Pats were contacted by the Derry press about it so I don't think the FAI is the leak here (although they are, of course, riddled)
There's a fair few contenders for Post of the Month in here, and I'm not just referring to Mr A's Fr Ted quote.
Why isn't the player who's accused of racism not on the media shouting about his innocence. Why isn't Rovers not making him tell everyone he's hasn't done anything. I mean if you were innocent you would do it.
Because mud sticks. Keeping his identity secret is the only way he's going to emerge with his reputation intact.
Very interesting piece on Zayed in this month's When Saturday Comes (published before last week's events) - in fairness, they have regularly published articles on events in the League of Ireland.
Oh he has a reputation alright...
[QUOTE=SkStu;1498646]The insinuation being made here is that the gypoweb was homophobic as a result of a couple of ill advised posts. I just want to point out that the posts were deleted and the poster reprimanded by posters and moderators for his comments.
QUOTE]
Sorry to go back to this, Where did i mention Gypoweb. Marinobohs himself was on gypoweb making homophobic remarks. Yet he is on here lecturing about Racism.
Champions 2010
Champions 2011
Dick Brush 1 Sligo 0
Bohs are going bust.
It'd be great to take the party politics out of this thread. An accusation of racism shouldn't be a chance for one-upmanship between rival clubs. No fan could guarantee 100% that not one of their club's players or fans would be capable of saying something racist. If there's racism in the league, then it's bad for the league as a whole. While I'd normally criticise the media's negative coverage of the League of Ireland, if this is true then the league deserves some bad PR. The Murphy Report was bad for Ireland's image - that doesn't mean it should have been kept secret. It means we should address it. Same applies here.
Maybe both allegations are unfounded - I don't know - but they should be discussed with a bit of rational perspective rather than trying to nail one club or another. If what's been reported is true, calling Zayed "Gadaffi" certainly is racist. It's a slur based on his ethnic background. In my opinion, there are different levels of racism. I remember being referred to as a 'Mick' once in America. It was annoying, I eventually lost my temper and the guy never said it again. It was what I would call the lower end of racial taunt. Calling Zayed "Gadaffi" is not THE worst thing that could be said, but it is racist. His personal offence would also have been increased due to his present family circumstances. But whether it's the lower or higher end of racism is irrelevant as we supposedly have a zero tolerance approach to racism in our league. If either incident is proven to have happened, then the player and fan in question should be punished severely and it might stop the next idiot from mouthing off (possibly in the ignorant belief that what they said wasn't racist).
That's arguably the most truthful and appropriate statement in the thread. It's difficult to legislate for the depths of some people's stupidity.
One other point I'd like to make is about the Zayeds in the media. One of the things I like about this league is the accessibility of players and the sense of community. I think it's positive that the likes of Eamon Zayed, Conan Byrne or Stephen Henderson would engage with fans by writing an extratime column. I don't think that makes them "media whores". The next bit might make me sound overly-PC to some people and I'm not saying I'm innocent here (I've cracked my share of jokes), but it's a bit pathetic that as soon as a woman (Louise Zayed in this case) has some involvement in the league, it's ok to taunt her brother about 'how she takes it'. It really sounds like us Neanderthal LoI fans want to run off any woman who might step onto our territory. Not doing us any favours really.
Last edited by bluemovie; 17/06/2011 at 2:05 PM.
[QUOTE=hoops1;1498922]Lecturing ? I actually said I didnt know what hapened in TallaghtHumoured you enough as it is off topic (and a sad attempt at Diversion) so if you want to continue do so via PM or on bohs.com (I dont use alwaysultras site so cant continue there but you are obviously a fan of Bohs.com
).
Nice, well intentioned, syrup filled drivel there bluemovie
So now you're saying that ALL women would be offended by a song sung by "Neanderthal" fans about one single lady? Thats pretty patronising IMO, and far more offensive to most women than a song about Louise Zayed
I remember the same song was sung about Posh Spice in OT by thousands of fans.
When asked about it later, she replied " I know did you hear it? I wonder how they all know"
Champions 2010
Champions 2011
Dick Brush 1 Sligo 0
Bohs are going bust.
So that makes it grand then? How many women do you know that would join in shouting such comments? That's a pretty weak defence if I'm honest.
Very sensible post bluemovie, and I agree with every word that you have said. Some of the posts on this thread of been ridiculously childish. A lot of them coming from people who should know better and some from a moderator.
I found the few pages where posters were bickering over the definition of racism particularly sad. If you can't see that a man of Libyan descent being called "Gaddafi" as being racist then, in my opinion, you are trying to justify it.
I would be shocked if Zayed is making this up. Why would he? People who are calling him an "attention seeker" who is "playing the race card" are being particularly ignorant and are clearly trying to assassinate his character for the sole purpose of defending a player at their club. Grow up will ye.