So anyway, Drogheda are getting relegated!!!
Quite possibly so Kev but we were talking about Derry's potential challenge.
Dont get me wrong, given that we wont win it id love if Kenny could lead Derry to the league. I just dont see it happening and i dont think he has the mental fortitude anymore. Im not trying to insult youse.
I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.
We'll not be near the title this year. Centre of defence is dodgy.
Bohs fans worry far too much about SK's mental state. He managed to have the First Division won after half the season last year, throw it all away again and still end up as Champions!
Nice touch playing White Wedding at half time this evening. I asked for Jerusalem or Land of Hope and Glory but he didn't have them....
i would have tried to get a chant of "whats it like to have a duchess of cambridge" going
What did you think of Buckleys red by the way? Lots of different opinions on the mb. Going by the picture, it looks like it could have been a red. McLean was an idiot by all accounts!
I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.
To us, she will always be the "Baroness of Carrickfergus"......
I didn't have a great view of the red card as we were doing radio commentary and that pole was in my way. Personally I though Buckley went to tackle McEleney, mistimed it and ended up absolutely clattering Lafferty. Personally, I wasn't convinced it was a red and the other lad commentating with me thought the same.
However, no offence to some of the lads of Gypoweb but the myopia of this "Derry players surrounding the referee like Barcelona" is hilarious. What, did the Bohs defenders and midfielders who rushed to the scene of the incident teleport themselves there or what? Persumably Killer roaring at the lino less than 2 feet from his face was a figment of my imagination?
Derry had already had three players booked at that point(Flood's booking for you lot and McGlynn's for us was a complete joke) and next thing Buckley lunges in, what do fans realistically expect players to do? I'm not condoning it, I'd go with the "only the captain" type rule, but there were plenty of Bohs players involved in the "shamozzle" as well.
The full coke bottle that was launched at the referee and had to be removed from the pitch appears not to merit a mention on your forum as well.......
Your lot took umbrage to McClean as he went down under a challenge from Heary early doors in front of the Bohs "end" of the Jodi. For some reason the Bohs fans took particular upset to this, and he got far more boos than McGlynn or Higgins which was surprising. He scored an absolutely cracking goal at the start of the second half and decided to "do a Lennon" and cup his ear at the Jodi as he celebrated. Would I have done it? No. However, if I had his talent, I wouldn't be sitting on internet message boards analysing his behaviour either. However if a Bohs player had done that in Tallaght I can imagine the threads on your forum lauding him. I always think that if fans give the verbals, they can't start weeping buckets if players give a bit back.
Last edited by MariborKev; 30/04/2011 at 2:12 AM.
other than Bray last year that was the worst moment I have had as a mons fan. Feck ya mervue ya bogey team feckers.
Oriel Park tonight :Nothing to report,nothing happened ok.
IT WAS FECKIN 'ORRIBLE IT WAS,WORSE THAN THE WOYAL WEDDIN' !!!
Last edited by bullit; 30/04/2011 at 5:27 AM. Reason: DRINK
We beat Sligo at home; normal service is at last resumed.
Robbie Benson's going to be a good player for us. We can play a bit of ball on a pitch that isn't a tractor field. And if we win on Monday, we're going to be nowhere near the bottom spot.
Sligo offered not a lot really. Not a patch on the team last year. Richie Ryan maybe a bit lucky to stay on the pitch after the ref lost a bit of control late on and a couple of heavy tackles flew in in quick succession (from both sides)
We were poor. Lack of effort and honesty is the most worrying thing.
UCD were well worth the win.
That's the thing that is more worrying then anything else. We're not putting any effort in whatsoever. Lads just standing there waiting for the ball to come to them thinking they'll be able to strut their stuff. Win the battle first and then start playing. UCD wanted to win more then we did and completely deserved the 3 points. It's happened against Shams and Bohs as well recently where a team pressed us a lot and we couldn't handle it. Last season we were pressing the opposition the whole time but now we're not doing that.
Poor enough match. Bad goal to concede from a corner. Dean Marshall should have scored a second just before half time. Raf misses an open goal and then UCD go down the pitch and score the second which was well taken. Don't remember the UCD keeper making a save in the whole match
While they were all rubbish Raf in particular was atrocious. Don't know how he lasted so long. Ndo poor again. Thought Russell was probably the pick of our lot and certainly the only one putting any effort in.
Ref was very lenient throughout the whole match. Thought Ryans tackle was a foul and the time but what in the name of God was he at afterwards going over trying to pick the player up off the ground. Don't think he deserved to be sent off all the same.
Would probably have been a harsh red, but sure you can't go laying hands on players these days. Sami had taken studs to the leg in a late challenge and seemed to be genuinely hurt, and Ryan goes over and tries to pick him up? If nothing else, it was clearly going to provoke the reaction it did (angry UCD players). But as I said, if the ref had given the foul for the tackle, then Ledwith barging into your lad and then another late challenge by a Sligo lad wouldn't have happened; all kind of kicked off from the first tackle (didn't think it was Ryan actually; he just reacted. Could be wrong though). Poor refereeing I thought.
And on the subject of poor refereeing, I couldn't believe that the corner we scored from was initially given as a goal kick. The keeper clearly touched the ball over the bar - not got a touch, but pushed the ball over the bar - and the ref gave a goal kick for a few seconds before being corrected. Incredible decision.
After Monday Sligo rovers will quite possibly be 3 points clear of UCD,4th from bottom I would like to see the reserve team put out and you never know they might win a game. I realise this is an over reaction but this team are a bunch of wasters who need to be sorted. Ndo must be dropped at the very least.
Shocking by Dundalk last night, 6 first teamers out injured, but that was a dreadful performance all the same, really only one good player on show and that was Gary Dempsey, would loved to have had him. But to be fair Bray totally deserved their point, and had more chances to win the game.
Also, on games like last night, it really makes a mockery of the PA announcement when they inform the crowd of the 'Dundalk man of the match' this unfair unsporting nonsense has been going on for over 15 years now.
Should be interesting to see the crowds other teams get this w/e or later in the year where they are at home twice in 3 or 4 days.
#DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).
the chickens have finally come home to roost only last year sligo fans wouldnt listen to our experience of the player and were only interested in licking Ndos rear,Ndo must be dropped at the very least.
Last edited by D.24saint; 30/04/2011 at 2:18 PM.