1,825 Posts
    Go wan Mervue

Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    i think tonight was the night that everyone realises that only Shams will win the league this season. The rest are not close to good enough to even make it fun despite what the league table might say.

Sligo rovers have left the building .....eh league. abselou...absolou....complete sh%$e. What a disapointment this year. 5th now seems out of the question. Surely relegation now becomes a worry? Has cook lost the plot? Are they really a division 1 team? Only Derry can challenge now. Will be curious to see how many at next Showgrounds game.

i think tonight was the night that everyone realises that only Shams will win the league this season. The rest are not close to good enough to even make it fun despite what the league table might say.
    Not even Derry? If they get to mid-season within touching distance I can see them strengthening and having a go. Sligo seem to have lost the ability to win matches.

I was happy with tonight's performance despite the terrible finishing. O'Neill is struggling to score (although he had one that seemed to be incorrectly ruled out) but his all-round play is fantastic. We really lacked that kind of vision and passing ability last season. Will be tough on Sheppard once Twigg comes back because his physicality is a great asset up front. Dennehy's still not playing well though so there's a shout for including him in a wide position.

Quote Originally Posted by Jicked View Post
    Galway have nothing going forward, but that Walsh (#3) is some player if tonights performance is anything to go by
    He was excellent tonight. Never lacks committment. Is improving with each game.
    If YOU are not part of the solution,
    YOU ARE part of the problem

120 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    práisce.
    What does that mean?

2,770 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Not even Derry? If they get to mid-season within touching distance I can see them strengthening and having a go. Sligo seem to have lost the ability to win matches..
    I fear for Kenny's mental state if they are within touching distance at the business end of the season.

Honestly, no, its not some attempt at mind games or whatever, i really dont see any challengers out there.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

Quote Originally Posted by Terry-Lander View Post
    He was excellent tonight. Never lacks committment. Is improving with each game.
    Is he a young lad? Impeccably timed tackle near the end on (I think) Dennehy where getting his timing a split-second off would have resulted in a penalty.

122 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Is he a young lad? Impeccably timed tackle near the end on (I think) Dennehy where getting his timing a split-second off would have resulted in a penalty.
    Only about 20, made his debut last year against ye in July. Can play wide on the left and up front aswell.

Galway has been a recent reliable source of three points and a very nice trip to a very nice city on a very nice day and it does what it says on the tin again. I've heard some teams struggle against them...
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

2,770 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dfx- View Post
    Galway has been a recent reliable source of three points and a very nice trip to a very nice city on a very nice day and it does what it says on the tin again.
    MONg hanging out with the wino's in Eyre Square yet i wonder?
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

942 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by born2bwild View Post
    What does that mean?
    Práisce might be another spelling for praiseach. We'd use it at home in Roscommon (he made pure praiseach of it) to describe somebody messing up, or doing something badly.

Maybe.

Quote Originally Posted by gufc2000 View Post
    Only about 20, made his debut last year against ye in July. Can play wide on the left and up front aswell.
    On tonight's performance you should be building the defence around him.

122 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dfx- View Post
    Galway has been a recent reliable source of three points and a very nice trip to a very nice city on a very nice day and it does what it says on the tin again. I've heard some teams struggle against them...
    Its been a while since we've beaten ye alrite. The lads battled hard tonight, but up front we are struggling. The long ball is taking the likes of Karl Moore out of the game. We might enjoy a bit more success if we played a bit on the ground, but unfortunately our options are limited right now

MONg hanging out with the wino's in Eyre Square yet i wonder?
    Why not, lots to celebrate and catch up on with all Galwegians

I'd hate to have to face a trip back to Dublin having lost a game or a league lead there. Probably would slightly cloud my judgement of the trip, but no team would do that..would they
    Last edited by dfx-; 29/04/2011 at 10:41 PM.
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

445 Posts
    We won, Daryl Kavanagh motm, Drogheda suck, Thats about it really

oh and Sake Bray, I had yous in a treble with Derry and UCD
    Here on a technicality.

What a horrible nite.

70 Posts
    Nice looking league table and the main man still to come back.
    Last edited by hoops1; 30/04/2011 at 12:17 AM.
    Champions 2010
    Champions 2011
    Dick Brush 1 Sligo 0
    Bohs are going bust.

I fear for Kenny's mental state if they are within touching distance at the business end of the season.

Honestly, no, its not some attempt at mind games or whatever, i really dont see any challengers out there.
    I like the fact we ( Derry) are being mentioned , when most Derry fans ( me included) just wanted to stay up this year!!! What will be, will be !!!!!!

176 Posts
    i think tonight was the night that everyone realises that only Shams will win the league this season.
    I think others realised that sometime around March 4th. 20 points from 4 series = 80 points in 6 months time. More than enough.

Btw, I'm still looking around elsewhere on the net to find out which "scum" were against Galway. May take a while.....
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

Page 2 of 12 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast