Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Connaught Gold Cup 2011

sorry

Very true Swinford, great win for Swinford B, congrats to all.. Did you see the match or any 1 got a report for this, could i say "shock" result
    Last edited by Sheep Farmer; 20/06/2011 at 7:53 PM. Reason: wrong quote

Fahy B 1 Manulla B 0

51 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Explicit View Post
    Fahy B 1 Manulla B 0
    Great win for Fahy B ..... fair play

646 Posts
    http://snugboro.com/competitionFixtu...9/con_gold_cup
    10/7/11
    Ballina Town vs Kiltimagh/Knock United 14:30 TBC Belleek Park
    Ballyhaunis Town vs Achill Rovers 14:30 TBC Ballyhaunis Town
    Castlebar Celtic vs Conn Rangers B 14:30 TBC Celtic Park
    Charlestown Athletic vs Fahy Rovers 14:30 TBC Bellaghy Park Charlestown
    Fahy Rovers B vs Iorras Aontaithe 14:30 TBC Moneen
    Partry Athletic vs Clew Bay United 14:30 TBC Ballinern Partry
    Straide & Foxford vs Manulla 14:30 TBC Green Road Foxford
    Westport United vs Ballyheane B 14:30 TBC Sports Park

http://snugboro.com/competitionFixtu...on_gold_shield
    9/7/11
    Ballyheane vs Snugboro United 19:00 TBC Pat Quigley Park
    Castlebar Celtic B vs Ballinrobe Town 19:00 TBC Celtic Park
    Claremorris B vs Westport United B 19:00 TBC Concannon Park
    Crossmolina B vs Cross Celtic 19:00 TBC Abbeytown
    Iorras Aontaithe B vs Straide & Foxford B 19:00 TBC Carnenash
    Moy Villa vs Clew Bay United B 19:00 TBC Attymass Comm Grounds
    Westport United C vs Swinford B 19:00 TBC Sports Park
    14/7/11
    Bangor Hibs B vs Conn Rangers 19:00 TBC Balybeg Park
    Last edited by Closed Account; 01/07/2011 at 8:51 PM.

Shield Results

Ballyheane 0 v 2 Snugboro United aet

Castlebar Celtic B 1 v 7 Ballinrobe Town

Claremorris B 0 v 3 Westport United B

Crossmolina B 0 v 1 Cross Celtic

Iorras Aontaithe B 3 v 0 Straide & Foxford B

Moy Villa 4 v 1 Clew Bay United B

Westport United C 5 v 1 Swinford B

No major upsets here, all the winners as expected in my opinion.

Yard Dog,Thugs and a bent ref 4 Fahy 1

Fahy B 1 Erris 4

Straide & Foxford UTD 1-3 Manulla
    Castlebar Celtic 11-1 Conn Rangers B
    Partry Athletic 0-3 Clew Bay UTD
    Ballina Town 9-0 Kiltimagh/Knock UTD
    Westport UTD 1-0 Ballyheane B

51 Posts
    Wow ... well done Ballyheane B .... give Westport a good work out

Charlestown Athletic 4 v 1 Fahy Rovers aet

Brilliant win for the home side claming another higher division scalp, 0-0 at ht, but the home side totally dominated this affair and had a goal disallowed along with hitting the crossbar before firing in an excellent from their hatrick hero P.Mcdermott (5th on this season). Fahy scored from an uncleared ball in the box totally against the run of play to force extra time but they will admit that they were never allowed settle or get a foothold in the game at all. Charlestown should have finished this game in normal time but they got the chance to rack up a well deserved score line in what must be a humiliating defeat for the side top of the premier A. Good result heading into tonra cup final next week and now in the last 8 of the Mayo cup. Totally underated side playing in the wrong division and the ML are not aiding their cause by their determination to keep them there year after year.

Quote Originally Posted by Back n the game View Post
    ML are not aiding their cause by their determination to keep them there year after year.
    Best off as low as possible for as long as possible. Kicked their way from start to finish. Ref thought he was god. Pulled back 2 when they we clear onside.

Bunch of yard dogs that belong in Div 1.

Best off as low as possible for as long as possible. Kicked their way from start to finish. Ref thought he was god. Pulled back 2 when they we clear onside.

Shame ye dont teach respect in Fahy. 3 players booked b4 half time and Joe Keane even had to intetvene several times to tell yer players to shut up. Your reports are the exact same, everyone to blame but Fahy. Out played and hammered in Charlestown. Not one dirty tackle in the game only a side 2 divisions below ye taking ye to school. Ye should also teach the off side rule at one of yer training sessions...... and maybe a little respect for ref's too while yer holding class.......

Quote Originally Posted by Back n the game View Post
    Shame ye dont teach respect in Fahy. 3 players booked b4 half time and Joe Keane even had to intetvene several times to tell yer players to shut up. Your reports are the exact same, everyone to blame but Fahy. Out played and hammered in Charlestown. Not one dirty tackle in the game only a side 2 divisions below ye taking ye to school. Ye should also teach the off side rule at one of yer training sessions...... and maybe a little respect for ref's too while yer holding class.......
    Booked 2 for dissent and 1 for fouls. Booked the fahy keeper for dissent.

Fahy no 11 was just outside the penalty area and the charlestown defender made no attempt to play the ball and brought him down. Was a disgrace.

How many yellow cards did charlestown get 1? if even that.

I'm not saying the Fahy didn't deserve to lose, made mistakes and were punished which is football, finishing wasn't there today either.

Took to school? Hammered? Modest much lad? Jesus Christ 1-1 at full time and 3 goals in 15 mins in extra time because fahy were chasing the game leaving gaps all over the place.

Fahy no 11 was just outside the penalty area and the charlestown defender made no attempt to play the ball and brought him down. Was a disgrace.

I'm not saying the Fahy didn't deserve to lose, made mistakes and were punished which is football, finishing wasn't there today either.

Took to school? Hammered? Modest much lad? Jesus Christ 1-1 at full time and 3 goals in 15 mins in extra time because fahy were chasing the game leaving gaps all over the place.
    This is far from the "Yard Dogs" in your original report. Teams that go behind every week have to chase games but this does'nt mean they ship 4 goals in doing so. Only 1 player booked from Charlestown for dissent (as per your own admission) is a far cry from the comment " Kicked their way from start to finish" ? if you are going to report on a game at least show respect to your opponent and try not to be a sore looser. Best team won by a mile and the fact that ye pulled 1 back to force extra time is something im sure ye wished ye hadn't now. 4-1 defeat is a hammering in anyone's book makes no difference when or how it happens,

Me-ow

This has to be one of the most pathetic posts ive seen on this forum. Shame ye are not as good at playing football as you are at disrespecting and insulting other clubs.

Build a bridge and get over it, otherwise shut your mouth, good lad!

Fahy won't underestimate Charlestown like claremorris did. Hopefully it'll be a good scrap.
    Quote Originally Posted by Collins English Dictionary
    scrap2 Informal
    n
    a fight or argument
    vb scraps, scrapping, scrapped
    (intr) to quarrel or fight
    [perhaps from scrape]
    Yard Dog,Thugs and a bent ref 4 Fahy 1
    Please refer to definition of scrap. Referee would have only got his normal payment.

Again, please refer to the definition of scrap. If they kicked their ways from start to finish, how come they only picked up one yellow card for dissent?

As for the kicking from start to finish comment, I remember some Westport United B v Fahy Rovers games and I commented on the style of football played by Fahy at the time and the Fahy boys took offence to what I posted back then. I have seen Charlestown play on four occasions this season and they are certainly no yard dogs, they are the best footballing side in the division. The remark on Charlestown should be kept as low as possible for as long as possible is an insult to all those who promote football in Charlestown and goes beyond the boundaries of sportsmanship and I'm sure that many would take exception to the bunch of yard dogs comment. I'm a bit miffed on the grammar concering the offside incident. As for calling the referee a God, I shall point out to you that Charlestown have not got any preferential treatment by referees. In the Killala game, they had two sent off.

Four bookings to one and one yellow was for a foul. Hardly resembles a violent game of football, does it?

If the referee didn't see what happened to No. 11, he's hardly going to give a freekick. From what I heard, Charlestown dominated the game and Fahy had very few opportunities. Of course mistakes cost goals.
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

Good points well made. I give up.

can i just say (speaking as someone who played the game) the views expressed above by explicit are not the views of our players in general, we went up to charlestown and got beat fair and squre, charlestown played some nice football and deserved their win, we all get beaten on days and id hate anyone to think were sore losers. were not. personally i thought some of the stuff the ref was at was absolutly crazy! e.g booking lads for calling for frees etc. if that deserves a booking then no mayo league match would ever finish because everybody would be sent off! however , regardless of how bad the ref was, well done to charlestown , lovely pitch and a good passin team, hope ye go on further in competition.

19. Thanks From:

Would not read to much into explicits comments lads,was talking to fahy players in middle during the game and after and nearly everyone of them were gracious in defeat and in my opinion a sound bunch of lads. Their problem lied with the ref i think as he booked two for disputing an offside which admittedly was harsh but apart from that think he handled the game excellent and is one of the top refs in Mayo. As for saying the game was dirty that is baffeling a comment as i have ever heard on this forum. Best to take all thoes comments made with a pinch of salt...

Next round

Right enough said about last round.

When is the next round draw?

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast