Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: Series 13 - Fri 13/Sat 14 - Updates

In the midst of all the other drama, Roddy did it again. 0-3 to Mons against Athlone. 2nd Place is niiiice!

123 Posts
    The mons had an unbelievable easy run out last night

138 Posts
    The Rodster does it again.

Well he is the man, he gave the thumbs to signal that the Bin Laden mission should begin, thats how important a man he is.

It's been reported that the young Cork fan died earlier today.

Regardless of the boy's condition (hopefully the reports aren't true), there'll need to be some inquiry into how a group of fans were isolated like that outside the ground with no police presence.

He's still alive supposedly.

1,825 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Regardless of the boy's condition (hopefully the reports aren't true), there'll need to be some inquiry into how a group of fans were isolated like that outside the ground with no police presence.
    All abuzz over on ShelsChat that the rumours are true. However they are also rumours. So take from that what you will... Here's hoping they aren't true.

But yeah Charlie, there's serious questions that need to be asked as to how the hell what happened was able to happen. When we played Bohs a couple of weeks ago I counted near on 40 Gardaí inside Tolka and not to mention the roadblocks and filtering and segregation that were in place for that game and it's hard to believe that what happened would have happened if the vigilance that was in place that day were in place for last Friday's game. I thankfully missed it and only for a girl in work's leaving do intervening I would have been there with my 10 year old brother. My normal last minute process is to get down to the gate at 85 and get ready to leg it when the whistle goes. Seems like I could've been walking into the s**tstorm. I count by blessings now.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

120 Posts
    I think everyone knows why there were no cops in Tolka Park the other night. But can you make the argument that the cops are responsible for what happened? Money's tight, the Queen's coming, Shels had to do their own security. Shels did their own security; there was no trouble inside the ground. Sure, the roadblocks that were there for the bohs league cup match may have prevented that incident but that bohs match was the only game this year at Tolka with such security.
    That incident took place because there is an element that does not care about the game being played on the pitch. These tribalistic, moronic scumbags are in most clubs and they are a cancer on the league. Most people don't believe it but there is a cure for cancer: communication between clubs followed by liaison with the police. Hope that youngfella lives to learn his lesson.

1,825 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by born2bwild View Post
    I think everyone knows why there were no cops in Tolka Park the other night. But can you make the argument that the cops are responsible for what happened? Money's tight, the Queen's coming, Shels had to do their own security. Shels did their own security; there was no trouble inside the ground. Sure, the roadblocks that were there for the bohs league cup match may have prevented that incident but that bohs match was the only game this year at Tolka with such security.
    That incident took place because there is an element that does not care about the game being played on the pitch. These tribalistic, moronic scumbags are in most clubs and they are a cancer on the league. Most people don't believe it but there is a cure for cancer: communication between clubs followed by liaison with the police. Hope that youngfella lives to learn his lesson.
    No one is putting the entire blame on the cops here. The thing is certain teams attract a certain element... I mean you're hardly gonna have segregation between us and Harps or Mons etc... but knowing the team involved have that element; a bit of foresight would have ensured that what happened may not have happened to the extent that it did.
    Regardless whether the guy involved instigated anything or not we can't use the whole "He got what he deserved attitude either".
    Even when we played ye lads and there was only 60-100 etc of ye (not trying to take the p1ss but you know what I mean) it was made sure that we would keep you in the ground and the guards made sure most of our crets had gotten bored and wandered off by the time ye were alowed out.

Anyway, I'm only going on what I've been reading here and on ShelsChat so it's hard for me to really talk about the ins and outs of what happened with any certainty.

Also... when ya changing your avatar?
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

21 Posts
    He's still alive supposedly.
    Hearing that he's after waking up thankfully.

20 Posts
    You'd have to wonder about the mentality of the people spreading those rumours. If it wasn't tragic enough without that.

305 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Red Army View Post
    You'd have to wonder about the mentality of the people spreading those rumours. If it wasn't tragic enough without that.
    It spread from that MNS Facebook page.I see they have shut it up now.

156 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    But yeah Charlie, there's serious questions that need to be asked as to how the hell what happened was able to happen. When we played Bohs a couple of weeks ago I counted near on 40 Gardaí inside Tolka and not to mention the roadblocks and filtering and segregation that were in place for that game and it's hard to believe that what happened would have happened if the vigilance that was in place that day were in place for last Friday's game.
    Shels and Bohs for obvious reasons is classified as a high risk fixture to have that amount of gardai. I can't recall any reported incidents between Shels and any Cork team in previous years to warrant a substantial police presence.

Obviously there are 15,493 different eyewitness 'reports' floating around the internet so until the exact details over what actually happened reach the public domain there is no point in trying to analyse whether an increased police presence would have prevented this particular incident.
    The Leinster Senior League needs a strong Bohemians

Well it's not necessarily a question of numbers of gardai - it's security as a whole. Who let the fans out of the stadium? If there was a shortage of Gardai, and they were keeping away fans in after the game for safety reasons, then it's all the more imperative that those fans are kept in a controlled space for the entire game. It's a failure of organisation at some link in the chain and it could (and might still) have cost a young man his life.

1,825 Posts
    Irish Times reporting he's out of intensive care.
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2011/0516/1224297038451.html

A teenager who was attacked on Friday night in Dublin has been moved out of intensive care, the Mater hospital has said.
    The 16-year-old was assaulted while at a bus stop on Lower Drumcondra Road, close to the Bishop’s Palace.
    The attack happened on Friday night opposite well-known pub Fagans at about 10pm. The young man sustained serious head injuries and was rushed to the Mater hospital in a critical condition. He spent most of the weekend in intensive care on a life-support machine.
    A spokeswoman for the hospital said he was moved out of intensive care yesterday evening and the hospital was delighted with his progress.
    The bus stop and surrounding property was sealed off for a few hours for forensic examination. Gardaí have appealed for anyone who witnessed the assault to contact Fitzgibbon Street Garda station.
    Last edited by BonnieShels; 16/05/2011 at 9:45 AM.

20 Posts
    Were Corks idiot brigade or 'casuals' giving shels ultras right hand salutes during the first half? I'd hate to see that creeping in if things weren't bad enough.

427 Posts
    Glad to see the young lads condition is improving. Now could we stop referring to these clowns as Shels or Cork fans or indeed football or LOI fans, they are not. Why should the decent fans that support our teams week in week out be tarnished by assossiation with a few utter cretins ?
    This was, after all, a public order issue that happened on a public road.

1,552 Posts
    I don't understand how the second somebody does something out of order they're automatically not fans of the club. They clearly are.

21. Thanks From:

120 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    Also... when ya changing your avatar?
    I'm still in mourning.

Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast