Hope the young lad is ok. Really annoyed that the league has been tarnished once again by stupid stupid people. Really wrecks my head.
bad to see the day a 15 year old cant go to enjoy an away game supporting his club ... as for the other big game in the division good atmosphere no hassle what a LOI Div 1 game should be limerick wining 1-0 and now 1 point off playoff spot and 5 points off top ....
They have been banned by the club. I'm not sure all of them have been though or if they are boycotting the place because the organ grinder was.
I have a fair idea who you are on about LTID. Some of that particular crowd of scum were kids who grew up in my area and were grand till they got involved with our scum element. Lovely families just those gob****es have done there level best to be the black sheep.
A young kid nearly lost his life tonight. What's it going to take for them and everyother Danny Dyer wannabe to cop the f*ck on? I really hope it won't have to come to some young kids death.
Good evening!
Hopefully tonight will be the kick in the arse that cork and shels need to nip this in the bud once and for all. Name, shame and ban, these aren't huge numbers we're talking about, anyone knocking around the division for any length of time has a fair idea who these muppets are, never mind the people at their respective clubs.
It's complete and utter nonsense not worth so much as a black eye never mind some poor youngfellas life.
Last edited by Lim till i die; 14/05/2011 at 1:31 PM. Reason: deceny, kind of
Lets not forget that this 15 year old and his friends were flinging whatever they could find in the direction of young families. Having said that he still doesn't deserve to be left in that sort of condition. Wishing him a quick recovery and hopefully a bit of cop on from the experience.
Lets redefine what it means to heal
He was not near Tolka to support any club just to correct you.
This is really sad to hear. There was no trouble inside the ground and it was an exciting top of the table clash.
After the final whistle we all left heading for Drumcondra Road. I had my 12 year old with me. Near the traffic lights there was a gang who were in the Cork section in the first half trying to rip a "For Sale" sign out of a garden and throwing bottles, cans and rocks at the Shels fans coming up the road. Seriously it was at anybody. Kids and all. We nearly got hit with a rock only for we ducked behind the white Transit van in the loading bay. There was lots of annoyed people at that point. A couple of Gardai could have rounded up the 8 or so troublemakers and avoided the situation which followed.
I don't understand what those lads thought would happen.
Anyway I was sick to see what I saw, sick to read what I have read this morning and sad my my son who was seriously shook by the experience.
I hope that young lad pulls through without any lasting effects.
This was a bizzare situation. I have seen instances where after games all the Burberry boys are squaring up to each other etc. But that not what this was.
This was a gang, attacking anyone and everyone who eventually got what was always going to come out of it......unfortunatly.
Last edited by OneForTheFuture; 14/05/2011 at 8:43 AM.
This was posted on the Cork City Forum. I wasn't at the game and theres two sides to every story, but I find it interesting that Bohs fans may have been involved. Wasn't it a young Shels fan who was bottled by a Bohs fan outside Tolka a year or two ago and lost his eye?
I think we need to do something about this. Everyone of us needs to do anything we can to stop it before something like this happens again. Its completely unnecesary and someone is going to be killed sooner or later, assuming this young lad pulls through.
One young fan is in the Maher Hospital. Nobody on this site has any right to comment on this incident unless they were there. Just to clarify, there were 6 City fans who were allowed out at half time for a pint by security and were denied entry at the start of the second half and so made for Kennedys bar. Within five minutes of the end of the game these 6 lads who were effectively abandoned by the security at nine o clock were set upon by 25-35 Shelbourne fans who were backed up by Bohemians fans. They were not "looking" for trouble. They were waiting for a few other fans before getting on the bus that they had hired. They were attacked suddenly and with weapons and so never stood a chance of getting away or even standing up for themselves. One young man, the youngest of his social group was assaulted very badly and is still in a very serious condition. Shame on certain members of this forum for commenting on something they did not witness, not that that is the serious note of the night. I hope to god this young man recovers from his very serious injuries and is not too scarred to continue his regular support of Cork City. I can vouch for this young man, he is an intelligent and enthusiastic young supporter of this club and is highly regarded by his acquaintances and friends. Posters like Timoffski should be ignored on matters like this. It is a touchy subject for his friends and I'd imagine, the majority of City fans in attendance He is 16 years of age and in a serious condition, my prayers and those of his friends are with him tonight . This was a serious and pre-meditated attack by fans of Shelbourne and Bohemians who unlike the worried City fans who were getting frantic calls off of their friends outside the ground, were allowed out early to seek out and instigate violence. These people have no place supporting football clubs in this country and hopefully will be sought out and banned/charged accordingly. This young man is highly regarded by myself amongst many others so apologies for the somewhat angry nature of this post. I will keep those who are genuinely worried by his condition posted on his progress. I can clarify that absolutely no City fans went up to Tolka Park tonight for the sake of violence, it was merely a top of the table first division clash between two clubs that clearly have two very emotionally charged sets of fans.
