Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Home v Cork City Monday May 30th 2011

Quote Originally Posted by El-Pietro View Post
    dnt understand why ye need behan, ye already have one lump of a centre forward who doesnt score too many. hynes to be fair is quicker
    Seems to me goalscorers are few and far between around the league. I would have thought Behan would have been a decent goalscorer for us in the first division? If not we need someone else. O'Flynn could be out for a while, Gary Sheehan is out for a while yet so we are really stuck up front.

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    Seems to me goalscorers are few and far between around the league. I would have thought Behan would have been a decent goalscorer for us in the first division? If not we need someone else. O'Flynn could be out for a while, Gary Sheehan is out for a while yet so we are really stuck up front.
    We were chatting last night about and the effect he might have on First Division defences, he was never a prolific striker but I reckon he'd upset enough defenders to create goals for a strike partner.
    So while he may not get the goals, a half decent finisher up with him might profit handsomely.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Quote Originally Posted by razor View Post
    We were chatting last night about and the effect he might have on First Division defences, he was never a prolific striker but I reckon he'd upset enough defenders to create goals for a strike partner.
    So while he may not get the goals, a half decent finisher up with him might profit handsomely.
    As mentioned above Hynes pretty much does that job already so maybe Behan isn't what we need, we'll just have to see. Breen has speed and could cause some trouble if he finds his shooting boots.

It's a pity O'Flynn hasn't got a decent run of games. He was suspended after the first game for 3 matches and now he is out injured for the same matches in the second round of fixtures.

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by El-Pietro View Post
    dnt understand why ye need behan, ye already have one lump of a centre forward who doesnt score too many. hynes to be fair is quicker

ye were probably the better team tonight though we might have had the better chances, Duggan had two or three good chances tos core and I cant believe he missed the open goal.

on another note, it must be very depressing going to Jackman Park every other week. The sooner ye get out of there the better

LimeRick are moving into a new stadium next season with a new 3G pitch dundalk style a club bar actually stands around the pitch and not a wall
    Last edited by thomas72; 31/05/2011 at 10:30 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by thomas72 View Post

LimeRick are moving into a new stadium next season with a new 3D pitch dundalk style a club bar actually stands around the pitch and not a wall
    You might want to change that to 3G

420 Posts
    Calla has ruptured a tendon in his knee lads so he gone for the season for sure.

As for Behan id still love to get him his experience would be very helpful and we are in for another striker that could score the goals from his work.

Need a new defender now aswell.

As for the announcer saying Escude-Candau ye should have heard him try to say Schlingerman when we played Athlone.

Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    Calla has ruptured a tendon in his knee lads so he gone for the season for sure.

As for Behan id still love to get him his experience would be very helpful and we are in for another striker that could score the goals from his work.

Need a new defender now aswell.

As for the announcer saying Escude-Candau ye should have heard him try to say Schlingerman when we played Athlone.
    Lousy for Calla. He seemed to have worked hard to get back in the team.

I am a part time Limerick Supporter in that I don’t get to / go to see them live that often. I was at last nights match and would appreciate it if some of you real Limerick supporters that see them week in week out could answer the following for me:
    1. Limerick physically are a small side with only Hynes and the two centre backs with any real height, left back frost is amazing in the air for the size of him, so why did the right back lump every ball up in the air in the first half when O'Leary & Judge were available to receive passes? The balls he played he didn’t even target Hynes, they were aimlessly punted forward.
    2. Why do Limerick only play with one Centre Mid player in O'Leary? Is it a 4-3-3 with Judge and O'Connor either side of O'Leary?
    3. I read a bit of the debate about "Hynes" over the last few days and to be fair to him he does try harder than Quinn, O'Connor, Breen & Judge but to honest that wouldn’t be hard and I don’t think it is the fact he is a great worker it is simply the other lads do so little it makes him stand out as doing something. To be fair to the players I named they are not about putting in a hard shift and seem to be more footballers than grafters. I think you can carry possibly 2 of the 4 flair players named in a team but the 4 of them together is too much. Do Limerick have any physical mid players that can put a tackle in and win some ball? Felt last night Cork players weren’t hassled enough and that No. 6 from Cork was dangerous when let turn and run at the Limerick defence.
    4. Limerick keeper is good at barking the orders and good with the kick outs and finding players. What is he like as a shot stopper? He wasn’t really tested last night.
    5. Thought overall Limerick looked the better side which given Corks record so far is heartening. Would you expect a bigger test for Limerick against Shels & Monaghan? Given last nights performance you would have to expect Cork to drop points.
    6. How many of the 11 that started last night would have come from Limerick Junior Soccer? Do Limerick FC scout players from the Junior leagues and approach them as there are better strikers in Limerick Junior Soccer than what was on offer last night.
    7. Is it confirmed that Limerick will play in Markets Field next season?

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CCCeltic View Post
    I am a part time Limerick Supporter in that I don’t get to / go to see them live that often. I was at last nights match and would appreciate it if some of you real Limerick supporters that see them week in week out could answer the following for me:
    1. Limerick physically are a small side with only Hynes and the two centre backs with any real height, left back frost is amazing in the air for the size of him, so why did the right back lump every ball up in the air in the first half when O'Leary & Judge were available to receive passes? The balls he played he didn’t even target Hynes, they were aimlessly punted forward.

