Thread: disgrace

disgrace

another disgraceful performance.matthews has to wake up.lavine,digger when called upon kirby and barrett showed heart but that is it and keegan and francis are useless full stop.............................................. ........
    Copperknob!!!

Not much to say about that match really.Kirby,Lavine,Barret and Prunty the only ones to come out with any real creditBeaten 2-0 by a shels b team.Is anyone else ****ed off that after such a promising end to last season,a good pre-season and considerable strenghtening of the squad,we are now looking at the derry game nxt sat as a must win to stay away from the bottom.
    I'm also ****ed off with our support.When a chant starts there might be 100 people clapping and one or two people singing it sounds pathetic.The people clapping are the very people who will give out about the atmosphere.They consider clapping adding to the atmosphere and some fans seem to go just to abuse the players.Telling a player he is useless isn't going to make him play any better.
    I'm watching sky sports news now and "LONGFORD TOWN 0-2 SHELBOURNE" is going along my screen.Isn't it funny that there are probably more people in england at the moment who know the result of tonights match then in ireland.Maybe thats why there was a scout from Aston Villa there.
    We need to hit the net more.Jason Byrne has scored more goals in the league then our whole team
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

And yet, it being the funny old game that we all love, if Eric had taken either of his chances, the mood would be very different!
    Though I have to agree with you on the atmosphere thing. Ye were louder in Tolka.
    No Elvis, Beatles or the Rolling Stones
    In 1977

Quote Originally Posted by The Sheliban
    Ye were louder in Tolka.
    were always louder away 4 some reason

112 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bosco
    Jason Byrne has scored more goals in the league then our whole team
    Thats some statistic...but a sad one.. what the hell is happening?
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

250 Posts
    i think xlex hit the nail on the head with his post a different thread.

all we need is just one game where things go to plan i.e. the forwards score the goals in a 2/3 nil win.
    we are just missing that vital spark to ignite the whole team.you can see the potential out there as they play their matches,you are just waiting to see shane barrett one on one with the goalie or the ball landing on sean francis forehead at a corner for us.but at the moment that is just not happening.you would have to say the forwards arent really getting the quality of ball they need.

i think it will eventually turn our way we just have to keep at it.the heads will lift visibly when it does.
    Last edited by the 12 th man; 12/06/2004 at 11:06 AM.

couldnt make the game last night....i was helpin people exercise their democratic right to vote!! but anyways how did the team play overall? was it a case of chances and no goals?

no matter what way its goin i hate the fact people are calling for matthews to go! come on lads this is crazy. we hit a good patch we go back up the table and hes the best in the world....honestly some of yez are so fickle
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

The worrying thing about the Shels game that has proved to me is that plenty of town payers are being paid way too much money and there is no much passion in the team . We are missing a player that would take the game by the scruff of the neck like roy keane or stevie gerrard.

What has happened to Dean Fitzgerald? Excellent in the first game he has done absolutely nothing since then-a few of us reckon that he just wanted to prove to warrant a contract and has gone missing since then.

As for that Barry Ferguson he was very much to blame for THAT second goal he was too lazy in getting to Vinnys backpass and let them in.

I think the only way to wake these lazy feckers up is put them on the transfer list . Also why is Eric not playin upfront from the start? Matthews and his hidden agendas?

Too many players believing their own publicity not appreciating the hard earned cash that the supporters have forked out to go to the game. Is it any wonder that noone will come out any more-we are easily the worst team at preseent by a long shot. In my opinion a few of the lads reckon it will be a struggle against relegation and BY GOD it will be . Nobody is too good to go down.

No spark, no spriit and passion in the camp, we had that when Spock was maanging us. At least if we were behind by a goal or two under Spock we could come back to draw or even win(Bray Wanderers a few years ago!) There is too much of a divide in the camp in my opinion-no freeflowing football.
    No much long ball! the list goes on...

This match on Tuesday nite will be our most important match of the season -we need to get some passion and we want these players to prove us wrong. From where I was the only player I saw that was gutted was Eric after the final whistle. If we lose tuesday nite, the inevitable will have to happen.I have even heard today that if we lose that a lot of town supporters will not travel to Derry on saturday in protest.I was speaking to a ex supporter in town today who said to me that he has stopped going to home matches this season cos he knows quite well what is going to happen and strangely enough the last match was the cup final!

Someones head has to roll sometimes if these diabolical passionless performances continue. This is going back to the bad days under Martin Lawlor

The last time I can rem a town team that was pathetic up front was mickeys o connors team in 97/98 and we finished bottom of division one.

So my message to Matthews and his so called players is GET YOUR ****IN ACT TOGETHER or a lot of supporters will turn on ye! It is a insult to pay in and see the same **** week after week! Ye just never seem to know from yer mistakes!

VERY FEDUP SUPPORTER

FFS, talk about an over reaction. Again, second half we created plenty of chances (Lavine played well, but he is as guilty as anyone with that miss when one on one!). Second half we were the one's pressurising, and then got hit on the break. Not sure what people expect off the forwards when they get no decent ball - look at the midfield (sorry, forgot, the untouchable Vinny is in there). On the face of it, Fitzgerald hasn't worked out so far, looking sluggish, but then what did we expect after him playing a full season up north?

Sometimes wonder whether people are watching the same game, are realistic enough when it comes to us playing full time teams, and aren't just waiting to pounce on the Matthews out bandwagon.

Who's got the Town to the highest finishes in the league, 2 cup finals, one FAI Cup win, Qualifying for Europe on our own merit (not because Bohs did the double)? Suppose that was a Stephen Kenny team too

This is real hurler in the ditch stuff. a 3 or 4 nil roll-over couldn't draw much more criticism. Marty, It's really not right comparing this season with Spock's seasons. A lot has changed since then. Heart was evident in those days because of a huge combo of reasons. The home support isn't passionate enough and the buck stops there. We need to raise the support and hopefully the game will follow. can honestly say that only one player from the Kenny era is really worth his game week out week in and he was in white on Friday night. The second at a considerable distance is spud.

Support is a two way thing. Firstly, (IMO) the support has to be optimistic. In fairness, if you can be at a game you should be. Floating supporters such as the "ex-supporter" you met are the support we really lack. If I was a pessimist, I'd never go to a home game again, but with our support they will. If we abandon, they will never turn the corner. The teams gives what it gives and get's what it gets.

Secondly, Kenny's teams were very well supported because there was a novelty factor. I'm a recent (premier division) supporter and I started going to games in those days. The facilities were **** and it was two or three rows around the ground. there was twenty lads on Nips and 'fast and we were giving it loads. The play at home hasn't even been good since those days. Neither has the support.

I play with the GAA club at home and trust me when I say it's easier to play well and with heart with the crowd behind you rather than on your back. If the stand boo'd, I'm glad the boys stood where they wanted. I would'nt want to be part of that.

Someone explain the second goal to me pls.
    Reporter: "Gordan, can we have a quick word?"
    Strachan:"Velocity"

Quote Originally Posted by Macy

Who's got the Town to the highest finishes in the league, 2 cup finals, one FAI Cup win, Qualifying for Europe on our own merit (not because Bohs did the double)? Suppose that was a Stephen Kenny team too
    you can't live in the past and are only as good at your last result and performance and seeing as i was't at the shels game i can't comment on it, but recent games there have been no heart or gutts in the team at all...

do i want to travel half way across europe to watch that level of commitment ?? i'm having second thoughts.

but overall we bought 2 strikers close season and still can't score, i think that is an important area we need to look at, and quick.
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

Quote Originally Posted by max power
    you can't live in the past and are only as good at your last result and performance and seeing as i was't at the shels game i can't comment on it, but recent games there have been no heart or gutts in the team at all....
    So no hearts or guts to pull a draw out of the bag in injury time in Inchicore?

We're really not as bad as people are making out, and stating Matthews record is hardly living in the past - just telling people to cop on with all the negative stuff and wait until the season pans out. The leagues so tight that a couple of wins and we're way back up there.

The people that are so quick to come on here giving Matthews shít after a defeat should look at themselves first - if they're going into Flancare with the attitude they display on here then it's no wonder our home form is poor (and where were they all after we beat Shamrocks). Plenty of teams would be happy to take Matthews off us, so maybe we'll see him go if this attitude prevails, and see where that takes the club. Who the fook would these muppets bring in?

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    So no hearts or guts to pull a draw out of the bag in injury time in Inchicore?

We're really not as bad as people are making out, and stating Matthews record is hardly living in the past - just telling people to cop on with all the negative stuff and wait until the season pans out. The leagues so tight that a couple of wins and we're way back up there.

The people that are so quick to come on here giving Matthews shít after a defeat should look at themselves first - if they're going into Flancare with the attitude they display on here then it's no wonder our home form is poor (and where were they all after we beat Shamrocks). Plenty of teams would be happy to take Matthews off us, so maybe we'll see him go if this attitude prevails, and see where that takes the club. Who the fook would these muppets bring in?

we at the present mo, going backwards and thats plain to see....i don't blame alan as that would be silly, all are equal, from the strikers firing blankes to the defenders hoofing the long ball.

with the type of football we are playing flancare is slowly emptying and that is also plain to see....the players and staff must be made aware of fans feelings, what other way is there....do we have a fans forum on our web site ??? or a regular meeting/question session with club rep ???

