Bwa,you haven't a clue,Limerick were trying to sign him to be there for the next few years,as you said they wanted him to partner paddy,and you're right paddy is probably one of the best around,( ex pike as well by the way)so don't be knocking the boy because he turned ye down.
Why doesn't his opinion matter? Is it because it differs from yours. He is not disagreeing that Pa Mullins isn't a good centre half but he is disagreeing that he is the best in the country. Just because Limerick where trying to sign him doesn't make him the best in the country or better than what we have. Pat is trying to strengthen the team and if Pa Mullins adds to that all the better if Mullins isn't interested fair enough Limerick will look else where.
I don't really care who is better. Pat Purcell or Pat Mullins. Read the thread title again lads. "Limerick Transfers and Pre-Season". Stop talking rubbish for a change.
According to BoyWonder the whole Pike squad is better than the whole Irish squad the way he goes on about them so much haha
Just seen this can you even read where did i say we were not looking for him for the next few years i said he was being brought in to partner Paddy he could partner Paddy for the next few years.
And where did i knock him was it when i said he was a VERY VERY GOOD (my exact words if you bothered to read the post).
Do you make up your own post to answer because you clearly were not answering my post.
Both players were offered contract extensions in one way or another while in England. Shane sat down with Wenger who told him he had a year left on his contract but they werent going to renew it after that. What he also said was there was a large number of championship clubs who were interested in him and he gave him a couple of choices. he could see out his year at arsenal and fend for himself after it or arsenal would sort out another club for him and let him move there and then. shane said he hadnt settled though so he asked could he go home and they agreed. when he went to galway he got injured. managers changed so moved to limerick. he started there very well in my opinion but damaged his knee(chipped a bone or something) and took ages to come back from.
Conor is in the same boat. dont know all the exact details but i do know there was other clubs who wanted him to sign but he decided to come back too.
just because a player decides to come home after their first contract in england doesnt work out doesnt make them a mediocre player. remember these kids are usually still teenagers when premier league clubs let them go. I dont care how strong a player is, but being away from family when that happens is going to destroy their confidence and make them even more homesick.
If they are as bad as you say, then so be it. they'll spend the rest of their careers playing junior football or lower level loi. But I would nearly bet if they reach even 75% of their potential, shane would end up at least loi premier or championship level. As for Conor, I've been following his game since I watched him play with Limerick u11's. and if he can fulfil his potential and with a couple of lucky breaks that every good player needs, who knows, he could very easily be a senior international
Taught you said you weren't a player,didn't you play with the b team and Pa gave you a few runs out with the a team.
Anyone else hear Pa Byrnes didn't take the carew park job,taught it was done and dusted,
Is Albert gonna be manager so,?
M.Reddan????
sick of narcissists.....