Thread: Shels Friday

420 Posts
    At the end of the day that was a horrible game but hopefully they react like they did last time after last loss went 10 unbeaten.

Still only 3 points off 2nd so if we get some players back we have a good chance in the next 3 games great to see Shane Tracy back.

Quote Originally Posted by fieldofmarkets View Post
    Couldn't make the game tonight. Extratime updates said Frost was sent off after an altercation with Alan Mathews...what happened there?
    Mathews was being a ********. O Connor went to get the ball off Mathews for a free kick and Mathews threw it away down the line. About ten minutes later Limerick had a throw and Mathews had the ball in his hands again, as Frost went over for the ball just as Frost went to get it from Mathews he threw it away again. Frost lets say took exception to this, he grabbed Mathews with both hands and had a few words at Mathews and vice versa. Frost got a second yellow for it and Mathews got sent behind the dugout. The first time Mathews threw away the ball everyone was calling for him to be sent away from the touchline as he shouldn't have been interfering with play and throwing the ball away to waste time but the ref did nothing about it. If the ref had sorted it first time or warned Mathews nothing would have happened. When Frost was given the red card I genuinely thought he was going to puck the head off Mathews.

Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    At the end of the day that was a horrible game but hopefully they react like they did last time after last loss went 10 unbeaten.

Still only 3 points off 2nd so if we get some players back we have a good chance in the next 3 games great to see Shane Tracy back.
    Shels, Cork and Mons are yet to hit a poor patch which history has shown has hit pretty much every team trying to get out of the first division.

We still have a great record and hopefully it can continue.

Scully does go into hiding though when we go behind.

420 Posts
    Delete some of your inbox there Jof id say ya know what its about.

Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    Delete some of your inbox there Jof id say ya know what its about.
    Done.

Playing 5 at the back for the first time was stupid, and invited the average shels team onto us. 5 3 2 ment we put no pressure on there immobile center halves and our midfield was being overrun by experience. Club to present the management with new assets soon but should we really be doing this when we play long ball and play five at the back with a few kids and o'connor (how in gods name did he stay in the pitch)

1. Shels deserved to win

2. Scully wtf! I know we have keys players missing but give it a go at least, 5 at the back! at home!

3. Story with Judge? why was he taken off so early and o'conner left on? (I think I know the answer already)

All in all pile of crap who's blame lands on Scullys door. As for the crack with the sending off and peno....no surprise really. Think the refs have been fair enough with us this year so it was only a matter of time. Pity as we were kinda getting into the game a bit at that stage.

So there ya go, do we pity ourselves to defeat in Wexford next week or do we rebound so hard we knock the nama out of wallace and get back on track? Cork and Mons took points off each other so lets fcuking have it!

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gael353 View Post
    Playing 5 at the back for the first time was stupid, and invited the average shels team onto us. 5 3 2 ment we put no pressure on there immobile center halves and our midfield was being overrun by experience. Club to present the management with new assets soon but should we really be doing this when we play long ball and play five at the back with a few kids and o'connor (how in gods name did he stay in the pitch)

Yes seen as we were 10 unbeaten before lastnight.And i dont think we will be playing 5 at the back like that again.

Lastnight was a shambles from Scully but what has gone before it should not be forgotten. We will have to give him the chance to see can he change it when we have the new lads in but things have to change in the big games and he has to stop hiding in the dugout.

Like Monkfish was saying a lot depends on whether we go out feeling sorry for ourselves next week or whether we go out to prove a point.

Poor choices again from the manager. No home team attempting to go for promotion should ever play such negative football. 1 striker(small at that) up front was a disgrace.I dont want to rehash all thats been said previous but LFC have got to get over this "big crowd syndrome" thats been bugging them for years now. Back to the same couple of hundred again in a few weeks.
    Shels were better but if we'd taken the game to them,made an effort and still lost it would'nt bother me or most of ye as much.
    As for O'Connor WTF!!! don't think there's a junior club in town at any level that would have him. He is by far the worst player that has worn the blue jersey in years. There's an idea for a thread - Limerick Fcs worst ever player. I nominate SOC.
    Last edited by LK37oldskool; 18/06/2011 at 11:57 AM. Reason: Spelling
    "We've had a lot of good times, but you don't know how good they are until you have the bad ones" Tony Adams

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by LK37oldskool View Post
    There's an idea for a thread - Limerick Fcs worst ever player. I nominate SOC.
    Donato Borza.

Quote Originally Posted by LK37oldskool View Post
    There's an idea for a thread - Limerick Fcs worst ever player.
    http://foot.ie/threads/151832-The-Sean-O-Conner-thread

27 Posts
    really poor stuff in the first half,the message scully gave was ,here come and beat us,and in the first they did just that,we couldn,t get near them.when we did get it we lumped it up for poor breen to chase it he had no support as we had a midfield three who were too narrow to begin with[sorry two actually,o connor a passenger].he did change it at halftime and hynes who should have started at least put himself about,then of course frost does what ;great; captains do,get himself sent off and its game over.scullys disappearing acts when we are behind are legendary by now and taking off judge told us all a little bit more about scully on so called big match nights.can someone please tell me who yer man is that gets up out of the dugout when we get or concede a corner?

Mick Sheil?

Quote Originally Posted by da bishop View Post
    really poor stuff in the first half,the message scully gave was ,here come and beat us,and in the first they did just that,we couldn,t get near them.when we did get it we lumped it up for poor breen to chase it he had no support as we had a midfield three who were too narrow to begin with[sorry two actually,o connor a passenger].he did change it at halftime and hynes who should have started at least put himself about,then of course frost does what ;great; captains do,get himself sent off and its game over.scullys disappearing acts when we are behind are legendary by now and taking off judge told us all a little bit more about scully on so called big match nights.can someone please tell me who yer man is that gets up out of the dugout when we get or concede a corner?
    Mick Shields is usually the person who gets up as he seems to be over set pieces.

Definitely a poor performance all round. If Shels can take 3 off Cork and Mons in their next meetings this result won't be so bad.

At the end of the day we have had a good season so far and hopefully this will continue.

420 Posts
    It was awful last night and was obvious what the mistakes were but at the end of the day i think most of us would have taken 2 off 2nd at this stage if offered it even more so with the injuries we have had to deal with.