Page 6 of 8 FirstFirst ... 45678 LastLast

Thread: Series 13 - Fri 13/Sat 14 - Updates

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    I don't understand how the second somebody does something out of order they're automatically not fans of the club. They clearly are.
    Yea, but they were not in a LOI ground (or near it). why should the name of LOI clubs be tarnished by being linked with people fighting on a public street ? they most probobly "support" Man U / Liverpool etc as well but I dont see them described as Liverpool or man u fans.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by marinobohs View Post
    Yea, but they were not in a LOI ground (or near it). why should the name of LOI clubs be tarnished by being linked with people fighting on a public street ? they most probobly "support" Man U / Liverpool etc as well but I dont see them described as Liverpool or man u fans.
    They were near enough a ground.

And fair enough they may support them teams but were they coming from a Man U or Liverpool match? No they were coming from Shels V Cork....Was clearly Cork fans fighting Shels fans.

Young lad in hospital was 100% a Cork fan dont know if he was involved in any of the fighting he may just have been in the wrong place at the wrong time.

123 Posts
    its not that simple marino if you stage a game and invite people to that game you are in some way responsible for the outcome. now i know we will say that we cannot be responsible for what happens outside a ground but that is not strictly true. bottom line if we host an event and cannot ensure it does not lead to dangerous situations then there is two options
    1. we cannot host the event
    2. we pay the garda to ensure the safety issues
    i
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

2,771 Posts
    I dont know lads. I think that MarinoBohs is spot on here. These are bebo kids who are latching onto clubs if you ask me. Its hard to pin blame on Cork or Shels or whomever it might be in these cases. When you think of clubs with "an element", Cork and Shels arent two clubs that top that list. Rovers, Bohs, Dundalk and UCD are the ones that come to mind first. Before schooliganism, i never had any hassle in Cork or at a Shels game. Bohs has a schooligan group, most of whom dont even attend games. The real Bohs "element" is a different group. Ditto Rovers and Dundalk.

Long story short, I dont consider the incident on friday night as Cork fans fighting Shels fans - i simply consider it 2 groups of knackers, who were at a soccer game with the sole purpose of having a scrap afterwards, going at it.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

Quote Originally Posted by Red Army View Post
    Were Corks idiot brigade or 'casuals' giving shels ultras right hand salutes during the first half? I'd hate to see that creeping in if things weren't bad enough.
    They were indeed, but they all weren't Cork Casuals, there was one or two Shamrock Rovers lads in with them too which everyone found fairly odd.

Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    Young lad in hospital was 100% a Cork fan dont know if he was involved in any of the fighting he may just have been in the wrong place at the wrong time.
    He got the bus down in the "Cork City Casual" lads anyway, so I'd be fairly certain he wasn't involved with the trouble which kicked off at the top of Richmond Rd.

Great to hear he's out of Intensive Care all the same, hopefully makes a full recovery.

No. Complete rubbish and why post it?
    Hope all Shels fans who were in the vicinity will go to the Garda to help identify the large group of Shels fans that attacked a 16 year old boy so badly it was thought he had been driven over by a bus. Long time since I have been on here and never again after reading this at a sensitive time. Why do people assume a certain version of events? Wrong place wrong time.
    Cork City FC

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by rebs23 View Post
    No. Complete rubbish and why post it?
    Hope all Shels fans who were in the vicinity will go to the Garda to help identify the large group of Shels fans that attacked a 16 year old boy so badly it was thought he had been driven over by a bus. Long time since I have been on here and never again after reading this at a sensitive time. Why do people assume a certain version of events? Wrong place wrong time.
    If you are as sure about the "details" as you make out perhaps you should go to the Gardai, especially as they differ so dramtically with several eye witness accouts on here.
    Nobody on this thread has been insensitive about the 16 year old involved - most have made a point of hoping he pulls through - so enough of the martyrdom nonsense please. Many of the posters here witnessed the event or at least some of it and are stating what they saw not assuming anything, unlike (apparently) yourself.

Folks, anyone that saw or heard anything last Friday night outside (or inside) Tolka Park, City and Shels fans alike can you please report everything you know to the Gardai at Fitzgibbon Street. This is vital to enable them to do anything about this.

From reports there were eight Cork lads (not City fans) throwing stuff at Shels fans when they were leaving the game and its understood that it was ordinary Shels fans who were leaving the ground, not part of any element. There must be a number of Shels fans who saw this and would be able to identify the Cork lads. Obviously it will be easy to identify the lad in hospital but there are another seven that are meant to have been with him.

