsdl website it looks like it was a farce on Sunday morning) saints and old bridge have taken the brunt it's not right that for these clubs .

The question I would like to ask the general forum is it time to pull the plug on the Oscar Traynor team ( I personally think it's a great competition and a chance for lads to play at a higher level ) what do ye think and what has the tsdl need to do to make it attractive cause I don't think any other league has the quality of management team we have

The point i'm trying to make is that the tsdl demand respect from players yet I dont see how they return the favour quite honestly. If you ask a guy to turn up and he declines thats his right. I dont mean that you dont turn up on the day but that you inform the management. But how do the management justify treating the players that did stand by them like that. I mean if you do well to get them to a semi final in the 1st place should you not stand by those guys that travelled all over the country on sunday mornings. Repsect is a two way street and "thanks very much for getting us here but these guys can take from here" attitude will blow up in your face. Other aspects of the Oscar Traynor is the gear involved, its nothin short of a disgrace. The kit is easily ten yrs old and it just makes the whole thing rag tag lookin. I think the league can take as much blame for whats wrong with the team as the players.

ask all players at the start of the season along with their signing form are they available for their county, simple ya or ney...that gets rid of time wasters...then try and get a young panel who would be up for playing for their county with ages from 25/27 down, incl your few certs who are old or young, that is if they said yes at the start. get your 4 from each club in a friendly and pick your squad from that, along with your certs...by the way there should be no certs..but thats the way it works..instead of getting 10 saints(incl bteam players) 4 from town 2 from celtic and someone else to show they are interested in the league...this is old school way..it might work, if ceaser has anything to do with it, it wont happen...would it also be nice to see lower division players involved...e.g tipp town fc cullen lattin cashel town moyglass etc these teams running away with their leagues..they surely have decent players who would jump at a go or even a run out for a trial game..and by the way bishbash, thats the best post of the season, award for you.

hey i know guys who have played for the oscar traynor side and had travelled over 100 miles to some games and did not get as much as a meal after the game, you get no thanks for it, thats one of the main reasons i know some guys pulled the plug, then get treated like cr@p then by league administrators so theyre opinion was, why should they play for them

Im not having a go at St.Michaels as a club but if its going down that road were they are saying that the likes of Rafter is a B team player then im sure other clubs such as Clonmel Town Cashel Town or anyone else with B teams can now use this as an excuse.St. Michaels B didnt have one or two of those players at the start but were still able to field a full team with 4 or 5 subs so whats that saying to those players.Maybe Old Bridge will gain as Michaels wont have a full team next time they play but i know for a fact that the Bridge players were well up for this game and didnt care what players they played against.And another point il make is and im a Town fan and not a Bridge fan but if they were willing to bring in Michaels B team players into the squad as they stated why not bring in some of the Bridge players who would of been available with the game been off this is a team with players who are playing some fantastic football in the 1st Division im sure a few would of jumped at the chance to be involved.It all smells a bit sour to me.

it was not really B players boywonder8 the lad in question michael rafter is an ex u19 international and has played with colchester united in england, fair enough he did play with saints B team last sunday ( getting 2 or 3 goals) but he will be in there 1st team soon enough. thats not what were worried about its just the fact that 10 of startiing team came from one club this is not saint michaels fault its the tsdls and clubs of the tsdl whos players are not interested.

Remember the name rafter too boywonder8 cause if he gets firing on all cylinders wont be long before saints are back winning leagues and i wont say winning fai s though cause we all know pike have that won already

Quote Originally Posted by balls View Post
    it was not really B players boywonder8 the lad in question michael rafter is an ex u19 international and has played with colchester united in england, fair enough he did play with saints B team last sunday ( getting 2 or 3 goals) but he will be in there 1st team soon enough. thats not what were worried about its just the fact that 10 of startiing team came from one club this is not saint michaels fault its the tsdls and clubs of the tsdl whos players are not interested.

Remember the name rafter too boywonder8 cause if he gets firing on all cylinders wont be long before saints are back winning leagues and i wont say winning fai s though cause we all know pike have that won already
    I will indeed balls,but surely to god how can they call a game off if their was only one player involved,and as you say he will be an A player,it's a riduclous rule that A players can play with a B team really,we'll be happy to get to the out of town stages,please god,wink,wink

Quote Originally Posted by theboywonder8 View Post
    I will indeed balls,but surely to god how can they call a game off if their was only one player involved,and as you say he will be an A player,it's a riduclous rule that A players can play with a B team really,we'll be happy to get to the out of town stages,please god,wink,wink
    Guys I think we are going away from the central problem , young rafter was in the original squad so he is not part of the issue but 3 other players were called in at a late stage . They are all part of 1st team squad but since not in original squad they were released to saints b team ( this happens with other clubs nit just saints) so I think it wad unfair for saints b to travel at late stage as it was unfair to old bridge

But the debate is good on this ( apart from the wombat who obviously hates saints) but the problem still remains and will continue till the tsdl / clubs and players do things right there a lot of things wrong abs all are to blame because lads we have one of the strongest leagues in the country with some great clubs throughout the divisions

Just heard that there was a lad in A&E yesterday after being attacked during a soccer match. Anyone now anything about this?

it was underage match not a junior game where lad got assaulted.

Great win for clonmel town in fai today. Jimmy Hynes amongst the goals again. tsdl looking good in 3rd round, hopefully saints, celtic, town, peake and cashel can avoid each other in the draw for 3rd round. they all had good wins this weekend

The lad in question was playing an U15 game in Clonmel and had his Jaw broken in 2 Places from a punch. He is waiting for an operation in Cork 2moro to have 2 plates put in. The worst thuggery I have every seen in 20 years of watching soccer in south Tipp. Game was being Reffed by an 18 year old !!!

132 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by West Hammer View Post
    The lad in question was playing an U15 game in Clonmel and had his Jaw broken in 2 Places from a punch. He is waiting for an operation in Cork 2moro to have 2 plates put in. The worst thuggery I have every seen in 20 years of watching soccer in south Tipp. Game was being Reffed by an 18 year old !!!
    By another player or by an adult.. not that it should make an awful of difference. If it was my child, I would be letting the Guards deal with it no question.

As for the age of the referee.. what can people do, if there are not enough referees, games won't be played, and it is ridiculous to put any blame on the referee.. unless it was him that punched to player.

Page 41 of 76 FirstFirst ... 31394041424351 ... LastLast