Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345

Thread: Keanes Partner for wc Qualifiers

Quote Originally Posted by dynamo kerry
    yes he was too good for the SPL but so are a lot of people. Robben was playing in holand - massive difference
    But he couldn't even get his place in the Celtic team???

Colin Healy MkII I think, does something once every 25 minutes and people come away raving about him.

only1kilbane
    Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid
    But he couldn't even get his place in the Celtic team???

Colin Healy MkII I think, does something once every 25 minutes and people come away raving about him.
    The most sensible comment on her for a while. Miller too good for the spl yeah all those games he played showed his class . He had a good game against anderlecht and suddenly he is the dogs ******. We big peolpe up to quickly

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy
    As for your last comment, this is one of two forum's (that I know of anyway) that were opened to talk about Irish football (domestic and international). Therefore, don't you think the people on those forums would know best?
    No I don't because the other half of this form is concerned with the Eircom league, I would have far more faith in the opinions of people who watch the likes of Kilbane and Breen week in week out in the Premiership (myself for example).

BTW - I don't actually think Kilbane should start but to say he's not a good player is ridiculous. You seem to get the best 11 in your head and whenever another players is mentioned you have to slate him
    Kilbane is not a good player, he is very, very average and has no flair or skill whatsoever. He was even booed by his own fans at Sunderland because he was ****, he is not anywhere near the class of Duff or Andy Ried, so my conclusion from that is that he shouldn't be anywhere near our team.

Quote Originally Posted by carnstien
    No I don't because the other half of this form is concerned with the Eircom league, I would have far more faith in the opinions of people who watch the likes of Kilbane and Breen week in week out in the Premiership (myself for example).

Kilbane is not a good player, he is very, very average and has no flair or skill whatsoever. He was even booed by his own fans at Sunderland because he was ****, he is not anywhere near the class of Duff or Andy Ried, so my conclusion from that is that he shouldn't be anywhere near our team.
    Jesus, you're a sad sad little man.

First off, you're not watching Breen in the premiership.
    Second, I seriously doubt you're getting to Everton and Sunderland games every week, so I guess you're basing your 'superior' knowledge on the highlights packages that you watch on ITV or RTE.Which is exactly the same access as any EL fan has to the premiership.

Kilbane was booed because Sunderland Fans needed a scapegoat for poor results, but didn't want to turn on Peter Reid, the editor of their fanzone has been on this site and confirmed this (before you start) saying that Kilbane always gave 100% for them and many were sorry to see him go.

No one is saying he's as good as Duff, but the argument here is if he's the best man to play in the centre, not on the left wing. But don't let what's actually being discussed get in the way of your condescending and rude generalisations.

Of all the people that post on here, you are without doubt the most rudely dismissive of other's opinions.
    Last edited by tiktok; 01/07/2004 at 9:30 AM.
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

Quote Originally Posted by tiktok
    Kilbane was booed because Sunderland Fans needed a scapegoat for poor results, but didn't want to turn on Peter Reid, the editor of their fanzone has been on this site and confirmed this (before you start) saying that Kilbane always gave 100% for them and many were sorry to see him go.
    Why the hell do you think they chose Kilbane as a scapegoat, huh? Because he was their worst player! You don't see Zidane becoming a scape goat for Real Madrid or France fans when the perform badly do you? They blame the likes of Desailly and Raul Bravo. Sunderland fans watched Kilbane bulling up and down that left wing every week producing absolutly **** all and they were sick of it!

No one is saying he's as good as Duff, but the argument here is if he's the best man to play in the centre, not on the left wing. But don't let what's actually being discussed get in the way of your condescending and rude generalisations.

Of all the people that post on here, you are without doubt the most rudely dismissive of other's opinions.
    I mentioned Duff once, if you'd bothered your arse to read the rest of what I wrote you'd have seen that I said Miller or Andy Ried should get the nod in the middle, with the other one playing on the right.

And in future if you can't argue without resorting to snide, petty remarks like what you threw into that post, you can **** off.

I agree with tiktok. You're the one with the issue when it comes to arguing, and you always have been. You really need to take a look at yourself and your attitudes to others, you know. I only hope for your sake that in the real world you don't come across as you appear here.

PP
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

[QUOTE=carnstien]Sunderland fans watched Kilbane bulling up and down that left wing every week producing absolutly **** all and they were sick of it!
    QUOTE]

Perhaps you should ask a Sunderland fan. I was of the impression he was something of a fans favourite by the time he left.

If Miller is not warming United's bench next season then he'll be a real contender for right side of midfield.

Quote Originally Posted by Plastic Paddy
    I agree with tiktok. You're the one with the issue when it comes to arguing, and you always have been. You really need to take a look at yourself and your attitudes to others, you know. I only hope for your sake that in the real world you don't come across as you appear here.

PP
    The only reason that you say that is because I don't agree with most people on here about most things and I argue my point when I think that I'm right.

I don't go along with, "Kilbane is a hard worker, lets have him in the team", "Breen has never let us down, he should mark Henry", "I hate Roy Keane, Mick McCarthy was a class manager".