Any information at all will be useful to the Gardai, no matter how small or seemingly insignificant. Please consider providing this info or urging others to provide it if you know they have information.

Division: Dublin Metropolitan Region, Fitzgibbon Street is in the DMR North Central Division and in Fitzgibbon Street District.

Fitzgibbon Street Garda Station,
    Fitzgibbon Street,
    Dublin 1.

Tel: +353 1 666 8400
    Fax: +353 1 666 8440 (Public Office)
    +353 1 666 8441 (District Office)

District HQ: Fitzgibbon Street
    District HQ Tel: +353 1 666 8482

Divisional HQ : Store Street
    Divisional HQ Tel: +353 1 666 8092

20 Posts
    Is there any real will from the clubs to ban all these casuals and ultras from games? It's not as if we're talking about thousands of people here.

1,825 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by born2bwild View Post
    I'm still in mourning.
    You at denial or acceptance?

Will have to get you a beer to help ya through the next time we're at Tolka.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    I don't understand how the second somebody does something out of order they're automatically not fans of the club. They clearly are.
    Because fans of our club would have been in the ground for the whole game. If someone was outside of the ground not looking at the football on display (top of the table clash) and looking to get involved in anti-social behaviour to the point where there lives are threatened then they would not be described as football fans.

Is there any real will from the clubs to ban all these casuals and ultras from games? It's not as if we're talking about thousands of people here.
    Its not about will any more, its requirement, its event management, its about responsibility and adhere to guideline and procedure. If you cant do it then ..... and i don't need to finish this sentence .... but i will ..... You cant host LOI football games at your ground, end of ... fact .... end of .... what ever you need to hear.

Come to think of it there is no sign of any statement from the powers that be, in the league.
    Last edited by A face; 16/05/2011 at 11:58 PM.

151 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by A face View Post
    Folks, anyone that saw or heard anything last Friday night outside (or inside) Tolka Park, City and Shels fans alike can you please report everything you know to the Gardai at Fitzgibbon Street. This is vital to enable them to do anything about this.

From reports there were eight Cork lads (not City fans) throwing stuff at Shels fans when they were leaving the game and its understood that it was ordinary Shels fans who were leaving the ground, not part of any element. There must be a number of Shels fans who saw this and would be able to identify the Cork lads. Obviously it will be easy to identify the lad in hospital but there are another seven that are meant to have been with him.

Any information at all will be useful to the Gardai, no matter how small or seemingly insignificant. Please consider providing this info or urging others to provide it if you know they have information.

Division: Dublin Metropolitan Region, Fitzgibbon Street is in the DMR North Central Division and in Fitzgibbon Street District.

Fitzgibbon Street Garda Station,
    Fitzgibbon Street,
    Dublin 1.

Tel: +353 1 666 8400
    Fax: +353 1 666 8440 (Public Office)
    +353 1 666 8441 (District Office)

District HQ: Fitzgibbon Street
    District HQ Tel: +353 1 666 8482

Divisional HQ : Store Street
    Divisional HQ Tel: +353 1 666 8092
    I'm puzzled - what would eight Cork people be doing at a First Division match in Tolka Park on a Friday night if they weren't City fans and, now that, thankfully, the young lad is in recovery, why doesn't some bobby in Fitzgibbon Street stroll across to the Mater and ask him for the names and addresses of his seven mates?

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by avvenalaf View Post
    I'm puzzled - what would eight Cork people be doing at a First Division match in Tolka Park on a Friday night if they weren't City fans and, now that, thankfully, the young lad is in recovery, why doesn't some bobby in Fitzgibbon Street stroll across to the Mater and ask him for the names and addresses of his seven mates?
    How do you know that they haven't?

Quote Originally Posted by de bowez View Post
    Bohs havent had a schooligan problem in years, its now nearly impossible to get into a game if you're under 18 and not with an adult. Once they got banned from the ground they started harrasing Shels fans outside Tolka but afaik they got bored of that aswell.
    Fair Enough.

The perception is still out there though (hence my post) so that's why Bohs were totally, unfairly dragged into it imo.

That's not me having a go at Bohemains btw.

Were Corks idiot brigade or 'casuals' giving shels ultras right hand salutes during the first half? I'd hate to see that creeping in if things weren't bad enough.
    LOL!!

Big long police appeal thingy that I haven't fully quoted for ease of posting
    Could the dogs in the streets around Turners Cross not point the Gardai in the direction of the seven youngfellas that were with the lad without you putting appeals on the interweb??

FFS, I could probably identify them from pictures, never mind a Cork fan.

Because fans of our club would have been in the ground for the whole game. If someone was outside of the ground not looking at the football on display (top of the table clash) and looking to get involved in anti-social behaviour to the point where there lives are threatened then they would not be described as football fans.
    Mealy mouthed nonsense, these children whether you like it or not are associated with Cork City FC, the club has to bear some responsibility for their actions.

I'll grant you the banned lists and pictures, fair enough, it's something Shels don't bother doing (before whinging en masse about their "treatment"), but the club needs to go public on these cretins where possible, name them and shame them, feck it ring their parents. This "Ah shur we banned them, they're nothing to do with us" craic doesn't really cut it. CCFC pointing the Gardai in the direction of this fellas social group might be a good start.

To be honest I'd never go to the guards so I'm invoking the righteousness of the internet warrior here, but then I'd also never take on the responsibility of running a football club.

Its not about will any more, its requirement, its event management, its about responsibility and adhere to guideline and procedure. If you cant do it then ..... and i don't need to finish this sentence .... but i will ..... You cant host LOI football games at your ground, end of ... fact .... end of .... what ever you need to hear.
    Your first paragraph is you giving your hands a good wash. In the second paragraph you then proceed to buck passing.

In an ideal world what you are saying is of course correct but the league is what it is and isn't changing anytime soon unfortunately, we don't all have shiny Turners Cross' around the corner to rent.

What you neglect to mention when talking up the virtues of event control is the unecessary extra expenditure that policing these cretins brings to the clubs who have to host them. Can you imagine if this lad had died?? Not only are our crowds against Shels and Cork reduced (I wouldn't bring my youngfella if I don't know the craic so wouldn't expect anyone else to) but our security costs sky rocket, we go from no guards to at least a half dozen guards, a dozen stewards to forty stewards. All this because Shels and Cork City have failed to act decisively when dealing with their baby hooligans. Is this fair?? Is this Limericks fault?? Is it Wexfords?? Is it the FAIs??

The chickens very nearly came home to roost last Friday night. The problem I have is that all clubs would end up unfairly tarnished by the nonsense.

In summary, to somehow imply that the behaviour of travelling supporters should be the sole responsibility of the club hosting them is absolute nonsense imo.

If you want a league with event control, planning and grounds like you envisage above then I suggest Cork pull out of the league ask Rovers to join them and ye can play each 30 times a season with gangs of feral children travelling up and down the motorway to get their heads kicked in and it being absolutely nobodies fault.

EDIT: I'M LEAVING THIS LAST SPEEL UP FOR REPLIES INCASE I DIDN'T (it took me like three minutes to write!) BUT JUST READING BACK OVER YOUR POST I REALISE I COULD HAVE TOTALLY MISINTERPRETED THAT BIT I QUOTED. *palmsface*

Come to think of it there is no sign of any statement from the powers that be, in the league
    1. FAI in being innefective shocker.
    2. In fairness to them () it hasn't actually came out that this is football related yet (praise Allah!!) so maybe the FAI are trying to let the smoke clear?? No need to give the Herald any more excuse for a 24 page pullout!!
    Last edited by Lim till i die; 17/05/2011 at 12:55 AM. Reason: I'm a silly billy at times

I'm puzzled - what would eight Cork people be doing at a First Division match in Tolka Park on a Friday night if they weren't City fans
    There were thousands of Cork people visiting and living Dublin the same night, some of them near the ground. Some of them in pubs, B&Bs, hotels around the ground, and alot of them probably never knew there was a game on. But most of them were not involved in anti social behaviour. Those guys weren't even in the ground, looking to cause trouble and got what they came for.

All City fans would have been there in the ground looking at the football, not ouside the ground looking for trouble.

and, now that, thankfully, the young lad is in recovery, why doesn't some bobby in Fitzgibbon Street stroll across to the Mater and ask him for the names and addresses of his seven mates?
    They probably have but as always its up to people there to provide the information to assist them. Everyone knows that Gardai are under resourced now and if anyone with half an idea about cleaning up the name of our league then we know giving them info to be able to cut through all the crap and deal with this situation is the best course of action.

420 Posts
    There were thousands of Cork people visiting and living Dublin the same night, some of them near the ground. Some of them in pubs, B&Bs, hotels around the ground, and alot of them probably never knew there was a game on. But most of them were not involved in anti social behaviour. Those guys weren't even in the ground, looking to cause trouble and got what they came for.

All City fans would have been there in the ground looking at the football, not ouside the ground looking for trouble.

They probably have but as always its up to people there to provide the information to assist them. Everyone knows that Gardai are under resourced now and if anyone with half an idea about cleaning up the name of our league then we know giving them info to be able to cut through all the crap and deal with this situation is the best course of action.

So now your saying it was random people from Cork taht are euither living in our were visiting Dublin at the time......Oh dear.

The gang of lads were in the ground they left at half time and were told while leaving they would not be allowed back in so in teh 1st half they were CCFC fans but as soon as they left at half time they weren't is it?

I'll grant you the banned lists and pictures, fair enough, it's something Shels don't bother doing (before whinging en masse about their "treatment"), but the club needs to go public on these cretins where possible, name them and shame them, feck it ring their parents. This "Ah shur we banned them, they're nothing to do with us" craic doesn't really cut it. CCFC pointing the Gardai in the direction of this fellas social group might be a good start.
    You accept we've banned them and informed other clubs they are banned and yet still try to somehow blame the club?

Go public? How exactly? You think we can start posting pictures/names of underage kids online or something? There's a million things wrong with that.

The Gardai down here are well aware of the crowd, they have been pointed out many times and spoken to by the Gardai.
    Call their parents? Where exactly do we get their parents numbers? What if we do and then the parents tell us to go feck ourselves. That's a job for the Gardai, not the club.

I will always advocate zero tolerance but similarly there is always a limit to what clubs can do. Once they ban those involved and make sure other clubs are aware of it, and the gardai are aware of possible trouble (goes through the event controller) then what more can they do.

What I don't understand is the complete lack of Gardai. I know in Turner's cross there is a minimum amount of Gardai, per game depending on opposition which are required in order for the event to go ahead. The club pays for these Gardai inside the ground but have litte/no control over how many are deemed necessary. This is decided by the Gardai.

Then there is always extra Gardai outside the ground keeping an eye on the toerags. If anything does look like starting it is stopped fairly quickly.

Where were these gardai in Tolka? Why the complete lack of a presence. Surely they are well aware that Shels, and us, have an element.

Fair Enough.

The perception is still out there though (hence my post) so that's why Bohs were totally, unfairly dragged into it imo.

That's not me having a go at Bohemains btw.

LOL!!

Could the dogs in the streets around Turners Cross not point the Gardai in the direction of the seven youngfellas that were with the lad without you putting appeals on the interweb??

FFS, I could probably identify them from pictures, never mind a Cork fan.

Mealy mouthed nonsense, these children whether you like it or not are associated with Cork City FC, the club has to bear some responsibility for their actions.

To be honest I'd never go to the guards so I'm invoking the righteousness of the internet warrior here, but then I'd also never take on the responsibility of running a football club.

Your first paragraph is you giving your hands a good wash. In the second paragraph you then proceed to buck passing.

In an ideal world what you are saying is of course correct but the league is what it is and isn't changing anytime soon unfortunately, we don't all have shiny Turners Cross' around the corner to rent.

What you neglect to mention when talking up the virtues of event control is the unecessary extra expenditure that policing these cretins brings to the clubs who have to host them. Can you imagine if this lad had died?? Not only are our crowds against Shels and Cork reduced (I wouldn't bring my youngfella if I don't know the craic so wouldn't expect anyone else to) but our security costs sky rocket, we go from no guards to at least a half dozen guards, a dozen stewards to forty stewards. All this because Shels and Cork City have failed to act decisively when dealing with their baby hooligans. Is this fair?? Is this Limericks fault?? Is it Wexfords?? Is it the FAIs??

The chickens very nearly came home to roost last Friday night. The problem I have is that all clubs would end up unfairly tarnished by the nonsense.

In summary, to somehow imply that the behaviour of travelling supporters should be the sole responsibility of the club hosting them is absolute nonsense imo.

If you want a league with event control, planning and grounds like you envisage above then I suggest Cork pull out of the league ask Rovers to join them and ye can play each 30 times a season with gangs of feral children travelling up and down the motorway to get their heads kicked in and it being absolutely nobodies fault.

EDIT: I'M LEAVING THIS LAST SPEEL UP FOR REPLIES INCASE I DIDN'T (it took me like three minutes to write!) BUT JUST READING BACK OVER YOUR POST I REALISE I COULD HAVE TOTALLY MISINTERPRETED THAT BIT I QUOTED. *palmsface*

1. FAI in being innefective shocker.
    2. In fairness to them () it hasn't actually came out that this is football related yet (praise Allah!!) so maybe the FAI are trying to let the smoke clear?? No need to give the Herald any more excuse for a 24 page pullout!!

Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    So now your saying it was random people from Cork taht are euither living in our were visiting Dublin at the time......Oh dear.

The gang of lads were in the ground they left at half time and were told while leaving they would not be allowed back in so in teh 1st half they were CCFC fans but as soon as they left at half time they weren't is it?
    I cant respond in full, i dont have the time to read the posts as i need to work but i will return and reply later on.

But for the record, what i am trying to do is highlight the differences between the eight lads from Cork who travelled with Cork support and for all intents and purposes were City fans. Personally I don't regard them as City / LOI fans because of the damage they have done and hope they are dealt with by the Gardai and that they throw the book at them. I hope its dealt with after the queens visit so it wont be brushed off and made light off.

There is a good chance here imo to press charges and make them answerable and hope to god that this happens.

Again, i will respond later on when i get a chance.
    Last edited by A face; 17/05/2011 at 10:16 AM.

943 Posts
    I'm puzzled ... why doesn't some bobby in Fitzgibbon Street stroll across to the Mater and ask him for the names and addresses of his seven mates?
    If he was in ICU, then stepped down to a HDU ward, for medical reasons Gardai probably wouldn't be allowed to interview him.

Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    You accept we've banned them and informed other clubs they are banned and yet still try to somehow blame the club?
    Whether you like it or not, it's still partially the clubs fault.

Was there a CCFC committee member on the away turnstile helping Shels identify and turn troublemakers away?? If not, why not??

Go public? How exactly? You think we can start posting pictures/names of underage kids online or something? There's a million things wrong with that.

The Gardai down here are well aware of the crowd, they have been pointed out many times and spoken to by the Gardai.
    Call their parents? Where exactly do we get their parents numbers? What if we do and then the parents tell us to go feck ourselves. That's a job for the Gardai, not the club.
    I was engaging in hyperbole for the sake of an internet argument it happens.

Since Friday have CCFC went to the Gardai with information about this child and his "firm"??

I will always advocate zero tolerance but similarly there is always a limit to what clubs can do. Once they ban those involved and make sure other clubs are aware of it, and the gardai are aware of possible trouble (goes through the event controller) then what more can they do.
    CCFC haven't gone above and beyond really though have they?? Have the guards been contacted since Friday?? Was there a member of your committee at the turnstile in Tolka Park on Friday to identify troublemakers?? Did any one of your committee ring the gardai when they were causing trouble in the first half?? (I know technically not their responsibility but still twould be nice) Have these fellas details been circulated by the club around travel companies in Cork to prevent them hiring transport to away games?? (maybe on tricky legal ground there, has the club discussed the possibility with the Gardai??)

Point ultimately being the more you do the less this stink can be associated with your club, CCFC do lots but have they done everything in their power??

What I don't understand is the complete lack of Gardai. I know in Turner's cross there is a minimum amount of Gardai, per game depending on opposition which are required in order for the event to go ahead. The club pays for these Gardai inside the ground but have litte/no control over how many are deemed necessary. This is decided by the Gardai.

Then there is always extra Gardai outside the ground keeping an eye on the toerags. If anything does look like starting it is stopped fairly quickly.

Where were these gardai in Tolka? Why the complete lack of a presence. Surely they are well aware that Shels, and us, have an element
    Dublin on Friday night, maybe the Gardai were busy with other issues besides a dozen teenage warriors. Did anyone ring the guards when they saw these youngfellas acting the maggot?? Did anyone from the vast majority fantastic, travelling, Cork City tell these youngfellas to cop the funk on. It's happened loads of times at Limerick games (happened me a couple of times!!) if someone steps out of line the group sorts them out.

Could ultimately be down to money too of course, guards cost serious amounts and Conan Byrne has to be paid.

It irks me a little that you'll always have at least a dozen of Templemores finest present in or around when we visit Tolka but it just shows you superintendents read the Sunday World too I suppose.

Page 6 of 8 FirstFirst ... 45678 LastLast