Page 22 of 24 FirstFirst ... 122021222324 LastLast

Thread: FAI Investigate Alleged Racist Abuse Of Zayed

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sundance kid View Post
    I'd say Turner is a relieved man that it was an offensive comment and not a racist comment he got banned for. Jason McGuinness has said that the punishment of having to sign for Sligo because of his indiscretion was too high a price to pay.
    Being Chris Turner should be punishment enough imo
    Kom Igen, FCK...

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Well I think the verdict fits with what I was saying: the FAI couldn't get enough evidence to rule he'd made a racist comment but did decide he said something less serious. I have no idea how the hearing actually went down: it could have been that Zayed said Turner called him X and Turner replied that he actually said Y, and the FAI punished him for saying Y.

Algebra.
    Well no, it doesnt fit in any way with what you were saying. You said they couldnt make a decision based on one persons word against another. They did. If we go on your version of events, they believed Turners version ahead of Zayeds version. If we go with another approach, namely, the comments to Zayed were not technically racist but were "offensive", they also believe one word over another though didnt agree with the characterisation of those words.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

57 Posts
    To quote PC Paul McInally of Charing Cross Police Station in the Mark Thomas docu about the SOCPA Laws and what constitutes offensive comments:

"One man's **** is another man's crap is another man's poo"
    Kom Igen, FCK...

Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    Well no, it doesnt fit in any way with what you were saying. You said they couldnt make a decision based on one persons word against another. They did. If we go on your version of events, they believed Turners version ahead of Zayeds version. If we go with another approach, namely, the comments to Zayed were not technically racist but were "offensive", they also believe one word over another though didnt agree with the characterisation of those words.
    I said they couldn't brand him a racist based on one man's word and they didn't. Of course they can make minor disciplinary decisions based on a lower standard of evidence.

I clearly said that Rovers fans should be questioning the wisdom or value of having a well documented racist, bigotted scumbag at their club instead of worrying about defending his "honour". He clearly made comments serious enough to warrant a 3 match ban. Those comments were racially motivated or, at best, borderline racist. Is this the sort of player that Rovers fans want to support or defend? Your collective answer is a resounding yes. Fair enough.
    Care to explain those statements?

Could you not have explained it in a letter to SARI (Réiteoir will have the address) who could pass it on to the FAI disciplinary panel so the punishment would've been suitably altered and action could be taken. It is clearly information that you have that they didn't.
    Last edited by dfx-; 09/07/2011 at 8:10 PM.
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

43 Posts
    thats not what my fantastic post said though Jicked. Please point out to me where i called for further action to be take. I clearly said that Rovers fans should be questioning the wisdom or value of having a well documented racist, bigotted scumbag at their club instead of worrying about defending his "honour". He clearly made comments serious enough to warrant a 3 match ban. Those comments were racially motivated or, at best, borderline racist. Is this the sort of player that Rovers fans want to support or defend? Your collective answer is a resounding yes. Fair enough.
    The bits in bold Stu. Where are you plucking them from? Do you know Turner personally to label him a racist bigotted scumbag? He's been cleared of being a racist by an independent disciplinary panel, if he was a bigot would he be playing for Shamrock Rovers with all these catholic irishmen? If he was such a bigot would he (a protestant Rangers fan) be friends and share banter with someone like Gary Twigg (a Catholic Celtic supporting Glasweigian)?

As for your claim that his comments "were racially motivated or, at best, borderline racist" well how do you know, were you there? The FAI have cleared him of saying anything racist and I don't believe whatever he said to him was racially motivated either. In the 15 minutes Turner was on the pitch the only time I seen them near each other was when Zayed dived over Turner's leg near the sideline earning himself a free kick and Turner an undeserved yellow card. If Turner then turned around and said something offensive to Zayed it was motivated by Zayed getting Turner booked not from the colour of Zayed's skin or his ethnicity.

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Réiteoir View Post
    To quote PC Paul McInally of Charing Cross Police Station in the Mark Thomas docu about the SOCPA Laws and what constitutes offensive comments:

"One man's **** is another man's crap is another man's poo"
    After a curry, I tend to refer to it as a holiday.

415 Posts
    Never seen a club welcome a 3 game ban

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by hoopy View Post
    For what it's worth I think if Turner had've been found guilty of racism he should've got a 10 match ban.
    Your claim would have had a lot more credibility if you had made this call BEFORE the ruling was known

663 Posts
    The club statement is astonishing.

It celebrates that the abuse was not established as racist as though this is some form of vindcation of the club and player.

Shamrock Rovers does not condone any form of abuse, racial or otherwise, and has strict policies in place to deal any such activity, if it were to occur.
    What are these strict policies? How will Turner be dealt with now by the club as a consequence of his abusive behaviour?

While the committee ruled that Chris Turner made an offensive comment to Eamon Zayed, for which he received a three match ban, it did not find that this was racist in nature. In fact, the committee imposed the ban under a separate rule, one which does not cover racist behaviour
    Although the statement acknowledges the ruling and the ban, the absense of any acceptance that this abuse occured speaks volumes.

Rovers may not condone this sort of behaviour, but they certainly don't condemn it either!

Jason McGuiness holds his hands up & admits straight away he made a stupid comment & gets 5 game ban.

Chris Turner denies it, is found guilty & gets only a 3 game ban. What a joke.

Typical of the "model club" in their response to the matter. Head in the sand & deny everything.

They have shown by their comments/actions on the matter the club's standard of conduct is so low they could parachute out of a snake's arse.

89 Posts
    This is classic stuff, keep it coming guys. Some of the outrage is absolutely priceless.

Fair play to Pats though, have they got this guy in as a spin doctor?

22 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    Whatever Turner said was in the heat of a game.

"Gaddafis love child"
    5-0

Quote Originally Posted by Jicked View Post
    This is classic stuff, keep it coming guys. Some of the outrage is absolutely priceless.

Fair play to Pats though, have they got this guy in as a spin doctor?
    In my 6 years on foot.ie, I haven't read make-it-up and refuse-to-read-the-verdictism to compare with today.

And that's a lot of outrage and make-it-upness in that time..
    Last edited by dfx-; 09/07/2011 at 9:59 PM.
    The Model Club

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kdjaC View Post
    "Gaddafis love child"
    Are you sure it wasn't "shoe bomber", "paki", "camel jockey", Libyan c**t or any of the other internet rumours that claimed this was what he definitely said?

Have to endorse what jicked said above. Some of the stuff here today is priceless. KOH - Keep on Hating lads
    Last edited by HulaHoop; 09/07/2011 at 10:04 PM.

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dfx- View Post
    In my 6 years on foot.ie, I haven't read make-it-up and refuse-to-read-the-verdictism to compare with today.

And that's a lot of outrage and make-it-upness in that time..
    The club's statement is bizarre, is all, in light of the fact that one of their players has just been found guilty of offensive/abusive behaviour and been handed a three-match ban. The statement strangely celebrates that as some sort of vindication of the player and you'd be forgiven for thinking that Turner was cleared of any wrongdoing by the tone of it, save for a relatively brief addendum at the end. I just think that's odd. Whatever about people getting outraged - I'm not getting all het up about it - but you'd nearly wonder did Rovers read the verdict?

Perhaps given some people's inability to figure out the punishment is for offensive comments not racism (many many examples in this thread all day of people not getting this), perhaps it is needed to highlight it. I'd consider the clearance of racism charges more important to stress than the punishment for offensive comments.
    Last edited by dfx-; 09/07/2011 at 11:01 PM.
    The Model Club

663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dfx- View Post
    Perhaps given some people's inability to figure out the punishment is for offensive comments not racism (many many examples in this thread all day of people not getting this), perhaps it is needed to highlight it. I'd consider the clearance of racism charges more important to stress than the punishment for offensive comments.
    Your point is not at all unreasonable and I have no difficulty with the Rovers statement (or any poster here) clarifying that Turner was sanctioned for offensive or abusive behaviour as opposed to racist abuse.

The absense of any inkling that this behaviour is regarded as unacceptable by Shamrock Rovers is the kernal of the problem.
    The statement waffles on how "Shamrock Rovers does not condone any form of abuse, racial or otherwise, and has strict policies in place to deal any such activity, if it were to occur", but does not acknowledge that it did occur or what these "strict policies" are or how they will be applied to Turner by the club.

It smacks of denial!

Quote Originally Posted by kdjaC View Post
    "Gaddafis love child"
    If this is true Eamon Zayed needs to toughen up in a major way.

Petty to even make an issue of it to be honest.

Quote Originally Posted by sundance kid View Post
    I'd say Turner is a relieved man that it was an offensive comment and not a racist comment he got banned for. Jason McGuinness has said that the punishment of having to sign for Sligo because of his indiscretion was too high a price to pay.
    tough on him being top of the league alright

Page 22 of 24 FirstFirst ... 122021222324 LastLast