Page 5 of 17 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast

Thread: Barstoolers Love-In

Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    Noticed this too. It's not really an open discussion board if they pick and chose who posts where. I stay well away form it usually myself.
    Well I wouldn't visit the football forum often - I was only going to comment on a thread about the Bradford Fire.

1,821 Posts
    That's one of the main reasons I ended up here. Couldn't be bothered with those Go Ahead Eagles supporting shower anyway!

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Hurt Locker View Post
    Slight problem is that they are not promoting an England rugby jersey!
    No, Jofspring was drawing a possible parallel that would be roundly considered bizarre in the extreme. I was seconding that.

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by culloty82 View Post
    Considering a Liverpool man wrote it, they've more claim to it than we do.
    Wasn't Pete St. John a Dubliner? Besides, it's still an Irish and not a Liverpudlian folk song. And isn't 'You'll Never Walk Alone' the Liverpool anthem anyway? Did Liverpool fans always sing a variation of the wording of the former or is it a relatively recent reincarnation they probably reworded after hearing Celtic fans singing it?

Some helpful advice for the barstoolers (and this really isn't a United wind-up):
    Reminds me of this travesty: http://bleacherreport.com/articles/4...ng-an-epl-team

This being a particular highlight:

Arsenal

Buyer Beware : Big time bandwagon and a lot of "pseudo" fans.

Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    Has to be a wind up - all city fans come from Manchester.

About the only defence of O'Gara is that he's sponsored by adidas, don't know about the Gah anti foreign game muppets.

btw whilst we're talking barstoolers, since when was the "Soccer" forum on boards require additional rights to post? Paranoid gimps.
    Typical bogstoolers.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Hurt Locker View Post
    Imo they are all doing it for the cash. If O Gara got the same money from Cork FC or Limerick FC for that matter he'd prostitue himself aswell.
    Must need it, probably had a bad Cheltenham like a lot of us!

382 Posts
    That prxxx waving his tricolour as the teams come out at white hart lane (with the cringo spurs crest in the white section) is possibly the most annoying of the lot of them. He must be based in London as he's there anytime I am interested enough to go past 2 games on either motd or rte's show and if spurs are featured.

What must the locals think of us ?

Sportingly challenged probably
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

1,821 Posts
    Was in the pub with herself and her friend tonight and on in the background was sky sports. Now it turns out there's apparently this programme called "Premier League World". Never heard nor saw it before.
    Tonight's episode profiled some poxy French Arsenal fans. Now, admittedly I couldn't hear a lot of what they were saying but I didn't need to. At one stage they were filming the Arsenal fans in their local watching Arsenal v Man U. At one stage the camera panned around the bar to some United fan leaving in disgust. He was followed by a friend who was wearing a jacket.
    The friend turned to the Arsenal fans and started taunting them, zipped down his jacket, and started kissing the badge of his Chelsea shirt.

I felt sick. Sometimes I feel like some sort of delusional pr1ck who's trying to tell people about ways for them locally for them to be involved in LOI. But then I see these teuwls in France and I realise that unfortunately we just have to accept that we have to deal with these cnuts indefinitely.
    And I'll be okay with that once you don't start giving out yards to me that my team are sh1t or that the levels of skill aren't like the "Prem"... I DON'T CARE, they're my team! And I will rise and fall with them. You'll rise and fall with whatever Sky decide to show you.
    Last edited by BonnieShels; 13/05/2011 at 12:51 AM.

2,284 Posts

433 Posts

*Language warning
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

305 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    That's one of the main reasons I ended up here. Couldn't be bothered with those Go Ahead Eagles supporting shower anyway!
    You got to LOL over them 2 guys on that Go Ahead Eagles page on Boards.
    I reckon the Go ahed Eagles guy is geniune enough but the other guy-Picarooney- should be hunted down and brought naked to a Mervue game. Let eagles pick off him.

Was in the pub with herself and her friend tonight and on in the background was sky sports. Now it turns out there's apparently this programme called "Premier League World". Never heard nor saw it before.
    Tonight's episode profiled some poxy French Arsenal fans. Now, admittedly I couldn't hear a lot of what they were saying but I didn't need to. At one stage they were filming the Arsenal fans in their local watching Arsenal v Man U. At one stage the camera panned around the bar to some United fan leaving in disgust. He was followed by a friend who was wearing a jacket.
    The friend turned to the Arsenal fans and started taunting them, zipped down his jacket, and started kissing the badge of his Chelsea shirt.

I felt sick. Sometimes I feel like some sort of delusional pr1ck who's trying to tell people about ways for them locally for them to be involved in LOI. But then I see these teuwls in France and I realise that unfortunately we just have to accept that we have to deal with these cnuts indefinitely.
    And I'll be okay with that once you don't start giving out yards to me that my team are sh1t or that the levels of skill aren't like the "Prem"... I DON'T CARE, they're my team! And I will rise and fall with them. You'll rise and fall with whatever Sky decide to show you.
    Spot on. When are we getting the t-shirts printed up

Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    Did Liverpool fans always sing a variation of the wording of the former or is it a relatively recent reincarnation they probably reworded after hearing Celtic fans singing it?
    It's a 2000's invention.

1,821 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    Spot on. When are we getting the t-shirts printed up
    Soon. Very soon.

1,821 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    But as Jofspring points out, Robbie Keane, say, promoting an England rugby jersey or something would be pretty bizarre no matter how much he was being given. This campaign, however, doesn't even warrant the batting of an eyelid within general Irish sporting circles. In fact, I'm pretty sure I came across comments on YouTube lauding the video ads as fantastic. It's embarrassing, is what it is.
    I managed to mention this last night to the 2 girls and even they couldn't understand it. There's hope for is yet lads.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

2,693 Posts
    I managed to mention this last night to the 2 girls and even they couldn't understand it. There's hope for is yet lads.
    2 girls in cant-understand-sports-issues shocker!
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

1,529 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post

21. Thanks From:

1,821 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    Ah Stu... you misunderstood the post. The girls thought that it was odd that the Gooch and Rog were launching a Liverpool shirt.

2,693 Posts
    yeah, i know - i was only joking... i thought the two smilies might have been a clue!
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

433 Posts
    The Boards soccer forum went dead yesterday as these guys were in town..

http://sportsfile.com/more-images/1105085/
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

Page 5 of 17 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast