I sat in an Irish pub, watching an illegal feed put up on a big screen, with only Russians, a couple of Armenians and an Uzbek wondering what was going on. I got in at 4am (under special licence) and now have to do 2 hours work before herself goes to visit her Dad in hospital. However she gave me a hug and mug of tea this morning and said - "you were right, well done." I'm delighted for Rovers, for what they've done, for how this will lift Irish football, and I just hope they will plough the returns into their youth sector to build on this huge result.
Slightly better quality highlights video that includes Rovers' celebrations after O'Donnell scores the peno:
Edit: Actually, more highlights shown in this one and it's from Setanta's coverage:
Last edited by DannyInvincible; 26/08/2011 at 5:11 AM.
Congratulations to everyone involved with Shamrock Rovers! What a wonderful result, and one I never thought I'd see. Every plaudit is deserved!
Sullivan's goal was Fox Soccer Report's "Highlight of the Day" here in the US (and Canada). Goal looked even better on TV!
I actually shed a tear tonight. All those days spent scrambling to find links to watch Irish teams playing in Europe, praying for the breakthrough that we thought would never come. I actually never thought that the moment it happened I'd be working my ass off in a restaurant in NY, only to be told by a text from my sis what was after happening. I always imagined myself glued to the comp screaming my head off and jumping for every ball! - like all of ye on here! (was great reading through it all btw)
It was the first LOI game in Europe in a long time I didnt try to take work off or go out of my way to watch - I thought (like most) that shams had no hope, I also feel like I was actually losing faith, losing faith that it'd ever happen, but just when your on the brink, the unthinkable happens... That's what makes sport a brilliant!
That is what that result means to a Sligo rovers fan, and perhaps more importantly tonight, a LOI FAN.
Last edited by Dublin Red; 26/08/2011 at 6:19 AM.
Everyone's talking (rightly) about rubbing this in the faces of fans of English and Scottish football. Let's not forget our nordy friends who claim their teams are as good as ours, bless 'em
Some more Twitter updates:
Floriana FC
Congratulations to our Irish friends Shamrock Rovers F.C. - They made it to the group stages of the Europa League.
Daniel McDonnell
Have to say, in terms of the bandwagon element, got a great voicemail from unnamed radio show researcher around midnight tonight...[ctd]
"Oh, sorry, heard foreign ring tone. You must be on holidays or something. I wanted to see if you could talk on show about Shamrock Rovers."
They're still rolling in thick and fast by the second. The club's name is being tweeted right around Europe as fans of competing clubs express hopes of drawing Rovers as part of their "ideal draw".
Congrats to all involved with Shamrock Rovers FC. What a great night for the club and the league in general.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...e-2858775.htmlAN incredible night for Shamrock Rovers. A ground-breaking night for Irish football. Historic. Brave. Fearless. No amount of adjectives can do it justice.
Congratulations Rovers, wonderful, heroic performance, truly phenomenal acheivement, take a bow each and every one involved with the club.
What a story over the last few years, fairytale stuff for the fans. Brilliant!![]()
more bass
Great to come into work today and hear everyone talking about the match last night
Nope, Setanta and TV3 hold the rights for Ireland. I'm kinda glad to be honest. RTE are a shower of hoors for jumping on the bandwagon at any sign of success. Just look back at the under-19's a few weeks ago - once they qualified from their group, RTE took an interest. However, a complete lack of interest up until then. RTE SHOULD have shown last night's game, but just couldn't be bothered. Fair play to Setanta for stepping in and doing so.
Up the Harps!!
Don't mention it , sure twas only over the road.![]()
A fantastic achievement considering where ye have come from over the last few years.
A true success story of a fan run club, from promotion out of the First Division to European Glory.
If that doesn't show our lads what they've got to do, I don't know what will.
"Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."
http://worddok.blogspot.com
Anyone still on an absolute high from last night??? I know I am and Im not even a Rovers fan.
Looking forward to the draw at 12 now. Ah man this is fantastic-either way there will be one or two 'glamour' ties for Rovers. For some reason Id love them to draw Stoke or Fulham, it would be a good draw from a media/attendance point of view and I also think Rovers would give them a real good game.
Its a pity that the games cant be played in Tallaght, but with sensible pricing and perhaps closing the upper tiers (open only if required), maybe the aviva can be used to great effect.
Also, I know this may screw up the league scheduling a bit, but if necessary it should be extended to accomodate Rovers in Europe. We as a league should be supporting each of our clubs in Europe, not hindering them. (I hope Im wrong but) This opportunity may not come around again for a few years.
Amazing, amazing result and performance. The quality and type of football they played make it even better. Had a good feeling about the tie all along, never thought those guys looked better than Copenhagen; they lacked a certainty maturity, something that Rovers proved they themselves did have. Great day for everyone who cares about football in this country.
Some very decent, magnanimous folk on here, fair play all round.
As far as Shams go, great achievement to come back after being behind both at home and away, shows some cojones. And the Sullivan goal! reminded me of the Zidane cracker at Hampden Pk in the CL final, every bit as good. The penalty was good too must have been nerve shredding the way the ball wouldn't hold still.
Still smiling this morning, still find it hard to believe. Waited years and years for this but deep down I assumed it would never happen. I really hope Rovers can give a good account of themselves now.