Page 7 of 76 FirstFirst ... 567891757 ... LastLast

Thread: Tipp South & District League 2011/12

25 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by rushy12 View Post
    As i said this saints thing is nonsense.1 player from the starting 11 is from the town.80% played schoolboys??it will be interesting to see how players decide what to do after youths in tipp town,with two clubs now there.here in clonmel they have so many options that its unusual for some to stay loyal.

The highlighted words say it all about the players of to-day whether from Clonmel, Cahir, Tipp Town, Peake etc. Fact is, nowadays, the movement of players is crazy. Personally I don't like it, I prefer the club who provide football for their community but the Premier clubs in the TSDL are so desperate for success now they have thrown this policy out the window. I think in the long term it will backfire on them all.

Quote Originally Posted by nononsense View Post
    [/B]
    The highlighted words say it all about the players of to-day whether from Clonmel, Cahir, Tipp Town, Peake etc. Fact is, nowadays, the movement of players is crazy. Personally I don't like it, I prefer the club who provide football for their community but the Premier clubs in the TSDL are so desperate for success now they have thrown this policy out the window. I think in the long term it will backfire on them all.
    very true great post.it will not backfire if the right people are in the right jobs.youth is the key for success maybe not instant.

There is too many youth players tied up in Gaa and other commitments nowadays,it is near to impossible to get a full commitment,the top clubs will always take on 4 or 5 lads who are only soccer players to try and be successful,Town and Saints have been successful for years and years with the same formula that they still use so don't kid yourself that its suddenly going to come back and bite them,it won't,they will both fight out the league again this season and 1 of them i feel will win a Munster or an Fai

Quote Originally Posted by nononsense View Post
    [/B]
    Thats a cracking post.I also think it takes the kind of community spirit away from the club.?

Lads ye are not living in the real world,call me a cynic but the bottom line for Clonmel Town and Saint Michaels is they must deliver silverware each year,same for Pike and Fairview and so on,its very easy sit back and be an idealist and say the club should provide the football for the community,thats lovely and all but when results don't go well were reading about Town being in decline or Cremins has to go,nothing else matters to the top clubs except WINNING as Charlie Sheen would say

Quote Originally Posted by GetItOut View Post
    Thats a cracking post.I also think it takes the kind of community spirit away from the club.?
    yes it does.and it also effects the other aspects of the club.community is certainly being drained from junior football.yes clubs need to win things and get in johny foreigner who stays for a year.but all im trying to say is at times there could be a youth or young lads,giving the chance and decent enough coaching might be as good.it is junior football.using johny foreigner alot will effect the community spirit of a club and will dent its finances too,lotto etc.town fans and maybe saints fans might disagree but its fact.weather is poor explains the rant.

Quote Originally Posted by PaConnors23 View Post
    I thought he was with Waterford Utd, what happened there? Is he still playing U-19 for Ireland?
    He was but is now finished there. Ah he played for the u19's within the last 6 months i would say, not sure to be honest.

yes it does.and it also effects the other aspects of the club.community is certainly being drained from junior football.yes clubs need to win things and get in johny foreigner who stays for a year.but all im trying to say is at times there could be a youth or young lads,giving the chance and decent enough coaching might be as good.it is junior football.using johny foreigner alot will effect the community spirit of a club and will dent its finances too,lotto etc.town fans and maybe saints fans might disagree but its fact.weather is poor explains the rant.
    Good post. It is hard for young players trying to break through to the clubs first team when the clubs are bringing in players from all over the place. and that is why clubs have very few players from the Area playing with them.

I agree with the sense of community has been lost in some clubs I totally disagree with clubs bringing in loads from all over the place Its very hard to get the balance right with the pressures of having to win every year but it can be done clubs need to develop their young players to come through that is the ultimate goal I would consider success as winning a trophy and also to bring a player through the ranks which is the ultimate for all underage coaches I can only talk about my club saints which I am very proud off where yes we have brought in players but have very healthy level of schoolboy / youths who are on the 1st team squad and that is not necessary players from the town but from the locality of west tipp which we have alwAys got players and huge support

Of course the saints/town system has worked, why because loyalty has wained in the last few years and players moving from their home club, to bigger things and thats fair, if they are good enough.but you consider success winning a trophy?thats fair too, but would you not see any success in bringing some good lads through and give them time to develope into a serious team.thats the dream but doesnt happen much because it is not allowed.barca did not always have this success...saints, town peake celtic etc had great teams down the years and may have won nothing but some played good football and were probably unlucky in cups..success can be measured in different ways, not always with a trophy.as for huge support????ya on semi and final days maybe

Rushy12 I agree with you on all you say about bringing players through the highlight of an excellent season for me was mickey Fitz a fella who has played since u8 playin in a munster junior final and giving a man of match performance that is real success for the club I'm not saying we get it right all the time but we will keep trying

any transfers in or out for the wildies? they will surely have to bring in at least 1 or 2 players to build on there success from last season
    if it wasnt for birds and booze id have played for ireland juniors!!!!!

Of course the saints/town system has worked, why because loyalty has wained in the last few years and players moving from their home club, to bigger things and thats fair, if they are good enough.but you consider success winning a trophy?thats fair too, but would you not see any success in bringing some good lads through and give them time to develope into a serious team.thats the dream but doesnt happen much because it is not allowed.barca did not always have this success...saints, town peake celtic etc had great teams down the years and may have won nothing but some played good football and were probably unlucky in cups..success can be measured in different ways, not always with a trophy.as for huge support????ya on semi and final days maybe
    success is measured totally on trophies, thats the bottom line all over the world. success for a club in bringing through players is seen if a player moves to play in england or plays league of ireland. losers always talk of how the big clubs are taking away from the community spirit or say its not the same as doing it with your homegrown players. losers will stay talking while the big clubs will stay winning

Quote Originally Posted by the wombat View Post
    success is measured totally on trophies, thats the bottom line all over the world. success for a club in bringing through players is seen if a player moves to play in england or plays league of ireland. losers always talk of how the big clubs are taking away from the community spirit or say its not the same as doing it with your homegrown players. losers will stay talking while the big clubs will stay winning
    Super post Wombat,lads can argue all day but all that matters is winning trophies,the clubs who are incapable of this talk about community and feel good factors while Saints and Town continue to dominate,fair play to Cahir and Borris for getting up off their arses and trying to go down the same route and fair play to Pike,we have listened to all the rubbish but ye are sitting at home with FAI medals

Quote Originally Posted by stelling View Post
    Super post Wombat,lads can argue all day but all that matters is winning trophies,the clubs who are incapable of this talk about community and feel good factors while Saints and Town continue to dominate,fair play to Cahir and Borris for getting up off their arses and trying to go down the same route and fair play to Pike,we have listened to all the rubbish but ye are sitting at home with FAI medals
    Really encouraging for young lads.

Quote Originally Posted by GetItOut View Post
    Really encouraging for young lads.
    Dont be so naive,if a young player is good enough he will play,Jimmy Carr had no problem breaking through at Saints,Michael Quinlivan had no problem breaking through at Town,if your good enough your old enough

Quote Originally Posted by stelling View Post
    Dont be so naive,if a young player is good enough he will play,Jimmy Carr had no problem breaking through at Saints,Michael Quinlivan had no problem breaking through at Town,if your good enough your old enough
    Thats true ill give ya that,but i still think there should be a balance between homegrown players and not.

It just isnt realistic buddy that your going to get enough of young players that are good enough and you don't weaken the team by playing a lesser player just because he is from the locality but no young player who is good enough will ever be stopped coming through at Town or Saints

Well said stelling,at least your honest about it,top players will always play for top clubs,and if the youngsters coming through are good enough they will play and if not you have to go out and get them,simple as,and it will always be like that and as you said it's up to the rest of the clubs to follow suit if they want to compete.

Quote Originally Posted by theboywonder8 View Post
    Well said stelling,at least your honest about it,top players will always play for top clubs,and if the youngsters coming through are good enough they will play and if not you have to go out and get them,simple as,and it will always be like that and as you said it's up to the rest of the clubs to follow suit if they want to compete.
    Yeah the bottom line is getting a panel of 16 guys who can go and win you silverware,there will always be locals at Town and Saints and Pike as well,the jealous people just try and focus in on the few lads who are brought in and say its a team of outsiders which is not the case,no young player has ever been deprived his chance if he was good enough,Celtic won a european cup in 1967 with a team of guys who were all from glasgow,now you would do well to find a few Scottish guys on their team,thats football it moves with the times at all levels

Page 7 of 76 FirstFirst ... 567891757 ... LastLast