Thread: The big one

861 Posts

The big one

I'm really excited about tomorrow nights game against Cork City and it could go eithier way especially if the likes of Don play to their best but I'm going to be pesimistic and say 1-0 city....should be a good game tho

These next 2 fixtures either side of the break are going to tell us a lot about our chances for the rest of the season. Personally, I'd be happy with a top half finish come the end of the season, but there's no doubt we can compete with the best in this league on our day. If we were to come out of the next 2 games with positive results it would really give the squad a boost, and maybe give them the belief that we could get promoted this season. It's obviously early days yet, and I could be getting ahead of myself, but there's no reason why we shouldn't aim high with the squad of players Cousins has assembled.

With regards tomorrow's match, I don't think any Town fan would be disappointed with a draw. Hopefully we get some sort of result to keep the current momentum going.

220 Posts
    We're due a draw and thats what I'm going for......1-1. If we get 2 or 3 points out of the next 2 games it will be great. Although as you said De Town I'd be happy with a top half finish. But then again isn't there 2 automatic promotion spots and 3rd for a play off??? Could be an opportunity to maybe snatch a play off game if we keep playing this well!!!

1,104 Posts
    Going for a draw too, we're definitely due one. It'll be a tough game though. As regards the season I can't see us finishing ahead of Shels or Cork really. After that you have probably Limerick and Monaghan and we should be in and around them I'd say. Very slim chance of third with a good bit of luck but in reality I'd have taken 5th at the outset and still would really.

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Going for a draw too, we're definitely due one. It'll be a tough game though. As regards the season I can't see us finishing ahead of Shels or Cork really. After that you have probably Limerick and Monaghan and we should be in and around them I'd say. Very slim chance of third with a good bit of luck but in reality I'd have taken 5th at the outset and still would really.
    Im dosed to the gills with the flu but will go to the game. Will keep ye posted as the match progresses.

622 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Salmon Coloured View Post
    Im dosed to the gills with the flu but will go to the game. Will keep ye posted as the match progresses.
    was gna head to the match but hangover has gotten the best of me

Cowan injured in warm up, Roche in. Game kicked off.

205 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    Cowan injured in warm up, Roche in. Game kicked off.
    Its like Owen in for both Rooney and Hernandez.
    Sporting F*ck All!

Well ye're 1 up so ye're doing something right.

Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    Well ye're 1 up so ye're doing something right.
    Finished 1-1 with Cork equalising in the last minute. Fair result & we stood strong tonite. Gutted not to hold on. Skelly ran himself into the ground. Oladele was useless i thought, aimless & blind to boot. He looks like a footballer thats it & he will never set foot in the Premier division. Gillespie taken off after an hour, did grand but nothing special.

1,104 Posts
    Pity we didn't get the bit of luck and hold on but 1-1 with a very competitive performance by the sounds of it is very acceptable. If we can go there and almost win we can hold our own and more against anyone in the division. Great first series from the lads.

622 Posts
    no team beat us by more than a goal so far have they, hows that cousins out campaign going for ye outspoken? :P

861 Posts
    That campaign stopped long ago mate and I'm delighted to say I was totally wrong well done to tony and the lads such a shame we didn't hold on but great result none the less...more of the same vs shels and in series 2 please.

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Salmon Coloured View Post
    Finished 1-1 with Cork equalising in the last minute. Fair result & we stood strong tonite. Gutted not to hold on. Skelly ran himself into the ground. Oladele was useless i thought, aimless & blind to boot. He looks like a footballer thats it & he will never set foot in the Premier division. Gillespie taken off after an hour, did grand but nothing special.
    I agree Skelly looked good. He seems to like the Shed End. He scored a bicycle kick in there last year for Athlone! I'm delighted with our last minute equaliser, but I'm not going with your fair result. Being honest, we should had more goals. But I suppose when you don't take your chances, maybe it is a fair result. You look to have a good side there. We started the same against Finn Harps. They came out and put us under serious pressure, a bit like yourselves. But they ended up losing 5-0. I think you could be the dark-horses if you can take a few more scalps like that!
    [/B][I]P.Esc.

861 Posts
    Was just talking to some cork fans they were telling me Paul hunt had a great game I think we may have finally found a consistent number 1. Also heard Cork should have had a peno....nice to see a bit of luck finally going our way it's usually the other way round.
    Last edited by outspoken; 07/05/2011 at 3:55 PM.

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    Was just talking to some cork fans they were telling me Paul hunt had a great game I think we may have finally found a cinsistant number 1. Also heard Cork should have had a peno....nice to see a bit of luck finally going our way it's usually the other way round.
    Yeah, your keeper made some incredible saves in the first half. And, our penalty shout was stonewall, but what else do you expect in this league? They're not out to get us, they're out to get everyone!

Some pics from last night:
    https://picasaweb.google.com/tonymto...=embedwebsite#
    Last edited by Pablo Escobar; 07/05/2011 at 12:27 PM.
    [/B][I]P.Esc.

gutted with the last minute goal . we were excellent in the first half austin skelly run himself into the ground, gary cronin has bein top notch for us since he took over from mick lee and i think mick will find it hard to get back in. hunty was top notch for us.. cork had so many chances to score so eventually they had to score eventually!

861 Posts
    The injury to Don has come at the right time at least with the week off and it dosnt sound overly serious so hopefully hel be ok for Shels away In 2 weeks.

86 Posts
    gutted with the last minute goal . we were excellent in the first half austin skelly run himself into the ground, gary cronin has bein top notch for us since he took over from mick lee and i think mick will find it hard to get back in. hunty was top notch for us.. cork had so many chances to score so eventually they had to score eventually!
    Was Gary playing the other night? I know him myself. A very nice guy.
    [/B][I]P.Esc.

1,104 Posts
    Played left back as far as I know.