Results 3,341 to 3,360 of 3666

Thread: LOI in Europe 2011

67 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thischarmingman View Post
    Link/video/pics .

Heard it from people at the game, was reported by a few on Twitter too. If they didn't have previous for it I probably wouldn't have believed it either

Quote Originally Posted by thischarmingman View Post
    or shut up.
    Nope

53 Posts
    That was a great game to be at and the noise for the goal was amazing. There were signficant pockets of Rovers/Irish fans all around the stadium, you could see it at the end when they stayed to clap the players off, so I'd say the 4000+ figures aren't far wrong.

229 Posts
    Hat's off to Rovers. I don't like defeats but we have to be realistic when coming up against a top UK southern league side. I think Shamrock did themselves, the league and the country proud. Hat's off to their fans last night.
    https://foot.ie/forums/117-Kerry-FC
    A Championship: 4 years - 8 first teams - 0 financially ruined. First Division '14: 7 first teams.
    Opportunity lost for new clubs/regions to join the LoI family.

96 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by legendz View Post
    a top UK southern league side.
    <adopts Manuel voice>

Que?
    Last edited by A face; 30/09/2011 at 12:31 PM. Reason: fixed quotes

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibs4Ever
    Heard it from people at the game, was reported by a few on Twitter too.
    Twitter, the reliable bastion of info, that said we'd be at home to Spurs first, and every game would be at Lansdowne. There's a reason why it's called Twit-ter, so I don't believe anything out of there anymore.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    Twitter, the reliable bastion of info, that said we'd be at home to Spurs first, and every game would be at Lansdowne. There's a reason why it's called Twit-ter, so I don't believe anything out of there anymore.
    All you have to do is look at all the picture which have been posted on Facebook and it is fairly obvious that the salutes were made.

42 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by alltogethernow View Post
    All you have to do is look at all the picture which have been posted on Facebook and it is fairly obvious that the salutes were made.
    what facebook page ?

Quote Originally Posted by desaintsno.12 View Post
    what facebook page ?
    People posting the stills from the crowd.

Left hand, right hand, it doesnt matter to shamrock fans

42 Posts
    People posting the stills from the crowd.

Left hand, right hand, it doesnt matter to shamrock fans

ye thats from israel (they do pick their spots) any from last night ?

[SIZE=3][FONT=Calibri]Cant copy the ones from last night, they are floating around though[/FONT][/SIZE]

I heard about this, didnt witness it myself, but it was going around alright.

Pretty pathetic but the majority of fans were respectful and they were respected by spurs fans too, being clapped as they left the stands. But as I said to stu, it only takes a few to paint "a whole picture".

What i did find pathetic is how some of the fans model themselves on the English football system, and singing english chants and all that sh1te. Get over yer inferiority complex and come up with something original and Irish.

Having said all that the support was phenomenal and really really something special.

427 Posts
    [SIZE=3][FONT=Calibri]Cant copy the ones from last night, they are floating around though[/FONT][/SIZE]
    Out of a sizable crowd of Shams regulars / ex Pats / tourists and assorted day trippers there are a few morons - who would have thought it
    On the pitch (this is still a football forum right ?) I thought they did OK. Ricer had a very good game and Brush made some excellent saves. Never felt they were going to win (even when they took the lead) but good effort and certainly let no one down. Not the slaughter bar stool EPL fans were expecting.

Got this from a mate who was in the actual rovers end south stand lower that is behind the goal. He isn't really that big into soccer, so was in his work suit and whatever, but it appears they were well received by all accounts.

"the rovers fans were quite funny. wanted to be everybodys mate. chatting and shaking the coppers hands. playing with the horses. talking to lorry drivers loading lorries...."

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea
    What i did find pathetic is how some of the fans model themselves on the English football system, and singing english chants and all that sh1te. Get over yer inferiority complex and come up with something original and Irish.
    Do elaborate.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

55 Posts
    Shamrock Rovers - Ireland's shame.
    I was in The Twelve Pins in Finsbury Park yesterday to meet a few rovers fans that I know. We get a beer and head outside. The rovers fans were in good voice, chanting away. About a dozen of their casuals start belting out 'Spurs are on their way to Auswitch', complete with Sieg Heil chants and nazi salutes. Not one rovers fan challenged them.
    Post on the Huddleboard from London CSC. Nothing to do with LOI so no reason to lie. Delighted they lost, can not hide my hatred for the supporters and large scum element that support that horrible club. Well done Spurs.

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    Do elaborate.
    .... better still, please dont. We have had this "debate" about LOI fans mimicking EPL fans on numerous occassions. It happens all over the world - especially Europe - and is a tired subject at this stage.

50 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibs4Ever View Post
    Heard it from people at the game, was reported by a few on Twitter too. If they didn't have previous for it I probably wouldn't have believed it either
    Nope
    Was at the game too.
    Saw nothing of the sort
    "Now jump up there and stuff that son of a bitch in the basket, chief"

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    North London is sh!te London is sh!te full stop.would be class anywhere else.anyway in Tue Irish centre now on pretoria road goose craic.even if stutts and pineapple stu started helping themselves to a mates client dos food.

Anyway unreal atmosphere.best ive ever experienced.

Thought third goal was very unfair free on Sullivan.and def Peno at the end. Fair play to rovers did loi proud and anyone associated in anyway with football in Ireland
    I thought the food was laid on for the punters!

Great effort by Rovers. Fans superb.* Credit to LOI and all in the Irish game.

Would like to see the national side being prepared to pass the ball as much as Rovers were.

*occasional English-style stuff like "Who are ya, who are ya" as PO'S alluded to, but generally the singing was vocal, enthusiastic and Rovers-idiosyncratic.
    Last edited by Stuttgart88; 30/09/2011 at 11:20 AM.

445 Posts
    Headlines from RTE

O'Neill Salutes Hoops effort
    O'Neill Hails gutsy Hoops Display
    Clearly a Nazi
    Here on a technicality.

23. Thanks From:

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Was at the game as well - great support all throughout the game, Spurs def raised their effort after the Rovers goal, and won handy in the end. Never heard any nazi songs or nazi salutes and sounds to me if thats a load of bull as most of the rovers fans i saw in convent garden and at game were cool, friendly and giving the LOI a good name.
    Was great while it lasted!