Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast

Thread: Weekend Latest (w/e 6th May)

415 Posts
    Poor enough game I thought. Shams better team in the first half without really creating a huge pile of chances and thought we were the better team in the second half but only created the one real chance in injury time. Kirby certainly improved things when he came on for Joey. Raf was rubbish again. His first reaction when he gets the ball is to turn back and play it back to the full back. Clarkes kickouts were absolutely shocking and the goal came from yet another one of his bad kickouts.

53 Posts
    A point was daylight robbery, Monaghan were really poor. Sava had to make 2 top drawer saves to keep it at 1-0. The kick-off was delayed a good 10 minutes and the defence just went to sleep for the first goal. Limerick were well set up to defend a lead and carved the United defence open on the break, plus they won everything in the air for 93 minutes, Alan Byrne was the only one tall enough to compete. Playing Isichei was worse than having 10 men, too many aimless balls into the corner for him to chase and he doesn't have the touch to bring other players into the game. At least having the two Brennans up front would make the team have to keep possession instead of having the ball coming straight back to us.

That said, a 94th minute equalizer is a nice feeling

We were muck really but like has been said we were missing key players and Limerick are very big, strong and physical. Man they like to throw themselves about! They were the best team I have seen so far this season and only have Athlone left to see. They really played as a unit and shut us down every time. Delighted with a point. We were calling it our 1-1 win last night coz thats how it felt.

Quote Originally Posted by harleyleeds View Post
    Battered again by shams. Only good thing was ndo was finally taken off and hopefully will be left off for a while. He is not only playing sh**e himself but is a bad influence at the moment. Cook has to do something drastic now before its too late. Desperately need a striker.
    We were only a decent striker away from getting a point really. Had Shams under pressure for the last 20 minutes. It was a mistake from Clarke that gave away the goal in the end, he really didn't have that much to do second half. As for Joey, he's not fully fit but I still expect him to come good again.

I don't know where you're getting 'losing team' from either.

Good craic at the start of the game too with the quality banner. Big red face on Mo'N.

2,770 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    or perhaps upgrade to something that wasnt made at the turn of the last century.

Last edited by SkStu; 07/05/2011 at 2:31 PM.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    Limerick are very big, strong and physical.
    Shels fans were all saying the same thing after we played them, I just don't see it!

A midfield of Shane Tracy, Dave O'Leary, Jeffrey Judge and Paudie Quinn is many things but physically imposing isn't one of them!! Also John Frost at left full might be as strong as seven ordinary men but he's only 5 foot 2. I'd give you the rest of the back four and the two boys upfront mind although for a fella of his size (there's a brilliant photo of himself and Philly Hughes knocking around) I think Brian McCarthy should put himself about a bit more!

Man they like to throw themselves about!
    6 (SIX) yellow cards for Monaghan, one (for handball) for Limerick last night.

They were the best team I have seen so far this season and only have Athlone left to see.
    If Athlone beat ye they're ahead of us.

I wish we were half as impressive as opposition fans say we are.

Brian McCarthy v Philly Hughes: (worth a post of its own)

433 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    or perhaps upgrade to something that wasnt made at the turn of the last century.

Or something from the future..

Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

958 Posts
    The GUST notes in last nights match programme made for an interesting read, just like Nick Leeson's financial accounting! ;P

64 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    The GUST notes in last nights match programme made for an interesting read, just like Nick Leeson's financial accounting! ;P
    It was in a secret code that only the home fans have been told about!

31 Posts
    I know it's the 7th but I hope it's ok to post in this thread............

Shels have beaten Salthill 1-0 away in Drom to return to the top of the First div.

958 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Maroon View Post
    It was in a secret code that only the home fans have been told about!
    I just presumed it was your club accounts! giving the answers to the questions by asking questions again, another Galway code? - answering a question with a question. Still a better programme that the Drogs effort!! First time in Terryland since the new stand it looks great. Pity about the gale blowing up the pitch contributing to a lot of over hit passes and generally making a poor game worse.

1,825 Posts
    Thank fupp for that result. Made hard work of it apparently.

Quote Originally Posted by harleyleeds View Post
    Battered again by shams. Only good thing was ndo was finally taken off and hopefully will be left off for a while. He is not only playing sh**e himself but is a bad influence at the moment. Cook has to do something drastic now before its too late. Desperately need a striker. Problem is who would want to join a losing team. Mcabe is a terrible loss.Derry have to be wondering what happened to let this lot beat them.
    I've been thinking it for a while but now I'm convinced you are actually a Shams fan on here pretending to be a Rovers one.

We lost 1-0, not "battered".
    It's not the first time Ndo has been taken off so what's the "finally" about?
    Nothing for Derry to be wondering about, they had three men sent off ffs.

448 Posts
    sets things up nicely for next Friday. desperately trying to get out of work early for it. huge game

Quote Originally Posted by poster View Post
    We were only a decent striker away from getting a point really. Had Shams under pressure for the last 20 minutes. It was a mistake from Clarke that gave away the goal in the end, he really didn't have that much to do second half. As for Joey, he's not fully fit but I still expect him to come good again.

I don't know where you're getting 'losing team' from either.

Good craic at the start of the game too with the quality banner. Big red face on Mo'N.

lost to ucd ,lost to bohs, lost to shams 4 times so far , all the pressure in the world is no good if you cant score. Not being able to score was listed as main problem by fans after a few games . I hope your right about ndo( i really do) but IMO he is taking the p**s not putting in the effort. How long does it take him to get fit? You have to be honest and admit that Bray must consider us the 4th easiest game that they could be facing Monday and that is why I say were a losing team,teams want to play us cos they feel were an easy game now. Beleive me I take no pleasure in saying this and I hope it turns around but cant see how. Again I dont beleive any striker looking to challange for honours would join us before Derry,Bray,Dundalk or Bohs so no striker = no goals.

64 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    I just presumed it was your club accounts! giving the answers to the questions by asking questions again, another Galway code? - answering a question with a question. Still a better programme that the Drogs effort!! First time in Terryland since the new stand it looks great. Pity about the gale blowing up the pitch contributing to a lot of over hit passes and generally making a poor game worse.
    Yeah, there were a couple of problems with the programme. It was the first time I've ever seen it happen.

433 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OneForTheFuture View Post
    I know it's the 7th but I hope it's ok to post in this thread............

Shels have beaten Salthill 1-0 away in Drom to return to the top of the First div.

Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

I've been thinking it for a while but now I'm convinced you are actually a Shams fan on here pretending to be a Rovers one.

We lost 1-0, not "battered".
    It's not the first time Ndo has been taken off so what's the "finally" about?
    Nothing for Derry to be wondering about, they had three men sent off ffs.
    Sorry to hear that sligoman please dont take everything so literal . You are of course right not battered just beaten, and Derry yes just a little joke." NDO finally " well it means not soon enough. Now just to be clear we have lost,been beaten and/or not won in 4 attempts with shams and I find this very upsetting. This is why I react with anger twoards the team and management, with frustration through words on a damn computer because I cant be there to whinge in person. I dont see anything wrong with complaining about them as there paid (yes I am a member) to do their best each week. OH YES NOT A SHAMS FAN, all the best just the same.

You can return now, Agent Harleyleeds. Your work here is done.

Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast