Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast

Thread: MFA Junior Champions Cup 2011/12

Quote Originally Posted by hightackle View Post
    Just on a side note it would of been nice if a few of the carrick players came down to the pub with us for a few pints and put on a bit of food for the team dont know if ye put on food for out of town teams normanly but i know pike always put on food for the away team and i am not putting down carrick but it would have been nice.
    This was a Munster / Waterford issue, Ck Utd have always taken pride in looking after clubs visiting our town / club , as is the situation with most clubs . We also expected an invite to a Waterford venue but it was not forthcoming . Maybe an oversight with Waterford/ Munster officials. Pike visited Ck utd twice previously and were looked after very well but this was not a home game for Carrick

Quote Originally Posted by the truth View Post
    isnt it amazing that this is the same Adrian Walsh who was villified by Mick Ahern and Declan Considine on a live broadcasting of the MJC Final between Carrick and Fairview some years back. if memory serves me right the comment from Mr. Considine was 'that they would give caps to anyone these days'. poetic justice that those words have come back to haunt him. Adrian Walsh has been the best keeper in junior football over the past 10 years and correctly recognised by Smith as being that !!!!
    All about Opinions pal. Personally I think the keeper with Sheriff YC, Lee Murphy is better. I've seen him play on quite a few occasions over the last year or so.

Quote Originally Posted by blinkx View Post
    All about Opinions pal. Personally I think the keeper with Sheriff YC, Lee Murphy is better. I've seen him play on quite a few occasions over the last year or so.
    Quite correct but the only opinion that mattered recently is Gerry Smith's.
    Carrick United:
    Munster Junior Cup Champions 04,10 & 15, Munster Senior Cup Champions 2011, FAI Juinor Cup Champions 2008
    12 x Waterford Premier League Champions

Quote Originally Posted by mrman View Post
    no sign of the Pike fans, were are they all gone lol
    Making excuses I'd pressume and tapping up carrick players :-)

could mission bell re send his PM to me as i had a prob with the pop up on my computer

while i agree Lee Murphy is a fine keeper the point i made was that Adrian Walsh is the best junior keeper in the country over the past 10 years.
    Mr. Considines derigotary comment about Adrian was made approx 5 years ago and to the best of my knowledge Lee Murphy was not playing Junior Football at that time.

21 Posts
    Best of luck to both Carrick and Killarney in the final. Should be a good game.
    We (Kinsale) went close to getting there - but not close enough.

I would hope that the MFA pick a strong referee for the final from one of the bigger leagues in Munster.
    I feel that the team of officials that did our semi-final choked big time on the big stage under the lights of Turners Cross.
    Realistically, the West Waterford league is very weak and the standard of officials in that league will suffer accordingly.

For those that don't know what happened last saturday I will try to explain.
    1-1 after extra time. The game went to pens.
    Our keeper was the 1st to save.
    The ref and his assistant judged (harshly in my opinion) that he moved off his line before the kick was taken.
    Retake - goal.
    Next pen - Killarney keeper saved after what I thought was at least a similar movement to our keepers.
    No retake.
    No more misses - Killarney end up winning, in effect by that retaken pen.

Picky and inconsistent reffing at it's worst.

Now we mightn't have won the game anyway, but the whole evening was spoiled by this HUGE decision.
    Even the Killarney lads couldn't believe their luck.

We enjoyed our crack at this new competition and hopefully we'll qualify again next year, fingers crossed.

Best of luck to both finalists,
    ... and to the MFA - give the big games to the best refs from the top leagues please!!!

Getting Serious, Thought Pike were very unlucky not to come out the winners yesterday. Deined by some fantastic keeping. Walsh merits being the Junior National Keeper on this outting alone.

the above 2 messages came from blinkx (aka BLACKOUT IRELAND) over 2 days. what a contradiction!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by the truth View Post
    Getting Serious, Thought Pike were very unlucky not to come out the winners yesterday. Deined by some fantastic keeping. Walsh merits being the Junior National Keeper on this outting alone.

the above 2 messages came from blinkx (aka BLACKOUT IRELAND) over 2 days. what a contradiction!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Maybe Blinkx had another BLACKOUT and got confused???

Lads pike were beaten and they took it,and hear ye are bringing up things that happened 5 years ago for jaysus sake,I'll remind ye to an incident that happened in carricks ground when one of the pike supporters was assaulted by someone from carrick and pike didn't go overboard with it the way ye are,get on with it,best of luck to carrick in the final.

Quote Originally Posted by hotspur View Post
    Lads pike were beaten and they took it,and hear ye are bringing up things that happened 5 years ago for jaysus sake,I'll remind ye to an incident that happened in carricks ground when one of the pike supporters was assaulted by someone from carrick and pike didn't go overboard with it the way ye are,get on with it,best of luck to carrick in the final.
    Who brought up things from 5 years ago and what things were they?
    I was quite gracious in victory and commented on the fact i thought Pike would win one if not both of the big 2 and are a fine side.
    What are people going over board with?
    And for the record Pike couldn't go any further with that incident as the Pike supporter was in the wrong.
    Carrick United:
    Munster Junior Cup Champions 04,10 & 15, Munster Senior Cup Champions 2011, FAI Juinor Cup Champions 2008

250 Posts
    Lads,can we take the old bickering to PM,it goes nowhere every time with lads getting into bother.

Quote Originally Posted by cufc champions View Post
    Who brought up things from 5 years ago and what things were they?
    I was quite gracious in victory and commented on the fact i thought Pike would win one if not both of the big 2 and are a fine side.
    What are people going over board with?
    And for the record Pike couldn't go any further with that incident as the Pike supporter was in the wrong.
    Your pal badgering on about some random comment from Declan Consine years ago. I'd say he probably listens to the recording on a daily basis and could quote it word for word. I'm trolling a troll. Irony.

The very best of luck to both teams in the final. A very prestigious competition to capture the inaugural trophy.

Your pal badgering on about some random comment from Declan Consine years ago. I'd say he probably listens to the recording on a daily basis and could quote it word for word. I'm trolling a troll. Irony.

The very best of luck to both teams in the final. A very prestigious competition to capture the inaugural trophy.
    I don't know "the truth" or which club he represents but what has that got to do with an incident in Carrick v Pike. He brought up the point about Considine that I nor anyone in Carrick person would have heard, Limerick is not the centre of the universe and we all can't listen to its local radio. Myself and Mission Bell clearly just praised Adrain on his perfromances and acknowledged Pike on a fine performance.
    Really poor trolling in fairness.

Now I finished with this.

Does anyone know when and where the Final is on? I was under the illusion there was a meeting last night to discuss.
    Carrick United:

Foot.ie!

Quote Originally Posted by cufc champions View Post
    I don't know "the truth" or which club he represents but what has that got to do with an incident in Carrick v Pike. He brought up the point about Considine that I nor anyone in Carrick person would have heard, Limerick is not the centre of the universe and we all can't listen to its local radio. Myself and Mission Bell clearly just praised Adrain on his perfromances and acknowledged Pike on a fine performance.
    Really poor trolling in fairness.

Now I finished with this.

Does anyone know when and where the Final is on? I was under the illusion there was a meeting last night to discuss.
    Have'nt heard.
    Would'nt mind a weekend in Killarney though!

Quote Originally Posted by Mission Bell View Post
    Have'nt heard.
    Would'nt mind a weekend in Killarney though!
    I believe it's on in turners cross,not sure when though,it is the mfa's headquarters so it probably will go ahead there,best of luck to both teams,should be a good final,Killarney seem to have got over their shock exit from the fai.do the winners qualify for fai senior cup does anyone know.

rumour has it meeting next thursday night where they will toss between the 2 teams to see who is at home
    if it wasnt for birds and booze id have played for ireland juniors!!!!!

Foot.ie!

Quote Originally Posted by hotspur View Post
    I believe it's on in turners cross,not sure when though,it is the mfa's headquarters so it probably will go ahead there,best of luck to both teams,should be a good final,Killarney seem to have got over their shock exit from the fai.do the winners qualify for fai senior cup does anyone know.
    Cant imagine Turners Cross will attract a big crowd even though it more than likely will be the venue.
    Maybe I'm wrong but would the tossing of a coin between Carrick and Killarney be the best option.

25 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mission Bell View Post
    Cant imagine Turners Cross will attract a big crowd even though it more than likely will be the venue.
    Maybe I'm wrong but would the tossing of a coin between Carrick and Killarney be the best option.
    As I said already, the venue will be decided by the toss of a coin, Killarney or Carrick. Turners Cross is a non-runner. My info is MFA will decide at their meeting on Monday night.

Match is on in Turners Cross this Sunday witj Ko 3pm, Why the late kick off ill never know.
    Best of Luck to the Carrick boys.
    Carrick United:

Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast