Thread: Where are my posts?

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi
    Freudian slip?
    Well spotted, apologies and point taken. I dislike the people who put Celtic on par with Ireland as much as anyone else, and I've met a few of them in the past. Eg: 'Take that free-state sh*te off' in reference to the Ireland shirt. But when was the last time anyone stated that on this site.
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    Personally, I feel the people that persist are just wind-up merchants at this stage. They know the reaction they'll get yet come back for more. If it was a Ramblers fan on the Cork forum they'd have been banned at this stage.

Everyone knows Celtic's history, it's just arguing about it's relevance some 112 years later, and very little to do with the actual football played. If it was just about the football then it should be in the General Forum (and any posting anywhere else should be binned not moved). There's a thread which people can go around in circles on the issue all they want, any other's should be binned (not moved). IMHO of course.
    Remove everything except the EL and the National team, then. If you think that the likes of Liam, Davros and Pat O'B are only interested in posting about Celtic, then that would work better than banning them. Personally I'm more sick of the deluge of Man Ure shirts I see everywhere in Ireland and the reverence it's held. Ban all discussion of any foreign team.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

I've kept my head down so far in this thread, as I don't particularly want to be banned from here and it's starting to feel like I'm unwelcome just because I'm a Celtic fan. (Yes, I do - quite deliberately - keep the majority of Celtic-related posts on a Celtic board; only occasionally mentioning them here when it's relevant to do so or when other foot.ie users would be interested.) However, I have to come out in support of the points made by Lopez.

It does feel like so much goes by on this board - racist, homophobic and sectarian comments go unchecked - so long as you're one of the chosen. Colm is allowed to reply to Pat O'Banton's fairly well-reasoned arguments with personal abuse, and yet it's Pat that's cautioned. El Siete Secretos is continually allowed to come out with racist and homophobic bile and, despite me asking for some sort of action, he's left to get on with it. And Liam, who's only crime is to ask too many questions, is treated with what seems like contempt.

Adam, I really am very grateful to you for all the hard work that goes in to this board. I just wish a little more consistency was applied in the way moderators exercised their functions. And that includes not tarring all Celtic supporters with the same brush.

PP
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

Quote Originally Posted by tiktok
    The problem is as much down to those among us who have an irrational hatred of Celtic (jumping into threads we have no interest in) as much as it's down to abusive Celtic fans.

I've got no problem with anybody posting about Celtic on the General football section but you only have to look back over this thread to see why moderators get sick of them. The 'Celtic' threads usually run for ages and fill up very quickly as everyone seems to have an opinion (often extreme), there's been two pages added to this in an hour, and trawling through that to make sure nothing insulting or libellous has been written takes time.
    Good points tiktok, well-made as usual.

PP
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

Quote Originally Posted by lopez
    Well spotted, apologies and point taken. I dislike the people who put Celtic on par with Ireland as much as anyone else, and I've met a few of them in the past. Eg: 'Take that free-state sh*te off' in reference to the Ireland shirt. But when was the last time anyone stated that on this site. Remove everything except the EL and the National team, then. If you think that the likes of Liam, Davros and Pat O'B are only interested in posting about Celtic, then that would work better than banning them. Personally I'm more sick of the deluge of Man Ure shirts I see everywhere in Ireland and the reverence it's held. Ban all discussion of any foreign team.
    I said keep it football if talking about Celtic*, the endless "Irish" club question keep it in the thread dedicated to it. Celtic has no relevance to any other board on here except "General Football" or possible Irish players at Celtic, and the other debate has been done to death in this thread - why the fook do we need more of the same? Surely it's no benefit to either side of the debate?

*except earlier when I got píssed off with yet another rehash of Celtic history.

No one get's the history lesson off me except when they try to distort the history of the club to suit their own petty prejudices.

Take him to task about anything - like I did about his blinkered views of Irishness and the diaspora - and he f*cks off and sulks..
    I fail to see where you "took me to task" about anything. The closest I came to finding you "taking me to task" on anything was when you started going on about how Celtic were founded by an Irishman and have Irish fans etc etc etc etc. We've heard it all before mate!
    As for my "blinkered views of Irishness", I'll be in Sweden at the weekend supporting an Irish team.... nothing blinkered about that.

Quote Originally Posted by Plastic Paddy
    Colm is allowed to reply to Pat O'Banton's fairly well-reasoned arguments with personal abuse.
    Don't see where I responded with personal abuse, I may have made a few generalisations about Celtic "fans" but could you blame me after seeing some of the posts that have followed on this thread from Lopez et al!

I agree with Macy. I don't think anyone would mind Celtic discussions if they were confined to football but the problem is that the usual Celtic morons hijack every thread with their Celtic are Irish crap.
    Champions!

No one get's the history lesson off me except when they try to distort the history of the club to suit their own petty prejudices.
    Well IMO you try and distort Celtic history to suit your own arguement. The club was set up to help Irish immigrants in Glasgow - Fact. It's role for the wider Irish diaspora, or those that remained in Ireland, is where people take issue. It's something that both sides aren't going to agree on, so whats the point of endless discussion going round and round in circles. One thread of that shíte is enough.

IMO the solution - The thread that's in general football be the "Celtic Are Irish Debate" thread and the posters on both sides (and the mods if needs be) keep it that way. Then we can get on with debating footballing issues rather than bullshít... Any of the regular posters that continue bringing it up elsewhere can then, rightly, be banned for being WUM.

Quote Originally Posted by Colm
    As for my "blinkered views of Irishness", I'll be in Sweden at the weekend supporting an Irish team.... nothing blinkered about that.
    It may have escaped your attention but that's the reason I come onto a site like this with narrow-minded eejits like you. YAWN! I'll let you know next time when I'm abroad following an Irish team as I've done it four times already this year.
    I agree with Macy. I don't think anyone would mind Celtic discussions if they were confined to football but the problem is that the usual Celtic morons hijack every thread with their Celtic are Irish crap.
    Usually responding to morons that claim it's a Scottish club (with the insinuation that it has no connections with Ireland).
    Well IMO you try and distort Celtic history to suit your own arguement. The club was set up to help Irish immigrants in Glasgow - Fact. It's role for the wider Irish diaspora, or those that remained in Ireland, is where people take issue. It's something that both sides aren't going to agree on, so whats the point of endless discussion going round and round in circles. One thread of that shíte is enough.
    'The club was set up to help Irish immigrants in Glasgow - Fact.' And that would have no appeal to anyone in Ireland. Nothing at all...

521 Posts
    Usually responding to morons that claim it's a Scottish club
    You callin' me a moron lopez? Is that better or worse than a Caudillo?

(with the insinuation that it has no connections with Ireland).
    See, it's not an insinuation, Celtic fans simply choose to read it that way. The history of Celtic is immaterial, what people here have said is that Celtic is a Scottish club, in Scotland, in a Scottish league. Foot.ie is about Irish clubs, in Ireland, in Irish leagues; and the national team. That's the way it's always been, that's the way we like it.

I don't deny Celtic fans get hostility here, but that's simply because Celtic threads have a large tendency to descend into flame wars, and we don't like or want flame wars around here -- again, that was why we set Foot.ie up. If you don't like the hostility, why contribute to it? Why not discuss Celtic somewhere the discussion would be more welcome?

I dunno, perhaps you get some kind of buzz out of flaming us. Frankly, it bores the arse off me. As I've said a thousand times, I run Foot.ie in my spare time, for free. I don't have time for this rubbish, which is why you get "censorship".

Last edited by dahamsta; 23/06/2004 at 6:15 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by dahamsta
    You callin' me a moron lopez? Is that better or worse than a Caudillo?
    I was talking about your henchman Colm who suggested that I was a moron. He started it and I couldn't care less what title he holds on here, but if you are gonna call me a moron, then the answer is YES! Don't like it? Your the man with the control buttons.
    See, it's not an insinuation, Celtic fans simply choose to read it that way. The history of Celtic is immaterial, what people here have said is that Celtic is a Scottish club, in Scotland, in a Scottish league. Foot.ie is about Irish clubs, in Ireland, in Irish leagues; and the national team. That's the way it's always been, that's the way we like it.
    I'm all for Irish club football. So is Pat O'B but you chose to ignore that bit. What Colm - and you for that matter - fail to realise is that given the choice between watching an Irish club or Celtic, I would watch the Irish club, so forget the sh*te about me being a Celtic moron. On the other hand, being born outside Ireland gives me a different take on things. Maybe it is this that angers me about suggestions that a club formed by an Irishman, etc. is referred to as Scottish in what is clearly a derogatory way. Suggests to me you and Colm are either people with a shallow knowledge of your country's history or contempt for anyone that had the misfortune to emigrate.

And BTW, who are WE exactly. You got yourself a cosy secret club going on here? Because I don't remember signing up for a second class membership of this forum. If you want it that way, then why allow us extranjeros and dissidents in if you don't like what we've got to say? Facts are there are plenty of people who have a deep interest and support local Irish football that also follow Celtic. Not our fault you've only met the w*nkers. Met a few myself. Time to wake up and smell the coffee.

521 Posts
    I was talking about your henchman Colm who suggested that I was a moron. He started it and I couldn't care less what title he holds on here, but if you are gonna call me a moron, then the answer is YES! Don't like it? Your the man with the control buttons.
    a) Colm. Henchman. That's one of the funniest overstatements we've had yet. Well done.
    b) I've searched on Colm's handle for "moron" and found this. Was that you? If not, aren't you in fact calling yourself a moron?
    c) He started it. The Classic "Mommy" Defense. A Kasparov masterwork.
    d) Indeed I am the man with the control buttons. Have a week's suspension on me. When you come back, try to avoid dissing the mods and admins.

Buh-bye now,

.......the problem is that the usual Celtic morons hijack every thread with their Celtic are Irish crap....
    to be fair Adam...
    Colm used the above phrase in a post where he quotes Lopez. Lopez is not even a Celtic fan ffs, and only got involved after you offered Pat O'Banton 24 hours to respond to you and avoid a ban himself.

in fairness, there was nothing wrong with Pat O'Banton's post, it was a well worded, well put argument, without even the slightest hint of abuse (although your reply suggests you didn't read the whole way through it ).

That's as far as I got "Pat O' Banton", my "Norf Landan" friend. referring to the third line in his post
    Colm jumped on a single remark in it (one you yourself later admitted had merit when you referred to the negative felling towards Celtic fans's) and kicked the rest of it off.

Mountains out of molehills. On the whole very harsh on Lopez.
    Last edited by tiktok; 23/06/2004 at 9:18 PM.
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

Okay after helping start this off I may as well buy myself a ban / suspension.

Firstly it was pointed out that I did not answer Colm’s post (21) fully. I felt that I did but if more explanation is needed; I do read Celtic boards and have posted on them, I read and post on this board because I am an Ireland fan. I have no wish for this board to become some form of secondary Celtic site for as has been pointed out there are plenty of these out there. However I will defend Celtic (or anyother similar institution set up to help Irish people in Britain) and I felt on this occasion that the abuse doled out to its supporters was unfair so posted a response.
    (Also Colm, in fairness I have never met you so you should consider the fact that I have better things to do with my time then to sit around and think about ways of winding you up)
    As I asked before should Celtic fans not use the General Football, (but not constantly) the same way that other people use it to discuss non-eL or National Team matters or National Team forum to post on subjects like the form of Aiden McGeady?

Others have pointed out that they are fed up of the Celtic/ Ireland debate being brought up. The whole reason that I brought up the Celtic/ Ireland point is that dahamsta post (16) was in my opinion and his denying the link between Celtic and Ireland, I and many others feel that this clearly exists. Many on this forum do not, as about 38 pages elsewhere on this site demonstrate.
    Basically what I will say is that I will not bring this up again while the subject is lying dormant beyond the bounds of the pro and anti Celtic thread.

It has been pointed out that Celtic threads normally descend into flaming wars, well it has seems to me that these wars are normally started by people saying that Celtic are not Irish and have no relevance to Ireland as you may or may not understand this can be taken offensively by Celtic fans as we feel that it is also aimmed at the identity of all those who have had to emigrate and 2nd generation people. Maybe a wee bit oversensitive but there you go.

Also on a side point it should be noted that Lopez is not a Celtic fan

Re; the threat of a ban on me and actual ban on Lopez can you please out line to people on what grounds that these can be given out.

Finally if we are not to diss the mods and admin could the mods and admin please not diss those who post on the site?
    Where am I now? I'm over here,
    I've got those empty pockets and I can't afford a beer.

Right, this going to be my final word on this thread because I really do have better things to be doing than having to put up with the likes of Lopez.

Pat O'Banton, not saying I agree with you but at least you seem to be able to make your points in a reasoned manner unlike Lopez and a few others. I accept what you're saying but don't agree.

I normally try to stay well away from the Celtic stuff on here but this all started because some chap called "Son of Erin" (who incidently hasn't been seen on here since ) posted two silly Celtic related threads in el general. I binned them both as he seemed unable to comprehend the fact that el general is solely for el matters and appeared to me to be only trying to annoy people. I explained my reasons to him yet he then started this thread (which he also originally posted in el general ) wondering where his posts had gone.... I don't believe anyone is actually that stupid as to miss the rubbish section on the front page. That's how I got dragged into this.

Finally, if Lopez isn't a Celtic fan why did he stick his nose in here and start throwing insults at myself and Adam because we dared to suggest that maybe Celtic fans should use a Celtic forum?

I've got packing to do so I'll leave ye to continue going around in circles....
    Champions!

521 Posts
    That was as far as I needed to go tiktok, he was misrepresenting posters (including myself) on these forums and - as you so rightly pointed out - has only managed to back himself up with further misrepresentations. In fact in his last post he's gone back to the plain old "denying the link" garbage. So, accordingly, I've dished out the ban I threatened. Thanks for the reminder.

As to lopez's ban, please, try to remember the golden rule: Attack the post, not the poster. I don't call people names here, I expect the same in return; and that's not exclusive to mods and admins.

And with that, the discussion ends. No more Celtic Roundabouts.

Last edited by dahamsta; 23/06/2004 at 11:15 PM.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123