Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Forthcoming friendlies at League of Ireland grounds

Quote Originally Posted by bluemovie View Post
    We'll make more from this freindly than from 15 home league games combined. Great business for the club.

164 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    Great news for Waterford but depressing all the same. Have seen the same at Finn Park for a Celtic Friendly.
    Ah it's an absolute joke, but the fact is there are tens of thousands more Liverpool fans in Waterford than Waterford fans in Waterford. I don't care cos they're basically paying for me to watch the Blues for the rest of the season!

164 Posts
    Whoooooooooosh. It'd probably help if I had volume or watched wrestling

Quote Originally Posted by A face View Post
    It will be interesting to see the outcome of this. I think Bohs are going to get tanked here .... 1:4 to the lads from Tandice i'd say
    It finished 1 v 1 I believe.

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fester View Post
    It finished 1 v 1 I believe.
    yep - Burke got the equaliser. We played very well in the 2nd half apparently and could have snatched it. Superior fitness told more than anything, i suppose.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

433 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DRDoc View Post
    did many go to the Jacks hero's game in Hunky?
    About 800 turned up in Humpty Dumpty park apparently

448 Posts
    city play Cobh in Bishopstown tomorrow

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Steve Staunton, Ian Foster, Tom McNulty and Tommy McConville at a press conference in Dundalk today promoting the Legends match between Dundalk and Liverpool on Saturday July 23.

http://www.dundalkfc.com/dfc-tv-lege...ess-conference

While the Liverpool team will have some big names from the past in addition to Steve Staunton, like Ronnie Whelan, John Aldridge, Jason McAteer, Phil Babb and Michael Thomas, for me the attraction is to see some true League of Ireland legends return to Oriel Park. It will be a real pleasure to see guys like Martin Lawlor, Tom McNulty, Terry Eviston, Alan O'Neill and Brian Byrne return.

For anyone chasing a bit of nostalga and good craic it kicks off at 3.30pm with adults €10 and kids €5. There is also the option of a Gala Dinner that evening at €50 a pop or you can have the full monty with hotel accommodation, match ticket and gala dinner at €100. All the Dundalk & Liverpool legends are staying in the hotel and it should be a great day and night.
    http://www.dundalkfc.com/countdown-t...pdated-details

61 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DRDoc View Post
    did many go to the Jacks hero's game in Hunky?

Also, word is mk dons will play a game or two against Irish sides

Against Drogheda on July 19th seems to be provisional

Not sure against who else
    Bray and Pats i heard but just a whisper.

Quote Originally Posted by The Lep View Post
    Bray and Pats i heard but just a whisper.
    Pats pulled out due to their European commitments so Bangor Celtic are filling the void. The game to be played in the Iveagh Grounds.

1,825 Posts
    UCD beating Villareal 3-2?

Anyone know anything about that?
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

2,771 Posts
    UCD gave away 2000 free tickets for it. Truth. Good idea too.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

1,825 Posts
    Mate just told me 4-3.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

3,491 Posts
    Nah, the free tickets were rescinded. Dunno what happened, but ended up looking fairly bad for us. Someone fecked up, I think. There were about 700 at it; lots of Spanish students.

We won 4-3 in the end. Amazing stuff. Their keepers flapped at four crosses and we scored four times. We played really well though and deserved the win. So this year, we've beaten Galway and Drogheda (duh), the league leaders and now a Champions' League team. Don't do middle ground, us!

2,771 Posts
    Nah, the free tickets were rescinded. Dunno what happened, but ended up looking fairly bad for us. Someone fecked up, I think. There were about 700 at it; lots of Spanish students.

We won 4-3 in the end. Amazing stuff. Their keepers flapped at four crosses and we scored four times. We played really well though and deserved the win. So this year, we've beaten Galway and Drogheda (duh), the league leaders and now a Champions' League team. Don't do middle ground, us!
    oh right - i hadnt heard about the rescission. Who and what was the objection i wonder??? Seemed like a perfectly good idea to me. Congrats on the win in Europe by the way - always nice!

3,491 Posts
    Dunno; maybe Platinum 1 were setting the price and objected. Or maybe free tickets were never the plan and someone sent that out in error. Either way, I don't care!

who scored the goals? what kinda team did Villareal play? Heard they had a full squad, barring Rossi.

305 Posts
    Anyone know the score from the Cork V Brummy friendly ??

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bullit View Post
    Anyone know the score from the Cork V Brummy friendly ??
    Birmingham beat us 1-0, Rooney
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Blue-Army View Post
    who scored the goals? what kinda team did Villareal play? Heard they had a full squad, barring Rossi.
    Dunno who got theirs; didn't hear. Capdevilla played the first half; Senna and Nilmar played the second. Didn't really recognise many of the names tbh, but I think a full squad was expected. They maybe had a mix of first team and stiffs in each half.

O'Conor, Leahy, Boyle and AN Other scored for us (apparently an own goal, but there's no ogs at UCD games). Their first was a ridiculous deflection. One of the other two was a super goal after the lad kept going despite being tackled at least three times. Hope to get highlights at some stage.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast