Thread: rowdies at euro 2004

250 Posts

rowdies at euro 2004

listening to report on off the ball on newstalk last night.ken earley is over in portugal doing roving reports.
    after the england france match he said he came accross a group of english fans talking to a group of french fans and they were all speaking in french to each other with no hint of trouble.
    he said along came "the boys" with the jerseys and the union jacks and the french fans legged it.
    he turned on his tape and interviewed the hard men.
    you would not believe the hostility and anger comming out of these guys towards ken earley and the fenian scum radio station he was representing.
    anybody else hear this ?????

yeah i heard it, but i feel they were acting, when they heard he was from a radio station in dublin they put a lot of it on, but there were chants of..no surrender to the ira....at the game on sunday
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

Wasn't nice to hear but thoise lads were clearly plastered & acting up for each other.

I;m sure could get the same in Cork on a saturday night with renditions of "FCUK the Dubs..." ?

Was at home for my lunch yesterday and had Sky Sports News on. They linked up to some reporter in Lisbon or somewhere but had to cut it almost immediately when the tan supporters surrounding him starting singing "No surrender to the I.R.A"

Many of them don't need to put anything on, there is a deep hatred towards the Irish amoung many English football fans (personally speaking I have been verbally and physically assaulted for carrying a tricolour at Arsenal matches and they are one of the better sets of fans towards the Irish.) And if you believe that they were putting it on for the media you have to wonder if they didn't have latent feellings like this anyway.
    Basically my own personal experiance of them is that they believe (or use it as an excuse for violence) that Irish people are potential bombers.
    (to balance this up I have met Ingerland fans who will cheer on Ireland, but this can be awful as well as the patronising content of what they say is unbelievable)
    Last edited by Pat O' Banton; 16/06/2004 at 12:53 PM.
    Where am I now? I'm over here,
    I've got those empty pockets and I can't afford a beer.

Quote Originally Posted by Pat O' Banton
    Many of them done need to put anything on, there is a deep hatred towards the Irish amoung many English football fans (personally speaking I have been verbally and physically assaulted for carrying a tricolour at Arsenal matches and they are one of the better sets of fans towards the Irish.)
    And you don't think someone would get some form of abuse for bringing a St Georges Cross to an eL game?

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    And you don't think someone would get some form of abuse for bringing a St Georges Cross to an eL game?
    Considering the tradition of both Irish players and fans at Arsenal, in my naievity, I didn't consider it a particular liability.
    Anyway are you saying that if people bring certain flags to football matches they deserve to be assaulted or should expect it

No, just pointing out reality.

Don't know about an eL game, but there was tan with a butcher's apron going in and coming out of the game in Portugal in 2000 with no more than a few comments under people's breath.

I was on a meal break one day at Wembley Park station and the tans were playing and a load get off the train (I was in a room on the platform). I heard this 'Kill the Irish scum, f*cking fenian b*stards.' Nice chaps all the same.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

post the text as ya have to log into that site to use it
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

Quote Originally Posted by max power
    post the text as ya have to log into that site to use it
    Don't have the text, was relying on ye

Actually; there was a couple of lads in Ingerland shirts at the Ireland v Nigeria game at the Valley and as far as I could see noting was said to them. But I digress.
    Pete, I am genuinely unsure how your point relates to the Ingerland fans on the radio or their attitude towards Irish people. Do you either believe that their fans have a strong anti Irish bias and therefore it is unadvisable to bring Ireland flags to English league games or do you believe that if you shove a microphone in an Ingerland fans face he will act all anti Irish so he can be the big man in front of his freinds but that he won't mean anything by it.

Sorry if I'm quoting you out of context but you seem to be saying two seperate things.

Euronews have covered stories about english fans rioting over the last two days.

Didn't know Ireland were playing in the European Championships?

Actually; there was a couple of lads in Ingerland shirts at the Ireland v Nigeria game at the Valley and as far as I could see noting was said to them. But I digress.
    Pete, I am genuinely unsure how your point relates to the Ingerland fans on the radio or their attitude towards Irish people. Do you either believe that their fans have a strong anti Irish bias and therefore it is unadvisable to bring Ireland flags to English league games or do you believe that if you shove a microphone in an Ingerland fans face he will act all anti Irish so he can be the big man in front of his freinds but that he won't mean anything by it.

Sorry if I'm quoting you out of context but you seem to be saying two seperate things.
    Thats about it alright. Also i'd have thought be kinda hard to slag off english people in Charltons stadium. I'm sure most irish at those games were lving in Britiain too?

So you are saying that some Ingerland fans have a violent hatred of the Irish but at the same time don't mean anything by it?

And you are also saying that it would be unadvisable to bring a St. George's cross to an eL game but also that you shouldn't be suprised to see people wandering around in Ingerland tops at an Ireland game

Quote Originally Posted by Conor74
    Gone to a few games across the way, been with Leeds fans and have to say that haven't had one cross word said about being Irish. On the other hand, I get the feeling that there's a new type of sick hatred, sort of a 'whites against Asians' mentality, which sees us cast as the good guys. Dunno if the hatred has gone, but think it may be refocussed on other groups.
    Remember seeing that the far right are trying to say that the Protestant and Catholics in the north of Ireland should unite (a good idea from the far right but wait...) in order to kick out any non whites from the north.

I do still feel that there is a depth of hatred towards the Irish that is not so easily focused since the second ceasefire, certainly the tabloid world can now look for a new emeny and so in a way the heat has been taken off Irish people. But still think that if you scratch the surface hostility can still be found.

As I pointed out earlier this hostility isn't universal amoungst football fans but it does still exist and in broad enough sections.

Are you talking through your a*se or is there some point to your comments. Why bring up a story about an Irishman (could be the eejit the other night coming out of the France - Scum game telling Sky TV 'I'm gutted, like.' ) knicking an ambulance when this thread is about football 'supporters'?

57 Posts
    Quite a few turned up in Lisbon in 2000 in england tops to support us a couple of good natured jibes but nothing more. Leeds fan behind me thought Ian Harte was world class and chanted every time he touched the ball. Still I suppose Phil Neville wa sEngland elft back then and he makes Ian Harte look world class.

Man City came to Limerick back in the early 90's 91 I think and draped Union Jacks and Georges crosses all over Thomond Park - no problems at all.

Interesting poll on Newstalk 106 yesterday - 66% of listeners wanted England to win yesterday.