Results 3,381 to 3,400 of 3666

Thread: LOI in Europe 2011

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TiocfaidhArmani View Post
    They shamed us again and reminded me why I can't stand them.
    Are you for real? Feeling shame about alleged actions at a match you weren't at, reading reports from a football forum in a country not involved in the game, going off only those second-hand reports that you want to hear and not bothering your hole to work out for yourself what really happened? A tabloid attitude at its most ridiculous.
    Rovers fans were a credit to the club and the league last night. Paul_oshea rightly notes that some Tottenham fans stayed behind to applaud them. I was at Arsenal v Olympiakos on Wednesday as well and the Rovers fans were singing for much longer than the Greeks (and the Greeks are well known for the atmospheres they can create). Place went mad when the goal went in; the reply was fairly vicious, but expected really - Spurs were generally far better than Rovers throughout.
    Good craic though; I think I owe paul_oshea and Crafty a pint still - getting your round in early in a group that keeps increasing in size is always awkward! The food robbing was entirely Stutts' fault though...

55 Posts
    Are you for real? Feeling shame about alleged actions at a match you weren't at, reading reports from a football forum in a country not involved in the game
    The fella who commented is from that very city it was played in. There's pictures going around of them doing it apparently, I can't see it in work.

The pub full of Celtic fans I was in went wild when Rovers scored and all. If only they knew the attitude of LOI fans to them. Looks I was getting when I cheered Spurs goals

Just flicking through the channels here in Thailand and the Rovers game is on. Sweet.

3,491 Posts
    There's pictures going around apparently?! Ah well that changes everything.

And a Londoner confirmed this for you? Well, he must know every single thing that goes on in London, seeing as he's from there.
    Last edited by pineapple stu; 30/09/2011 at 5:42 PM.

433 Posts
    I wonder if mypost has a vacant seat on the spaceship for chucky
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

205 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    If the reports are true, clearly these people are a disgrace and should be rooted out.

Back to the match, it was incredible to watch. An incredible effort to be 1-0 up but in the end when you're up against a strike force of world class players like Defoe, Pavlyuchenko and Dos Santos they're going to make goalscoring opportunities for themselves. Great effort, roll on PAOK.
    If Dos Santos is world class, I'm twice as good as Messi.
    Sporting F*ck All!

64 Posts
    Looks I was getting when I cheered Spurs goals
    I'm sure you got the attention you craved.
    False hope is worse than no hope. Ask Sligo.

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    I thought the food was laid on for the punters!

Great effort by Rovers. Fans superb.* Credit to LOI and all in the Irish game.

Would like to see the national side being prepared to pass the ball as much as Rovers were.

*occasional English-style stuff like "Who are ya, who are ya" as PO'S alluded to, but generally the singing was vocal, enthusiastic and Rovers-idiosyncratic.
    Stutts i turned to you just after half time and said id rovers can play like this away from home against far superior opposition this proves exactly what i have been saying about trap and Ireland. rovers played football we Ireland fans could only dream about at times.it was very entertaining. It really put paid to the whole defenders of the trap system and it was great to see.

Really enjoyed the shamrock rovers champions....when everyone was singing.sounded very good.the arsenal chant was funny too.

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    rovers played football we Ireland fans could only dream about at times.it was very entertaining. It really put paid to the whole defenders of the trap system and it was great to see.
    Yeah but in the end, as impressive as it was, Rovers lost. Ireland haven't.

55 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by hoopy View Post
    I'm sure you got the attention you craved.
    No, as a member of the GAA, I remember their adoption of loyalist anthems and screaming it like English hooligans, and believe me the cheering of Spurs came from the heart!

And a Londoner confirmed this for you? Well, he must know every single thing that goes on in London, seeing as he's from there.
    He was in a pub full of them yesterday, he doesn't know what goes on everywhere in London, but he knew what went on in that pub because he was there. Why start a thread about it and make up a fake story? What motive has he got to lie about a club he knows little about and cares little about?

3,491 Posts
    Have we even seen this thread or have we only got your word for it?

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    Yeah but in the end, as impressive as it was, Rovers lost. Ireland haven't.
    In fairness, the difference in clas between Spurs and Rovers is probably greater than that between Spain and Ireland.

120 Posts
    Great night for Irish footie - jaysus when they went 1 up it was real 'pinch yourself this can't be happening' stuff. Of course, Spurs brought everyone back to earth fairly quickly and I think a Shels win tonight will be a better night for Irish footie, but they did us proud.
    Really good PR for the league.

64 Posts
    No, as a member of the GAA, I remember their adoption of loyalist anthems and screaming it like English hooligans, and believe me the cheering of Spurs came from the heart!

What were these loyalist anthems? As a Celtic fan myself I'm intrigued.

What motive has he got to lie about a club he knows little about and cares little about?
    Sounds very like your good bogball buddy from Thomas Davis

55 Posts
    You can't see it, it's a members only viewing forum. I copy and pasted it. Would you like to see a screenshot?

64 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by born2bwild View Post
    Great night for Irish footie - jaysus when they went 1 up it was real 'pinch yourself this can't be happening' stuff. Of course, Spurs brought everyone back to earth fairly quickly and I think a Shels win tonight will be a better night for Irish footie, but they did us proud.
    Really good PR for the league.
    Perhaps you can have a word with your Shels friend. He seems to be troubled by something.

55 Posts
    Sounds very like your good bogball buddy from Thomas Davis
    Bogball? How clever.

433 Posts
    Bogball? How clever.
    Are you new to this?? christ on a bike... Hows about stickfighting?
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

23. Thanks From:

120 Posts
    What is this...someone alleging Shams fans made fascist salutes and sang Austwitz chants?

It was a great night with so much to celebrate and admire. Out of all that solid good news, what kind of fan of the LoI is going to choose to focus on the alleged carry on of a tiny minority of cretins????

120 Posts
    Perhaps you can have a word with your Shels friend. He seems to be troubled by something.
    No, man, I'm too hungover to bother my hole with that. Besides, I'm heading down to Tolka now...good luck, lads.