I'd be somewhere in the middle on Hynes. He's done far better than I expected him to and makes a nuisance of himself very well. Technically he's also been fairly good imo. I do agree with Thomas that he's been a little disappointing in the air. i'm happy with him overall though, he's been well worth a place and I certainly don't think he's a problem. Not having a season to rival Paddy, Judge or Frost either though.
On the other hand I'm not convinced with Brian McCarthy at all and am much, much happier when Calla is beside Paddy. I will acknowledge that McCarthy's goal was BRILLIANTLY finished alright.![]()
Ya think McCarthy has been very solid and he has cleared the ball well. Calla has done excellent also but his clearances can go anywhere. It's great knowing we have one or the other to call on if one gets injured.
I think I'd like to see McCarthy play tomorrow purely for his extra bit of height up against Cummins.
Bluepowers had said hynes was one of our best signings though so think that was what he was pointing out that Purcell and Judge aren't new players.
Ah i would have thought he would have noticed that T72 was replying to the bit about Hynes being our best player this year .
No O'Flynn tonight cant see us scoring with out him being honest we dont look any threath going forward lately.
Scoreless draw. No complaints scoreline-wise, how was the performance?
Poor first half better second half from a Limerick perspective. O Connor was useless again, his delivery was shocking and once again he didn't look like he wanted to be on the pitch. O Leary really came into the game in the second half and did very well. Breen, Frost, Purcell, Calla, McCarthy, C.Tracey (before coming off) all did well.
Shane Duggan missed a tap in in the second half, unbelievable miss. Limerick too missed a chance with the ball coming off the post from an outstretched Paudie Quinn. The only way we looked like scoring was from a cracker.
Hope Calla and C.Tracey are ok. Last thing we need is Calla, C.Tracey, O'Flynn and S.Tracey out.
Last edited by Jofspring; 30/05/2011 at 9:16 PM.
Could have done with Shane Tracy tonigh with all the frees and corners we had.
Would love to know when is Garbhan Coughlan gonna get a chance Paudie Quinn goes through games making no real impact at all. Peter White was killing us in the second half was way too easy for Cork to get down his side.
Desperately need to get Steve back in and hope he gets going we have no strikers to get goals Hynes work is coming to nothing because there is no-one there to take advantage of it. Hopefully Behan wasnt just there to watch the game.
excellent second half if they played like that during all the games there would be no complaints, as for O'Connor, he gave up, didnt want to be there and didnt want to know about it, I wouldnt start him in the next game,
In a fairly bad way did his knee looking at a few months anyway i'd say.
Happy enough with that, didn't bottle, made a welcome change from 3 down after 10 minutes or whatever it was last time. Longford lost tonight aswell, looking like four teams fighting it out for three places, we're well in it, get a goalscorer in and we're sorted.
Been told that Calla is out for the season lads and that O'Flynn is out for 10 weeks.
We need to keep scraping wins until we can get a strike rin July.
Right so we need another striker and centre back for cover asap. Feel bad for Calla. Had heard 4 weeks for O'Flynn myself. July can't come fast enough now.
Hopefully we get Behan, we need him more than Cork do at the moment. Its the only place we are currently lacking.
Last edited by Jofspring; 30/05/2011 at 10:53 PM.
dnt understand why ye need behan, ye already have one lump of a centre forward who doesnt score too many. hynes to be fair is quicker
ye were probably the better team tonight though we might have had the better chances, Duggan had two or three good chances tos core and I cant believe he missed the open goal.
on another note, it must be very depressing going to Jackman Park every other week. The sooner ye get out of there the better
I thought we played well but didn't do enough to win. Tough on Calla and he was clearly in pain. Injuries are really mounting up now.
As everyone else is saying we need a goalscorer.
First half is not worth mentioning, Limerick marginally the better side in the second half but I thought we created at least 4 clear cut chances and could have won it late on.
Duggan missed 2 fantastic chances and the sooner Davin goes on honeymoon the better.
Purcell at the back was solid, even McCarthy was decent when he came on but long balls in the air are meat and drink to such players.
Hope Brian recovers soon, looked nasty as soon as he turned, pitch certainly played a part in the injury.
I was at Rockmount Park last Friday and there is no comparison.
I reckon Tommy only put Vincent on at the end to hear the announcer try and pronounce his name, biggest laugh of the night.
"Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."
http://worddok.blogspot.com