Fair play to Sledge, I really like his commitment and heart a true irish man never gives up. I hope he gets decent club in the summer.
Hon Ireland
Interesting Comments from Dan McDonnell on twitter
Also reports that Robbie pulled up in training and Tardelli saying that if the match was tomorrow he wouldn't be fit.In 'bibs' this morning: Murphy, Kelly, O'Shea, O'Dea, Kilbane, Hunt, Whelan, Andrews, McGeady, Keane, Cox. Given in other team nets.
So, Simon Cox to start ahead of Shane Long, and Robbie Keane an injury doubt. Plenty to talk about on flight to Macedonia this afternoon.
I think Cox choice is interesting: Means Ireland won't have target man. Long got no change from Macedonians in March. Suggests new approach.
Fair play to Sledge, I really like his commitment and heart a true irish man never gives up. I hope he gets decent club in the summer.
Hon Ireland
Carrick United:
Munster Junior Cup Champions 04,10 & 15, Munster Senior Cup Champions 2011, FAI Juinor Cup Champions 2008
12 x Waterford Premier League Champions
Wow didn't see that one coming. What's the thinking? Cox appears to play a little deeper, so do they want him to link play and have Keane striking forward. Saw another tweet where Tardelli dismissed a question about Long being tired, just said he liked Cox (snicker). Think it's the wrong call.
Also Kelly at right back, he'd probably have been the least fancied of the three in contention round these parts though I'm happy enough - maybe his experience saw him through.
Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?
I think Kelly is the right choice for full back. Foley's positioning and concentration has been an issue every time he has played there for us, and McShane is just a bit too primitive. Kelly is a good, natural full back and his nightmare against Georgia is a long time ago now. That's a well balanced XI.
Keane injured is a worry.
Cox ahead of Long is a surprise, but if Long can come of the bench with the same effect has he had against Russia then that's OK. Cox over Long (no jokes please) would seem to indicate that they're looking to keep it on the ground. Either way, we have 3 mobile and clever forwards, any two of whom together should be good.
I like Cox (shhhh) but with Long in the mix I can't help feeling it's too rapid a promotion. Kelly ahead of McShane at RB. Well he's a full back and I'd rate him a slightly higher than McShane there. Assuming that lineup is a true indication of course.
Keane of all people to pull up. Fffffuuu... Hopefully that's not too serious but if it is I guess we're looking at Long Cox. (teehee)
"Groin. Why is it always the groin?"
My tactics would be to play big balls to Long & Cox. Otherwise Trap is for the sac.
fcukkkkkkkkkkkkkkk not robbie, hopefully he will be fit for the game. seems cox is going to get the nod from reports which is disappointing. i wanted long to be in there so we will have to see. the sooner sat comes the better before someone else pulls out!!!!!!!
I think we need to slip a couple of balls into the box for Cox so he can shoot at will and not dick around with it outside the box. Or even let him get a head on it
Folding my way into the big money!!!
Robbie Keane has a calf strain,pulled up in training this morning which is a worry for saturdays match.
cox dosent look like he has any real pace, long has bags of it. i was hoping long could trouble them and hes good in the air. im getting a bit worried.....
Think Kelly is a more defensive full back and can see the reasoning for his selection, given his decent performances over the last week. I watched Long against Swansea and he didn't perform as well as he has done all season, perhaps tiredness. Cox on the other hand has only played a handful of games and is fresh. Hopefully Robbie will be ok, said on the news it was a clash with Damien Delaney. What is it with Irish defenders!
Always look on the bright side of life
I'm content with that line-up. Just hope that Robbie will be fit, and it seems he should be. I'd certainly rather Kelly at right-back over McShane and I wouldn't be too fussed at Foley missing out due to his international inexperience, even if he has just played a full season in Wolves' first-team, more or less.
Cox is an interesting one, especially given Long's recent form for Reading, but he did do well in the Nations Cup games and has obviously impressed Trap and Tardelli in training enough to get the nod. If it's not working up front, we can always change it and rely on Long to come on and provide a burst of energy. Ward also impressed in the Nations Cup games, but they've obviously decided to stick with the experience of Kilbane at the back in what is a crucial game. It's vital that we keep it tight at the back from the off and it's no place to be taking chances. I'd be disappointed with anything less than a win as I fear it could deal our qualification hopes a major blow.
I'm guessing St. Ledger won't be risked then? Probably a sensible decision given the length of time he's been out of action.
Long has just joined the squad on tues after match on monday. People reading was too much into this practice game IMO. He will start sat unless Trap has totally lost the run of himself (not beyond the bounds of possibility). Cox could be an option from the bench but thats about it at the present time. Come on lads we are talking about a player who has started 8 premier league games and has scored a solitary goal (i.e. Cox) to a player who has played 47 championship games this season scoring 23 league goals (i.e. Long). Yes Cox looked to be adequate against the worst team ever to play at the Aviva and looked ok against the Scots without their 1st choice central back pairings, but come lads Cox cannot and will not start in Macedonia. If he does it would make absolutely no sense
If he does decide to go with Kelly at RB, then why was Kelly not played there at some stage during either the NI or Scotland game??
I would think the reason for going with Cox would be testament to how well he linked with Robbie in the two games. Also the view that a fresh Long off the bench in the last 20 mins could be a useful option to have. Long more likely to cause trouble coming on than Cox would.
Oh jesus I honestly can't take anymore of this. After operation yesterday which has had me in severe pain since, now this to boot. I will be back 2moro to check in. What is Trap playing at? All he wants to do is to be able to gloat through Manuela after the game that it was their extensive networking system that plucked Cox out of thin air. Dont get me on I've nothing against Cox, he is a reasonable option but to start him in front a red hot Long who has international experience is inexplicable. See u 2moro lads, just reaching for my sleeping pills. Thanks Trap. . . .