One very important thing to note for the uninformed is that City fans were kept locked inside the stadium until after all the home fans had vacated the stadium. However, there was no Garda presence outside the away exit. I, myself, along with 3 others, were set upon, having been the first to leave the away exit (on account of having received the frantic phonecalls) getting bottles and bricks thrown at me. The fact that security kept us inside the premises with no Garda presence outside merely allowed for the local Wah-biys to form and organise. This is the result. Yet another sobering experience of following Cork City Football Club. Yet again, I have reservations of attending further games as this is another incident involving violence and my local team. I hope maybe people will use a little sense in the future with regard to writing comments on such matters. Goodnight and god bless to all.
The people around the incident were saying they were Rovers fans singing about the Hoops!
Now people saying Bohs.
The lads causing trouble were the 8-10 in the Cork section who were nearest the Shels singing section in the first half. Don't think they looked at the game once.
Other Cork fans must know if they are from Cork or not.
Easily recognisable. One larger gent even took his tops off to be greeted by the "Philly Hughes" song.
Anyway its a disgusting end to the night and I hope all involved are caught and punished.
Last edited by OneForTheFuture; 14/05/2011 at 9:48 AM.
I know your trying to make a point and one i agree with LTID but would you not use that term
I wish i did not know then what I dont know now
Wasn't able to make it back to Dublin for the match last night so I cant pass comment on the incident(s). Hope the Cork fan pulls through. Nobody deserves to have their health put at risk following a football club and hopefully whoever is responsible is caught.
There are two sides to every story of course but I was at this game and it was obvious who the aggressors were. They (one in particular) got a bit more than they deserved but like the Pats fan in Sligo that time, you have to accept that if you act like a thug then some bigger thug is eventually going to hammer you.
The sad part for me is the pathetic loyalty of some fans who are telling lies just to save the reputation of their fans instead of condemning what was perpetrated by a small section of their own support (I use that term lightly in this case).
I hope that lad is okay, but he brought every bit of this on himself I'm afraid.
I'm not sure which exact term you're on about but I went back to edit a few posts for a small bit for decency anyway because by all accounts this youngfella is actually genuinely still in a very bad way and it's not something I'm going to try and use for internet point scoring.
On a more general note though, Shels and Cork need to do something about this element and be seen to do it quickly, they're actually going to cost other clubs a fortune with this kind of rubbish.
That's a very strange one if it's true, the season before last in Tolka myself and four or five of the lads were actually asked by a group of Shels fans if we'd walk out with them because there was Bohs fans waiting to beat them up!! (We said no!) My impression was they always hated one another but then who knows the "politics" of the Oirish "hoolie" "scene"
I remember on that night Bohs and Shels fans where fighting each other outside Tolka that night also and we where kept inside the ground for a further 15 minutes till it calmed down.
Terrible to hear about that young fella. It should be an example to all those young fellas out there causing trouble. There are consequences.
Interesting to see from the post above from the Cork forum that a Cork fan is defending the young fella saying he is a genuine fan and never causes problems but then a total neutral Sligo fan says he brought it on himself (not that anyone is condoning what happened). Looks like the Cork fan is covering up for someone else.
Also agree it was good to see last night no segregation in Jackman and no trouble but in fairness last season Shels came down for their first visit to Jackman last season and there was no segregation either and I was pretty much surrounded by Shels fans but there was no hassle. Same goes for when Cork came up last season. Surrounded by Cork fans and not an ounce of trouble. The only trouble that is ever caused is when one or two break off from the main support and try cause a bit of hassle with the other fans which has happened in small incidents in Jackman.
Everyone knows the only people that cause any trouble are the few young fellas from different teams who think they are at school and want to show they are harder than the other young fellas supporting the other teams. Pathetic stuff.
Last edited by Jofspring; 14/05/2011 at 1:57 PM.
At other games Bohs fans asked us to hep fight the Shels fans.Again we said no..
Always seems be Bohs trying to fight Shels when we are up there so cant see them joining up to attack Cork fans being honest.
OneForTheFuture its sickening that your young lad had to see that and i hope he isnt put off going to games in the future.
Last edited by bluewhitearmy; 14/05/2011 at 2:18 PM.
if youre talking about him using the term mongoloid, i totally agree. Wise up LTID.
I also find it pretty unfair that our name is now being dragged into this. That said, i think that any of these so called schooligans are not fans of any team or even football. They are just young, bored gurriers looking for a fight and attaching themselves to a club for the sake of identity.
I wish the young fella a speedy recovery and I hope that he has learnt his lesson.
Last edited by SkStu; 14/05/2011 at 2:06 PM.
I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.