Thread: Mascots

Oh and I loved your piece on the Mondogs and your bull run! Lol. Wish had seen that!

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by poster View Post
    Sligo Rovers - Benny The Bull. (If you need a pic..)

I'd not put aul Benny at a day under 60 at all. Nice enough fella mind.
    Find me on Twitter @ImRedLen

Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    Mons have Football Head but he doesnt make many appearances.
    ... since he started managing your first team.

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
    He was always a bit of a pr!ck to away supporters
    He was always very nice to us.

"Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

539 Posts
    longford lion used to be our mascot up to a few years ago.. Rather embarrisingly I had to do it one night in the first season we went down after relegation in 2007.. never again..

53 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    Mons have Football Head but he doesnt make many appearances.
    He's a right head-the-ball

61 Posts
    Leo is banned
    Leo was great craic

30 Posts
    I think someone stole the head of our Leo The Lion outfit

Quote Originally Posted by Harpsbear View Post
    I'd not put aul Benny at a day under 60 at all. Nice enough fella mind.
    Aha boi!

So Ash, have Athlone mascot called Leo the Lion now then?

2,284 Posts

R. Mucker scoring a penalty past Gerard Doherty in the Brandywell.

R. Mucker reading the Derry News. (Location uncertain; it's either the Brandywell office or on a capsizing ship.)

Bray - Rocky I think he's called
    Bohs - Dennis The Menace (think thats the name anyway)
    Limerick - Leo The Lion
    St Pats - Paddy The Panther
    Rovers - Hooperman
    UCD - Collee
    Cork -Corky The Cheetah
    Derry City - R Mucker
    Sligo - Benny The Bull
    Monaghan - Football Head (the odd time)
    Dundalk - Lily The Panda
    Galway - Terry The Tiger
    Finn Harps - Harper The Dog
    Longford - Longford Lion (gone since 2007?)
    Athlone - (Leo the lion again?)

ex-clubs
    Kildare Country - Stevie Coppell
    Sporting Fingal - Freddie The Fingal Fox

Great stuff lads.
    As well as putting them into the book, I'm trying to organise the ever League of Ireland Mascot Race to coincide with the book being launched, which there are various options with at the moment. Once it was a LOI or ex-LOI mascot. It's good exposure but a nice way to raise money for charity as well, though I need some help doing this.

I know Waterford don't have one and very much doubt Salthill, Mervue of Wexford do, so that only leaves Shelbourne and Drogheda to find out about.

Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    R. Mucker reading the Derry News. (Location uncertain; it's either the Brandywell office or on a capsizing ship.)
    So, the Brandywell office circa November 2009 then.

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eelmonster View Post
    So, the Brandywell office circa November 2009 then.
    Very good. That must be it.

43 Posts
    longford lion used to be our mascot up to a few years ago.. Rather embarrisingly I had to do it one night in the first season we went down after relegation in 2007.. never again..
    I was in Longford lion suit at a recent game between longford and Liverpool legends. I was giving out free bars of chocolate and sweets to kids (in my official capacity of course) when the crowd of kids got a little too large for me to handle. Some of them were a unhappy that my mittened hands couldn't pass out the freebies quick enough and startrd to hit me. This turned into quite an intensive beating and i couldnt see a thing out the f***ing head.
    So about 15 kids (including some that were surely 16-17) years of age beat the living crap out of me, kicks included while i'm shouting profanities and there's a load of smaller children cryinging at the combo of the lion taking a beating and the stream of curses i was letting out.
    Not one fu*ker helped me..

21. Thanks From:

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    425 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sorbothegreek View Post
    I was in Longford lion suit at a recent game between longford and Liverpool legends. I was giving out free bars of chocolate and sweets to kids (in my official capacity of course) when the crowd of kids got a little too large for me to handle. Some of them were a unhappy that my mittened hands couldn't pass out the freebies quick enough and startrd to hit me. This turned into quite an intensive beating and i couldnt see a thing out the f***ing head.
    So about 15 kids (including some that were surely 16-17) years of age beat the living crap out of me, kicks included while i'm shouting profanities and there's a load of smaller children cryinging at the combo of the lion taking a beating and the stream of curses i was letting out.
    Not one fu*ker helped me..
    That made me laugh a lot more than it possibly should have.

It's like a Barnado's ad or something, behind the happy exterior there's a poor abused soul, this Christmas please think of the suffering of mascots everywhere, even the smallest donation can make a big difference to providing a mascot with paws suitable for distributing sweets at a fast enough rate for the ever more demanding kids. Help us to help mascots and avoid more tragic, soul destroying kickings.

Tallaght Stadium Regular

108 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by writerbk1969 View Post

I know Waterford don't have one and very much doubt Salthill, Mervue of Wexford do, so that only leaves Shelbourne and Drogheda to find out about.
    Wexford Youths Pink Panther

445 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by writerbk1969 View Post
    As well as putting them into the book, I'm trying to organise the ever League of Ireland Mascot Race to coincide with the book being launched
    If its over a long distance, I would fancy Paddy the Panther to take it, He ran the Dublin Marathon a few years ago
    Here on a technicality.

821 Posts
    Bohs are currently looking for a new name 4 there mascot

from their fb page:

We posted this late last night, so in case anyone missed it...

The deadline for suggested names for the Bohs mascot has been extended to next Wednesday. If you click on the link, you can vote on some of the entries we've received so far - but we want even BETTER ones.

Suggestions so far - BFG (bohemians footballing giant), Dennis the Bohemians Menace, Lowgy (after johnny logan) and many just asking for Dennis the menace to be kept.
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

903 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    Bohs are currently looking for a new name 4 there mascot
    In no particular order...
    Ajai Chopra
    Dennis the Penniless
    The Nutsy Cracker Sweet Man
    Gypsy Rose Lee (now that would do wonders for attendances if you got the right person in the suit getting out of the suit at half-time...)