Page 140 of 184 FirstFirst ... 4090130138139140141142150 ... LastLast
Results 2,781 to 2,800 of 3666

Thread: LOI in Europe 2011

130 Posts
    Congrats rovers!! Absolutely superb. The result we have been waiting so so many years.

Let's be fair, partizan were the better but when rovers did actually play and keep the ball, they looked very good. They shouldn't be intimidated by these type of teams, yes be conservative but when they went to 2 up front the difference was unreal.

And what a goal, honestly if messi scored that it would be repeated over and over.

Finally a really good news story for the league and its inspiration to all the other clubs in this country, what a well run club can do.

Also credit to setanta for showing the game and shame on our national broadcaster. I came home and saw the celtic game in the listings for setanta and was gutted. Burt glad it was wrong, who wants to watch scottish teams exit out of europe when we can watch our own champions qualify!!

155 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by superfrank View Post
    Generally, I'd agree with you. I don't support LOI teams in Europe 'cos they're my rivals the rest of the time.

However, this is an exception. Rovers have made a massive breakthrough, not just for themselves, but for the whole league. This isn't just going to benefit Rovers for the next few months, it will benefit the whole league for the next few years.

You'd want to be really bitter not to enjoy it.
    Are the FAI going to go socialist on the league by confiscating Rovers' €2,000,000+ prize money and splitting it amongst the other 20 clubs? There will be no trickling down effect.

Great night for Rovers, disaster for competition in the league
    The Leinster Senior League needs a strong Bohemians

305 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thischarmingman View Post
    And the Bohs lad !!

291 Posts
    Most users ever online was 716, 25/08/2011 at 10:05 PM.

2,284 Posts
    I hope Colbert Report was watching this evening.

108 Posts
    Shamrock Rovers trending worldwide on twitter

Going off on a tangent, i like the diagram not really sure it fits perfectly to what hoofball is saying all the same though.

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sullanefc View Post
    Well done Shamrock.

Now, when are the PFAI going to start asking the players to strike over the fact that the games will go beyond the length of some contracts plus they will want a slice of all the wonga that Shamrock will make now.
    In fairness after the way they put their bodies on the line 2n, they all should be entitled to share in the financial success of this.

Let's enjoy tonight and the draw 2m. So much to look forward to. But also this must not be a one off, we need as a league to build on this.

The least any group stage side appeared to get last season was Hadjuk Split at €1,225,078
    First Division Champions

24 Posts
    Great result for Rovers and hopefully a good news story for the league for the change
    And Miles To Go Before We Sleep

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    I hope Colbert Report was watching this evening.

Ha ha very true it was only recently he was posting some of thre worst stuff I've seen him post on the league.

Fcuk the begrudgers.

Those type of emotional rollercoasters games are usually reserved for the national team but that was unreal and all the better, the sweet smell of success for a change!!

55 Posts

Hats off

to the hoops, Congrats to all of their supporters

Jesus if O'Neill's Rovers can do this, imagine what Cook's Sligo will do in Europe this year

51 Posts
    Congrats to Rovers from all down here in Mayo ..... its a massive achievement for league of Ireland football

2,284 Posts
    Will anyone spare a thought for Alan Mannus?

1,825 Posts
    I'm absolutely over the moon here. This is one if the greatest nights if sport I've ever experienced. Combine Dublin 95, Genoa 90, Cardiff 09... this is the night. MariborKev said it better than I ever could.

Say it loud....

I'm LOI and proud!!!
    Congratulations Rovers. And let's not forget Sligo, Pats and Bohs in all of this, but this is the night!!!

Be proud lads it doesn't happen often!

Delighted. Come on!
    Last edited by BonnieShels; 25/08/2011 at 9:53 PM.

101 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bullit View Post
    TV3 usualy show those matches on its sister channel sattelite,3e.Whats the betting that they move them to the terrestial channel now ??
    3e isn't just on satellite, it's on terrestrial TV on Saorview.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

:Lads i mentioned it already, but fair play to all of you who thoroughly deserve it, but this thing is trending on facebook and twitter like the international team when henry handled the ball(the cheating cnut).

We argued on this before that something like this would make those who have no interest stand up and take notice, and it certainly has. Lets just hope it can be sustained or used positively.

46 Posts
    if anyone wants to e mail sky sports with the rovers goal their e mail is u2us@skysports.com. The link for the goal is http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vOfNq6JY_BE&sns=fb

It would be great for the league if they showed this on skysports news.

Goal shown on RTE2 there now.