I have my opinions and I'll stick to them, non-conformist or not, I don't care. I never resort to snide remarks about individuals and I don't put people down the way tiktok did to me.

Fair enough, saying you were a 'sad sad little man' was snide, written as it was while I was angry and I apologise for that. The rest of what I said wasn't snide and I stand by it.

The argument I made (which you ignored for the record) was that an since your exposure to the Premiership is limited to exactly tha same as that available to an EL fan (a statement you didn't contradict so I hold it to be true until you do) you're in no position to summarily disregard their opinions and claim your own to be better informed.

Also, for the record, Bowsy is spot on that Kilbane was a fan's favourite by the time he left Sunderland.

The only reason that you say that is because I don't agree with most people on here about most things and I argue my point when I think that I'm right.

I don't go along with, "Kilbane is a hard worker, lets have him in the team", "Breen has never let us down, he should mark Henry", "I hate Roy Keane, Mick McCarthy was a class manager".

I have my opinions and I'll stick to them, non-conformist or not, I don't care. I never resort to snide remarks about individuals and I don't put people down the way tiktok did to me.
    I have no problem whatsoever with your choosing to argue the point with people. None at all. What I do find distasteful is the way you deride their opinions in the process, as you do with some frequency. See below if you dispute my statement.

I dunno what kind of eejits we have who think Kavanagh should play ahead of Milller, more than likely, sour, bitter and twisted Celtic fans though.
    This is the biggest pile of ****e I have ever seen in my life.

What the hell are you trying to do, prove the Swiss manager right?

Miller and Ried should be the only players anyone is considering. Anyone who thinks any other player should get the nod hasn't got a clue.
    And the above comments from you are from the last week alone. Like I said, I don't have a problem with you choosing to argue the toss. It's just the manner in which you go about it that leaves a sour taste.

PP
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

Quote Originally Posted by Plastic Paddy
    I have no problem whatsoever with your choosing to argue the point with people. None at all. What I do find distasteful is the way you deride their opinions in the process, as you do with some frequency. See below if you dispute my statement.

And the above comments from you are from the last week alone. Like I said, I don't have a problem with you choosing to argue the toss. It's just the manner in which you go about it that leaves a sour taste.

PP
    Fair enough point taken.

And regarding Tiktok's point about the Eircom league fans knowlege of the Premiership...

I do not agree that someone who is primeraly an Eircom league fan could possibly have great knowlege of the Premiership. I couldn't really give a ****e about the Eircom league and all I really watch is Premiership matches, either on TV or the occasional trip to Anfield. I don't bother to voice my opinions about the likes of Glen Crowe because I know **** all about him, but when it comes to Premiership football and Premiership players I would consider myself extremely knowlegable and if I have a concrete view on a team or a player (like Gary Breen, anyone who ever watched him for West Ham will know that he is a disaster) I want it to be heard.

I am going to nail my colours to the mast before I express my opinion as you can see where I am coming from. For a few years I was very frustrated with Kevin Kilbane when he was playing on the left of midfield. Especially as it meant that Duff played up front and he was not playing where he should be. However I thought against Brazil and Czech Republic he was excellent, both times. Roy Keane stated that Kilbane was the man of the match and gave an outstanding performance. In addition , when I went to the Romania game I thought that Miller gave a very good controlled performance on the right ( a problem area for Ireland.) I though his passing was crisp, incisive, and he linked well with the forward players. So I think that Miller should not be playing in central midfield for the moment as he can play the right sided role. That leaves us down to Kilbane, Holland or Andy Reid for the last spot. I think in the big games he should go for either Holland or Kilbane and have Reid to come off the bench if we need a goal. The fact is we are always likely to have one or two injurys so we need to have 6 or 7 midfielders competing for the final places. Reid will do a job for us against weaker opposition and is great cover for Duff, and is very flexible. This time next year I would like to see a midfield of Duff, Keane, Reid, Miller, but for now i think that Holand or Kilbane will do and I actualyl think Kilbane is a better athlete than Holland is less likely to go missing in games but is also less likely to bang a goal in. I dont understand why people have to make vicious comments about others, we are all here supporting a team we love.

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD
    I am going to nail my colours to the mast before I express my opinion as you can see where I am coming from. For a few years I was very frustrated with Kevin Kilbane when he was playing on the left of midfield. Especially as it meant that Duff played up front and he was not playing where he should be. However I thought against Brazil and Czech Republic he was excellent, both times. Roy Keane stated that Kilbane was the man of the match and gave an outstanding performance. In addition , when I went to the Romania game I thought that Miller gave a very good controlled performance on the right ( a problem area for Ireland.) I though his passing was crisp, incisive, and he linked well with the forward players. So I think that Miller should not be playing in central midfield for the moment as he can play the right sided role. That leaves us down to Kilbane, Holland or Andy Reid for the last spot. I think in the big games he should go for either Holland or Kilbane and have Reid to come off the bench if we need a goal. The fact is we are always likely to have one or two injurys so we need to have 6 or 7 midfielders competing for the final places. Reid will do a job for us against weaker opposition and is great cover for Duff, and is very flexible. This time next year I would like to see a midfield of Duff, Keane, Reid, Miller, but for now i think that Holand or Kilbane will do and I actualyl think Kilbane is a better athlete than Holland is less likely to go missing in games but is also less likely to bang a goal in. I dont understand why people have to make vicious comments about others, we are all here supporting a team we love.
    Well said. Agree with every word of that.

I'd agree to the letter with that Neil, well put.
    As to the 'viscous comments', yeah you're right there too, which is why I apologised.

I do not agree that someone who is primeraly an Eircom league fan could possibly have great knowlege of the Premiership. ...if I have a concrete view on a team or a player .....I want it to be heard.
    I really don't want to wander off topin Carnstein, but as with PP, my problem isn't your argument, rather the way you present it, although at least on this thread, that's pot calling kettle black on my part.

I think it is silly to presume that because you support a Premiership team and don't like the EL, that the converse holds true (although it certainly applies to some individuals).
    I'd consider myself well versed in the Premiership despite the fact that I'm first and foremost a CCFC fan, and I don't understand how someone as knowledgeable as you claim to be could suggest that Kilbane, based on recent friendlies and his Everton form sionce his move there "shouldn't be anywhere near our team".

Anyway, As NeilMcD said, Miller is probably the man for the job in the longer term, assuming the Man Utd move goes well for him, but in the shorter term it's be him on the right with Kilbane next to keane for me.

Have to agree with NeilMcD, Kilbane was never my favourite player in the past, if fact I would have descibed him as "muck"!! But, yes, in the past number of friendlies he has been excellent, and has had a decent season last season. Everyone knows he can't skin a player like Duffer so we shouldn't be expecting it, (even though his over reliance on the "kick the ball forward and run by the defender while trying to catch it" technique can be a bit of a pain), he is a good central midfield workhorse, which allows Duffer to play on the Left.
    UCD sha-la-la

I have my opinions and I'll stick to them, non-conformist or not, I don't care. I never resort to snide remarks about individuals...
    So football players aren't individual's? I just don't understand how you can say bad things about people trying their best to represent their country. In your opinion, there is only 12 players that should be in the starting 11 (your ideal 11 + Finnan/Carr). Kerr has capped 43 players, if a player in that 43 was mentioned for a starting place and you didn't think should be in there, you always have to slate them. Is it not possible for Ireland to have a decent bench?

Try to cut down on slating players unless what you are saying is true. We all slate players but most of us actually tell the truth. I would say Harte isn't a great defender so I'd prefer O'Shea in the team. I would even go as far as to say Morrison is atrocious at heading the ball. If someone said to me I think Richard Dunne should be in for O'Brien, I wouldn't start saying things like he's a fat b*stard. Stephen Reid is not a waste of space mate, we need all the players we can get. Kilbane is probably one of the nicest poeple in the world but you still call him a muppet because he's not up to your standards.

Say what you want about players but think twice when you say it. Also, you're probably better off comparing players rather than slag the player who you don't think is good enough for the team.

Lads i am getting scared with all this agreeing to my post, It might go to my head. Calm down someone disagree with it lol.

So football players aren't individual's? I just don't understand how you can say bad things about people trying their best to represent their country. In your opinion, there is only 12 players that should be in the starting 11 (your ideal 11 + Finnan/Carr). Kerr has capped 43 players, if a player in that 43 was mentioned for a starting place and you didn't think should be in there, you always have to slate them. Is it not possible for Ireland to have a decent bench?

Try to cut down on slating players unless what you are saying is true. We all slate players but most of us actually tell the truth. I would say Harte isn't a great defender so I'd prefer O'Shea in the team. I would even go as far as to say Morrison is atrocious at heading the ball. If someone said to me I think Richard Dunne should be in for O'Brien, I wouldn't start saying things like he's a fat b*stard. Stephen Reid is not a waste of space mate, we need all the players we can get. Kilbane is probably one of the nicest poeple in the world but you still call him a muppet because he's not up to your standards.

Say what you want about players but think twice when you say it. Also, you're probably better off comparing players rather than slag the player who you don't think is good enough for the team.
    In fairness, me, you or anyone else is entitled to say whatever they like about a player. Ian Harte is paid £8,000 a week, he is overweight, slow, unfit and half the time looks like he couldn't give a ****e. I am well within my right to slate him or any other footballer I choose to. Kevin Kilbane has got where he has gotten without an iota of talent, fair play to him but if I want to call him a donkey then thats within my rights.

And on the subject of him beening a nice guy, well I sure he is, but that in no way changes my opinion of him as a footballer, nor does Roy Keane being a ******. It doesn't mean Kilbane should make the team and Keane shouldn't.

Ah for god's sake, cop on. You go out there in front of 44k against Bulgaria in August and we'll call you a muppet for not being as good as the rest.

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345