no, the only way you can make your feelings known is the odd boo or two and maybe certain people will cop on, you sound like the iraq minister, all is ok when american tanks are passing behind him.....wake up macy, all is not ok and after tomorrow night it could be even worse
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

we at the present mo, going backwards and thats plain to see....i don't blame alan as that would be silly, all are equal, from the strikers firing blankes to the defenders hoofing the long ball.

with the type of football we are playing flancare is slowly emptying and that is also plain to see....the players and staff must be made aware of fans feelings, what other way is there....do we have a fans forum on our web site ??? or a regular meeting/question session with club rep ???

no, the only way you can make your feelings known is the odd boo or two and maybe certain people will cop on, you sound like the iraq minister, all is ok when american tanks are passing behind him.....wake up macy, all is not ok and after tomorrow night it could be even worse
    Flancare is emptying because of the football? We've had consistently shíte attendances for years, part time fans who'll only go to Cup Finals is the problem not the standard of football. If they came out and got behind the team every home game, maybe it would spur the players on (certainly more than silence, then booing them off).

Anyone can go the pub sponsor and talk to the management and/or committee after any home game (except the biggest critics at the match suddenly become the biggest lick arses ever).

Things aren't going great, never said they were, I just don't except that they're going as bad as people are saying. We got the draw we deserved last week in Richer, had the chances to get something out of the game on Friday - it's not the big melt down you make out.

People can blame the support or bad luck or whatever for the poor performances but the fact is that the club & team are under performing both on the pitch & off it.Most players are not delivering the goods and playing to their ability.As a manager Matthews must get the best performance out of all his players and have them motivated for each game as if it's a cup final.I know players and teams have their off days but this is rediculous.You simply can't have 6 players working their ass off and the rest just doing enough to get by.Too many players have the wrong attitude and it's up to Matthews to sort this immediately along with our terrible disipline problem,it's getting out of hand.
    As a club this A licence crap could end up being very embarrassing.We are the best in the world at boasting about Flancare and how good it is yet it isn't up to scratch.Now we are faced with the real possibilty of having to play our treasured UEFA cup match in fcuking Dublin.This just isn't acceptable and it will cost the club.Why was this let happen?Why did we fail on so many criteria 1st time around?Will it happen again? Now i know people are going to jump down my throat and go on about all the work behind the scenes and all that but i pay my money into Flancare each time the Town play and i am fully entitled to both my opinion and some kind of answers on the questions above.Finally,after 3 years of being a member of the supporters club i would like to know 2 things.When is the Bar open and why did it take so long considering it has been promised to us for a long time now.People can make what they like on my comments i don't really give a sh1t but this club needs to decide if it wants to remain a mid table team & club or wants to really get serious about being a genuine league contender where Europe is the minimum achivement set out each year.
    "At the age of twelve, my ambition was to become a gangster. To be a wiseguy was better than being President of the United States. To be a wiseguy was to own the world." - Henry Hill

can't disagree with much of that wiseguy, but one thing is plain to see, we the supporters are not happy puppies and we need a voice....

macy i want an offical avenue to talk to club reps, not a beer in a pub.....a club questions/answer session would be good, show the board not all is rosey.

1) Yes we should be be getting better results, however, I don't think the last 3 performances have been that bad. Beat Rovers, Draw in Inchicore and we should've got something out of Friday. Everyone says it's our best squad ever, which it is, however everyone else has also moved on. Shels and Bohs are still full time, the first team at Cork and Drogheda are virtually full time, Waterford has several full timers.

2) Licence. We've passed on the Licence on 4 out of 5. I'm actually surprised we did that well, if you read the licencing manual you'll know why. On the infrastructure side it's all to do with funding. Are the club supposed to magic the money out of thin air? The club were told that if they met the 4 critea the FAI would sort the funding. It's pretty clear that it was a rush job to get the ground up to standard the last time - just about met the critea then, but things move on and the ground hasn't. No club in Ireland can afford to do the work without some grants.

3) The Bar/ The Supporters Club you'd have to get onto them as to why it's not finished.

4) Being in regular contention for the league isn't realistic for the club at the moment IMO. We simply don't have the regular support to justify it. Christ they couldn't even come out the next home game after the Cup Final. You can't write off the effect of the lack of support when it directly effects the money coming into the club, through the gate, through programme sales, through sponsorship. If they didn't come last season, then they're never going to come, and we're never going to be in a position to challenge. (Much as it pains me to say it).

macy i want an offical avenue to talk to club reps, not a beer in a pub.....a club questions/answer session would be good, show the board not all is rosey.
    Email Frank Murtagh. Drop into see Donald in his shop. Talk to them at a match. As a club, we've got one of the most accessable boards in the country, even more so than most other "members" clubs.

all good examples macy, but nothing offical.....thats more my point.

offical to me is professional and professional is the way forward, in all areas of the club.

So you'd rather have a potentially big meeting, than actually talking your grievances through one to one with a member of the committee?