Page 4 of 19 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast

Thread: North Tipp & District League 2011/12

Quote Originally Posted by Big Ears View Post
    Celtic vs Town wasn't played till tonight. It finished 1-1.
    Town started off the better and opened the scoring through a header from Noel Tucker who was left unmarked at after a cross had filtered it's way through a crowded penalty area.
    Town seemed to have extended the lead halfway through the half when Archie Mitchill flicked on a free kick, guiding it into the corner of the net. The linesman for some reason put up his flag and the referee disallowed it, it surely can't have been for offside as Archie's as a Celtic defender was behind Archie marking him so I've no idea what it was given for, I certainly didn't see a push either.

Town proceeded to dominate the remainder of the first half until JoJo Danagher found the net for Celtic after a scramble in the Town box. leaving the score 1-1 at half time.
    Celtic came out much the stronger at the start of the 2nd half, creating a couple of reasonable chances and putting Town under real pressure. Although this seemed to fizzle out after about 10 mins and the game become more even, with neither team creating much. About 2 mins from time Town had a deflected shot loop up and just over the crossbar when it seemed like it was about to just drop under. Then with pretty much the last action of the game Sean Healy found himself through 1-1 with Aaron Savage, but he sliced a half volley wide and to the left of the keeper when he seemed destined to score.

Overall a fair result imo, Thomas Sheppard worked tirelessly for Town up front and was man of the match for me. Played the role of target man brilliantly.
    its refreshing to get a fair opinion on the game big ears only 1 point i disagree on niddy ryan was my man of the match

anyone hear the fai draw

25 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by celticlads View Post
    anyone hear the fai draw
    See my post put on F.A.I. Junior Cup thread a few minutes ago.

Rearcross 1-5 Nenagh AFC, goal scorers trevor morrisey x2, john o gorman, noal tucker and
    cliff moloney. Great result considering the weather conditions.

Anyone get the draw for the munster junior cup?

NORTH TIPPERARY D.L.

Preliminary Round
    Nenagh Celtic "B" v Ardcroney
    Nenagh "B" AFC v Blackcastle Utd

1st Round
    Sallypark "B" v Thurles Town
    Templetuohy FC v Sallypark "A"
    Moneygall FC v Clodiagh Rangers
    Cloughjordan v Thurles Celtic
    Nenagh "A" AFC v Nenagh Celtic "A"
    Rearcross FC v Bridge Utd
    Arra Rovers v Borroway Rvs
    Nenagh Celtic "B" or Ardcroney v Nenagh "B" or Blackcastle Utd

2nd Round
    A Cloughjordan or Thurles Celtic v Sallypark "B" or Thurles Town
    B Moneygall or Clodiagh Rgs v Nenagh Celtic "B" or Ardcroney or Nenagh "B" or Blackcastle Utd
    C Arra Rovers or Borroway Rvs v Rearcross or Bridge Utd
    D Templetuohy or Sallypark "A" v Nenagh "A" or Nenagh Celtic "A"

3rd Round
    B v A
    D v C

the possibility of two nenagh derbys on the 1 days now that would be tasty

25 Posts
    Celticlads, Is one of the players who went to Clonmel Town on his way back to ye?

ya danny ryan is back with us and very happy we are about it, hes a huge boost to us

Munster Junior Cup
    Nenagh AFC 3-2 Nenagh Celtic (AET)
    very good closely matched game from both sides considering the weather conditions.
    Nenagh AFC goal scorers Michael Hogan x2 Archie Mitchell x1
    Nenagh Celtic goal scorers Michael Heffernan x2

great game play in awful conditions, bit disappointed we didnt get to penos thought we deserved that at least, game couldve gone either way fair play to town and well done to our lads put in a great effort once again

Any results from todays games?

Borroway Rovers 2-2 Thurles town

Good game,Thurles town went ahead just before halftime with a very dubious peno which foggy fogarty put away.We started the second half the better and we drew level after 10 minutes through padraig gleeson,we well on top at this stage and went 2-1 up after david keane scored.Thurles piled on the pressure and were rewarded in the 4 minute of added time to take a share of the spoils

That would have been a great win for borroway, who is that foggy chap playing for thurles? handy player, did he play with peak villa or someone before?

Lads whats going on with the refs in the league i know its a thankless job but seriously like they are not helping themselves with some mindless and crazy calls they are making in games. I'm not the only one getting annoyed over this as i've heard from other clubs as well. We had to complain at half time bout ref at the weekend cause of some shocking calls which continued for the entire 2nd half.

Sallypark 2-1 Moneygall

Tough game in the matchbox
    We went 1 nil up in the first 20mins, and should have gone two nil up but for an excellent penalty stop by the moneygall keeper. He made a couple more good saves to keep it at one nil going into halftime. Both teams had chances at the start of the 2nd half and our keeper made one very good save to keep us in the lead, but Moneygall grabbed a goal back half way through the 2nd half from a great finish after the ball in from a corner had dropped in the box. We retook the lead about 5 mins later after a poorly defended corner kick and had another goal wrongly ruled out for offside. there was still time with about 5 mins left for one of our lads to get caught trying to walk the ball across our box, and our keeper made a great safe to secure the three points.

Great to see all our hurlers back now.. Big game against clough next sunday!

we'd a tough 2-1 win against moneygall in the matchbox last sunday
    great to see all our hurlers back, our season really starts now, big game against clough next sunday!

Dont agree ye deserved at least penos, we had all the chances and it was only for Aidan and poor finishing it that kept ye in it, we deserved that late winner for chances created alone.

ye hit d post and aidan made a brilliant save from mole dont remember much more than that and heffo was within a whisker of winning the game for us so weather you agree or not i still think we deserved penos

i agree with you redz the refs in north tipp are very poor, not consistant and cannot be talked to very poor standard

Page 4 of 19 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast