Thumbs down The Sean O'Conner thread

So......whats your opinion?

Mine?

Dont get me started on him, in his third season with the club now and in fairness hes signed some gems.

John McGuinness,
    Garbhan Broghall, Niall Donnelly, Thomas Heary, Dave Rogers,
    Timmy Keily, Bobby Ryan, Sullivan,
    Sean O'Connor and im sure others can fll in the blanks

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gael353 View Post
    Dont get me started on him, in his third season with the club now and in fairness hes signed some gems.

John McGuinness,
    Garbhan Broghall, Niall Donnelly, Thomas Heary, Dave Rogers,
    Timmy Keily, Bobby Ryan, Sullivan,
    Sean O'Connor and im sure others can fll in the blanks

Man this personal thing against Scully is getting boring ya i will agree he is a tool at times and some of the things he does are stupid and maybe he ahs got rid of some people that he shouldnt but we are on a great run so i dont care.

What was wrong with the ones in bold?

Donelly: Couldnt have known that he was gonna quit like he did.
    Heary: Not Scullys fault he got injured
    Rogers: Did a grand job for us in the time he was here
    Sulivan: Showed signs that he could be a very good player but tarvel was too much to come back
    Kiely: Played very well in some games was never too bad really

And as for McGuiness he was meant to be 3rd choice keepr til our 2nd choice had a melt down and quit.

Why not mention
    Barry Ryan Corey Tracy Brian McCarthy John Frost Jeffrey Judge Dave O'Leary Peter Hynes.

Some very good signings there and i know he wasnt the 1st to sign Judge but he has gotten better and better under Scully.

Sean O Connor is turning out to be awful but he was agood player while at Rovers he just has had an awful attitude since he came down Scully couldnt have known that Whos to say he wont get rid when he can?

All the palyers you named he has gotten rid of most and Broughall and O'Connor dont start after playing poorly he is not psychic he cant tell how they will play before he gets em but he drops them when they dont play well what ore could you want?

On the actual topic Sean O'Connor is a waster that thinks he is a big time charlie is not interested in the slightest and the sooner he is gone the better.

Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    What was wrong with the ones in bold?
    Donnelly: Dano was released, Calla was left rotting in the reserves we spent most of the year looking for a centre half, was pretty poor judgement tbf.

Heary: Expensive cripple, arguably not Scullys fault tbf.

Rogers: Thought he was meh at best, did well at Cork beforehand though.

Sullivan: Liked Sullivan

Kiely: Probably wasn't good enough.

Barry Ryan
    Probably going to wind up in Limerick regardless tbf.

Corey Tracy
    Looks decent appeared out of nowhere when some Broughall alarm bells started ringing.

Brian McCarthy
    Meh.

John Frost
    See Barry Ryan.

Jeffrey Judge
    Nowt to do with Scully.

Dave O'Leary
    See Jeffrey Judge.

Peter Hynes.
    Fair enough

Broughall................. he is not psychic he cant tell how they will play before he gets em
    He was watching Broughall for the bones of a season tbf.

Tis a big week for the Pat Scully project, 4 points hopefully.
    Last edited by Lim till i die; 24/05/2011 at 1:11 AM.

420 Posts
    Donnelly: Dano was released, Calla was left rotting in the reserves we spent most of the year looking for a centre half, was pretty poor judgement tbf.

Heary: Expensive cripple, arguably not Scullys fault tbf.
    How could he have known that Donelly was gonna quit though?

Calla was a fat mess at the time too.

Heary your rigtht on but not Scullys fault he got injured...Should maybe not have taken the risk with Heray injury record but we were in desperate need of experience in the middle.

Dunno if its just my computer but all that came up was Donelly Heary and then 2 bits that i said with nothing under them from you.

How could he have known that Donelly was gonna quit though?
    He couldn't know but it did happen and Dano had been released in the meantime so twas a mistake imo.

Ya made a bags of posting :facepalm:

420 Posts
    Barry Ryan and John Frost maybe they would maybe they wouldnt fact is they have under Scully.

Jeffrey Judge being nowt to do with Scully Jeffrey himself says very differently to that these days.

Dave o Leary signed for A team Scully put him in 1st team so good move by him.

Brian McCarthy fair enough if you think Meh but he is part of the meanest defence in the league and doing nothing wrong.

Broughall Athlone fans seemed to think he would be a good signing when we got him so he must have been doing ok for them while he was being watched.

Not saying Scully is perfect but some of the comments are ridiculous.(Not from you tbf)

Edit:Cant argue with the Danno thing.

27 Posts
    i am with gael on this one,but changes on the way.

Sean O Connor probably has the worst attitude ever. Thinks he is better than everyone from what I can see. Would prefer to see McGann get more games than playing O Connor anymore.

on the Scully thing. You can pick any manager from any club and you will find bad signings they have made and bad decisions. Think McCarthy has been a good signing, big, physical and has been putting in a very good shift for us. He was exactly what we needed at the back with Purcell. At the time everyone thought Heary and Bobby Ryan where good signings so it ain't Scullys fault one was injured and the other one poor. Galway where even disappointed to lose Bobby Ryan. Danagher at the time was playing excellent for us so was a bad decision but I have watched him with Fairview and against us and I don't think he is as good as McCarthy or Calla. Calla only really after getting fit again this season also and if I remember correctly he also rotted on the bench because he was caught playing GAA when he shouldn't have been. Dave O Leary...who spotted him? If it was a scout like Billy Barrett then that is exactly what happens at most clubs around the world. Its up to the manager then to work with the player then when they sign. Timmy put in some good performances, especially against Fingal at home.

We have the best defense in the league. Arguably we would have had one of the best attacks if Gary hadn't got injured. We are a few points of the top of the league and only lost 2 league games so far this season. Not many managers that could be doing better for us than that.

We have to ask lads would we prefer to have a manager everyone loves, gets on great with, plays beautiful football and doesn't get results or a manager who might be a bit of a plonker, who not everyone likes but is getting the results. I prefer the latter myself.
    Last edited by Jofspring; 24/05/2011 at 7:36 AM.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    Sean O Connor probably has the worst attitude ever. Thinks he is better than everyone from what I can see. Would prefer to see McGann get more games than playing O Connor anymore.

on the Scully thing. You can pick any manager from any club and you will find bad signings they have made and bad decisions. Think McCarthy has been a good signing, big, physical and has been putting in a very good shift for us. He was exactly what we needed at the back with Purcell. At the time everyone thought Heary and Bobby Ryan where good signings so it ain't Scullys fault one was injured and the other one poor. Galway where even disappointed to lose Bobby Ryan. Danagher at the time was playing excellent for us so was a bad decision but I have watched him with Fairview and against us and I don't think he is as good as McCarthy or Calla. Calla only really after getting fit again this season also and if I remember correctly he also rotted on the bench because he was caught playing GAA when he shouldn't have been. Dave O Leary...who spotted him? If it was a scout like Billy Barrett then that is exactly what happens at most clubs around the world. Its up to the manager then to work with the player then when they sign. Timmy put in some good performances, especially against Fingal at home.

We have the best defense in the league. Arguably we would have had one of the best attacks if Gary hadn't got injured. We are a few points of the top of the league and only lost 2 league games so far this season. Not many managers that could be doing better for us than that.

We have to ask lads would we prefer to have a manager everyone loves, gets on great with, plays beautiful football and doesn't get results or a manager who might be a bit of a plonker, who not everyone likes but is getting the results. I prefer the latter myself.

This exactly.
    I dont mind who he got rid of in previous years i couldnt care less what he is like off the field as long as he is doing well with us on the pitch and last few games and where we are in the league it cant be said we are not doing well.

Would da bishop like to tell us what change are coming?

This is nothing against Scully at all but saying that i am a bit perplexed by the lack of experience at a senior level at the clubs coaching staff.

When a club invests loads in a team i expect high quality players to be signed in to suppliment the existing local talent in the team. I was annoyed at the time that Dano was released in favour of Donnelly comming in. Dano was a top quality first division player who would have formed as he had done previous an excellent relationship with paddy. True, know one would have known that Donnelly didnt know how far it was to limerick (get a fuppin atles) All the players mentioned didnt exactly light any fires for me and although players were signed as back up, or squad i dont belive that players should pride themselves on being eternal benchwarmers. Sean O'Connor is the 45th player in our squad right now and look at our bench in recent weeks!!!! Weak as ****!!! Corey Tracy was an emergency right back signed a few weeks in as we persisted with Broghall all tru pre season and the early part of the season, David O'Leary was scouted and signed for our under 20s team last year by manager Barry Lynch. Sean O'Connor (ex shamrock rovers) and Chris Breen (ex Shamorock rovers) were signed as emergency wingers when Garry Sheehan broke his leg leaving local talent somewhere in the remainder of the 45. Of the few i mentioned only Sully who was only 18 i think did anything worth having a new contract placed before him

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gael353 View Post
    This is nothing against Scully at all but saying that i am a bit perplexed by the lack of experience at a senior level at the clubs coaching staff.

When a club invests loads in a team i expect high quality players to be signed in to suppliment the existing local talent in the team. I was annoyed at the time that Dano was released in favour of Donnelly comming in. Dano was a top quality first division player who would have formed as he had done previous an excellent relationship with paddy. True, know one would have known that Donnelly didnt know how far it was to limerick (get a fuppin atles) All the players mentioned didnt exactly light any fires for me and although players were signed as back up, or squad i dont belive that players should pride themselves on being eternal benchwarmers. Sean O'Connor is the 45th player in our squad right now and look at our bench in recent weeks!!!! Weak as ****!!! Corey Tracy was an emergency right back signed a few weeks in as we persisted with Broghall all tru pre season and the early part of the season, David O'Leary was scouted and signed for our under 20s team last year by manager Barry Lynch. Sean O'Connor (ex shamrock rovers) and Chris Breen (ex Shamorock rovers) were signed as emergency wingers when Garry Sheehan broke his leg leaving local talent somewhere in the remainder of the 45. Of the few i mentioned only Sully who was only 18 i think did anything worth having a new contract placed before him

Breen was signed before Gary broke his leg he came on in the game that Gaz broke his leg.

Danno a top class 1st divisionplayer are you having a laugh or what?

What local talent that is good enough has been left somewhere in the 45 because of Breen and O Connor ? Any wingers good enough cos i dont think so.

And the fact Breen had done ok in the matches he has played before he was injured.

And everyone agreed at the time it was a smart move to get O Connor in to cover Gaz while injured now its a bad thoing that he was an "emergency2 signing id call it dealing with a situation really. Hasnt worked out but im sure Sculy will do what he has done with the rest that weren't good enough and get rid.

Cory wasnt an emergency signing he was offered a deal before pre season even started but he wanted time to think it over and eneded up taking the deal after pre season has started.

The only thing you really have on Scully so is that he let Danno go 2 years ago?
    Are we not doing well recently are we not in a good position at the minute?

Edit made a tool of myself with one bit there see LTIDs comment below...Apologies to Gael for that :P
    Last edited by bluewhitearmy; 25/05/2011 at 1:41 AM.

1: Breen never played for Rovers ever
    Almost certain Chris Breen played under Scully at Rovers.

Carry on.

420 Posts
    Almost certain Chris Breen played under Scully at Rovers.

Carry on.
    Yep for some reason i though he had only ever played with harps spent a year on loan to them at rovers...

Isnt a facepalm big enough for that fcuk up from me

I stand by the rest though

Danno a top class 1st divisionplayer are you having a laugh or what?:P
    we'll agree to differ on this one as i think Dano was too good to just let go knowing of his qualities in the first division

What local talent that is good enough has been left somewhere in the 45 because of Breen and O Connor ? Any wingers good enough cos i dont think so.:P
    You did ask so id say David Donnan and Sean Brosnan

And the fact Breen had done ok in the matches he has played before he was injured.:P
    Thats a fair point although i would say he has lost a lot of his threat that he used to have when he scored goals against us years ago

And everyone agreed at the time it was a smart move to get O Connor in to cover Gaz while injured now its a bad thoing that he was an "emergency2 signing id call it dealing with a situation really. Hasnt worked out but im sure Sculy will do what he has done with the rest that weren't good enough and get rid.:P
    Not me as i didnt know wheather the guy was good or bad when we signed him. I think hes a waste of space now tbh

Cory wasnt an emergency signing he was offered a deal before pre season even started but he wanted time to think it over and eneded up taking the deal after pre season has started.:P
    Lots of players were offered contracts at the start of the season, the fact that some didnt accept or didnt sign till late into the season is irrilivent they to me either didnt want to sign waiting for other better offers or just accepted as it was the only offer they had. Guess which one im guessing

The only thing you really have on Scully so is that he let Danno go 2 years ago?
    Are we not doing well recently are we not in a good position at the minute?:P
    As i said earlier this is nothing against scully, so the one situation reg dano is that, only one situation. You and i know from the various conversations between us ini the last few weeks you have told me of some situations reg players etc which i wont mention here as its not a debate about scully. We both were annoyed at the tactics in monaghan and now we're disagreeing and thats life and football.

Edit made a tool of myself with one bit there see LTIDs comment below...Apologies to Gael for that :P
    do not apoligize its your opinion and i would expect you to do nothing less then stand over it. Three points tomorrow is required
    Last edited by gael353; 25/05/2011 at 5:53 PM.

420 Posts
    Oh i know Scully ahs done some things majorly wrong that me and you have talked about and i know that some of the players dont like him at all. And of course theres the thing with Yellow that is a complete and utter joke.

All im saying is there is no need to be so negative when we are doing well.

This is Limerick there is always something around the corner for us to be negative about so why not just enjoy it while we are doing reasonably well.

I thoght Dave Donnan was a centre mid? Heard he is class alright mad to get a look at him.

Is Brosnan good enough ya?