Results 2,121 to 2,140 of 3666

Thread: LOI in Europe 2011

398 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by marinobohs View Post
    Think thats a little harsh to be fair. Thought shams did well in the first half and could (maybe should ?) have scored first, resulting in a very different game. Once Copenhagen scored the game as a contest was over and they ran out very comfortable winners. Personally thought that the tie swung on first goal last night and that shams played well against very decent opposition until the tie was well beyond them
    Don't get me wrong, they did well, but MON has always struck me as more concerned with not losing than going for it. They did well and the Danes didn't have too many chances to over run them, and true, if Turner's header had gone in it would have been a much more interesting game. I guess it just disappoints me that with all the talent at his disposal MON just doesn't get the best out of them.

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Spudulika View Post
    Don't get me wrong, they did well, but MON has always struck me as more concerned with not losing than going for it. They did well and the Danes didn't have too many chances to over run them, and true, if Turner's header had gone in it would have been a much more interesting game. I guess it just disappoints me that with all the talent at his disposal MON just doesn't get the best out of them.
    ........ wait until they see Nutsey's european tactics

398 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jicked View Post
    You'd have to seriously have it in for MON if you tried to blame him for anything last night. We gave it as good a shot as we could, with a lot of thanks to his tactics/formation and for as long as the tie was alive (half time yesterday) we made things difficult for FCK. Turner's header goes in and you never know, thats about all you can ask for when you're up against one of Europe's top teams. Next year you just have to hope you get lucky and that ball bounces in for a change, or even better we don't get the hardest possible team in the draw for a third year running.
    Not in the least, as I've already stated I find the man pleasant on a personal level and respect him as a coach, though I don't see him as being able to make that mental step forward/up with the players he has on the books. Luck, well, I'm not so sure if what happened last night can be ascribed to luck. If Rovers had 15 chances on goal then you could say the team increased their luck. Rovers didn't.

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Spudulika View Post
    Jicked, as I said, I don't have it in for the man. On a personal level I always find him pleasant, he's a good manager to get a team to a certain place, but if you look at some of the players he has at his disposal it's an anomaly that he just doesn't get the best from them. I don't believe in luck, if Rovers had 23 chances on goal then they're creating a higher percentage of scoring - making themselves luckier if you believe in it. They were able to match the Danes but again I go back to the negative mindset MON too often seems to instil in his teams.
    I thought we were purposeful throughout, tried to get numbers forward when we could and if we had a better final ball could have scored over the two legs. Our attacking players might seem like a LoI all star team, but they're ex Brechin City, Oldham Athletic, UCD and Galway Utd. Up against a team like FCK we got just about as much as we could from them. go any more "gung ho" and we wouldn't have been able to get the ball back, instead for 30 minutes we had McCormack running the show. If we can keep knocking on the door over the next couple of years we'll take one of those half-chances and go through.

398 Posts
    I thought we were purposeful throughout, tried to get numbers forward when we could and if we had a better final ball could have scored over the two legs. Our attacking players might seem like a LoI all star team, but they're ex Brechin City, Oldham Athletic, UCD and Galway Utd. Up against a team like FCK we got just about as much as we could from them. go any more "gung ho" and we wouldn't have been able to get the ball back, instead for 30 minutes we had McCormack running the show. If we can keep knocking on the door over the next couple of years we'll take one of those half-chances and go through.
    I agree completely with you on the possibility of breaking through in the next 2 years, though I don't see MON as the man to do it. Earlier this year I sat watching Rovers in Tallaght trying to figure out when they would just cut loose a little. I know it's always a risk to push on, though there is a fear in the play that is not going to improve. Then again, I'd love to be proved 100% wrong in a couple of weeks with Rovers making the EL group stage, along with Sligo and Pats (after they put 5 past the Ukranians).

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by poster View Post

Assume if a club was to qualify for group stages of a Euro comp then players would have to be paid throughout Winter. Good craic that'd be!
    Thats where the fun really starts!

Where most players are out of contract at the end of October they are in a very strong negotiating position.

Clubs can extend exisiting contracts by agreement with a player before the end of the season, but to replace a player who will not agree a new contract they must wait 'till the transfer window in January (unless he was out of contract at end of July)

3,491 Posts
    Whut?

Whut?
    Sorry wrong forum....but it did get me thinking

105 Posts
    Any more on the fighting between Shamrock and FCK fans? I heard FCK got a Shamrock banner as a souvenir and a few of their fans arrested?

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sean South View Post
    Any more on the fighting between Shamrock and FCK fans? I heard FCK got a Shamrock banner as a souvenir and a few of their fans arrested?

...... oh crap, I must have clicked on the "two sets of morons fighting in Tallaght" thread by mistake

105 Posts
    Same lads drinking in Dalyer so?

427 Posts
    Same lads drinking in Dalyer so?
    Genuinely have no idea about it apart from a mention on bohs website of an "attack on Copenhagen fans outside the Maldron". No idea if it is true or not (not especially bothered either way)

There'd have to have been FCK fans in attendance for that to happen.
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

49 Posts
    its just a pity turners header didnt go in would have been a great goal and changed the tie. Copenhagen are nothing special just a pity they scored a sh1ty goal to basically kill off the tie. Shams did well before they scored and made them look ordinary which i think they are. just shows the importance of an away goal in europe. All our sides in europe just have to take any goal chances we get but we rarely seem to do which is frustrating. On a side note on Twigg, his first touch is very poor and he just dosent look up to it at a higher level. thats just my opinion, hope he proves me wrong in the near future in europe.

Quote Originally Posted by dfx- View Post
    There'd have to have been FCK fans in attendance for that to happen.
    There were 36.

186 Posts
    Correct if wrong but did MON not leave one up front for the last half hour even when ye still needed to score three.
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

1,825 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    There were 36.
    And not an umbrella between them.

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by redobit View Post
    Correct if wrong but did MON not leave one up front for the last half hour even when ye still needed to score three.
    Yes, the game was over at that stage. We also didn't send Thompson up for corners in the last minute for the same reason and started substituting our key players.

51 Posts
    Glasgow Rangers are out as well .... and i believe if Shamrock Rovers were playing Malmo ... Rovers would have won that tie and be in the next round. Good luck to Sligo and St Pats tomorrow

From what I saw in that game there wasn't a huge gulf in class between Shams and Copenhagen. They were that bit stronger physically maybe and could stroke it around well at times. More clinical over the two legs as well.
    Still all to play for in the Europa league for them. They certainly didn't let themselves down.
    Nice display the ultras put on as well.