Page 7 of 24 FirstFirst ... 5678917 ... LastLast

Thread: FAI Investigate Alleged Racist Abuse Of Zayed

I'd love to see some of the posters on here sitting on a jury in a criminal trial. One man's word against another = convict, or else it's an FAI/Model Club conspiracy.

I'd like to think it's all a big misunderstanding for obvious reasons. Zayed seems like a thoughtful bloke who wouldn't throw around serious accusations without merit. If the accused player is who I think it is, from what I know of him (not personally) I'd be more inclined to believe Zayed. But if there's no corroborating evidence then it's just one man's word over another and any positive ruling from the FAI would have serious legal implications.

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    But if there's no corroborating evidence then it's just one man's word over another and any positive ruling from the FAI would have serious legal implications.
    This applies to both cases by the sound of it, and it'll be hard for the FAI to reach any conclusion other than an 'insufficient evidence to proceed' if it is just one man's word against another.

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by hoopy View Post
    I'm sure most Rovers fans would be thinking that but why should he have to leave the club when a good suspension is the norm?
    would the fact that he may have lied about it to your manager and board make a difference hoopy (thereby making SRFC look at best stupid and at worst complicit) if it turns out that he is found guilty?
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

675 Posts
    I agree with what you're saying CD - in particular if it's one man's word against the other then the FAI cannot rule on it. But:

I'd love to see some of the posters on here sitting on a jury in a criminal trial. One man's word against another = convict, or else it's an FAI/Model Club conspiracy.
    I'd say this view has been pretty muted in the thread compared to some of the insinuations made about Zayed.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

120 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SwanVsDalton View Post
    . Whoever uses this story as a stick to beat the league with are the kind of Mansenalpool jersey wearing EPL barstooling braindeads who long ago made up their mind on the LOI.

Forget about racism: Is there anything more offensive than the term 'barstooler'?

2,771 Posts

I'd like to think it's all a big misunderstanding for obvious reasons. Zayed seems like a thoughtful bloke who wouldn't throw around serious accusations without merit. If the accused player is who I think it is, from what I know of him (not personally) I'd be more inclined to believe Zayed. But if there's no corroborating evidence then it's just one man's word over another and any positive ruling from the FAI would have serious legal implications.
    most trials are one persons word against another. In cases where it is one persons word against another (e.g. rape) other evidence (including things such as believability and character) can lead to a court finding someone guilty. No legal implications whatsoever provided the FAI investigation is conducted fairly and properly.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

Quote Originally Posted by Red Army View Post
    This was one of the reasons Boco didn't resign some people then spread rumours it was about money. He never publicly accepted any apology.
    Boco left because he saw the money in China, has absolutely nothing to do with McGuinness. He might be a bit of a mercenary but I'd still have him back today.

Does mypost's flying saucer have a time travel facility? We could go back in time to the very moment and sort all this out.

Quote Originally Posted by SwanVsDalton View Post
    I agree with what you're saying CD - in particular if it's one man's word against the other then the FAI cannot rule on it. But:

I'd say this view has been pretty muted in the thread compared to some of the insinuations made about Zayed.
    Yep, it goes both ways.

Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    most trials are one persons word against another. In cases where it is one persons word against another (e.g. rape) other evidence (including things such as believability and character) can lead to a court finding someone guilty. No legal implications whatsoever provided the FAI investigation is conducted fairly and properly.
    A criminal case can't be decided on one person's word against another. Even rape cases have physical evidence. That's not really the point though - at a civil trial, a judge could make a decision between Zayed's word and the Rovers player. The FAI's not a court and they don't have the authority to make that judgement unless there is significantly more evidence. Perhaps they'll find more evidence.

2,771 Posts
    rape was merely an example of how an issue where it is one persons word vs another's can still prove guilt or innocence. I know the FAI is not a court, that is why i referred to it as the FAI investigation. Im not sure what the standard of proof they require is, they probably dont even know that themselves.

By the way, I agree they would need more evidence to make a decision, i was just saying that anything that is relevant can end up being acceptable evidence.

108 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by hoopy View Post
    I've been called a right eejit many times but never a right angle.
    Yeah, you think your a cute hoor, but you're too feckin obtuse

Well what I mean is that the FAI is (in a sense) a media organisation and they have no more a right than the Evening Herald to make definitive judgements based on two people's contrasting stories.

2,771 Posts
    no way CD. Do you really believe that?!

The evidence in the Pats case is apparently a photograph. I kid you not. A photograph is supposed to show the type of abuse Zayed got

1,025 Posts
    Well what I mean is that the FAI is (in a sense) a media organisation and they have no more a right than the Evening Herald to make definitive judgements based on two people's contrasting stories.
    They're governing body of the league. They can do whatever the hell they want.

30 Posts
    Not quite - from the photographer on our forum:

"....I can tell you now, that myself and a Dublin based photographer heard this abuse, And that the Dublin based photographer reported it to a steward, I have the photographs of the section and one individual in particular who gave some serious abuse to Zayed. "

The photograph might help identify the indvidual involved - that's all.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    The evidence in the Pats case is apparently a photograph. I kid you not. A photograph is supposed to show the type of abuse Zayed got

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    No they can't. They're subject to the law like everybody else and publically declaring somebody guilty of racism without sufficient evidence is inviting legal action.

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dave_SRFC View Post
    White Irish Libyan bloke with massive ego is upset that Pats fans are slagging his sister so he uses the race card.
    Why the "White Irish" prefix? Do you think it precludes the possibility that he might have been subjected to racist abuse or would make any abuse directed at him due to his Tunisian-Libyan descent somehow less serious?

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    No they can't. They're subject to the law like everybody else and publically declaring somebody guilty of racism without sufficient evidence is inviting legal action.
    Osarusan is correct though with the qualification that they must observe due process and employ fair procedures in conducting their investigation and arriving at their conclusion. They most certainly are not as limited in their authority as your post painted them.

105 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by poster View Post
    Boco left because he saw the money in China, has absolutely nothing to do with McGuinness. He might be a bit of a mercenary but I'd still have him back today.
    He's no more a mercenary then any of the current crop. He often said he found the cost of living in Ireland very expensive compared to north England and France.

23. Thanks From:

Page 7 of 24 FirstFirst ... 5678917 ... LastLast