2. Why do Limerick only play with one Centre Mid player in O'Leary? Is it a 4-3-3 with Judge and O'Connor either side of O'Leary?
    3. I read a bit of the debate about "Hynes" over the last few days and to be fair to him he does try harder than Quinn, O'Connor, Breen & Judge but to honest that wouldn’t be hard and I don’t think it is the fact he is a great worker it is simply the other lads do so little it makes him stand out as doing something. To be fair to the players I named they are not about putting in a hard shift and seem to be more footballers than grafters. I think you can carry possibly 2 of the 4 flair players named in a team but the 4 of them together is too much. Do Limerick have any physical mid players that can put a tackle in and win some ball? Felt last night Cork players weren’t hassled enough and that No. 6 from Cork was dangerous when let turn and run at the Limerick defence.
    4. Limerick keeper is good at barking the orders and good with the kick outs and finding players. What is he like as a shot stopper? He wasn’t really tested last night.
    5. Thought overall Limerick looked the better side which given Corks record so far is heartening. Would you expect a bigger test for Limerick against Shels & Monaghan? Given last nights performance you would have to expect Cork to drop points.
    6. How many of the 11 that started last night would have come from Limerick Junior Soccer? Do Limerick FC scout players from the Junior leagues and approach them as there are better strikers in Limerick Junior Soccer than what was on offer last night.
    7. Is it confirmed that Limerick will play in Markets Field next season?
    1: Couldnt tell ya to be fair it was very annoying though the lads are a bit nervous to play it out of the back at times.

2:We play a diamond its something like
    ................O Leary............
    Judge...................O Connor
    ................Quinn..........

3.To be honest dont think Judge shoould be in that list at all he is one of the hardest workers and one of the best players we have had all year always puts in a good shift. Bit harsh on Breen too he is just back from over a month out with injury so probably just got tired. And no we dont have any tough tackling midfielder its that and a striker we need to be real contenders imo.

4.With how good the defence is he is very rarely tested to be honest he has made some very very good saves but also has cost us 2 goals with some mistakes. Thinks its 8 clean sheest in 13 now though.

5.Id say Shels and Monaghan will be the same level as Cork being honest none of them seemed mucch better then Cork when we have played them earlier in the season Monaghan were very fortunate to get anything as we hammered them all game only for them to get an injury time equaliser.

6. 2 of lastnight starting 11 ( Judge and Calla). Dont think there is better strikers beinghonest we had theh best striker from junior in Shane Clarke but he ddint want to stay other then him i dont know who would be good enough to score regularly in LOI. They do scout the league but its hard to actually get the players to come and most are not good eough.

7. Yes it has been confirmed that we are moving to the Markets Field.

Hope that helps only my opinions though.
    Last edited by bluewhitearmy; 31/05/2011 at 4:21 PM.

ye should have heard him try to say Schlingerman when we played Athlone.

5.Id say Shels and Monaghan will be the same level as Cork being honest none of them seemed mucch better then Cork when we have played them earlier in the season Monaghan were very fortunate to get anything as we hammered them all game only for them to get an injury time equaliser.
    While I agree that in any game I'd fancy us to be as good as Shels and Mons, I think consistency wise Shels are a level above us at the moment. They seem more likely to grind out the win, whereas we might end up with a draw. This will win them the title imo.

Mons I'm not sure about, they seem to have been lucky on a few occasions vs you and us but you need a bit of luck too. They seem to be putting away the 'smaller' teams well though. Again it'l come down to consistency.

Very close as far as I can tell from afar, from forums etc. Don't think there'l be much ebtween 2nd and 5th come the end but I think Shels will win it.

Cheers for the response. Thought there would be some support for Judge as he appears to be popular with the crowd. Pity the back 4 dont trust Judge & O'Leary a bit more and play bit more ball to them as they are both competent ball players. Bit of a waste having them there if your just going to fire it back to front. If that is the policy then stick two tacklers in.

Quote Originally Posted by CCCeltic View Post
    Cheers for the response. Thought there would be some support for Judge as he appears to be popular with the crowd. Pity the back 4 dont trust Judge & O'Leary a bit more and play bit more ball to them as they are both competent ball players. Bit of a waste having them there if your just going to fire it back to front. If that is the policy then stick two tacklers in.
    I agree I'd like to see O'Leary and Judge get it more. Felt though that Cork chased down very well and didn't give the defence much time on the ball. In the second half though when Cork tired a bit O'Leary got a lot more ball from the backs and played very well with it. To think he is still ony 18. If he continues the way he is he will be a serious player as time goes on.

27 Posts
    quite a poor 1st half which cork just about shaded,2nd half much better from our point of view.its was refreshing to see both teams trying to win the game especially in the last 15 mins as the game opened up.once again purcell superb at the back and for cork duggan very impressive.the few chances we did create from play almost paid dividends its a pity our players are,n encouraged to be that creative more regularly ,however decent effort from most of the team and another clean sheet.finally well done gael who at least showed some cop on when calla was down injured while others stood with their arms folded.

Quote Originally Posted by da bishop View Post
    finally well done gael who at least showed some cop on when calla was down injured while others stood with their arms folded.
    It was disgraceful how long it took anybody to get to him...bloke just strolled past probably upset he couldn't finish his tea and kitkat

Quote Originally Posted by harpin View Post
    It was disgraceful how long it took anybody to get to him...bloke just strolled past probably upset he couldn't finish his tea and kitkat
    The players where all telling him to hurry on and he still strolled up the line. Himself and Dave Ryan had words. Ryan was dead right.

The only thing I'll say dabishop about encouraging the players to play more is that against Cork it was much more open then the other teams. The same as the Shels match where we tried to play ball. A lot of teams have been putting 10 men beind the ball against us and it has been hard to play a bit of ball.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123