http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/...anerobbie.html. And i completely agree with him. Ray Houghton was on the radio this morning talking about the time Liverpool lost the title to Arsenal (the infamous Paul Davis last minute goal) on a Friday night. Houghton, Aldridge, Whelan and O'Leary travelled over on the Saturday to Dublin for a Sunday match against Malta. Serious players with serious teams.
Last edited by Noelys Guitar; 28/05/2011 at 5:24 PM.
Too bloody right. Anyone get the feeling that if and when these lads return that they might not get an overly open armed welcome form their team mates.
I've got into heated arguments on here re McCarthy and Trap not picking him but I have to admit that in hindsight I think Trap was right - all is not what it seems with this player and his so called commitment.
I'd have a team of Robbie's and Kilbane's any day over these jumped up overpaid upstarts.
I have a head only Snow White would love
well said Robbie.
"If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.
You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!
Well said that man, absolutely spot on.
Completely with Robbie here. Though the idea of a team of Keanes and Kilbanes is scary.
right sentiments, wrong forum. In my opinion. I understand both sides of the argument.
Whatever happened to face to face confrontation?
I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.
Well said Robbie
We're on the one road...
Great words from Robbie. . . . . can't help but think this whole charade stinks of hypocrisy: Lest us not forget that he missed Ireland's end-of-season games in 2008 (Trap's first as Ireland manager) because he was having his stag party in Las Vegas. He also didn't bother to come over for a medical when he pulled out of an Irish friendly earlier this year with an injury after going on loan to West Ham. But it suits him now to be Trap's yes man now that Niall Quinn has long since retired . . . . .
Keane didn't need to prove himself in 2008 the way Wilson, Walter, McCarthy, Stokes need to prove themselves and their commitment.
No problem with Robbie taking time off to chill out after a long season to relax and let off steam. He'd proven his worth and commitment well before then. The same way Dunne, O'Shea, Given have.
Plus, for friendlies of a small nature it's probably better to give younger lads more of a chance. once Robbiie or Shay are there for any meaningless friendly they'll get game-time. Didn't Roy have a pop at Shay a while back for turning up for every single game and not giving other keepers a chance? Though it's not Shay's fault he answered the call. But I think ya know what I'm getting at
Folding my way into the big money!!!
Probably because there was absolutely no doubt whatsoever about his injury. Keane has his faults, but being committed to the team isn't one of them. He'd have had every excuse not to bother given the stick he gets from some quarters, but it still means a lot to him to play for Ireland.
Good attitude by Robbie Keane - if you aren't committed to the cause, clear off.
Much the same sentiments were expressed by Gareth McAuley through the week - who hit the nail on the head.
"If people don't want to play for us then we don't want them in our squad.
It's as simple as that. We've got a tight group and we have had over the years.
The young lads coming through are coming through together and if they don't want to be a part of it we won't twist anyone's arm.
If you're not fully committed, then no thanks."
The Englishmen came over in the year 2005
But little did they know that we'd planned a wee surprise
Sir David scored the winner, and Windsor Park went wild
And this is what we sang...
Hardly strong words, hes condemning something that nobody would dare defend.
From the players point of view, I can understand frustration at the FAI arranging two nothing friendlies at the end of a long season. They're valuable for players lacking game time like Andrews, Given, Keane etc but completely worthless for McCarthy, Walters and Wilson who would greatly benefit from the rest instead.
Though this isn't the first time James and Jon in particular have had a sick note at convenient times and is probably symptomatic of an attitude problem.
As with most things in the Irish camp the problem seems to be with communication. I think if all the no shows had better communication channels with the Irish squad they could perhaps request a rest through friendlies that are worthless anyway and be available and train for Macedonia. As a supporter I would have no problem with that, I want my players to commit to the important matches not some nothing stadium showcases.
For as questionably committed some of our players are the communication problems highlighted by Harte today are just beyond belief. FAI being incredibly amateurish again.
Last edited by Murfinator; 29/05/2011 at 2:18 PM.
Finally someone says something that makes sense. Good Job Skipper.
No Somos muchos pero estamos locos.
good to see- hard to doubt robbie- ireland is the best bit of his career
ps noely - if you're referring to 1989 - was it not michael thomas who score the big goal against liverpool
Is there room on this board for another Kerry cute hoor?