Thread: Help: Fastest Goals

164 Posts

Help: Fastest Goals

I'm looking to tap into the vast and scary depths of knowledge of some posters here. Apparently there was only 27 seconds between the Blues' third and fourth goals in the 86th minute against Salthill last night. I'm told (from the press box) that the 27 seconds were from the ref's whistle to signal the third up to the whistle for the fourth including celebration, turnaround and kick-off. We're pretty sure they're the fastest consecutive goals for Waterford in any of our memories, but does anyone know of any faster consecutive goals in the League of Ireland?

P.S. Yes, we started the season looking to win the First Division and just over three months in, we're now willing to settle for an obscure goals record

2,284 Posts
    That's pretty good going. These two (non-LOI) were about 24 seconds apart and the second involved getting the ball back to the centre spot and having an immediate crack at goal:

164 Posts
    Ha, yeah I just googled that about half an hour ago and saw it. Those were goals at opposite ends though. I'm sure somebody around the world has score two in a row faster, but I wonder if there were any on record in Ireland. Our goal celebration music (The Pogues "Fiesta") had just ended and had to be played again immediately. (This totally makes up for having only scored three home league goals going into the match!)

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bluemovie View Post
    Ha, yeah I just googled that about half an hour ago and saw it. Those were goals at opposite ends though.
    It makes last night feat more impressive in my book. Waterford would have had to have won the ball back and gone through eleven men to score the second, presumably.

164 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    It makes last night feat more impressive in my book. Waterford would have had to have won the ball back and gone through eleven men to score the second, presumably.
    It was only Salthill in fairness

3,350 Posts
    Similar, but not quite the same - here's Galway v UCD from the end of the 2007 season. Score was 1-1 after 89 seconds, and that included a stoppage to award a penalty.

164 Posts
    Last try. Does anybody have any records on this?

83 Posts
    I will have to go and check through our history but I seem to recall Athlone Town scoring two goals in less than 30 seconds without the other team touching the ball.

It was a penalty just before half time and whistle went immediately after and when we kicked off the second half scored straight away. Mickey O'Connor or Eugene Davis spring to mind.

atfconline might have something on it but I will go through what I have as well.

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

222 Posts
    I threw this one over to the boys on the Guardian website..........

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2...fines-football

164 Posts
    Thanks, Sean. That's excellent. Most of their examples (including the lob over Butt) are of opposing teams scoring. I'd say our two goals could be the fastest for the same team on record. It can't be often that a team wins the ball straight back from their opponents' centre and scores immediately.

2,284 Posts
    Did anyone get a video? Or photos? Even four or five photos should suffice to create a clear-cut GIF for something this snappy.

Well, OK; maybe not quite...

164 Posts
    http://bluestid.blogspot.com/search?...&max-results=7

There's footage of both goals here, but it doesn't have it all in one sequence. I'll ask the lads who filmed it do they have the full sequence.

3,350 Posts
    Jaysus - what am I thinking?

Here's Bohs' 2-1 win against us last season. Two goals in 29 seconds, including a 22 second gap between scoring the first and tipping off again. Definitely the best I can do, and still ye win! But maybe it's puts us in second place in crappiness behind Salthill.

Last edited by pineapple stu; 07/07/2011 at 2:19 PM.

19. Thanks From:

2,693 Posts
    off topic but do you remember Crowe's goal against you in UCD Stu? 11 seconds after kick off i think. Loved that goal, one of my favourites. Actually one of my favourite games too - 4:3 to Bohs in the end iirc...
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

Slightly different but my Uncle Tarzan scored after 22secs in a game in Galway before!
    Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam.

3,350 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    off topic but do you remember Crowe's goal against you in UCD Stu? 11 seconds after kick off i think. Loved that goal, one of my favourites. Actually one of my favourite games too - 4:3 to Bohs in the end iirc...
    Remember it very well; it was featured on MNS a while back. There had to be three tips cos ye kept fecking it up. I reckon it confused us. Great game - I think we were winning at one stage? Then Clive Delaney got injured, Crowe finished his hat-trick and we nearly conceded a fifth in injury time after Bazza got caught around half-way as ye cleared a corner; think the ref blew up at that stage, so ye didn't score.