Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: latest flynny rumour...

By "off field problems", do you mean scrapping with members of the Lincoln City board after being sent off?
    I've heard various stories about Foran's form across the water. One of the most common has been "got ****ed off when a bigger club didn't buy him so gave up." I'd heard QPR were interested but he got sent off at both games they scouted him at. As I said, he'll be worth watching next season.

Quote Originally Posted by jofyisgod
    If this money thing is fact, then that would be the only attraction for JOF to...what do ye call yourselves again? Anyhow, if we think media coverage of the eL is bad, as someone living in England, Div. 3's is worse.Quite simply, no-one gives a t0ss. Ye're bottom of ye're pile, City are top of theirs.
    Any u-21 internationals at Town?
    For fúcks sake, the local rugby team is more popular than ye! At least City are bigger than Con. Do ye attract sponsorship deals worth the best part of a million €?

Why would Flynny want to leave his hometown club, where he is basically an idol, to go to some small, shítty Division 3 club in one of the most ignored leagues in the UK?

Now, féck off back to Cobblers World or whatever forum ye have. If ye even have one.
    Media coverage in England is I can tell you far far better than it is in Ireland. Anyone watch Nationwide on ITV ? Also Sky Sports have been known to venture down to this part of the world as well. We also have our own radio station and get good coverage from the local papers. I've seen what passes for media coverage in Ireland and all I can say is I've seen more coverage of football from Pakistan on Western Union Football than I've seen of Irish football by its own media

If you think D3 in England is far inferior to the EL your simply an idiot. Thankfully though idiocy seems to be confined to this forum as I've had a look at 2 other Irish Clubs forums and the conversation seems to be a bit more rational

http://gypsiesweb.proboards14.com/in...num=1087814524

http://www.srfcultras.com/showthread...5&pagenumber=1

I ain't here to gloat, have no reason too. But if you think Cork are top of their game with what you have now then thats ok. A simple man lives by simple means.

Didn't Jack Charlton base his "footballing philosophy" ( ) on Northhampton? (Of course, I could be thinking of the wrong club)
    If I remember it rightly, few years ago they were in the 4th division and won promotion. They played a simple system. They simply hoofed the ball up to a few really tall centre forwards. It seems this was very effective, and they had a very good season, results wise. They never played football, as such, just pressurised the opposition when they didn't have the ball, and when they got it back, hoofed it into the box.
    If I have the right club, have they moved on from those days?

I doubt any club in Ireland would be anything more a decent D3 side.
    Bohemian FC 3-1 Spurs, (this was two seasons ago when the league was'nt even as good as it is now) speaks for its self really
    Oh and before you go saying spurs reserves it was'nt, spurs put their strongest team out

Have you ever been to an el game?...muppet
    Last edited by tippman; 21/06/2004 at 9:17 PM.
    Plastic Paddy, Davros, A Face,
    excuse my first 25 posts, thats not what I'm really
    like.

Quote Originally Posted by tippman
    Bohemian FC 3-1 Spurs, (this was two seasons ago when the league was'nt even as good as it is now) speaks for its self really
    Oh and before you go saying spurs reserves it was'nt, spurs put their strongest team out

Have you ever been to an el game?...muppet
    Friendly wasn't it ?? Sure we beat a Arsenal a few years back in a friendly. Don't think I'm going to claim we could win the English PL

If you've a read through the posts you would have seen I've been to games in Ireland. Do try keep up down the back

As a poster on the Shamrock forum said. Sheffied Wednesday where 3 points of D3 last season and in fairness no Irish club could hold a candle to them. Have to hand it too some of. Your grand dilusions of thinking you and the EL are a cut above D3 is funny reading

Quote Originally Posted by davros
    You can't judge Irish/EL players or clubs unless they play consistently v.foreign clubs or players!The EL record in Europe & players is gradually getting better,the former from a very low base until a few years ago.....here's to continued improvement.
    Agreed and hats off to those clubs who get results here and there in Europe

My main point really is that maybe apart from the football the EL is so far behind even D3 clubs in England. I've lost count of how many good grounds I went at away games last season. Then you get super grounds like Darlington and Hull that play in a better stadium than even the Irish national team let alone the EL. So reasons that some people on here base their argument on is daft boarding on cult blind delusion

Dublin or lost in a backwater called England
    Quote Originally Posted by Cobbler
    My main point really is that maybe apart from the football the EL is so far behind even D3 clubs in England. I've lost count of how many good grounds I went at away games last season. Then you get super grounds like Darlington and Hull that play in a better stadium than even the Irish national team let alone the EL. So reasons that some people on here base their argument on is daft boarding on cult blind delusion

my point centers around why come onto a irish football site if you are so obsessed with how much better english teams and grounds are? if they are so good then feck off to one and dont come back

Quote Originally Posted by Jon'o
    my point centers around why come onto a irish football site if you are so obsessed with how much better english teams and grounds are? if they are so good then feck off to one and dont come back
    Your point centers !! Am I missing something ? Its your only point you Herbert

Seen as though NTFC where linked with one of yours I thought I'd look into it. But what I had a read of on here was... well I won't spell it out for you. Usually if your Club is linked with someone you check it out. Is that a bit hard for you to understand

Cobbler, Having a Radio station solely for the use of the club is impressive, moreso if it's web streaming to exiled Cobblers fans about the world, and it's definitely a fair point that the EL gets little coverage, though I'll hope that with the rugby club stealing newspaper headlines, you'll at least recognise the trouble in competing with other sports and leagues (I'm sure there are Man Utd and Chelsea shirts in Northampton too).

You've mentioned the crowd that followed you to Wembley and 40,000 is a brilliant crowd . The mystery is a 7,500 all seater stadium, which implies that the club isn't progressive and despite the supporter's trust development fund the club hasn't built on those bumper crowds. But then the numbers that attend a match doesn't define a club, Monaco didn't even bring 20,000 to the Champions league final .

In contrast, whether we get there or not CCFC are at least trying to be progressive, the ground has come on a lot in the year you've been away and we have planning permission to turn it all seater (also 7500 coincidentally) and include those corporate facilities that help generate extra income, the core fan base of the club has been increasing, and while our trophy cabinet is roomy, we are the best supported club in the league.

Two pubs and fast food outlets may add to the matchday experience on a dreary saturday afternoon next january, but I don't think they'll attract a player tbh.

I don't know what's involved with your centre of excellence, but it hasn't done you much good on the field has it , that said, if it means you've got top class training facilities and sports injury facilities, it might be worth something to a player looking to improve. If the centre means that you've got a bunch of promising kids on a YTS like scheme, kicking a ball off a wall in the morning before playing snooker or visiting the cinema in the evening, then it's a different story.

Although CCFC are less than ninety minutes from a sports injury centre in Ireland that even GB's own Olympic atheletes have been known to frequent, and O'Flynn has witnessed first hand the World Class treatment and phsyio facilities the club has access to.

But if you were a footballer with ambition where would you like to ply your trade? O'Flynn has four Ireland Caps at U21 level, all earned while catching the eye at city. It may be only a few games a year, but Shining in the game v Malmo at the weekend, has shown him to have the ability to score no matter what the opposition, which will attract clubs.

That said, going back to my very first paragraph, because of our exposure to the English game here, there are people who see Lee Trundle as a better option up front for Ireland than O'Flynn, not so much based on his league record, but on the fact that he scored a few goals against better opposition in his clubs FA cup run. I think it'd take a similar run by Northampton to get Flynn noticed, I don't see that happening to be honest, but anything is possible.

Anyway, all this is moot, you can't compare leagues unless at the very least clubs from them compete at a competitive level. We're not going to be playing in Div3, you're not going to play here or meet us in Europe. If Flynny did move, I have little doubt he'd be a star for you, and you'd be disappointed to lose him on a free to a club you don't neccessarily view as a step up.

By you're own admission you've seen two dire games at the cross, strange that you don't remember O'Flynn, makes me wonder if you even know who you're arguing about?

Still if you prefer a game or two in Europe each season over watching your club in a good staduim with great facilities then more fool you
    A good stadium with great facilities? Fair play cobblers, maybe someday you'll have a team on the field worth a mention too .
    Me, I'll have European football watching my great (if small by your terms) club in a stadium that I know two years down the line will be a worthy stage for continental clubs you'll be watching on the telly.

Whether he goes or not, he's better than your club, and he'll just be taking a less scenic route to being a household name.
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

Your point centers !! Am I missing something ? Its your only point you Herbert

Seen as though NTFC where linked with one of yours I thought I'd look into it. But what I had a read of on here was... well I won't spell it out for you. Usually if your Club is linked with someone you check it out. Is that a bit hard for you to understand
    herbert? no percy? prehaps

now

as someone who is also currently unlucky enough to be LIVING IN YOUR TOWN i find some of your posts vv funny

northampton town fc is a club that is trying to play above its level.. ffs its not so long ago that you shared grounds with the county cricket team.

the only reason that they havent gone under despite the efforts of the council, mk dons and rushden is the new buyer for the club, if it wasnt for him im sure your team would be long gone

Your man from Northhamton seems to be trying to convince himself that they are a big club.

No point basing all the arguement on the size of your stadium. I mean City could go off and play in 45,000 capacity Pairc Ui Chaoimh - it doesn't make them any bigger or better.

Surely the most accurate measure would be the amount of players in your squad playing international football. City now have 5/6. I don't know anything about Northhamton (or however the **** you spell it) but I can't imagine an English division 4 club having many internationals, be they for England, Ireland, Wales or Botswana.

Now **** off.

bin it

BIN IT

Quote Originally Posted by Jon'o
    BIN IT
    p!ss off, it took me about an hour to write that bloody response to him
    oh alright so, to the bin
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

sorry it was good.....

we'll have the last laugh! northampton is a kip

what do stadiums have to do with the quality of football played?

You still havent answered that. As i pointed out Ajaz won three european cups playing out of the DE Meer stadium. It held 17,000 and was crap. They concentrated on player development and producing skillful team. And you know something....... it worked.

Quote Originally Posted by tippman
    I was at that game being a Spurs fan, and I must say that Bohs played them off the park and Tottenham couldn't get to grips with them. Although I was dissappointed that spurs lost, I was very proud of the EL. I'd love to see city play Tottenham some day and they would probably beat them as well. I have no doubt that if Northampton came to the cross for a game, they would get a good beating.

Pointless debate again but sure i'll still have to make a point.

I've no doubt most 2nd & 3rd division english clubs are bigger than their eL counterparts as we can't really compete on infrastructure etc... but quality of player & players is IMO a separate issue.

Anyone remember Northamptons results on last visit to Ireland a couple of years back? Did they not lose 3 from 3?

I don't think anyone can argue that, facilities wise, the EL is behind division 3. Easily. However, quality on the field is another story. In competitive matches, the best EL sides would beat anyone in division 3 9 times out of 10 imo, as, quality on the pitch wise alone, they're at about second division standard imo. Sort of what Pete said really.

What the EL needs is more media coverage to bring more people to the games so we can afford to bring our facilities up to what the standard the football on the pitch deserves.

Cobbler,
    Come back when you have something like this http://corkcityfootie.com/gallery/al...451display.jpg

at your sh1tty little town club.

CITY 'TIL I DIE!

As a poster on the Shamrock forum said. Sheffied Wednesday where 3 points of D3 last season and in fairness no Irish club could hold a candle to them. Have to hand it too some of. Your grand dilusions of thinking you and the EL are a cut above D3 is funny reading

An impartial view from the NEC website "The Match Itself
    The team that Malmö put out depends on the first leg. At full strength and playing well MFF could certainly be good enough for lower end of the English Premiership. 4 of the present squad have played for Sweden at one stge or another and the two big stars are Patrik Andersson (recently came here from Barcelona) and Brazilian Afonso Alves. Seemingly there are moves to bring Daniel Andersson and Yksel Osmanovski in from the Italian League, as yet this is far from confirmed.

Malmö definitely have the best team in the league here and are strong favourites to win the title but when harried and hassled by the opposition things have not gone well and therein lies Cork City's hope. A further report will be written about the Malmö players and team closer to the games when "

Like to say something now Mr. Cobbler

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123